Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown 3 stars

235 West 35th Street, New York, NY 10001, USA

#337 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1458 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.3
    Excellent location - but breakfast needs to be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is on the expensive side. Breakfast left much to be desired - eggs and burgers each morning for 7 days. Together with the same type of sliced bread, bagels and muffins. For the money we paid they could bother to make a slight change, e.g. sausages or maybe fried eggs or bacon to vary a bit.

    Location - very central and near various attractions and sight seeing locations.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    Good location
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff. I went to claim my luggage that they were storing for me on the last day, and the lady asked for my claim ticket. I wasn’t given a claim ticket. She insisted that I had to have been given one and I told her I wasn’t given one. This went back and forth, and I’m thinking “wow, this chick is so rude! Why can’t she just check my ID and verify I am who I am - especially since they dropped the ball and didn’t give me a claim ticket - and all the while, do it nicely!” But that’s not what happened. She was hateful. I’m not interested in going back and dealing with her again...

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Extremely Good WiFi!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Staff were not very keen to help answer any questions. One didn't even know about the buses to Newark Aiport and did not even want to help..just dismissed us. Wifi helped with finding out info, but sometimes asking a person is better.

    Extremely Good WiFi!! Breakfast included Rooms spacious Extremely close to 1 subway station, 4mins away from another - these 2 gives you access to almost all main subways lines, also a 10min walk from Times Square

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    3.8
    Poor cleaning, unsecure
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor cleaning at the room. The carpet is very old. The breakfast was the same all the 7 days of my stay. Someone opened the door of my room in the middle of the night. Luckily I had put the lock and they couldn't get in to nevertheless it was so scary for me and my family

    Close to Time square .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    Location and comfortable bed, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs total refurb and air conditioning was really noisy in all rooms. Not to Australian standards for rating. Breakfast was also an eye opener, backpackers in Australia would have a better breakfast. Customer service basic, house keeping of a high standard.

    Location and comfortable bed, clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.8
    Easy to locate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was not really clean. Carpet was really dirty. Tub was dirty as well. Had to be asking for towels everyday because we only had 2 and we were 4.

    Easy to locate

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    It was so very noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was so very noisy. Could not get to sleep until after 2 a.m. because bar guests downstairs spilled out to courtyard and were really loud; we were on a high floor. Never stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    I'll consider this hotel again if I travel back to NY city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the breakfast place.

    The location is the best thing about this hotel. But you will also enjoy how clean the room is and how comfortable the bed is.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Quite a pleasant and might return on next trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room should have a kettle. Lighting was very dim. Staff was helpful but could have been friendlier. Although one guy was very sweet and gave us detailed directions and tips on how to see the lady liberty.

    Clean room with good amenities like micro and iron. Very clean bathroom with hot water. Comfortable beds. Excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Very central- easy access to all areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas could be a little cleaner. Room spacious and bedding etc clean though, so overall what we needed for stay

    Very central- easy access to all areas

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    3.8
    Not very pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was put on second floor, view horrible - overlooking garage roof with lots of garbage. Very Noisy at night on weekends, couldn’t sleep. Room very dusty, old rundown reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    Overall it is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The ice isn't very clean and the breakfast is always the same.

    Overall it is good. The location is close to several subway stations. The room is big enough for my family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location, desperately needs a remodel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This resort is tired. The carpet in the hallways is nasty. Bleach stained, dirty looking, nasty. The rooms are dated and the bathrooms are small. Closet doors in our room were very difficult to shut. The food at the connected restaurant was marginal. Staff was friendly but the food lacked flavor.

    Location is awesome!! The staff was friendly and extremely helpful with explaining the subway!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    Needs some work
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looks dirty, had spots in the carpets and some hair in the bathtub that I had to talk to the reception to send somebody to clean it, there was also soap marks that couldnt go away

    The location was great for me since it was in between 2 events I has to attend, the personnel is very nice too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    Air conditioning issues...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable but extremely noisy air conditioner... not possible to fix it and thenonlynsolution they gave us was to turn it off. A pity. I needed an extra towel, amd I had to ask for it every time... no one took note about it despite the repetitive calls during 9 nights. The shower system and drainage did not work properly. Besides, I would not recommend to book through Booking.com. I had issues with incorrect charges on my credit card with other hotel and had no assistance from booking in more than 2 months. The rate of this hotel does not include this problem as I have not qualified this hotel based on that, but I thought it will be worth to mention it for future users... I wanted to make a claim with booking and it was not possible. They simple do not care if you have a problem or not witj your booking through their platform or app. Terrible customers' service. Use other online service or book directly with the hotels.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.1
    Fun weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos online gave a different impression. The hotel could use a face-lift... Things didn't work in the room... The phone had to be replaced, the deadbolt on the door couldn't lock...first impression was not good. These small things matter. House cleaning was unpredictable..

    The location was ideal! But hotel was basic for the price. Only had the breakfast once as it was lacking in variety. No fruit and healthier options. But location made up for everything the hotel didn't measure up to. The bed was comfortable and the shower worked great! Those two things are extremely important to me so I'm happy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfectly situated for getting around New York
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I found no fault with this hotel, reception staff super helpful and very knowledgeable about area. Hotel perfectly situated for metro and bus stations

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.6
    I was highly disappointed for a Wingate chain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hallway floors were full of stains and the room floor was dirty, including old crackers under the bed. I was not comfortable without shoes. There was a brown spot on the bedcover under the sheet. I asked for a full bed change. The maid took off the mattress cover but did not replace it. The air conditioner kept me up at night but it had to be on or it was too hot. Garbage pickup was directly outside the front door in mounds in the evening hours and a person had to walk around it in order to get inside, cockroaches and all. The lobby entrance floor was dirty in the evening hours. The music in the lobby was distasteful.

    The bathroom was nice. The staff was nice. The room was spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.0
    The breakfast was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was still dirty. Had stains in tub and toilet still had remains of use in it. A mirror outside of bathroom would be nice. Carpets were very dirty and sheets had stains on them.

    The breakfast was amazing. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    2.5
    it was not worth the money spent and a bad experience you should remove the from your website
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the carpets were soiled and dirty on the corridors in the room had a stale odor the air-conditioning and exhaust in the bathroom was absolutely noisy, no kettle just a coffeemaker which was not cleaned the tea and coffee sachets were not replenished had to ask for the replenishment no bell boy no room service

    there was nothing to like this hotel needs a refurbishment badly right rom the lobby to the common area and the room carpets

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    2.9
    Terrible noisey stinky hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furnished room with stinky carpets & bathroom. Windows not properly glazed so outside noise is relentless. Construction going on opposite side adding to more noise. The air-conditioning makes noise like a jet taking off.. You can imagine the rest. Breakfast was stale bread & runny scrambled eggs. Very very poor value of what it is prices at and in no way should be given 1 star.

    Midtown location was not too bad. That's all was decent about this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    The location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Every day the same breakfast. No variations. Housekeeping cleaned the room but left all clean towels under the sink in the badroom Front office clerk not so friendly especially the lady who has the morning shift when we checked out May 28th.

    The location Comfy beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Central location and can easily walk to POI
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For those who can’t get sleep due noise from outside make sure you get higher floors to escape the noise from the pub next block

    Central location and can easily walk to POI

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    Staff was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amenities and such are not how they are portrayed, for price I'd stay somewhere else. Breakfast for price could be better...much better.

    Staff was very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.4
    Position is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is ridiculously bad....but I guess it is just me (used to european standards). I have never drunk such tasteless coffee in my life. Also the checkin-lady had a bad attitude and was very unfriendly. The sheets were dirty and old. One would expect more for that price...

    Position is fantastic. Super near to the Times Square

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    4.2
    Expensive trip back to 70s decor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very dated and toilet was cracked. The breakfast was simply poor quality. You pay a lot to be ignored.

    The location is pretty good. The depressing state of the hotel will make you want to go out an explore.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Not perfect but pretty much everything we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly mold on shower curtain. Very loud bathroom fan alway turns on with light switch, super annoying, there should be separate switches for that. Window can’t open or completely shut without requesting a hotel employee to manually unlock it each time, also annoying.

    Awesome location. Pretty good breakfast. Comfortable beds and clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.1
    Great Location , Ample breakfast , would use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carpet Looked really tired, dated , Dusty and dirty, Heating in room was ancient and didnt work, meaning we were cold when in room, No view from room

    Great Location, within walking distance of so many places to visit and about 10 mins walk from Time square , youll need a Metro or Taxi to get to Trade centre but this is Downtown so expected. Heating in Room was none existant meaning we were cold during our stay in Early April. Ther's a Metro station on 35th street just, Turn Right out the hotel entrance, stacks of shops to get snacks locally but mainly Fast food places which suited us as we were on the go all the time. Thers a great Pizza place opposite the Hotel which serves $1 Pizza - we managed to get a whole Pizza and 4 cans of Pop $12 which served as a cheap tea one evening - The Pizza was MASSIVE. Breakfast was OK and served a purpose -, it set you up for the day and saved you having to walk about in the morning looking for somewhere to eat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Very good location close to the Penn Station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom a little worn down but clean. Internet for free but as soon as you don't use it- it kicks you out and you need to log-in again. A little unpractical...

    Very good location close to the Penn Station. Staff was helpful and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    it was easy and convenient! staff was kind a courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like that the charges for my room on the receipt are correct but on my card are not. I hope that it will go back to the correct charge before the charge is posted. I assume its just higher may be due to a fee to test the card first.

    I liked the staff and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.1
    Overnight stay. Nice location. Expensive, but it is the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    stayed on third facing road. quite noisy. street construction with metal plates on the road, nothing to do with hotel but def lack of sleep. you can also hear people as the bars close. thinking higher floors would be fine. Three small pillows no extra in room, they were too soft making it feel like no pillows. had to use rolled up towels to put underneath. no clue where breakfast was located. no big deal.

    centrally located. clean. staff were accommodating, helping to hold your bag during the day before check in and even after checkout so we didn't have to carry it around the city. Loved that the mattress had a pad sack cover it and two fitted sheets on top of that. water temp great, water pressure good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Good location. Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom fan was super loud. It sounded like a jet engine idling next to my room.

    Good location and great value. Wonderful to have refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, etc...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Very clean and the price was great.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-fi was terrible. I also asked for an upper storey room but there was a mix up and I got a room that was basically on the ground floor.

    Very clean and the price was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    I would recommend this hotel and its location. I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little noisy at night, but not unbearable. The ice machine was putting out dirt with the ice, so we decided not to use the ice for drinks.

    The location was excellent. It was nice to have both a fridge and microwave in the room. The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was sufficient-eggs, sausage, breads, cereals, and oatmeal. There was also coffee and juices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.4
    The location of the Hotel and the room was a nice size
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I didnt like were the pillows. They were ultra soft and small. Woke up with neck pains.

    The location of the Hotel and the room was a nice size

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed to be refurbished. The bed spread was frayed and the carpet was well worn and had a hole exposing the floor. The desk and other furniture had multiple chips and had seen better days . The toilet tank lid had a large crack in it. I was not impressed with the room. I had stayed at the Henri Hotel (Wyndham) recently and the room was modern and clean. I was expecting the same here but that was not the case. I won’t be returning anytime soon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.4
    That's it in walking distance to time square and close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there was more clear knowledge of how and what payment was going to be charged another colleague had to step in and explain what was happening maybe due to she was in charge but the man told me different amounts from when I asked multiple time "what is the total of what's being charged to my card" my bank had to notify me the amounts and then I had to question the front desk because that's not what was told to me due too improper information given.

    That's it in walking distance to time square and close to other attractions

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.9
    Thank you to all staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Healthier options for breakfast.

    Friendliness of staff was remarkable, regardless of their shift. One day my room was not cleaned, but as soon as I called, clean towels were sent my way and effort to please was clear. Breakfast selection could be healthier. However, the hotel is close enough to Whole Foods and the room refrigerator was a great option to keep my own items.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    2.9
    Not clean, stuff unkind, poor breakfast, WiFi in the room...
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean, stuff unkind, poor breakfast, WiFi in the room was not working, bathtub disgusting, window really dirty, carpet full of stains, etc Nothing positive sorry!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.3
    Loved the convenience of where it is located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping was phenomenal. Front desk was efficient. If you needed something they got it to you quickly. Felt like it needed new carpet and couches in the front waiting area were old and tired. Would I go back.....in a heartbeat. One nice thing they had in the room was a sound machine to help with the noise from the city. It worked. Bathtubs were a nice size...hot water for a great soak at the end of a day of walking !!

    Loved the convenience of where it is located.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    We stayed one night before going on a cruise on Feb 1,2018. Everything worked to our expectations. For a 3 star hotel in Manhattan, we had a good deal and will certainly stay there next time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    Great place to lay your head on a mini break to New York
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I disliked.

    The hotel was clean, breakfast was very nice and plentiful and the location was perfect. We got extra pillows when we asked and always had plenty of towels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    Very nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice stay. Room was clean and bed was comfy. EXTREMELY convenient location. Right around the corner from penn station and in the center of midtown. Would come back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable room with a fridge and microwave made for a great place to stay during a business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No outlets on the nightstands.

    I was in NYC for a 5 day business trip. The room had a fridge, and microwave, which was great for keeping drinks and snacks in my room, and not having to eat out every meal of the trip. There was also a desk, and sitting area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not very friendly or helpful. The gym was terrible and hot. The breakfast was not very good.

    The beds and bedding were comfortable. The price was good, excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.3
    Would stay here again, but would bring air freshener!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room smelled AWFUL! I went out and purchased a can of air freshener right away and went through the entire thing in 4 days. There were also things that you could tell that hadnèt been cleaned in quite some time.

    Comfy bed, great breakfast (huge added value!), super friendly staff, excellent location!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.9
    Stay was comfortable. Had a great time in New York. The hotel was okay for our budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no bidet...

    Breakfast was suprisingly okay compsared from other states we had breakfast in. Staff was helpful especially when i needed to print out a ticket for a tour i just booked. Heater was working. Location was great too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing at best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable for both me and my husband, and the noise from the street was very loud through the night. The breakfast was so bad we couldn’t finish it and didn’t return on our second morning there. We followed the signs to the vending machines because we were hungry and it was late, only to discover that there are none. Staff generally did not seem like they enjoyed working there, which I’m guessing is a New York City attitude thing or perhaps a reflection on the management. To top off our stay, we were ticketed $115 for parking our car for five minutes in the loading zone with flashers on in front of the hotel (after paying to park on the street - we were not offered anything by the hotel to display in our dashboard) when we were loading up to leave, which the police officer blamed on the hotel GM, and the hotel GM blamed on the police officer. Then the GM didn’t respond to our attempts to contact him for a week and a half, and that was only after customer service headquarters reached out to him. He said he would not get involved. Also, the clerk I spoke to when I called the hotel to change my initial reservation was not very friendly. We ended up paying more for a lesser room so that we didn’t have to move rooms from one night to the next, which clearly was not ideal for us. The clerk was not apologetic at all, which is fine. Just came across as rude. The one we checked out with was not friendly either but instead she was rather defensive when I told her the police officer said they called him. I will say that a gentleman who was standing near the front clerk when we checked in was kind to us, so at least one staff member was hospitable. I have lost my faith in this chain of hotels and will do all I can to avoid staying at one in the future.

    The room was clean. Had an odd smell but it’s New York City. The location was convenient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    6.7
    This a good money for value, good location, quite big room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You must pay for deposit when you arrive... I stayed for 5 nights and had to pay for 530 $ right away. It said laundry facilities when there is not Breakfast is no the best

    This a good money for value, good location, quite big room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Be close to everything in NYC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In the bathroom the exhaust fan was noisy.

    This hotel is close to Penn station, which allows you to go around the city by subway or bus. Room was clean and comfortable, with a coffee maker, microwave, and amenities in the bathroom. In this area there were some restaurants - there was one in the hotel and other in front of it - but we didn´t try any of them. Continental Breakast was served in a lovely room and has many choices to start the day, including bread, waffle, eggs, coffee, tea, fruits.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    4.6
    Bed is comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater I noisy a bit. Breakfast is less choice comparing with near same level hotel. Back building is worse connecting on my telecom, please watch out before living in back building because the reception won’t tell you anything. Feel disappointed on their attitude when complaint.

    Bed is comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Everything I needed for a trip into Manhattan. It was perfect, thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Lots of delicious food at breakfast. The room was modern and comfortable, with everything that I needed. It's walking distance from Madison Square Garden, and most anything you'd want to see and do in Manhattan. Thank you for a great experience, I would recommend this hotel to others coming to the area!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.3
    I would stay here again. No problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not friendly (no welcome, enjoy your stay, good morning, hope you enjoyed your stay), it became a bit of a joke but this did not affect our stay at all.

    Good breakfast, Excellent location, big clean room. AC worked well. Storage room for left luggage.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    All you need when staying in Big Apple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Modest gym. But you are not much disappointed about it, when staying in Manhattan.

    Perfect location in the heart of Manhattan. Near to subway and 24h parking garage is 3m walk. Good choice for breakfast, accurate and diligent staff at restaurant. Words of sincere gratitude to ladies at reception desk. When our child got ill with high temperature and we had flight in the evening, they kindly offered us late check out for free.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.3
    Getting a little dated & don't expect a quiet night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    External noise during the night.. Garbage trucks between midnight & 3am! Poor TV channel choice. VERY small bath. Rooms could do with an update.

    Good midtown location. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    Loved the location, and the breakfast was good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were hairs on the sheets, made me wonder if they had been washed. There was also a booger on the outside of the shower curtain. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay.

    Loved the location, and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.8
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a bit tired and old and not entirely clean. There was a very load noise behind the interior wall that kept us awake a couple of nights. Management couldn't find out what it was so we had to suffer through.

    The location was great. It was close to Times Square and other attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.9
    bigger room than other hotels with same price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi does not work. Sim card has no connection in room

    bigger room than other hotels with same price Location is very good. close to Macy‘s and Penn Station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    3.3
    There are so many choices, don't pick this one.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was in desperate need of a renovation. Everything was falling apart and often broken (shower and desk chair in particular). I also stayed for 2 nights and the maid service was pathetic....they barely made the bed (covers were pulled up but untucked) and left trash in the room. I will not be back!

    The location was convenient to Penn Station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    5.4
    Basic New York accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff were surly. The hotel provides no laundry service even though it is mentioned in all their information both online and in the room. This was incredibly irritating. The beds were uncomfortable, the towels thin and sparse and housekeeping a bit hit and miss

    The hotel is well located near 7th Avenue. Basic hotel where you get what you paid for. Having a fridge and microwave in the room was the deciding factor in booking this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice, clean, comfortable hotel in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work in the room or business centre the whole stay so we ran up very costly roaming charges on our phones

    Comfortable beds and pillows, hot shower, breakfast was nice, great location close to Macy's, Time Square, Madison Square Garden and Empire State Building all easy walks

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    Good location. Staff was very helpful in correcting the misinformation we got earlier
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were mistakes made that included failing to add a name to the reservation, which we had been assured had been done, and also telling us there should be no problem with early check-in, which was crucial to our stay, but on the day of check-in we were told it could not be guaranteed. (We did get one early check-in). Finally, we got conflicting information about the valet parking charge.

    we were upgraded to a better suite than the rest of our family, and ours was very nice. The upgrade was due to a series of mistakes made during the reservation process and when the manager realized this, he upgraded us, which we appreciated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    6.3
    The location is great but the staff could be more helpful and organized
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the reception was not welcoming and some of them were even rude. The duvet cover was not changed when we checked in the room. It had stains and smelling badly. We had to call the front desk to change it. When I asked for a taxi for the airport the receptionist said I had to pay 10 dollars deposit to guarantee the booking and I paid .The taxi that arrived next morning was neither a yellow cab nor uber but a regular car and the driver said he does not know anything about the deposit and I should pay the full price at the end of the trip without deducting the deposit so I don’t know who or why I paid the deposit for..

    the location , size of the room , large bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    3.8
    Except for location it was not worth the price they charged
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not very clean. There was a piece of hair in the bathroom wall when we got there, and it remained there after every “clean”. The toilet clogged twice and both times we were given a plunger to clean out ourselves. The faucet plug kept falling apart. And lastly the air con was so noisy it kept waking us up at night!

    The location was the only plus unfortunately

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    3.8
    Would not return disappointed with one night stay - moved to another hotel at same cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was filthy did not take a shower due to condition - our room was placed on 2nd floor right next to business center people constantly coming and going at all hours - awful view for New York expected a little more -

    The complimentary breakfast was good and given the amount of people due to the snow storm they did a very good job -

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.8
    No heat throughout the entire stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heat throughout the entire stay. Called numerous times reporting this and a staff member only visited the room once. It was severely uncomfortable leaving from the outdoors in freezing temperatures only to return back in my room to the same condition.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.7
    I tried to make the stay as good as possible because I was with my family.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a nice view. I need to request to change room due to the humid smell in the room. Even though they have security on the lobby when Instay at the courtyard by Marriott in downtown Manhattan last month, in order for you to get to your room you need to have the room card if order for the elevator to operate while on Wingate anyone had access to get to any floor.

    You have access to the stores and restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.1
    Value for money in terms of location, room and breakfast facil
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet wasn't working which was a big miss and there was no information of this basic requirement on the site while booking the hotel. Also, the heater was very noisy and faced major difficulty in sleeping.

    This hotel is on 35th Street and 7th avenue and hence, location was great...right in the middle of Manhattan. Room was fairly spacious and clean. Staff was also helpful. Breakfast was also very good. Hence, value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.3
    Great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    All NY hotels at this level are a little "worn" due to the high amount of visitors.

    Good breakfast, quiet and easy to find. Great position near to Pen and Port Authority stations. Middle of the shopping streets, bars and restaurants. Well recommended. Safe area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.7
    We were able to check in very early.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were able to check in very early. The hotel was clean but, the ceiling in the shower was ripped and a rotted vent was in there also. Complimentary breakfast was good and hot, there was plenty to choose from. We were able to walk to everything from the hotel. The one downside for me was the bed was very uncomfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.6
    Staff, amenities , including a full breakfast, were great and location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk and housekeeping staff was very responsive. An engineer came to our room within 10 minutes to regulate the temperature. When we returned at 11 at night and asked for a box of tissues, a staff member brought it up within minutes. The room was well-equipped with all amenities including a microwave and a bonus was Earl Grey tea, which I have never seen anywhere before!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    3.3
    The breakfasts were all the same, nothing changed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were old and not that clean especially the bathroom and old carpet corners .

    The breakfasts were all the same, nothing changed. Tables not cleaned off.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    5.0
    Very mediocre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny. Look out the window to stare at a cement wall. The air conditioner was obnoxiously loud. Woke us up in the middle of the night due to it banging when turning on and being louder than a diesel truck while it was running. For 400$ for one night... never again.

    Was clean. And pillows were comfy. That was about it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.1
    Bed was quite comfortable, Cuisnart coffee machine was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    HVAC was horrible. Extremely loud and I had a hard time shutting it off. We complained to another couple in elevator, and they said their bathroom fan was horrible. We didn't even have a bathroom fan

    Bed was quite comfortable, Cuisnart coffee machine was nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    The hotel is quiet and the staff is excellent and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like it when the WiFi was always very weak at night and early mornings.The reception red sofas aren't clean,they should to exchange for leather for hygienic reasons.

    The hotel is quiet and the staff is excellent and efficient.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: