Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wynstone Inn 3 stars

232 Spring Street, Newport, RI 02840, USA

#35 of 37 B&Bs and Inns in Newport

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 29 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    4.2
    Was very unhappy, and you had to check in blocks away from the actual room and no way to get in touc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way overpriced for the lack of quality that it was. The fireplace was a joke, the whirlpool was missing knobs and the jets were dirty. The bed was hard. You could easily hear other people that were staying there. It had an old house musty odor, we went downtown and bought a candle to burn to help with the odor.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    The Inn itself was a step back in time with all modern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you say there is working fireplace, don't make me keep asking for firelogs, just keep them in the room. As for finding the Inn/parking, explaining is one way, a PICTURE sez a thousand words! These tiny things are just helpful to note. This place is as good as described!

    The Inn itself was a step back in time with all modern conveniences. Jacuzzi brand tub for two.king size bed.very comfortable mattress.staff/cooks were EXCELLENT & Timely.working fireplace.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    3.3
    Terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could not sleep. You can hear everything outside. It was terrible. The much talked about breakfast is exaggerated. The toilet had a bad smell and the handle got stuck each time. For the price, you got really nothing. The room was not luxurious or romantic. Using keys to get in and out is antiquated and not secure. The front door was open once. What they promised was a far cry from what we got. But the noise, was incredulous. You hear cars driving by, people talking and the beep of the crosswalk signal.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Love this Inn!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing :)

    We stayed at the Wynstone Inn this visit and in the past and absolutely love it and recommend it to all of our friends!!! It's very central to Thames. Easy walk anywhere. We had a situation this year where we booked two days, however, missed one day due to personal circumstances. Rick was so accommodating! Not only did he not charge us for the room he is allowing us to use the night whenever it works for us - no expiration date!!! Where else can you get that type of service?! Can't wait to go back!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    The room was spacious and extremely comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have used a mini fridge in the room. Breakfast room was very crowed during the weekend and there was only one person doing everything.

    The room was spacious and extremely comfortable. The bed and linens were delightful. The fireplace added to the comfort of the room. Breakfast was made to order and was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    5.0
    Not worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ceiling had stains on it, the windows had tape around them, no sitting area, only one robe, we had to call for another, only one chair, no mini fridge, very small dining area, we had to wait for people to finish so we could sit, they don't even have fresh fruit! A tiny window air conditioner, no one on site to ask questions. The price of room $373 we expected it to be much better than it was. We won't go back or recommend it!

    The double jacuzzi tub was nice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.6
    The room was extremely clean and the bed was super...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check in was weird. The directions sent us to a building not marked very well with the address #. So I had to walk up and down the street a bit to figure out what building to go too to get our room key. Upon check out I had to ask where to leave the key and never got an actual overall room bill. So the option of paying cash was not available.

    The room was extremely clean and the bed was super comfortable. The location was excellent for walking to the shops and restaurants. Loved the hot tub in our bathroom! Breakfast was great as well.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Clean and nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold

    Clean and nice location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.8
    Great location, Fair accomodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallway and room was very noisy. They both had wood floors.

    Friendly staff and location to town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.4
    Jacuzzi tub which was a feature of the room type I booked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi tub which was a feature of the room type I booked was not operational. Pieces missing from the tub.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Very pretty and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an a/c unit in the window that was a bit loud.

    The location was wonderful, breakfast and staff were so kind.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Weekend Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast, very personal service. Room was comfortable and very nice. Location was awesome.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    6.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard mattress, jacuzzi jets dirty knobs broken. Not enough room in dining area to accommodate all guests.

    Location and cleanliness.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    6.3
    Rick was polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extremely noisy as our room was right on the corner. There was no AC so windows had to be open. When 1st arrived, windows were sealed up and the room was like a sauna and had to break seals and leave room for hours so it would cool down. And it had lots of ants.

    Rick was polite. Although we did not eat there, the staff was outgoing in trying to see if we would be joining them for breakfast and at what time.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    9.6
    This inn was very quaint and cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room didn't have space for a dresser, do we had to live out of our suitcases. We didn't mind, though!

    This inn was very quaint and cozy... Perfect for a weekend getaway! Breakfast was cooked to order and delicious. The Wynstone has its own parking lot, which is a great bonus!

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    10
    The location of The Wynstone is great, walking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location of The Wynstone is great, walking distance to waterfront, many great restaurants and shops. The room was lovely with an amazing bed that sits almost 4 feet high,and wonderfully dressed with high quality linens and down comforter. The staff was very helpful in making this a wonderful stay, making sure everything needed was available. I highly recommend this Inn, it made the stay in Newport delightful.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    7.9
    Great location, nice room, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Checking in was funny, no one there and no one answered the phone. Luckily there was a room open so we took it. Worked out in the end.

    Great location, nice room, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    7.1
    To start I want to say Richard was very nice, attentive and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What I did not like was once we used the spa tub in the bathroom and the water drained, there was black specs in the tub from the jets which bothered me. I also had a hard time sleeping because of it being an old house and the winds rattling the building/windows as well as our room being right on the side street and plows were soooo loud that I kept waking up (granted this isn't anything to do with the owner and staff but it is just a downside). There was also an issue with the heat on the second day we woke up there to a room only 50 degrees.

    To start I want to say Richard was very nice, attentive and informative. Next I would say that the theme and setup of the room was good being an old house and I absolutely loved the bathroom. I also liked that breakfast was made to order.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    6.3
    The location was great close to themes st we never got back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pictures of the place was nothing like the real thing

    The location was great close to themes st we never got back in our car

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    6.3
    Bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ants in the bathroom and shower had mold on the tiles

    Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was great!

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    9.2
    Easy walk for dinner or entertainment, and the room was well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy walk for dinner or entertainment, and the room was well appointed and very comfortable after a day experiencing what Newport has to offer.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    The room was beautiful, better than expected.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The room was beautiful, better than expected.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expensive.mediocre breakfast. No help obtaining a dinner reservation as offered.

    Location. Bed.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    10
    The design of the room and the comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    liked all

    The design of the room and the comfort. All the luxury you want in a room at the INN

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: