Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Windsor Hotel 2 stars

108 Forsyth Street, Lower East Side, New York, NY 10002, USA

#406 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 963 hotel reviews

6.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.5

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    5.6

  • Staff

    6.9

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non cooperative Chinese staff Not clean at all Very shabby rooms and corridor Hairs on bedsheet and everything My wife didnot use the towels and we had to buy new ones

    Location only

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Great deal in good location, Chinatown, Lower East Side.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Obviously things like a gym would be nice, but can't expect too much for this price.

    Good location near Chinatown and Lower East Side, close to important subways. Good price for 6 people sharing two rooms, cheaper than the HI NYC Hostel! Excellent eating options around, like Russ & Daughters for bagels, and great bookstore, Bluestocking. Wholefoods for supermarket.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    4.6
    Rather low quality hotel but located well
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty windows. Floor was not vacumed and was dirty as well. Old and damaged furnitures.

    Localization was ok, near the subway station and close to city hall, etc. We could leave our lagguage after the check out for a couple of hours what was really helpful as we had a flight late at night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    better than anticipated and all was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. I was leery prior to check-in because of some of the reviews but all was fine - mind you, it's not a luxury hotel by any means, but we don't go on trips to stay in a hotel. Another bonus - small and easily walked. we stayed in another hotel in nyc where I felt that we walked a mile just from our room to the elevator

    simple, basic small hotel. Loved the neighborhood. Staff was great. Only issue is that they take a copy of your license at check-in. I didn't really care for that, but when I asked why I was given a thorough explanation that made sense, including the steps taken to destroy the copy. Had a toilet leak the 2nd night with no maintenance on staff, but they just moved us to a similar room. I was very happy with the hotel and would stay again. PS - the market right next door is great for cooked food and prices are incredibly reasonable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.3
    Good location, very close to the subway, and little Italy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor cleaning service, sometimes towels where dirty and stained

    Good location, very close to the subway, and little Italy! The cheapest fair option you can find in the area! Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.0
    Location was good, close to Soho, little Italy and subway.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled like bleach, furniture was old and worn. Shower curtain and bed sheets had stains.

    Location was good, close to Soho, little Italy and subway. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really.

    It was a good place to stay. Clean and comfortable. No complaints. Near subway and very close, 5/10 mins to Chinatown and Little Italy. Near Brooklyn Bridge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    The location is very good - close to the subway and little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is old and even though everything was clean you can see lot's of broken parts - fallen off curtains, broken towel handle (it was fixed the same day).

    The location is very good - close to the subway and little italy. have to go through some not as nice parts of china town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.2
    Close to restaurants and subway, but very dirty and poor facilitated
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dirtiest and most disgusting hotel I've ever lived. The bed sheet was not changed before we checked in!!!!! All kinds of long hairs were found in bed, and dirty spots on the corner of the bed!!!!! Night stand covered by dust. The soap feels like sand paper that cuts your skin.

    Close to the restaurants and subway

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    3.3
    Disgusting!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was disgusting!! Still a used toothbrush from the person before me sat on the bathroom sink. Alone with used soap and shampoo in the shower. It looked like they walked in made the bed then walked back out. The place was absolutely gross!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location, no frills, good value, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit tattered, worn around the edges, and small. It also overlooked a club that was quite noisy until late Saturday night, into Sunday morning. After that, however, the noise level was low.

    Location is great, close to Lower East Side, Little Italy, Chinatown, Soho, etc. Room met basic needs. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The staff really made the stay enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.0
    Location, changing towels every day, general cleaning done...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle or drinking water in the room (you have to go to reception to pick up free tea or coffee) towels definitely not being washed in 90 degrees, bedsheets and cases not ironed, carpet not hoovered, pipe leaking in the room. Extremely poor WiFi, people talking very loudly in the lounge and receptionists not intervening to respect other guests.

    Location, changing towels every day, general cleaning done every day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    4.2
    The room smelled like wet mold.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled like wet mold. Very uncomfortable and not clean the way it should be. I rented the room for someone and felt horrible afterwards that I rented a room at the hotel. I apologized to my family memeber because I honestly didn’t know that place would be so bad. It wasn’t the people that work their it is the rooms they are so out dated and should not smell bad. Thankful that it was only one night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    We will definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The statement "didn't like" isn't really applicable. Just an observation, the hotel is older and the wear and tear does show. However, everything was clean, and as previously mentioned the staff is outstanding so the wear and tear can be ignored.

    The age of this hotel is showing; however, it is easily overlooked due to the fabulous staff. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. When we'd ask for specific information, they had wonderful suggestions. You also can't beat the location. Across the street from the subway and right next to China Town and Little Italy. We spent a whole day just exploring the area and all it had to offer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.4
    Bathrooms was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets were not clean, room smelt of cigarette smoke when we arrived. No fridge, cups, kettle, none of the basics.

    Bathrooms was clean. Relatively inexpensive. Located close to little Italy and China town. Authentic atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    I think it is value for money, given its location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi speed was not great. Cups for making coffee can be improved

    Good location. Close to subway/metro stations. The room was clean. 24 hour coffee making facility present. 24-hour front desk. Friendly people.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Hotel is very worth located in the middle of Manhattan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Facilities in the room definitely need renovation; especially in the bathroom. Power outlets are very uncomfortably placed. we had problems to plug our items in.

    Hotel is very worth located in the middle of Manhattan.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Great stay aside from its downfalls.
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast, WiFi goes in and out, Some TVs glitch or need to be updated.

    The staff was amazing and was very helpful. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Go check it out, you will like it
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    They were friendly, and helpful, no rodents or roaches like other hotels, very clean, and it was well worth the cost, not so expensive, just nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.0
    The people were very nice, but the facilities were a little subpar for the amount paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My towels were not that clean. I was locked out of my room my first night and put in another one without my stuff. Elevator smelled like marijuana. Water was lukewarm...

    The hosts were nice. The noise wasn't too loud.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    3.3
    The place is really old and scabby, it was black hair in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is really old and scabby, it was black hair in the bed and on the towels, the sheets had stains on it. It was dirt and black stains in the ceiling. It felt like a place that could have had bed bugs. There is no breakfast or not even a bottle of water in the room. It was way too expensive for what you get. The location it’s quite ok with the park outside and close to the red line subway. There is no doorman but the reception inside the entrance in open 24/7. I did not feel super safe.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.0
    “Good location”, but a little dirty place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty towels and had hair, stained sheets, for several times they did not totally collect the trash from my room and the receptionists should a little more friendly.

    location, only. (by having a few subway stations nearby)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.1
    Nice area to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The temperature inside the room sometimes was unbalanced. Staff sometimes don't say hello to you.

    It is close to Little Italy and subway. Also, there are a lot of shops around the hotel. The third level was more new than the second level. You should ask to stay at least on the third level.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    2.5
    The worst nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bug beds,mattress cover sheets were disgusted, the area is unsafe you listed the hotel as a luxury hotel when reality is the opposite at what we experience.

    Please,send someone to make sure the pictures you show on your website doesn't reflect what my wife and I experience. We defenely we will like to be credit what we paid.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    3.3
    Bad Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything.. It was not clean the Bed,the WiFi diden't work and jenerall this Hotel sould be much much cheeaper in what they offer you!!!

    It was close to Metro station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    4.6
    Staff was nice, neighbourhood is safe and it's really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was really cold, when we got there the heating was turned off (in the winter), so it took few hours to get the room warm. Bathroom was dirty. The WiFi kept disconnecting every 5 mins.

    Staff was nice, neighbourhood is safe and it's really close to the subway, not even a minute - walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Pleasantly what I expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My shower one morning would not get hot or even warm. All the rest of the time it was fine though.

    Was within walking distance of Chinatown, excellent restraunts,and if you're willing to walk a bit even the 9/11 memorial and museum.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice place, but difficult to park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not understand that there is basically no parking available. You have to pay for the parking on one side of the street, and you can pay for only one hour at a time. The other side is free, but very full. There is a parking garage nearby, but it will cost NYC price.

    The hotel is fine inside, and the room is small, but comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    4.6
    Never again
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was old out dated with hard beds, stains on the sheets, run down bathroom, stinky hallways, bootleg cable tv. It was very uncomfortable. They didn't even have wash cloths and the towels we're so hard. You could here everything in the hallway and you could even here the house keeper in the next bathroom scrubbing the dirty tub. The curtains we're ragadey and had stains on it. No amenities at all. The rooms were so small you could not move around in the room and the beds, do not sit at the bottom of the bed. I did and the whole bed came up at the top. It was a horrible experience. I left and went to another hotel...do not stay here. It was like a jail cell.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.0
    I liked the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I couldn't take a shower because hot water didn't work. Staff said it would be fixed in 2 hours, but it didn't more than 12 hours.

    I liked the location. Less than 5 minutes by walk to the nearest station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    4.2
    EXTREMELY DIRTY! Bathroom, TV and phone broken within the night. Staff didn’t do anything to help.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cons are really bad. The place was EXTREMELY dirty. When I went to my room everything looked okay until I pulled back the covers. The white sheets had orange stains on them, two of the four white pillow covers had orange stains on them. I found hair on the bed and pillows that was not mine. The towels I was so afraid to use. They all had very obvious orange and some even brown stains on them. Some of the TV channels just did not work, some of the channels quality was bad. I finally found a movie I liked and halfway into it a message popped up from Direct TV saying to troubleshoot it and that there was an error. I was going to call the front desk from my room but the phone does not work. At all. No dial tone whatsoever. The bonus part is when I used the bathroom and went to flush it would not work. I went downstairs to inform the front desk guy around 8pm and he said that happens a lot. I asked if someone could come look at it and he said it’s only him and the cleaning lady is done for the night.

    The pros of this place. I booked it the day of and paid $88 with tax in Manhattan. That is a good deal in itself. Also the location is by Bowery. It’s more by China Town but if you hop on a train or cab you’re 15/20 minutes out from the city. Surprisingly they provide you with a toothbrush and toothpaste.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    4.6
    Disappointed customer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The bedsheets were used and dirty and we had checked in at 9pm. They had dirty/fluid marks and hair on them. 2. The receptionist was new and inexperienced however he tried to be helpful as much as he could.

    -

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Hotel was lovely, STAFF was wonderful, site superb and breakfast divine.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Directions for how to find hotel in dead of winter.

    Bed was too soft but comfortable. Personal taste. STAFF was wonderful, location superb and breakfast divine. Wish we could have spent more time there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    4.2
    There was not any house shoes that was stated on the list of...
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not any house shoes that was stated on the list of things provided and the room was dirty got locked out when they had my debit card info so had to go back down and wait 20 mins to get it staighted out .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    Good location at chinatown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel a bit old but clean.

    Excellent location which really meet my need. At chinatown, a lot of chinese food available with very cheap price. A big supermarket around 400m walking distance. Near my travel agent Take Tour office which i book ground tour with.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    5.4
    Good location, with friendly and helpful staff, but pricey for limited facilities/comfort/space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dim/poor lighting in the room. Desk lamp is necessary to passably light up the entire room. Although the electrician was quickly called in to fix the out-of-order desk lamp, only one out of the two bulbs were replaced. Limited coverage/connectivity and slow Wi-Fi in guest room. Extremely poor and low quality cable TV with very limited choices of channels available (less than 10). On rainy nights, no signals at all for all channels with the issue persisting on the following morning. Small room and beds, only good for sleeping in.

    Ease of accessibility (located in Chinatown/near Grand St and Bowery) with myriad of affordable Chinese restaurants, eateries and stores which are opened till late. Takeaway breakfast from the nearby Harper's Bread House Inc. is highly recommended (value for money). Traveling to/from Midtown Manhattan (42 St-Port Authority Bus Terminal Station, Times Square, Empire State Building, Macy's, Rockefeller Center etc.) via subway (Grand St B/D). Travel to/from Lower Manhattan (Federal Hall, New York Stock Exchange, Trinity Church, Battery Park, Statue Cruises (Purchase/Pick up tickets to Statue of Liberty, Wall Street (Scripture of Charging Bull), National Museum of the American Indian) via Bowery (alight at Broad St). Little Italy, Manhattan Bridge, and Brooklyn Bridge are within walk-able distances. Friendly front desk staff to assist with checking in/out, luggage storage after checking out and a shout-out to Alex who helped us with the arrangement of transportation to JFK Airport. Cleanliness of room and good housekeeping.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    4.6
    I wouldn't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Linen was stained. The rooms where poor conditions. They didn't even have ice for guest.

    It was quiet. Just to sleep its perfect. Little Italy is close by.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    6.3
    Average stay, no complaints.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no food available in the hotel. So you’ll have to go out to get food. The room is small, so it’s only good for sleeping in.

    Really good value for the money, rooms were clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.8
    overall it was a pleasant stay any time i have business in lower manhattan i will book this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I guess cleaning staff isn't aware of booked rooms staff attempted to open the door to my room while I was sleep but closed it when they say me , and the heat kept shutting off and on during the night .

    Room was small and cozy very clean bathroom for a quick trip was a great hotel in lower Manhattan

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.9
    Good value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location of the hotel was good for the 9/11 museum and the Statue of Liberty and not bad for other places we wanted to see. It was very close to the subway station, so the hotel was easy to find. It was basic but clean, with a good shower, and we were given clean towels every day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable place in China town
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since the accomodation is located in China town, in the neighbourhood mainly there are only chinese shops, food courts. It' s ok, but if you would like to shop, eat different type of products should walk a bit further.

    The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. The place is located in China town, easy access to the other part of Manhattan. Metro lines are close. There was even heating in the room, which made our one night stay even smoother.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    Overall, you get what you pay for. It’s good if you’re in a jam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was on the ground level and the walls are thin- it was hard to sleep with so much noice. My window opened did ectly on the street and my door pretty much opened to the lobby, so it was loud. There were also bugs- nothing dangerous or truly note worthy, but still gross and disappointing. (I’m talking spiders and stuff) There was a small stain on my sheet.

    The location was great- tons of restaurants, bars and shops around. The subway is right across the small street. There’s also a park across from the hotel. There’s a convenience store, liquor store, ice cream shop, and tons of Chinese restaurants all within 2 minutes of walking. The price was good for a hotel in Manhattan. The staff were also accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.5
    There is room for improvement
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a technician to work on the room socket. TV entertainment facility generally is poor. Table lamp not working.

    Was a bit cold so the heater works well. Elevator works perfectly. Never crowded. Location is good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    4.2
    It was a dive. I would never stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a dive. I would never stay there again..It was noisy at night, which interfered with my sleep. The room was cleaned, but not thoroughly. It was cheaply furnished. The staff did not have a good command of English, which made communicating challenging.

    After I pointed out an accounting error, which caused them to bill me excessively for the room, they did correct the error, but the correction took a long time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    3.3
    the only thing that worked fine was the safe.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were very dirty. But most disapointing is that the sheets and towels were dirty. Also the furnature was over the time limit. First room was so dirty that I had the feeling fleas were jumping on me. Second room was better as there were no fleas.

    the only thing that worked fine was the safe. The accomodation was really bad.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    4.2
    not for Americans
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wash clothes provide & none at desk. No hand towel. just 2 bath towels that were not overly large. Noise all night in room 103 near front door of hotel. No water glasses/cups. Litter in Streets.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    2.5
    The room was nasty .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nasty . Sheets had make up stings all over . The bathroom curtains has holes everywhere and only gave me three towels per day when I was in my room with my other two friends.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Cheap, no-frills hotel. You get what you pay for and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed on first floor, so there was foot traffic just outside. No screens on windows and had to ask front desk for cups.

    For the price, we were very pleased with our stay. Front desk staff was very friendly and attentive to our special requests, room was no-frills but clean and spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    3.3
    Worse hotel we've stayed at throughout the world!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, no fridge. Room was stuffy so put air on but it vibrated through the bed so opened window, which was worse. Smell of weed plus garbage was overwhelming, a group of intoxicated, homeless people were camped out just below window and were fighting all night which made their dog bark incessantly. I would not dream of recommending this hotel to anyone & I don't believe Booking.com should either!

    Location was close to where we had to pick up our bus tour.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice location, comfortable, clean and afforable with no extras included
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we would have liked a coffee maker or microwave and small refrigerator in the room but because it was so small it was not possible. AND no television;

    the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were clean. rooms were vey small but comfortable. street was quiet and had view of soccer field. The area was really close to everything we wanted to see so location was great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.3
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shoddy and not clean. Although cheap for NYC it was almost too dirty to stay in. No bedbugs thank goodness.

    Friendly staff. Great location in China Town across from Sarah Roosevelt Park. Noise at night so bring ear plugs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    It was a good trip. We had a lot of fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room felt dirty and the shower curtain was dirty. Towels were stained. Thankfully I brought my own towels and washcloths. I would actually stay here again. I bought some bleach and cleaned the shower. Staff was nice. It's in Chinatown so that's a cool area to explore. You get what you pay for. If you're looking for a romantic/luxury place to stay, then this isn't the place. But if you're looking for somewhere just to sleep. Then it's fine. We had lots of laughs over it. Just bring your own towels and wash cloths. There weren't any bugs or anything in there.

    I liked the location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    4.6
    You get what you paid for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was almost the same size as beds. But it wasn't the worst thing. Walls, towels, carpets, sheets, curtains, AC... Everything was terribly dirty. I was even able to find someones finger nails on carpet!

    Only one good thing in this hotel is price...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    2.5
    The filth sours the relatively low price. Don't Go.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    See photos on Yelp. The dirtiest hotel room I have ever seen. Clearly not cleaned between visitors! Hair left in the bathroom, somewhat severe mold in the shower, old dirt smashed into the tile in the bathroom (could have been anything), stained towels, BLOOD on a towel, dried urine streaking down the bathroom walls, stained and pilled sheets (that was either chocolate or... I don't even want to think about it), incredibly uncomfortable beds, things falling apart. I did not see any bugs, but would be shocked if there were none. Other reviewers have reported bed bugs and horrendous bites covering limbs. I was ashamed to let my 7 year old son shower here and use the towel. He slept on top of the linens, thank god he carries his own blanket around. I felt so gross being in this room that we wound up leaving New York a day early to avoid another night here. Spend a little more and go somewhere with a better reputation! Or maybe come with a sleeping bag, towels, and some disinfecting wipes if you're in dire straits. Now I see what booking.com ratings appeared to be high for this dump. The lowest rating you can give is 2.5.

    I'd like to give the location a smiley face, but I can't do it in good conscience of the overall score. The location is great - China Town and Little Italy both easily accessible as well as the Bowery Ballroom. Everything else about this place is atrocious. Staff was decent. I knew better than to ask them for anything though.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    I had stayed there once before, and I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Worse problem that we had there is once night the key to the room didn't work. The guy at the front desk fixed it quickly and apologized for any inconvenience.

    It is a no frills hotel. Half the price of Midtown or Times Square. You get what you pay for, and if you need a clean safe place to sleep while you are in NYC, it is well worth the money. The place is not new or fancy, but it provides you with everything that you need for a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.3
    location was good, It is closed to subway st "Grand...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wi-fi connection is too bad, room should have been renovated I mean very old decoration and toilet was not clear, You can not open window, no fresh air.

    location was good, It is closed to subway st "Grand Street". akso closed to China town. room size is very good .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.1
    Location was convenient to little Italy and SoHo for walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was convenient to little Italy and SoHo for walking and shopping. Staff was helpful with arranging ride to airport. The store on the corner half a block down had a good selection of groceries and hot food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.0
    The location is good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room cost was too high 200$ per night with tax. The room was small, not pleasing aesthetically. The internet connection was bad, disconnecting every 5-10 minutes. TV had no signal most of the time. Seriously overpriced, it should cost around 1/3 of the current price.

    The location is good . Next to a subway. Close to Little Italy and Chinatown, lots of restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.0
    Our time in New York City was great. Our stay at the Windsor Hotel was not.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dirty. There were two peach pits laying on the carpet and what appeared to be blood on the hangers and in the shower. We stayed one of the three nights we planned. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. When I asked for a refund for the second and third night, they said it would take 7 to 10 business days. Seemed odd in these days of digital accounts that a refund would take that long. I am not optimistic.

    Location was good as we were close to the Lower East Side and Soho.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    2.5
    Very bad experience into this hotel. I should grade this hotel ZERO.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All, I will never ever again want to step in that hotel. The lobby was also dirty.

    Everything was dirty in the room, blankets, towel, bedsheets has hole in it and stains. The carpet has needs to be steamed, the bathroom stinks. The room stinks. When we ask for new towels cause the towels were dirty, the attendant said need to wait in the morning cause the housekeeping already went home.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.1
    simple and affordable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't think we got a double bed and a twin that comfortably accomodated three of us as we booked and paid. the double bed was too small.

    it was surrounded by many good (and cheap!) eateries. The staffs were helpful. Basic toiletries were provided generously.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    5.8
    Much is to be desired with housekeeping.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Much is to be desired with housekeeping. Our bed sheets and pillow cases were not changed during our 7-day stay.

    Location. It is near the Grand Street Subway station and bus stops to Washington DC.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    2.9
    Not so nice staff with not so nice room, where the clean surface rare...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room, no refrigerator, not so clean the carpets, and the age of the things in the room was so old..., the staff was very unpolite, and in the first night give for us a very bad parking suggestion, we was very lucky, only this is why not towed away the car...

    The room was extremly small, this is a very very "value" room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    2.5
    Dissatisfied!!! Horrible hotel, bad customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were unfriendly, unwelcoming, and seemed racist.

    Nothing, the hotel was very poor and uncomfortable. In addition, the staff were unfriendly and racist.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.9
    Worked out well for what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are quite small .... but we three were there just for the night, so no biggee. Actually something I now expect in budget priced hotels in NYC.

    Double bed and a twin bed for no extra cost ... several hotels we had looked at charged extra for the space/bed to accommodate my niece.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    Staying at Windsor was a wonderful experience for my family and I ,thank u very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually my family and I love the place and want to be back soon

    I love the warm reception of all staff members,speedy answer to all requests,nice neighborhood,easy access to subay and nice and clean restaurants and stores

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    In all I had an awesome stay at this hotel, will definitely go back there any day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager is slow in response and attending to facility matters,the internet was down for day and I needed to communicate and plan my day. He didn't attend To it on time even after several calls. They need to invest in new bed sheets and covers fast.

    The location is awesome!! The guys at the front desk especially one named Vincent was super nice! Also the fact that you don't have to share bathroom. The room service guys are efficient too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    5.8
    Kiefer Sutherland week
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small rooms. Bathroom could have been a little cleaner. No glasses or face cloths in bathroom. Only a couple of channels on TV.

    Bed was very comfortable and the room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice place to stay, for a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The towels, besides clean, looked old/dirt! No breakfast!

    A well located place, just one block from a Subway Station! Staff was nice at all the time. Beds were very comfortable. The room was clean including bathroom, air conditioner worked fine for us!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    2.9
    Filthy, smelly, would never recommend this place to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The whole room was filthy. The towels were old, full of stains, thin, and falling apart. The bed linen was dirty. The beds were not made properly, they only pulled the bedsheets and blanket up. The carpet and the windows were filthy. The room stunk. There was no tea or coffee facilities in the room.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.8
    Good for short stay while traveling city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use a better toilet seat, towels could have been better looking, no wash cloths,no ice machine.

    Location was good, staff very nice. Was accommodated for early check in

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    3.8
    The Hotel was near the Metro and there were plenty of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had problems checking in. The credit card I had used to secure the booking had been scammed. So I had the bank cancel it and issue a replacement. When I got to the Hotel they said I had to present the credit card I had used to book the accommodation. I tried to explain that the card had been cancelled due to it being scammed, and they had already charged approx. $154.00 us to that card and that had already been paid. But they said I would have to pay the full amount if I could not produce the card that I had booked with, which meant I would be paying well over what had been quoted for my stay there. They would not listen., And told me to contact my bank which was a useless position to put forward. Lucky I had my I Pad with me and after and hour going through bank statements on line I was able to demonstrate to them that what I was saying was correct. I had stayed at another hotel a couple of blocks away for 6 nights when I first got to New York before going to Canada and stayed at this Hotel when I returned from Canada. Never again.

    The Hotel was near the Metro and there were plenty of Restaurants and shops nearby, well as a few places that were of interest to me.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.3
    Good for the money and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee but they offered hot water/tea. The bedroom was small but enougn with a double bed and one single. The bathroom was big and clean. Had towel ( a little old tho), tooth brush, tooth paste (small but enough), a soup ( enough for one day ), shampoo, and 1 hand cream. There was not hand soup so we use the shampoo hehe. It has elevator. Don't remember the place was noisy but I got the feeling somebody was smoking near by. They don't offer parking, but there parkings close by. The area is in chinatown and close to little Italy so many places to eat walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    3.3
    disgusting hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there are hair everywhere on the bed. It is really disgusting. When we asked the staff change the sheet for us, he started yelling at us saying they don't have any more sheet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    7.9
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building and the room is quite old clearly has not been renovated a while. The cleanlinnes of the room could be improved.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was great with a wide range of restaurants and grocery shops near by.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Windsor Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: