Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wyndham Mauna Loa Village 3 stars

78-7190 Kaleiopapa Street, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740, USA

#2 of 11 hotels in Kailua-Kona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 82 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Paid WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Perfect location-away from hectic Alii Drive. Grounds are beautiful and pool and walkways are always clean and well maintained! Condo unit was large, clean and updated. Tile could be replaced but otherwise we were very comfortable! Staff is always friendly and helpful. This is my third time staying on the property and I am planning another stay in September!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was kinda far away from our unit.

    It was clean n comfortable! 2 br/2.5 bath, lots of room for a family of 6 n a baby. Such a relaxing get away! Everything included, which was awesome, all we needed to bring was food n clothing. Even provided us with a playpen for baby. Loved the washer n dryer in unit too!! Made use of the grill n pool too😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated facility, air conditioning worked poorly or was fickle, hassled too many times by one staffer to go to a time share pitch. This place needs a gym too.

    Great pools, location by the beaches and ocean tour activities, lots of space, comfortable bed. Cindy at front desk was very nice. Fast room service if needed. Easy parking!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is old and the mattress had yellowish spots. The linens were not clean. The doors need to be cleaned.

    It is well located and the surrounding is beautiful with plants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Larger parking stalls by office. We had a large van. But, it all eorked out.

    Very comfortable! Great location! We had the handicapped condo. Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE POOL WAS WARM...

    WE ARE A FAMILY OF 12 AND RENTED 2 UNITS. OUR STAY WAS COMFORTABLE, FUN AND MOST OF ALL THE STAFF WERE AMAZING. THE BEDS WERE SO COMFORTABLE IT MADE IT HARD TO GET UP EARLY TO START OUR DAY. WE WILL DEFINITELY WILL BE BACK TO ENJOY ANOTHER STAY SOON!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They tried to sell us attractions through Wyndham but they didn't keep their promise about the price. Nevertheless it was nice to get 200 USD free money just by attending a meeting of 1.5 hours obout Wyndham.

    The accomodation is fine. The pools are all the same so it is nice there are a lot, but practically you will only use one but it is Always close to your place. We liked the big place. You really have a lot of space compared to an hotel room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They charged our credit-card twice for the cost of the accommodation and the reception staff showed little enthusiasm for helping use resolve this ... we had to do the leg work for a screw up that happened somewhere between the Wyndham corporate entity that handles booking.com reservations and the local Wyndham operation. We eventually got a credit for one of the payments, but this did not appear in our account until a week later. Beware of the "gift" on checkin-in ... this would appear to be a teaser for the Wyndham time-share hard-sell that we've experienced before.

    This is apparently a time-share sort of facility. The rooms are spacious and adequately provisioned.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Indoor parker not adjacent to unit. Wi-fi did not work while in the unit and missed several important messages. Wi-fi worked elsewhere, i.e., restaurant, luau show, etc.

    The dish washer, microwave, and washer drier were certainly positive features.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I don't like is that check out time is so early in the morning. We pay for 2 days but yet we are not even in our room for 48 hours. I can handle not being able to check in until 4pm but check out at 10am is too early! Check out should at least be 12pm or later.

    I've stayed here before and I really love to 2 story rooms! The price is well worth it and it is much cheaper than a hotel. (Hotels are a big price for a small room) It's quiet, private and a relaxing environment! The staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spacious rooms, the beds were sooo comfortable being there felt better then home.. the staff is VERY helpful and friendly.. we will definitely be back.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little dated.

    Rooms were well maintained. Staff was very helpful. Property grounds were beautiful and well maintained. Separate room cooling was a nice convenience. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The loft thing in the second story had a lot of rubbish that blocked the lights. But aside from that everything was excellent!

    The ac in the kona heat was nice!

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice spacious area everyone had their own space

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was down for a day and a half.

    Family reunion. Put us all together, we had four units.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    location, cost

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen did not have near enough pans for cooking. We had to have a friend bring some.

    It was very clean with new appliances.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pond needs an update

    Peaceful. Quiet. Relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The other guests all caucasians being rude by staring, talking stink, and laughing at us

    The check in staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No access to seaboard

    Clean and a lot of space

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet, convenient location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The property was clean with great amenities. Parking was easy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe a little more lightening on the walkway from the car park to the apartment.

    It was super clean and the bed was really comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food

    Help desk

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe bigger trash cans or dumbster area

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location, nice room, comfortable bed and great service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything is always excellent. My daughter loves going there. We live on the island but make it a point to go there every year.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, very pleased

    Everything was provided in the kitchen, bathroom, washer dryer.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really clean in the bathroom and there were small bugs coming out of tile walls in kitchen

    Location and overall design

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cell reception wasnt as strong

    Staff was very friendly, units are well maintained and stocked.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Notbing

    Everything, great location great facilities and staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel's grounds and staff were excellent. Our next trip will be spent at this location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent rooms, great kitchen and facilities

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    second floor hate stairs

    huge place very nice

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The loud compressor for the air conditioning of our whole building was just outside our bedroom window. Poor planning. I wouldn't stay in a room with that design again. Also, we didn't appreciate the "sales push" . The poor wi-fi unless we paid a small fortune for an upgrade was another disappointment. We could hear the people upstairs even when they walked.

    The fountain near our unit. The well equipped kitchen. Large windows, glass doors and Spaciousness. The location. Washer & dryer.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Air conditioning TERRIBLY HOT on the second floor especially in the extra desk room. Someone came by the next day to check but said that's how it is and offer to bring fans instead.

    The staffs are always awesome. Always full of ALOHA!!!

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise from upstairs not well soundproofed. Water running in other parts of building was loud. No luggage stands in bedroom.

    Staff especially cordial and helpful. Nice venue and overall attractive and comfortable facility. Excellent appliances, including washer-dryer and kitchen appliances. Attractive grounds and set back off the road and away from crowds and traffic.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Moderate pressure to go to timeshare presentation.

    Older but largely updated. Very comfortable bed. A little out of the main part of Kona but close enough. Not really a place to stay if you want to just stay at the resort. Good base for exploring.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A/C didnt keep it as cool as we prefer. Apparently set above 72 but seemed warmer during day. This wasnt an issue in the unit we stayed in in a previous vacation. Also the two pools close by were closed.

    Large bedroom, living room, full kitchen, washer/dryer.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We were told by the staff that the paid for Wifi was not very good and it would be better to walk to the local café to get online. They are supposed to be switching to another ISP so it may be OK when you go.

    Good spacious accommodation with all the facilities you would need. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Landscaping and grounds beautiful. Pool close and enjoyable and enough pools so that it was not crowded. Did not use Wii Fi due to the fee charged. Had just stayed in 4 hotels on the Hawaiian Islands and all of them had free Wii Fi.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The only thing we had a problem with was there was no internet and we had to leave and find We really needed it to keep a check on the rest of trip plans and flights

    The room value, size, location, excellent amenities.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our last day a family with young children moved into the unit next to ours. We could hear the children running up and down the stairs and bouncing balls off the adjoining living room wall. The good news is the children went to bed at a halfway decent hour.

    Bedrooms were spacious, with lots of drawers and closet space. Kitchen was big enough for two people to work at the same time. All necessary Ute coils and cookware was available. Living area was comfortable and nicely decorated.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No free wifi, room needed a little updating, second bag of coffee not complimentary, garbage disposal kept blocking the sink.For the money we paid, too much nickel and diming. Overall not quite worth the money but would still return because of staff.

    The staff was wonderful to deal with and often went above and beyond.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We would have paid for wifi, but the signal was so poor we couldn't access the internet to pay for poor wifi. Wyndhams' many competitors were all happy to provide free wi-fi to us in their restaurants and cafes, so we went there. Need luggage racks in the bedrooms, or at least valet-use chairs.

    Spacious accommodations, nice newer/renovated appliances. Fabulous bed linens, lots of towels. Good a/c, lots of parking.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were disappointed when we were told that Jacuzzi/Hot tub was available. It was, but all of their hot tubs was broken and under repair. We are seniors and like to relax while enjoying our r&r once in a while. Too bad, we were given the wrong message, they should have been honest that all were broken and under repair.

    Pool was clean and easy access.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Too far from the water

    Roomy and very comfortable in a beautiful setting.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Family with young children

    I would have preferred more child friendly facilities

    Excellent space with a fully stocked kitchen

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No workout facility

    Ambience & layout of the place, roomy and relaxing atmosphere (where I stayed)

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No issues at all. Loved it.

    Quiet, tranquil, peaceful. Exceptional staff, very inviting and pleasant place. Would definitely stay again.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Group

    Na

    Accommodating with late checkout and provided extra towels at a unit that was being held another night.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely landscaping. Quiet but also close to restaurants & activities. Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Stairs within unit.

    Comfort, location, value, value.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It should have free internet and the phone was not working the whole stay

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Noisy refrigerator, the washer/dryer was noisy. Location was far from anything.

    Nice size unit, clean with good view

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I was informed of the overbooking only when i called the day before to reconfirm our reservation.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    no free wifi

    all nice, clean, comfortable, kids like the spiral stairs, staff are very helpful

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    • Family with young children

    House keeping did not come at all.

    The stuff was all helpful and wonderful. I give them hands up.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Browse Wyndham Mauna Loa Village traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: