Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Windsor Inn Hotel 2 stars

1842 16th Street, NW, Northwest, Washington, DC 20009, USA

#128 of 138 hotels in Washington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1130 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    This is a quaint little hotel reminiscent of a Parisian...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to dislike. They no longer do breakfast, just coffee and cold water

    This is a quaint little hotel reminiscent of a Parisian hotel. The staff is pleasant and accomodating; the room was snug and cozy, and the location was ideal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for a 2-Star Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel. Staff are at the front desk 24/7, and the hotel is in a quiet part of DC just a few blocks from the metro and a number of bars and restaurants. They provide water, coffee, and tea. The rooms and beds were comfortable, the water pressure was good. No weird smells, and our window AC unit kept the air at a cool temperature without humidity (we were in DC for a few of those super hot days in July!). Would absolutely stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money. Very friendly people at the front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought breakfast was part of the package, but it didn’t matter; Starbucks’ oatmeal was moments away!

    The accommodation was in an excellent location. It gave us a suburban perspective to this beautiful city. We were close to buses, and a 12 minute walk from U Street Metro. Three minutes from Starbucks, as well as Bandit Taco - a local, friendly Mexican serving delicious, fresh food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.4
    Former Glory
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air conditioning was so noisy it kept me awake all night. I could not turn not it off for more that a few hours as the heat of Washington was too hot and humid. I left the next morning to a 4 star hotel down the road for half the price of the room per night charged at the Windsor. (the Windsor $200 the 4 star $100 per night). I shall never opt for 2 star hotels. There was no refund.

    The Frenchman was very helpful and a bonus to the Hotel. The Hotel was old but has such great potential to become a Boutique Hotel, to emphasise the original beauty of the the building and the original fittings.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    The staff was knowledgeable and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I use a walker and couldn't get up or down the steps. Not conducive for anyone with walking disables. The Ethopian woman that worked the morning shift was super .She went out of her way to help me. She also told me about your sister property on 15th agree that didn't have steps. I will book at that property in the future.

    The staff was knowledgeable and friendly. Mimi the cat was wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom could have been bigger and it would have been nice to have had a kettle in the room

    The staff were very friendly. The bathroom was a bit on the tight side. It is in need of decorating but for the time you spend in your room it was fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    2.5
    Not happy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff being difficult to deal with & moreso from booking the hotel from Australia. I used my credit card for the first time & once only & have now had to cancel the card due to fraudulent use. It's been used to pay for nails, haircuts, dinners around Washington!!! I thought it was strange that the hotel would not honour my booking made on booking.com unless I completed their credit card authority form via email - which I have never had to do before with any booking.com bookings in almost 10 years!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    For our purposes, this was an excellent stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room (407) needs to be updated. The walls and floors are old and tired. The bathroom has been updated but needs finishing work. The TV set could not be turned on, and the radio alarm was an enigma.

    We liked the location on a quiet, tree lined street of private homes and apartments. It was a short taxi ride to the very expensive hotel in which the conference was housed, and the staff got us taxis as needed. There are a lot of old furnishings in the lobby areas that add character to the hotel. There were thick, fresh white towels daily, an excellent shower and the hotel was quiet. The resident cat was a plus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Good location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny cockroach in bathroom. Vending machine in reception not working.

    Lovely staff member when we checked in. Very helpful. Also the lady on the desk during the daytime was very friendly and helpful. Great location. Close to restaurants, shops and nightlife.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.3
    Very easy to get public transport from here and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very easy to get public transport from here and good neighbourhood. We loved the location, while the venue itself was basic, the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    great little gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel could do with a lick of paint and some better wifi but overall great place

    the staff were very lovely, The hotel is set in a 1920s building and this does show with the décor (and the cat in the hotel) but it is still a lovely little hotel. the room was comfortable and plenty of space.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Overall everything was good considering the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location - lively neighborhood and great restaurants that are a walking distance of only a couple of minutes away! Also only 15-20 mins away from the National Mall.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    3.8
    An experience and lesson. I way overpaid,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt it was a fire trap The emergency y door was left open both days The room and bathroom were so, so small. The hotel was very primitive

    The location was pretty good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    really very very basic, needs renovations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Whole hotel is really very outdated - very old bathroom, etc. However they do make an effort to keep the place clean. There was a cat in the lobby all the time, which might be percieved as homey, if you are not allergic to cats :(

    Location is walking distance to the turist attractions. Price was ok compared to other hotels at this location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    The WiFi did not work in my room and the room was very hot.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no elevator to carry the luggages. They were no shuttle and no microwave in the rooms.

    The WiFi did not work in my room and the room was very hot. Despite changing the air to 60 degrees. The room remained hot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    Adequate and clean but expensive although probably the norm for this area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As an older building there are no elevators so be prepared to carry your luggage up 1 or 2 flights of stairs. Coffee and hot water in the lobby but no breakfast as one reviewer stated.

    Location - only 0.6 miles walk down New Hampshire Ave. to Du Pont Circle where there are lots of shops and a Metro Station. Also, the building was charming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    4.6
    I was glad it was only a one-night stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV didn't work, the AC was merely passable. The fixtures were old, banged up, rusty. Their were no lamps, only a glaring overhead light. Paint was peeling.

    The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location Great Staff, a bit noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Actually, everything was globally fine, except that they could put a bit more effort into changing the wallpapers of the room and put a new/clean fridge in the room. The room we were in was pretty noisy, we could hear our neighbours and people walking on the corridors.

    The staff is amazing, they were really helpful and gave us a lot of tips. They even offered to hold our luggage while we went to rent our car after the check-out. There is a nice cat lazying around, just be careful not to sit on it :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    4.2
    Safety/security concerns. Friendly staff, good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security concerns: old style key/lock system, found exit doors at end of hallways propped open allowing anyone to come in off street Entire building needs renovated. Nothing like photos advertised. Linens where discolored, furniture was chipped and mismatched, bed was squeaky and uncomfortable.

    Very friendly and hospitable staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.4
    Overpriced for what I got
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tile peeling up off shower floor, wallpaper peeling, carpet trashed, beds and pillows incredibly uncomfortable,

    Great neighborhood. Staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    3.8
    Nothing but the location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing liked. No internet at all except of the front yard. Very old and dated hotel. House keepers tried hard to keep clean an old and tired room. A single room/bed is given for a double. No elevator. Staff with no attention. Nothing to worth of staying at this hotel apart of the location. I had no idea, that such of hotels still exists in Western world and Washington in particular.

    The hard work of the room keepers, to keep the place tide and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    What you'd expect from a 2 star hotel in DC.. a bed to sleep in and that's about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's old, a bit run down, and the bed actually made my back hurt by the morning. That said, if you just need a cheap place to stay for one night in DC, this isn't a bad option. Anything more, and you should just pony up and get a place you wouldn't mind relaxing at.

    The price was pretty cheap, and location was walkable to the 14th and U street area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    Old-school charm, but needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our ground-floor room was tiny and dark, with one window that looked out onto an elevator shaft. No other furniture aside from a bed and closet. TV was small and didn't work. We had the impression there were nicer rooms upstairs; be sure to ask for one with a window if you book.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.3
    Friendly staff. Tired place. Excellent location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place has seen much better times and is in desperately need of an update. Paint and wall paper are peeling off, air smells moldy and stale.

    Location is great. The staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.8
    For one night it was tolerable at a not-too-exorbitant rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place appears to be in a poor state of repair -- patched together in a slipshod way. Wallpaper is peeling, ceiling is crumbling. Our room was very small -- hard to negotiate with two people. Fine for one night -- but I wouldn't stay longer than that.

    Staff was great. Bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.8
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No space except floor for soap and shampoo in shower. No hanging space except old wooden small cabinet. These should be basics

    The garden and good beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    2.5
    Would never stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found rodent feces on our rug, generally dirty room, rude staff, after finding feces in the room they tried to make us pay to change rooms, we tried to switch hotels but they would not give us a refund, the view out our room was an alley with metal bars over the window.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    5.0
    REALLY NOT WORTH THE PRICE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel would be ok if it weren’t for the price. Decor and general feel was very aged. Lights didn’t work and the toilet was bad. The fan made so much noise in the minuscule bathroom that you couldn’t have it on. Someone burst in on us one morning waking us up. There was a hotel cat which was cute but it’s litter tray stank in one of the cupboards in the hall. Not what you expect for the money at all. THUMBS DOWN.

    In general ok, but definitely not worth the money. Coffee in lobby wasn’t the worst. Area is good if you are willing to walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Staff was great, location is ideal near Dupont Circle and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was great, location is ideal near Dupont Circle and Adams Morgen with plenty of restaurants and bars. Room was quite small, but this was advertised, so no complaining there. The wifi signal is pretty weak on the top floors, but is accessible in the lobby, on the little terrace in front of the hotel and in a separate shared room on the ground floor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location but that's about the only good thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee in the lobby was nearly undrinkable. The room and the hotel itself are in much need of renovation. The bed was not comfortable, asked for an extra pillow and were told they had no more. The lights over the bathroom sink didn't work. Needed two remotes to operate the TV and cable box.

    The location is ideal, between Dupont Circle and the U Street Corridor. The staff were friendly. The cat in the lobby was cute.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Good value for wkend trip to DC if youu don't plan on spending too much time in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was a bit unsupportive. The bedroom was small. Neither were catastrophic. We'd stay there again in a heart beat.

    Free parking on the street for the weekend. Close walking distance to restaurants and points of interest. Room was small and sparsely appointed, but we were spending all of our time out and about the city so that didn't really matter to us. The staff was very friendly and the room was clean. The bathroom was almost as big as the bedroom and had been recently updated. It really depends on what you are looking for. If you are looking for all the amenities and big, spacious lounge-type rooms, this wouldn't be for you. I probably would not want to spend a whole day cooped up in the room. If you are on a budget and want a clean, affordable, hotel with a little character within walking distance to some vibrant DC neighborhoods, this is it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was drafty and noisy (facing the street).

    Nice little hotel. Friendly staff. Old charm atmosphere. A little out of the way but a pleasant walk thru a charming neighborhood.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Good Value Tourist Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tired décor. No elevator, lots of steps. Inadequate window coverings in bedroom and bathroom Bathroom - no toilet seat cover and no counter or shelf for toiletries. No lamp in room or light at bedside for reading.

    Friendly, Helpful Staff. Good & Quiet Location, easy walk to 14th St. and Dupont Circle shops. Good transportation, nearby bus stops to/from downtown. 24/7 reception. 24/7 free coffee. Good room size, comfortable bed & pillows. Good wifi +cable TV. OLD but clean bedroom and bath.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    2.9
    I still have yet to receive a refund after submitting many picutres of what i witnessed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was rude. Cat hair all over. Old dirty and dingy room. Girlfriend got an allergic reaction to something.

    I liked the price at first but realized soon after the false advertising of the cleanliness of the hotel. Dirty as can be.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.3
    Would not recommend this place to anyone I know
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is run down and in disrepair Paintwork, floor coverings and general fit out is old and/orworn out I am allergic to cats and did not like the fact that a large cat treated the reception sitting area as it's own

    Comfortable bed, clean sheets, hot shower

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    4.5
    It was in a great area of Washington
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking, i called and asked where i was to park, told i was on my own to find parking. Also i requested an iron and was told i would have to come down to get it.

    It was in a great area of Washington

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay in DC in a surprisingly good value for money place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location, good value for money, a clean and comfortable no frills place. It was nice to find coffee or tea in the lobby at any time. The staff were always pleasant and helpful and Mr. Jamie in particular made me feel very welcome and at home, and was always up for a little chat or to give recommendations :) There are buses nearby going in all directions and it is not too far from the Metro. All in all, well worth it! :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.4
    Great neighborhood but the price is too high for the quality of the room and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs a serious upgrade. Wallpaper peeling from walls. Dirty, stained carpet. Bathroom door didn’t fully close and shower temp was not well regulated. Strange electrical plug situation for vanity lighting in bathroom. While it was quiet, there was a general uncleanliness that made being in the room somewhat uncomfortable.

    Staff was friendly and warm. Location was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    The facility was close to the popular attractions and places...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room needs upgrading with paint, carpeting and furniture, Didn't like dodging cat poop from the resident cat.

    The facility was close to the popular attractions and places to eat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    3.8
    The hotel cat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was told they had parking.. But when we arrived they had NONE.. cost more at parking deck . Which was miles away. room was very small furniture broken. When you rested on the bed nd back on headboard the bed sled a foot from headboard. . NO elevator for my elderly mother .

    The hotel cat..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    6.3
    This is a good location period property which has been restored so some conveniences are sacrificed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No elevator. Damage and other waivers must be signed. Hand held ironing board only. No laundering service but a cleaners nearby. No in-room safe or hotel safe for valuables. Photos on line did not faithfully represent the appearance of the room I was in at least.

    Location good. Property well kept and clean with helpful staff. Ice machine available. Wifi good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.2
    Almost perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amount of stairs my elderly mom had to climb to get to the room.

    The room was a great size, bathroom also. Loved the window view and size of window overlooking road and garden.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced in my opinion. The non-availability of Wifi in my room was really misleading.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was not even searchable in my room. Had to walk all the way down the hall to catch a glimpse of internet. Also: phone did not link directly to lobby, couldn't request wake up call when I thought of doing so. Definitely not a proper destination for business travel requiring access to emails etc. and reliable service.

    Good location. Up the street from the Australian Embassy and - a bit further - the White House. On a busy enough street to catch cabs without placing a phone call.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    3.3
    I will never stay at this property again. Extremely unpleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner and I were given keys to a room and upon trying to enter, we realized that the room was already occupied. We let the person at the front desk know this, and the person at the desk just gave us another key, and didn’t even apologize. Staff was extremely unfriendly and unprofessional.

    N/A

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.1
    A cheap stay close to centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy - it’s an old building so the walls are quite thin (if someone in the room above you is walking/moving around, you’ll certainly hear); there was some sort of construction going on nearby and the bathroom plumbing was really loud (there was a running water sound all night which was quite annoying)

    Very good value for money, great location (just a bus ride away from most things, and about a 20 minute walk to the White House), clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.2
    Good, clean, and convenient!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cover of mattress should be replaced everyday.

    Hotel has good location, which is the traditional blocks near White House. You can see the history of this city. There are many perfect restaurants near the hotel. I went to anywhere by bus or metro. The crews in hotel are nice, and they have a lovely cat sleeping on the lounge. If you just need a warm and clean sleeping bed, that’s it! But if you prefer the luxury room, you should go to Hilton.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    4.6
    Fairly good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Medieval age heating with fan, impossible to sleep with the heating fan on because of the noise but had to sleep with hat and coat... Wi-Fi not working in the room, window on a wall no light and stinking room with an old dusty carpet... as usual useless ratings on booking!

    Fairly good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    People were very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wi-fi connection isn't good. It works very well at the hotel reception, but it hardly worked in my room.

    People were very friendly. The room was clean and cosy. The location is very good and easy for taking transportation. They don't serve food, but you find several options nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.3
    Charming and just right (minus the Internet connection).
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was horrible, very hard, there was paint peeling off of the ceiling, the Wifi for work was very weak (I would recommend brining an ethernet chord).

    The convenient location, the friendly desk staff, the price, the charming decor and building.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.3
    Better than Embassy Inn. Same owner.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel owner could do little things like new shower rod, wall paper , paint. Fix things . Repair. This is a one star hotel in a beautiful area. You get what you pay for.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    3.8
    With a little more money,i could get more satisfaction
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a car and for every time parking ,i spent around an hour The wall papare was torn in some parts Cleanliness of the doors and the drawers was awe full The drawers couldn’t stay closed and automatically,gradually got opened

    Historical location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    6.7
    Cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Must be pipe issues because the water took a long time to heat up and the water pressure was really low. Bathroom was very cold, like there was no insulation.

    Easy to find and it was convenient that there was a microwave in the lobby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    6.7
    Good value for money and good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of in house restaurant was abit inconvenient and there was a strong smell of fresh paint in my room which I did not like.

    It's good value for money and much cheaper than the venue for my meetings

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    4.6
    Need to make updates and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, dark and dingy looking on the inside. The carpets could use a good cleaning and don't get me started on the bathroom. Someone who obviously was not a professional attempted to do repairs in the bathroom. The repairs where unfinished and patchy

    Small rooms, dark and dingy looking on the inside. The carpets could use a good cleaning and don't get me started on the bathroom. Someone who obviously was not a professional attempted to do repairs in the bathroom. The repairs where unfinished and patchy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit far from the station, but that can't be helped

    Great place, staff were very nice. Coffee and tea available all the time. Luggage storage so you don't have to worry about luggage if you arrive in DC early or leave late

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed my stay in Washington DC!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had no serious problem with Wifi in my room, but it seems Wifi connection is a little unstable on higher floors.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Tourist spots, nice restaurants, cafes and shops etc. are within walking distance, but the area is still calm and it was nice for taking a walk. The premises is a bit old and there is no elevators, but rooms were clean and staff helped us carry our suitcases. The coffee, tea, and water are available at the reception.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no parking. I knew there wasn't any before arriving. But the staff couldn't even give me any info on where to park..

    The location was awesome! Perfect for what we wanted.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    6.7
    friendly staff, good location, okay room
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    most everything about the room. high ceilings. it all needs to be renovated.

    staff was great; helpful and kind. room was a bit shabby. beds soft but okay. bathroom small but functional. i would probably use it again b/c of staff and location pretty good, and i don't care about how nice it looks that much.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    I liked the staff and the price: there was free coffee,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting on the garden floor is a little dodgy.

    I liked the staff and the price: there was free coffee, which was nice. The bathroom was newly done and had a nice showerhead. One thing that impressed me was the complimentary shower gels/lotion: very nice brand. A little thing, but a plus.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    5.0
    The worst hotel I've stayed in north of Nicaragua
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1. Breakfast was not available, as proclaimed on web site. 2. Attacked by bed bugs first night, then moved to new room without heat. 3. No coffee 1 morning and no creamer 2 mornings in a row.

    The room was serviced nicely every day

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.5
    We had an excellent stay and enjoyed the friendlyness of the staff, especially the man from Corsica.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bay windows were not clean and there was some dew in the bay window.

    Excellent beds ! Coffee and tea available all day long. Laptop at reception area to work with. Great location, easy access to bus and metro.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.1
    I always enjoying staying at this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the room tv was malfunctioning but not to worry I spend most of my time in the city and I got my news fix from the tv business center in the lobby.

    I always enjoying staying at this hotel. It’s modestly priced and convient for my weekend visits which are business related to Washington DC.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    5.8
    not good enough but may be good for the price I pay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1. Wifi is not good 2.Some noise from the roof goes on in my room for two nights However, their stuff are good and I had my room changed

    stuff are good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.5
    It was a very pleasant stay other than not having the amenities they advertised online.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The website for the hotel stated that there was a continental breakfast and there was none nor do they offer it any longer. Also there is information that there was a library onsite and there wasn't one either. They need to update their information online as far as the amenities are concerned.

    The location in Dupont Circle was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.8
    I would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is much smaller than expected. Old home converted into a hotel. Poor interior finishes. Kind of a dump. Parking is extremely difficult. I suppose for the price, it's fair. I think the property was way overrated on Trivago/Booking

    The man who we check in with was extremely nice and referred us to probably the best Mexican restaurant ever!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    4.6
    Okayish hotel, but too
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and old and had no daylight. Wifi didn't work the whole time. Room wasn't ready - had to wait for 45 min although I arrived later than I had said.

    Staff was friendly. Hotel was in a nice/ interesting neighborhood. Lots of restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.8
    Great little european 2-star inn.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were comfortable. Shower had good pressure and volume. Jamie at reception was the absolute best! Great tips on free parking (yes, free, in D.C.) and excellent, out of the way spots nearby for dinners and drinks. We'll stay there again the next time we're in D.C.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    5.0
    It was blissfully short
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no elevator; there was no-one to help with bags; room was in a quasi-basement; room was drab; bathroom had the odor of mildew and was very damp when I arrived; had no privacy unless blinds were fully drawn because the window was on eye level with the street only a few feet away from it.

    It was clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    5.4
    It was not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not nice, the location is not central, the room was not clean( we found a bug body in my cup) the sound proof is bad and we got waken up by the noises from the cleaning lady at 5am

    Free coffee

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.8
    A lot of money for a two-star hotel. Good location and friendly staff though.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    DC is a very expensive place.

    No breakfast but coffee and tea are free. Wifi is also free but there is only coverage in the lobby. Location is good, within walking distance of city center and main attractions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    3.3
    Location is OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark old dirty rooms, rust in the bath, fungus on the ceiling in the bathroom, dirty windows, broken furniture, spills of paint on the floor, dirty walls with holes from removed paintings, and other small unpleasant things here and there.

    Location is OK

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.9
    Great little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A much bigger hotel than it looks from outside. Free tea and coffee in reception area. WiFi is not great in certain rooms but good in reception area where you can sit. Old fashion hotel but comfortable with great and friendly staff. One of the staff member recommended a Mexican restaurant and the food was cheap but best food we had ate on our trip. Parking abit of a nightmare but we managed to park near the hotel for free but has to be moved before 9am in the morning and could park after 6.30pm. We paid $21 to park in Washington for the day when sight seeing which was cheaper that some of the parking charges others were charging.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.1
    Fine for a short term stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fine for a short term stay. Rooms were pretty old and the carpet looked like the corners hadn't been vaccumed in a while. Staff was nice. Good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location, excellent staff, and affordable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was extremely nice and accommodating. Always willing to take the time to talk about nearby locations, directions, and had fantastic recommendations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    3.8
    I guess you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Online check out said 2pm and when I get there I was told 12. I felt like it was false advertisement. They didn't honor the time that they said.

    Close to the areas I wanted to go. I walked everywhere.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: