Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas 4 stars

6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, HI 96761, USA

#40 of 61 hotels in Lahaina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 58 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Island View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t like there’s a boundary for adult facilities vs family facilities. Some guest were very mean to family have kids. Either make this a family hotel or adult only facilities.

    The staffs were very nice and helpful. My kids very happy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a depatment with one bedroom but not a villa. Even we booked 2 rooms with seaview, but it is very far away from SEA, you can only see water. ( This is what their staff told me, if you can see water, it is seaview)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked an ocean view and you could barely see the ocean from our room. We were on the ground floor with a restaurant right outside our balcony.

    The beach was so easy to access and really nice. The food was great, and the rooms were beautiful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Island View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The lack of a hotel shuttle service was a surprise - taxi cost ~$100 one way.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful - what a pleasant surprise for a large resort.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We booked an oceanview room and there was no oceanview. Only laundry facility and bushes. Such a bummer!

    Auntie's Kitchen was reliably good, as was, the Paniolo bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I thought the Breakfast Buffet could have had more items, but it was good. Not exceptional but good.

    The food was okay. But then I am from the south and I love seasoned food. I understand the okay was cooking for the masses as opposed to just one guess. With that in mind, it was okay. I was very disappointed with the Oceanview Room that we were given as it was right over the Swimming pool. I called the front desk, and they had another room, same type, in Building 5 which was AWESOME. Great customer service. Awesome Property. ;)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few things... The pillows were very uncomfortable. My husband and I barely got any sleep because of the pillows. We requested an ocean view room (and paid a premium for our honeymoon) and the view we had was terrible and hardly classified as an "ocean view". The only way we could see the ocean was if we opened the door, leaned over the railing and turned our bodies to look at the right. Very disappointed by this. Pricing to rent equipment was over priced.

    The beaches were nice, the staff was friendly and the buffet at Auntie's Kitchen was good!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Island View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cost was very high coverted to Cdn $ for 3 nights, over $1600 for a studio. it was very hard to find poolside seating most of the time.

    The room has a small kitchen, laundry facility which was very functional. The bed was very comfortable. The walkway by the beach for going for walks, to restaurants and proximity to the beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Island View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Parking was pretty expensive. Kids club was closed :(

    Great,large resort for relaxing with family. A lot of pools and beautiful beach. Lots of space and lots of water activities. Shuttles were super convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Island View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    shower instructions.

    it was heaven!!! the gardens were attractive and well maintained. the bed and other services inside the condo and establishment provided every comfort and best nights sleep in ages. would highly recommend to others for a great aloha experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in starts at 4p and you HAVE TO BE out on checkout by 10am!!!!!!!! Inspite of all the other good things about the place just that will make us NOT comeback in the future. That's basically charging you for half a day extra. They give you access to a basement 'guest' facility in the bowels of the hotel (basement with no windows) but don't bet on enjoying you're time there.

    Decent enough food especially compared to a lot of other resorts in Maui. Not overly crowded

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    We purchased an Ocean View at a very high price. They did not have an Ocean View available. We had a non Ocean View as far away from the ocean as possible. After discussing with management we were refunded a measly 65. Per night. Not satisfactory.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Ocean View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We booked an "Ocean View" room, which was on the ground floor with a view of the parking lot and a small sliver of ocean if tried really hard to look over the stairs and railing on the right hand corner - false advertising and not worth the extra money in our opinion. The resort was very sales oriented, from trying to sell your their villas to the people at the towel kiosk trying to sell you something every time you went to get a towel (sunscreen, lotion, sunglasses....). The restaurants were also subpar for what we would expect at this type of resort, food was not very good at Annie's or Pulehu.

    The location of this resort and the pool area were fantastic! The staff at the front desk were very welcoming and friendly! Pailolo (the sportsbar) was a great little place to hang out and have a drink and watch a game or two.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Island View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was only fair. Many ocean view rooms just aren't. They need a third category called pool view. The market should open earlier since the vast majority of guests are from an earlier time zone. We had to drive to Starbucks at the Marriott just to get coffee. Bathrooms are terrific but our shower had mildew imbedded in the grout. Beach is very narrow but sand is soft.

    Staff has all been fantastic, size of rooms are very nice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Island View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Too far from kaanapali beach main locations with no direct beach path like exists south of black rock. The facilities are dated. The water pressure is poor. The glass or door pass thru from bedroom to bath is a bad idea..too little privacy. the workout facility is poor and no views to ocean like at other resorts. High price for what you receive. Small pools.

    Nice staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Island View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. Folks should remember that this isn't the Mainland so be prepared for "island time" response times and attentiveness.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Island View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They do not have a lot of restaurant options. However, I found Polehu to be a wonderful restaurant. Great cocktails and food.

    Facilities were wonderful, clean, and I appreciated that they have a shuttle that takes you around Lahaina.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Island View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast wasn't good, eggs not done well, not good choice, I would not recommended buying room with breakfast included rather order fresh one, beds were excellent, shower was great, overall room were great, and Dennis at water sports were great scuba instructor, I would definitely recommend Westin Villa, thank you

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early check out (10am!), but the hospitality lounge kind of compensated for that.

    Great location, nice rooms with full kitchen amenities, amazing staff, especially the concierge (we're extremely helpful in trip arrangements and booking activities, beautiful beech, the fact that you can have breakfast in any of the three hotels (Westin villas, Sheraton, or Westin hotels) with your buffet vouchers (tip: the Sheraton has the best breakfast buffet) , and the free shuttle

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Island View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of room next to road lots of traffic noise

    Room was modern up to date

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temp. In room hard to controll

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Island View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    This property was an excellent choice!! Very much pleased with the size of room, the help, the cleanliness of the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Island View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room location. 1st floor behind shrubs. No view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Island View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Entire experience was amazing!

    The room was beautiful. Beach was amazing!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Island View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    Five stars facilities

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Island View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and drink costs

    Rooms, pools and beach location great for your kids

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I've never been in a hotel before that was so confusing to navigate. The room numbers don't make sense and we got lost multiple times. Others there felt the same too, I overheard, "This place is like a maze!"

    The room was super spacious, two hotel rooms turned into a one-bedroom suite.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The price! Also at $500.00 a night it is ridiculous that there is a parking fee!

    The beach was outstanding. The price is ridiculous!!!! The nightly lighting of the torches was appreciated. The jacuzzi tub and laundry were excellent additions.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Crowded parking lot with too small parking lot sizes considering the sizes of american cars ;-)

    Great location, facilities, staff, beach, interior design, consierge availability, nearby restaurants

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overpriced for what we got , wasn't impressed. Ocean front wasn't, first room showed a tiny corner of ocean second was a better view but a long way back from beach . Wait staff was variable some good some awful

    Available at last minute. Staff helpful when reservation screwed up.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We like a really firm mattress, so we turn it over for a good nights sleep.

    The rooms were spacious and lovely, also very clean. Loved the outdoor setting and especially the kitchen!

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The value for money... I can not accept that we want to go to the beach and we need to pay for the umbrella (20) each day and the chair (10) each day and the parking (10)per night. when the cost for each night we spend U$S 800.

    I like the hotel, the location

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    can't check in until 4pm, gym a little bit small for the size of the hotel, pool chair nazis that get out there at dawn to claim a chair with a towel then never return all day. it means to guarantee a chair you should pay to reserve one.

    liked the staff on the whole, good concierge advice for tours, the food at the sports bar, the italian resturant.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rules of the pool chairs apparently don't apply to people who think they are above the rules. We saw a lady leave her items on a chair for an hour and half. The pool attendants tagged her chairs giving her an hour to get back or her items would be removed. She didn't return in time & her items were removed. She came back & threw a fit. The lady who now was in the chairs was asked to move!!!! The poor lady that had to move was about in tears! Saw this more than once.

    Love the amenities, having the suites with a kitchen, having pool & beach access. The staff was over the top amazing, including Alex, the pool attendant.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    was told we would have an island view... which turned out being a view of the parking lot and lots of noise...

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the free shuttle service between the hotels and into Lahaina Only a short walk to the beach Pool side drinks service

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: