Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wingate by Wyndham - Arlington Heights 3 stars

2112 South Arlington Heights Road, Arlington Heights, IL 60005, USA

#5 of 8 hotels in Arlington Heights

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 55 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never did get the internet to work. Ethernet or wireless just would not connect.

    It was a very clean hotel with a very good free breakfast. There is eggs cooked to order with a choice of scrambled or aunny side up, and bacon and sausage available upon request at breakfast. There is also a waffle station, muffins, danish, bagels, apples, banannas, cereal, yogurt and rice with some kind ofnrice fixins i didnt understand but others were happy for. Staff was extremely friendly and the beds in the room were very confortable. Kevin was especially helpful and gave us several ideas of where to eat in the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue we had was one of the pillow case was stained with something.Because of our level of energy-we did nit make it to our rooms until after 11pm-we did not notice until we were ready to leave the next day.

    I liked the location, decor, size of the room and front desk attendents.my husband & I really enjoyed the comfortable beds and the amount of space that had in the rooms. We were also greeted nicely and were nicely accomadated even though we arrived early. Even upon check out when we mentioned the linen issue we encountered the clerk was very applogetic. We also liked that at anytime of the day we were able to get coffee or tea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast --not bad just I've had and expect better at this level of accommodation

    I was here for a Funeral. I wanted a comfortable Bed, Friendly Staff, Good Breakfast. The Breakfast was till 09:30 but the staff were taking it down at 09:15 when i got there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    For years, I've stayed at the Holiday Inn Express (formerly Jameson Suites) across the street during trips to Chicago/Arlington Heights without any issues or complaints. I noticed that Wingate was $20 less for the night I wanted to stay, so I thought, why not? I quickly learned that creature comforts do have a price for me, and it's that $20 extra. The staff at Wingate was not friendly--although the young female did seem to try to want to smooth things over after brusque dealings with the older gentlemen--and I noticed one of them changing his shirt at the end of my hall. My room was directly above the Dunkin' Donuts/Baskin Robbins drive-thru, so the soothing sounds of Chicagoans placing donut orders in the early morning provided a complimentary wake-up call. My bathroom was not clean, with splashes of something yellow/brown all over the dingy wallpaper. The exercise facilities were subpar; I felt as though I was going to stomp a hole in the floor, and the treadmill felt rickety even at a slow pace. The adjustable barbells are in dire need of replacing, as the grips have worn down to the point where I doubt an adult male would be able to hold one without having his hand pinched. (And parents: please keep your young children out of the weight room, and definitely don't give them weights to try to lift!) All that said, my easygoing husband reported he thought the stay was "OK." So if you're not picky, Wingate will suffice. But if you notice details and have higher standards like I do, you're better off staying elsewhere.

    Two words: TORMUND GIANTSBANE. Dude was everywhere! The location is the biggest plus as it's close to the interstate and Mitsuwa Marketplace. The bed was surprisingly comfortable; usually, I'm not able to sleep in a hotel room, but I was able to get at least a couple hours' rest. Japan TV was available as a channel on television, and rice, instant miso soup, and furikake were available at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was underwhelming. Breakfast staff was a little rude and the bagels were stale. The hot food was consistently empty

    The room was so big and comfortable and clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in took longer than usual (beyond 5 minutes and closer to 20), but mainly because of a mix up with the booking.com system (my reservation did not go all the way through into the Wingate system - weird). Also, when I got to my room, the plug for the bathroom sink was not in place, and all the yucky grime from the plug was exposed and bits of grime were on the sink.

    It is not downtown Chicago, so do not expect to be near popular tourist spots. It is near however to a mall (Woodfield Mall) and the typical American restaurant chains, discount stores, sports shops, convenience stores/pharmacies, and an excellent Japanese grocery (Mitsuwa Marketplace) with a mini food court inside. You will need a car to get around unless you don't mind walking a lot and walking far. The buffet breakfast is pretty good - not five star, but good enough for a mid-tier hotel chain, and they serve rice for breakfast! Overall though, it's alright. I have stayed here before, and I would stay here again. Just remember to have a car, so you can get around.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom door had a big hole in the panel. Also, the phone jack on one of the phones had been ripped out of wall and broken. Thus low rating on facilities. When reported, we were offered a different room but chose not to move.

    Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. And responsive when asked a question. Same with woman who handled breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had trouble find receptionist.

    The room was very comfy. I liked idea of hot breakfast fixed right there. It was very good place to stay. I will stay there next visit also. I like idea that you do not have check out until noon the next day. Differently helped when you stay out pretty late the night before.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn’t work

    I would book again as it was all perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was good

    Service was very kindly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good experience very professional staff...will recommend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From start to finish, everything was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Closeness to Robert Morris for the graduation. Breakfast offerings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a disappointment. No eggs bacon or sausage

    Staff friendly and wanting to satisfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator & Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shuttle does not run on weekends.

    The breakfast was great and the rooms were very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of at the moment

    Room was wonderful. Stsff was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Coffee

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath tub looked old and stained.

    Bed was comfortable. Room was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The boiled eggs were not good, the rest was fine though.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had mold.

    Breakfast was good. Staff was nice .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful staff in getting directions to local places.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool. Breakfast quality is rather poor

    Comfortable room size. Bathroom has good counter space

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cushions needed cleaning

    Free breakfast and cooked to order

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean

    Excellent value

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms where better than the rather bland standard exterior / interior of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was questioned how many guest I have (it was just my husband and myself)

    Quite, clean and breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    My whole group of friends did not sleep all night long, they let little kids running up and down the halls all night long beating on the walls, breatfast way a joke.it was like I won't even go there , I was very disapointed with the whole thing. i want to get a hold of corporate for a refund. I was the one that did the booking. never again.

    not a damm thing

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    iT WAS CLEAN, CONVENIENT TO WHERE WE WANTED TO GO

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had to wait more than an hour so they can check me in cuz their system was down, very rude staff

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I thought it had a whirlpool somehow it didn't have one

    The place is clean inside plus the staff are friendly

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Front desk Staff was friendly. Room was clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I booked this hotel assuming it had a hot tub that was shown in one of their photos, guess what? NO HOT TUB! Everything else was just as described..

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no heat in hallways,vary low heat in room,temp.under 60.

    Bathroom not clean,whats to like!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No pool/ hot tub as pictured. Closed down/ removed.

    Friendly staff. Free breakfast. Large room.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: