Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Whitcomb 3 stars

1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103, USA

#195 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1110 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    6.8

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was not clean. Hairdryer broke halfway through use. Bed was squishy and uneven.

    Location was close to Union Square but was a fairly seedy directly surrounding the property. Sheets were decent quality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Hotel was fine albeit a bit dark in the bedrooms but outside of the hotel and surrounding area there are a very large amount of homeless people including drugs on the streets, which is certainly no fault of the hotel but is certainly a big problem in itself, would be even more of a problem if travelling with a young family.

    The hotels bell boys were very helpful indeed, we travelled with bicycles on our honeymoon and they helped cater for all our needs. Adjoined restaurant and Grill was very nice for food and drink and was very handy to have a starbucks adjoined also.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff on Reception Desk quite rude at times. Not just at myself but also witnessed this happening to other guests.

    Lovely old building with some beautiful architectural features.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was dark, the edging of the carpets in the room were dusty, not a lot of room to move around in the rooms, no fridge, didn’t feel particularly safe with my children outside of the hotel in the street

    The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    it's the neighborhood. that section of market street is under development and all of the local drug addicts and crazies are lingering in the blocks around the hotel. we saw exchanges and junkies actually shotting up in daylight on the side walk. It's terrifying.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location does have a lot of homeless people outside. Not the hotels fault, and really they are kind of everywhere in the city, but just a warning.

    The staff was very nice and accommodating, the rooms were very clean, and the beds were super comfortable. Its within walking distance to many things in san francisco and a short drive from other things.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No usb outlets in room. No fridge or coffee machine. No laundry facilitys on site. Only 2 out 4 elevators working

    The food was good but the waiter needed to improve his personal skills in dealing with with his customers

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel requires thorough renovation, hence overprised

    Outstanding staff, really helpful people Hotel has a very good location Wi-Fi OK but could be more powerful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was very bad, i mean really bad, use Starbucks wifi in the lobby if u need a wifi that actually works, also just a word of warning if u go out at night stick to the buses and trams, dont walk, gets very dodgy outside after dark.

    Hotel was very nice but old, location is very good, right next to trains, metro and buses :-) rooms very very big :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a relic from the past. The AC was ancient couldn't heat up/ cool down in time. We ordered coffee maker we haven't even received it until checking at reception. The ice maker wasn't working even the vending machine on 5th floor didn't have water bottles. The room doesn't have microwave and fridge

    The location of the hotel is very central to downtown SF. The staff was helpful. The stay of the hotel reminds of past glory.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby could use updating as well as the hallways . And only two of the four elevators were functioning.

    Hotel room was very clean as was the hotel. The location of the hotel is good with public transportation (underground, street cars and buses) just outside of the hotel, and close enough were one could walk to the Ferry Building and Union Square. There is also a Starbucks next door.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could do something with the corridor décor. Just kept thinking I was going to bump into twin girls in blue dresses when I arrived late at night and very tired. The idiot reviews talking about hauntings didn't help.

    Great location and a decent room. To be honest just what I actually needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room had a musty smell and was not very clean. The location of the hotel is in a less than desirable location and had incidents in front of the entrance every day we were there. The hotel bar was filthy when opened, as it was closed otherwise. The advertisement for the hotel was not the same in reality. I would not stay here again or recommend the property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoke alarm in room was not working. No green light indicating it was functioning. Had to have maintenance come and replace batteries. No easily accessible outlets for phone chargers.

    Clean, quiet, comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    what I didn't like was that there was a fight in the middle of the night in front of my room that scared the hell out of me and I couldn't sleep for the rest of that night.

    I liked the bed and the tv channels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The light in the bathroom was both a fan and a light. would have been nice to turn on the light without a fan.

    The history of the hotel, and the location for our event.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could use A LOT of updating. Electrical outlets were very old, the was no lighting in the bathrooms, very outdated bathrooms, mattresses were extremely uncomfortable, smell in room was not fresh. Definitely not worth over $200 a night. I would not stay here again.

    The location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is rough with druggies and homeless people, it didn’t feel safe for us 2 ladies to come back and forth as we please late night/ when it’s dark. The room had no WiFi, you could only get WiFi in the lobby. Couldn’t see view out of window, and curtains wouldn’t close.

    Starbucks in the hotel that was 24 hrs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although I felt safe inside the hotel, outside across the street was depressing.

    The overall staff very polite and helpful. The beautiful historic building with history was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt terrible, the dining room staff couldn’t wait to get rid of you and having to walk down the street past the homeless people and the stench would stop us from retuning to this location.

    The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had an issue getting room cleaned during stay. Took privacy tag off door before we left at 10am. Came back to non serviced room. Got attitude when called for fresh towels (despite waiving off basic service)... Hotel is in dodgy drug infested area. Great building otherwise.

    Great building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking fee for the hotel was $32. Over priced for me.

    The commode did it work well. There ware not enough electric outlets for all my electronics. No frig and no microwave.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This hotel is on Market Street, I felt extremely unsafe outside the hotel at night due to the large number of homeless people/beggars/drugs dealers in the immediate area. It was the most unsafe place that I have felt in all the places I have visited around the world. The bedroom had a walk-in cupboard which took up about a sixth of the room space, it would have been better to demolish it, fit 2 double wardrobes against the corridor wall & make the room much bigger. The furniture in the room was badly chosen and also took up too much space without being useful [e.g. TV unit - fix the TV to the wall instead as the TV cabinet was of no use] The only light in the bathroom was above the mirror and provide no light for the shower. The landings on each floor were unnecessarily dark due to the dark brown paint on the woodwork and burgundy paint on the ceiling.

    The Hotel is an old building - they call it historic. It has a Starbucks in the lobby. You can use the trams [streetcars] which stop outside the hotel to get to the CBD or Fisherman's Wharf.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outlets in the room didn’t work, had to use the outlets in the bathroom to charge our phones and smart watch.

    It’s close to the mall and to the civic center

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Look at the positives.

    All the charm of a funeral parlor with workers with the charm of undertakers. Booking said no charge until you get there, Hotel charged one day in advance. When questioned, because the card I used to book was NOT the card I intended to pay with, front desk said they for SOME REASON felt worried our party did not show up and IGNORED the Booking.com promise not to be charged. FAKE pictures- booked this hotel based on beautiful remodeled, modern photos online. The photos were GONE the next day after our party arrived. Room meant for 4 people was half an inch bigger than a closet would be. Ridiculous place with homeless people all over and charged exorbitant amount of money for parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    rooms, hallway, reception are like 100 years old and so smelly hotel is not maintained and updated, windows and walls have spider webs rooms are too small and worth the price

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being made aware of constructions going on or moved to opposite side of building and a functioning WiFi. and more friendly and better trained front desk personnel

    Loud noises from construction going on starting right below my room at 6 :15 AM, No WiFi in room and unfriendly front desk clerk. Although friendly and helpful Hotel Manager. and

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    VERY “sketchy” area. Homeless people doing drug deals and overdosing outside our window was not on our list of sights to see in San Francisco.

    Location and rate was excellent. Close access to cable cars and other transportation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower section of the bathroom did not have a light. Room needs a refrigerator and microwave.

    The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had instant hot water.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very bad WLAN connection in the room. better in the reception area, they also have PCs with LAN-cables close to the reception.

    Compared to the price range of other hotels in San Francisco this hotel is really a good deal! Yes, there are homeless people at market street (but you also find them in other locations in SanFran). Yes, the corridors in the hotel look like many decades ago (but, still have some style). Overall, I can recommend the hotel because of its price-performance ratio

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! The only staff that were nice was house keeping, the rest were rude and didn't want to help. It was very out dated and the outlets were useless to charge anything. The rug was very dirty and the beds were bumpy and uncomfortable. No mini fridge and microwave! The shower pressure was horrible! Not worth the $400 we spent to stay there. I'm going to pay the $100 more next time at a better hotel.

    The location is all this hotel has going for it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old property, not well kept, in degrading condition. Our bed was very saggy, checked out after 1 night. In a bad part of town, tons of homeless everywhere, some naked and tripping out. Not many good food options within walking distance. Just a bad location.

    The only good thing was the low price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom. The shower head was incredibly low, and I am not tall. It is so annoying to have to crouch for washing your hair. And that in a hotel of this category..

    SF during GDC is expensive, of course. But for that price I think it could have been a bit better. Everything was "ok" though. Location is good, not far from the convention center and close to bart and subway.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom toilet in our room flushes allllllll night. It was a little hard to catch sleep with the noise at times. Also the WiFi in the room was not working at all.

    The hotel lobby is absolutely gorgeous!!! I felt like I was in another era. I loved it. The hotel is over 100 years old so obviously I wasn’t surprised at some of the things that other comments complained about. We stay 3 nights and we had a great time. The staff isn’t super friendly, but they’re helpful. The Starbucks located downstairs is convenient for early morning coffe on the go. I would not recommend walking around the hotel outside at night alone. They’re a lot of sketchy folk around that area, however we had no problems. We were two women. There is parking and it’s 35$ a day when I was there. Overall enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The valet was ok except the employee Mohamed who was terrible. He was rude and unprofessional. Definitely was not treated right for someone who was PAYING to stay there. He cursed at me when simply trying to make a turn and threw a cone infront of my car. So many other willing people deserve that job. If customer service isn’t his forte he is in the wrong business. Never booking or recommending for that reason alone.

    The air conditioning worked well when we needed it. The channels on the television were more than expected . There was also a Starbucks connected with the hotel which was super convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    My stay at Hotel Whitcomb was amazing. The staff was exceptionally accommodating and went out of their way to ensure I had a comfortable stay. In particular, Bernie, who was at the front desk was the best! He went above and beyond to make sure my first time in SF was nothing short of the best. He was outstanding at providing places to check out during my time, as well as giving me advice on things to see which he recommended, which I really appreciated. The hotel itself exceeded my expectations. It was in the heart of SF and was close to all the big points of interest. The room was clean, comfortable, and the hotel itself had a very rustic, antique vibe to it which accentuated its charm. I would highly recommend this hotel to any of those that are staying in the Bay Area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found a pill and socks left by previous guest. Felt unclean- they didn't do a complete job

    At check in there was a bag left behind by a previous guest. I brought it to the clerks attention and he said, "do you wanna check in"

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great as always. I have stayed at this hotel severals times in the past and will continue to do so. Thank you Hotel Whitcomb staff for a lovely stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit seedy in that section of Market Street.

    Beautiful historic hotel and lobby. A few steps to BART. Across the street from Orpheum Theater. Starbucks in lobby that opens very early in AM and stays open late. Good restaurant in hotel, too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be super tricky and with 2 valets it can get stacked quick! And if you havnt been there before you'll be driving around and around looking for the parking for example its fenced in! So its not that noticeable.

    Great location close to clubs/ shopping / food!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived and there was no one in the reception. We waited almost 20 minutes until someone appears. Then, the receptionist was very unpolite, not even apologized. Then, we didnt have enough shower towels and everything was a bit dirty.

    A girl got us towels very fast in the morning and did a very fast check out. The shower was good too

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not updated at all, no plug ins to charge phones/computers are etc.... very dirty.. bathroom was gross.. restaurant and bar was NEVER open

    great staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While I realize that I had a great deal through Booking.com, the hotel gave us likely the worst room in the hotel. The towel rack was missing and had not been replaced. The shower head had been replaced at a level of about 4 1/2 feet. Luckily I am short. It would have been unusable for anyone taller. The credit card key lock was broken. It took the hotel an entire day to get around to fixing it. This resulted in us having to call security every time we needed to enter the room.

    The location was ideal. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Charged about $100 more than Booking.com estimate. Room was very dark. Housekeeping was not very responsive after 3 calls for washcloths.

    Good location. Parking was easy. Starbucks and Market Street restaurants were good, but expensive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting in room and bathroom very poor. Walk in closet had none. Asked check in desk to break $100 bill. Said they could not. No coffee in room. Staff rather indifferent to needs.

    Bed comfortable. Charming atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very old and outdated. Bathroom had mildew all around. Lamp had exposed wire and shocked my husband when he went to plug it in. Carpet was dirty and disgusting. Both beds were caved in the center. Area around hotel has a major homeless problem and not safe for children.

    Staff was nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls are paper-thin. Every time a guest moved about in the hallway or adjacent room, you can hear everything. All night. It took 10 minutes to heat up the shower (no exaggeration) - perhaps the hotel might still be working off the old boiler-room heating (?), plus the water pressure was rubbish ... you literally had to run around in the shower to get a decent coverage of water. Beds, semi-comfy yet we found ourselves rolling into the the middle of the bed each night like there was a sinkhole. If you get Room 371, don't expect a decent night sleep, or a quick hot shower.

    The beautiful decor from years gone bye was lovely to see. The original marble throughout the hotel was stunning. We chose this hotel for its history, so the ornate features was lovely to see. We booked two rooms and were given rooms opposite each other which we were thankful for.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manager started to argue with me for a package he received and keep saying it is not his problem. Neighborhood full of homeless and drug addicts. Smell of piss all along the street of the hotel. Overpriced parking fee. Very Tiny bathroom.

    Historic hotel, about 3 blocks from Cable Car, 1 block away of very good SF Fitness Gym. Confortable bed. Has safe in the room. High ceiling.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative; the building is old. If you want historic, then this is for you. It shows its age in the remodeling and retrofits made to bring modern comforts to a hundred year old building. It has a beautiful lobby, and it feels like a time capsule of elegance. If you want modern and perfect, keep looking.

    Good value for its location. Easy access to public transit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff - some were helpful, other did not really answer our questions. Cleanliness - the room was not clean, very dusty especially in the bathroom. Restaurant - no people and very small menu

    Location good, Starbucks helps for breakfast substitution

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garbage was collected at 6am every day from outside our room - we were on 7th floor and it was very noisy!! We had to pay 58 dollars plus tax to park the car!

    Helpful staff and nice decor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible location for family's Dangerous! Room had no view. Old. Remote didn't work. Phone in room didn't work And Wifi didn't work. Don't expect to get one bar of wifi here! Pictures are a lie. Parking is $38 and no fridge in room they wanted $20 bucks to have one. Bar closed so early and breakfast wasn't included. Had to change rooms at 1230am. Omg! Don't think this is a deal because it's not. I counted over 15 homeless people in front of hotel And cops everywhere. Bathroom was so small my son and I couldn't brush out teeth Together. Never again.

    Horrible location for family's Dangerous! Room had no view. Old. Remote didn't work. Phone in room didn't work And Wifi didn't work. Don't expect to get one bar of wifi here! Pictures are a lie. Parking is $38 and no fridge in room they wanted $20 bucks to have one. Bar closed so early and breakfast wasn't included. Had to change rooms at 1230am. Omg! Don't think this is a deal because it's not. I counted over 15 homeless people in front of hotel And cops everywhere. Bathroom was so small my son and I couldn't brush out teeth Together. Never again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, especially bed bugs

    *Closet had No working lightbulb *Tub and sink where full of hair *Beds where caved in We where placed in a very noisy street Surrounded by homelessness Drug users and even massive amounts of feces On the front and close to property parking is in a alley awful location for Healthy families

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall ... we were NOT satisfied. There's NO coffee pot or refrigerator in the room. We stayed at a small motel before reaching San Francisco that had much better amenities. We could have paid MUCH less for more. There was also a group of young adults staying while we were there...each night they were loud until about 2am. The hotel never had them quiet down... even after calling the front desk the second night of very little sleep.

    The lobby

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hidden $38 extra for parking, the small and uncomfortable bathroom, the many times that the cleaning staff tried to open the door, the unsafe it feels to be surrounded by homeless and drugs.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of bathroom counter space. Accessible outlets to charge electronics. Poor ventilation in bathroom (steamy). Expensive restaurant.

    Very comfortable beds. Quiet room. Great value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like anything. No fridge, no parking, no coffee maker in the room, no pool for kids, poor wifi connection, extra charges per day for the parking and over priced for the stay.

    very disappointing and over priced given the location of the place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very nice and helpful.made check in very easy and stress free, my fiancee and I can't wait to visit again. Thank you to the manager Kevin and all the friendly whitcomb hotel staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi was awful - hardly worked at all in the room itself, only when you left the room. We’d been without internet for some time so were relying on it to make bookings, do some banking and research the next part of our trip. The shower took ages to warm up and the pressure was poor.

    I liked to historic feel to the place, it had a real old charm about it and the location was really convenient to the train. We were able to store our luggage all day while we looked around.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the idea of being rushed to empty our car so the valet could take it away. Not even allowed to park ourselves

    No included breakfast and was overpriced for the room we stayed in

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like others have said, not really any plugins. Also, had a dual bed handicap room. shower head wouldn't reach my head, I'm 5'10. And made water go all over bathroom floor. Had to request more towels and bath mat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dark and impossible to see I had to use the bathroom light to try to illuminate the closet and the fan in the bathroom is loud. Other than that it was fine. Improve the lighting

    The staff is terrific really nice and friendly and willing to help. The room was dark and impossible to see I had to use the bathroom light to try to illuminate the closet and the fan in the bathroom is loud. Other than that it was fine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I called housekeeping to tell them the shower/tub handle was loose and I was afraid it would fall off. I never heard from anyone and it was never fixed.

    Clean room and the hotel is in a good location for my needs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It felt really unsafe with the homeless people in front. Our first room smelled overwhelmingly like bleach. We asked to change rooms and they were rude. We asked for a late checkout which they said was ok and at 1pm. At 12:15 they started asking us to leave asap. The staff was not friendly.

    The historic part is pretty cool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent service from the cleaning lady on the floor I was on. I had a cold and used extra tissues, after the second day I found a spare box of tissues on my night stand. The hotel is an island of peace and quiet in a neighbourhood which is not that great. 15 minute walk from downtown/Chinatown/Moscone center. 30 minute walk to Embarcadero area or shorter when taking the subway (which passes right next to the hotel).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is very old and in need of renovation and updating, although my room itself was clean and comfortable. The elevators are very slow and, when the hotel is full, it can be quite a wait to get one. The Civic Center area where the hotel is located, while convenient and central, has a lot of homeless people, many of whom appear to be drug addicted. I saw some shooting up with needles in broad daylight on the sidewalk.

    The location is convenient and very near a BART and MUNI (subway) station. The price for a centrally located hotel in San Francisco was very good. The tradeoff is that this is a very old hotel in need of renovation and updating, and the location (while central and convenient) is plagued by homeless people on the sidewalks all around it, many of whom appear to be mentally ill or drug addicted and some of whom panhandle aggressively.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Take this hotel off you list, it is not even a 2 star, terrible. I will not use booking.com again

    This hotel is old, poor internet connections, no room service, no coffee machines in the room, and is surrounded by homeless people and drug addicts, it is a 2 star hotel in a terrible area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THERE WAS ONE PARTICULAR STAFF MEMBER THAT WASNT THE NICEST PERSON. HE WAS VERY DRY VERY UNPLEASANT AND HE HAD THE ATTITUDE OF NOT WANTING TO BE THERE LET ALONE HELP ME

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were tight on space.There was also a set of dumpster outside our window that were very loud emptied at 3 in the morning and every hour thereafter until 8 a.m. It made for a terrible night's sleep.

    The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To go walking on and off to the hotel the area have to much Homeless. You must be very ashame . The "big nation USA" how they treat this sicks persons. Is better to have war and forget his people.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Those electrical outlets. They SERIOUSLY need attention!!! Also, if you could make it a little more device feiendly, it would be great. Otherwise, a great place to stay at.

    The location, especially to public transit (BART, Muni), Starbucks downstairs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The space is old ans dirty. Found hair (multiple stands of varying length and color) in the bathroom. Walls were dirty. No fridge or microwave. Staff did not respond to email. Had to wait for parking attendant upon arrival. Water pressure in shower was very low. Housekeeping staff walked in unannounced.

    Its across the street from the Orpheum Theater.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tight squeeze when taking a shower. They need to install those arc shower rods to give more room when showering.

    Although this is an older hotel, it is a HISTORIC HOTEL. Very convenient to get to from SFO. Get on BART and 9th stop you're there at the front door. Stayed there the past 12 times I've been to SFO.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is nothing like you present it on booking. The hotel is old and smelly and not clean. The hotel located in the hood of San Francisco you walk out the front door and there is homeless forks doing drug deals. I will never use booking again

    Nothing at all!!!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The homeless population in the early morning hours. I actually walked into a homeless person injecting drugs into his arm. It was very disturbing

    Room , staff

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Whitcomb traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: