Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hostel Laliopa

Obvodnaya, 220900 Khiva, Uzbekistan

#5 of 25 hotels in Khiva

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 238 hostel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    6.7
    Manager is cold/unfriendly, but bed is good and garden/courtyard is fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi isn’t great but this is the same everywhere in Uzbekistan. Main manager seems cold and unfriendly.

    Beds were comfortable, linen provided was good, could exchange money here, nice courtyard/garden area which would be amazing in summer

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    9.6
    The most helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had a problem in khiva. I was bitten by a dog and I had to start the vaccination against rabies. The staff was totally helpful and even took me to the hospital, translating everything. I kind of felt treated like home here. The bathroom and shower are great, awesome breakfast, you can even have meals. The room and bed are comfortable, no risk of upper beds.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    7.1
    Comfy guesthouse but isolated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is not great. Nothing around and far from all the sightseeing. You can use their bikes (very basic) to get to the old town but you still won't want to go back and forth several times in a day. Also, we arranged a tour with the hostel to see some fortresses. When we asked for the price, we were told $10/person. But only later were we told that is was actually $40 per car and that without anyone else with us, we would pay $20/each. And when the driver picked us up we were also told about the entrance fee at some fortresses. It's not so much about the money but I wish they had been more straightforward and told us the exact value of the tour right at the beginning.

    Breakfast. Everybody said it, their breakfast is excellent, filling and nutritious. Staff is very polite and willing to help. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Wifi is spotty, but that's all over Uzbekistan.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    9.2
    The owner were nice, it's a family run guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing I do not like

    The owner were nice, it's a family run guesthouse. Clean and quiet room with good breakfast. There are free bikes, but I choose to walk or take bus no.4 to old Khiva.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    7.1
    Kitchen access to backpackers would solve most inconveniences
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 5-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Except for one good restaurant (Diyor) ~500m away, nothing else around except for a couple of mini markets. No access to kitchen or even hot water. At a place where nothing is around (not even street lights) and it is so cold outside, at least at nights we kinda feel to cook and eat simple meals - noodles, ready-made-manti, etc. Every time you need hot water you need to ask the hosts and they take 30mins to 1hr to give it and at times totally forget it until you ask again. It feels really bad when you have to ask them again and again for hot water (just to make our own 3-in-1 coffee or tea). They could leave the electric kettle in the common area and that'd do! Airport taxi booking from here is a rip-off for UZS 50,000. Locals pay around 20,000 to Urgench (for a full taxi) and for foreigners max. 30,000 (we walked out for a bit and found one such taxi); definitely not 50,000. Toilets and showers okayish. Not so clean but not so dirty either.

    Decent WiFi (0.5-1Mbps). No internet reception for Ucell or UZM here, so you have to rely on the WiFi. Although, by late morning people leave to go around and you can have to WiFi bandwidth all to yourself if you have any work to do online. Great family. All of them smiling and helpful to guests. They're definitely doing what they can do. Nice comfy beds and blankets. Hot water good (no hot water early in the morning!), shower pressure good. Good common area. Good breakfast. Tour to the ancient fortresses (~6hrs ; 40$/taxi can be shared with max of 4) - a waste of time; check the images online. Its pretty much sand blocks now and worthless. Avoid this tour if you can.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    10
    Strong Wi-Fi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not many good food options nearby so eat dinner before you return to hostel after exploring city.

    Strong Wi-Fi. Nice communal spaces to meet other guests. Comfortable beds. Free filtered water. Amazing family run hostel. I had issues with my taxi driver who dropped me off & the owner took care of the problem. He made me feel welcome immediately. The key to enjoying this hostel is to use the free bicycle loaners since it's a good 30 minute walk to historic center.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    7.5
    Excellent stay outside the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We did not experience the warm Usbek Welcome in this house. Bikds to the center are available but need an mechanical update.

    Room was large and clean. Everything was working well. You can walk to the city center within 30 min. There are several shops close to the Hostel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    9.2
    Helpful staff and nice breakfast, the dorms are large and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Helpful staff and nice breakfast, the dorms are large and comfy. A bit far from the city center but it s very easy to reach it and they rent bicycles for free.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    10
    Large private room, very friendly hosts, easy to meet other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -

    Large private room, very friendly hosts, easy to meet other travelers, nice breakfast. For me another advantage was that it was away from the main tourist areas

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    10
    Pleasant, comfortable and very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was truly fine, no complaints whatsoever.

    Family run and such a nice family! The brothers were great fun and helpful. The breakfasts prepared by their moter were wonderful)))

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    8.3
    Great hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    it is not so close to the old town

    Clean and quiet rooms, comfortable beds, interesting decor, good breakfast and above all and most important helpful and nice hosts. Despite not being so close to the old town, we would chose Hostel Laliopa for our stay again and again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    9.6
    Clean hostel with a good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Clean, family run hostel with a very good breakfast. Staff is friendly and will help you arrange taxis, tickets etc. The only downside is the location. It's 20 minutes walk to the old town, however you can rent bicycles free of charge.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    9.6
    The Laliopa family really make you feel like their special guest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is not the best but to their credit the owners have solved the problem by providing bikes that can be used to get to the main Khiva sites in less than 20 minutes or so....

    What makes Laliopa special is the super nice family that runs the hostel. They are very friendly and made me feel like a guest. Rahmat to all.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended, for a true home feel and hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was very pleasant in our room during this season (which was still the hot season), and we did not need an AC. However, make sure to ask the host if there's an AC in the room if you really need one.

    A very comfortable hostel, located in a family's house. The room was very spacious. The hosts were very nice and helpful, including arranging transportation and day trips. Although the hostel is about 2 km from the main tourist area (Ichun Kala), it was worth staying there, for the home feel and so as to see the local lifestyle and neighborhood. Whenever we wanted to go to the old city, we simply took the no. 4 minibus, which arrives every few minutes - very convenient. The breakfast was very good and homey. We recommend this place for anyone wanting to be closer to the local life and for the really nice people who hosted us, always tending for our every need. Thank you hotel Lali-Opa!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    8.8
    It is a comfortable place, and staff helped me to get other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not close to the main area, but you can perfectly walk there or get one free bike they have

    It is a comfortable place, and staff helped me to get other guests to organize a journey to other places in the area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    8.8
    Nice hostel about 20 mins walk from old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There’s not too much space in the bedrooms when they are full and everyone has a large rucksack each.

    Nice hostel about 20 mins walk from old city. Bikes available for rent if you’d like to get there quicker! Clean and with good showers. Staff super helpful especially with helping with onward transport arrangements and tours. Some good cheap local cafes nearby for dinner options Overall great value hostel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    9.2
    Rooms were quite large, bathrooms clean, thz manager is nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit far (2kms) from the historical center of the city, as such coming back by foot at night isn't the best experience of all.

    Rooms were quite large, bathrooms clean, thz manager is nice and speaks very good English and the breakfast was awesome.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    9.6
    The best breakfast I had in Uzbekistan!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All was great. It's a bit of walk from the old town (~20min) but there are free bikes

    The best breakfast I had in Uzbekistan! Friendly staff, all was clean, location quite and safe. Great place to stay in Khiva!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    8.8
    Warm hosts and a comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathrooms could maybe have been a bit cleaner.

    The hostel family was so friendly and welcoming! One of us was really sick on our day there so we stayed in the hostel to rest. Especially the grandmother (a doctor!) was extremely helpful and warm. Amazing breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    10
    Exccellent location, delicious brekfast, budget friendly and hospitable and helpful staff! Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slow wi-fi

    Very comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast and EXTREMELY helpful staff! Guys at the hostel helped with arranging tours, organizing transport and even prepared breakfast when I was leaving very early morning. My best experience in Uzbekistan! Thank you a lot!!! :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    7.9
    Nice and clean place, breakfast was really good and staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Different decribe of the room in booking.com then reality, but staff prepare everything like I booked. It was really nice:)

    Nice and clean place, breakfast was really good and staff helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    9.6
    A nice home with friendly hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You must be aware that the hostel is a 25min walk (which I don't mind) or a short bicycle ride from the Ichon-Qala but feels to be a nice and safe neighborhood.

    The place has a nice, calm and welcoming atmosphere with very friendly and helpful staff (helping me organize transport to Buchara on short notice). I'd come back next time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    10
    the breakfast was delcious and used seasonal fruits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast was delcious and used seasonal fruits. Uzbek melons are so delicious. The staff was courteous, helpful and friendly. The free bicycles were a great way to explore the area (although they might need a little oil!). Importantly, they have good, fast internet so you can stay connected as you travel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    9.2
    This is the right place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's a bit outside the touristic area but not too much. It remains the best value for money in khiva

    They have a lot of space with nice rooms and nice common area with beatiful courtyard. Very friendly and helpful staff, whatever you need they can help you.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    7.9
    Great value, are able to help with any problem, also very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hostel is a little far away from the historic centre but they do make up for this by providing free bicycles to use.

    Great value, are able to help with any problem, also very relaxing hostel plenty of leisure room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    10
    Excellent choice for those that dont mind a 15 walk to the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Locations is a decent walk from the old town but excersise is good plus youre in a local area surrounded by locals and cheaper food!

    Excellent Breakfast. Very friendly staff. Comfortable air conditioned rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely, quiet bed and breakfast on outskirts of Khiva
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s half an hour from the old city which can be a very hot walk in the middle of summer.

    Bed and breakfast in a beautiful house. Excellent breakfast. AC was powerful and beds quite comfortable. Hostel owner helped me to get a taxi to Bukhara and apparently can help with travelling to various other locations as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    9.2
    Awesome breakfast, AC, clean, quiet, hot water in the shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi was a bit weak especially when a lot of people stayed at the hostel. A bit far from the old town but its still walkable.

    Awesome breakfast, AC, clean, quiet, hot water in the shower.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    7.1
    Very good original breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Common kitchen is really one big mess, super dirty, only 1 pot and 1 pan available. Wifi could be stronger. Got wrong information from the manager, telling me the museum in Nukus would be open where it wasn't open at all. He even called someone to inquire, but most probably the wrong person. A return trip of 8 hrs for nothing :-( which made me quite pissed off.

    Very good original breakfast. A spacious dorm with separate beds and AC. Spacious common area. Bikes can be used to cycle to the attraction points. Drinking water available all day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    10
    Breakfast was incredible, the awesome family and really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was incredible, the awesome family and really helpful and give you all recommendations you need in Khiva. The rooms really clean and bed are comfortable. They took me to bus station on the way leaving Khiva. The best hostel in Uzbekistan...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    10
    Best place in Khiva!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I arrived at a wrong place at the beginning because there were two “Laliopa hostels” on Maps.me. Then I called the administrator and he explained where the real hostel was. He sent a taxi to pick me up and paid for it. It was really nice :) It’s a huge house which has everything. Really nice, friendly and helpful family who take care of this place. Clean rooms/toilets/showers. Beautiful breakfast in the morning with lots of fresh fruits and vegetables. Free bicycles. When I needed coffee or a fresh juicy melon, the staff was always there to help me :) It’s located in a quiet area. 10 minuets on bicycle to the Old City. 5 minuets on bicycle to the small shop. I stayed there for 4 nights. Met so many great people from Europe and one friendly Uzbek guy :) It was really nice there. Thanks a lot! You’re doing a great job! I wish you good luck and would definitely stay in this hostel again! @unclesocky

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    9.6
    Great hostel run by a lovely family
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lockers for valuables would be good (maybe just a few outside the rooms).

    The family that runs this hostel are incredibly friendly and helpful. The hostel is beautiful - kept very clean. Lots of space with a common area inside and out. The breakfast is very good. It's a few kilometres from the old city but you can take their bikes to get there, it wasn't really a problem. The family was also helpful when I needed to get to the shared taxi station, they drove me the few kilometres so I wanted have to brave the July heat. This is the hostel to stay at in Khiva.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    10
    Very homely friendly atmosphere but also very peaceful and restful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hostel is fabulous. Comfortable beds in air conditioned dormitory, clean in all areas. Spacious inner courtyard with plenty of sitting areas. The breakfast is huge and delicious- lots of fruit and vegetables! The hostel can also provide an excellent and filling evening meal. Bicycles are also available to take to explore the town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    10
    Best staff in the world they were so helpful and always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Best staff in the world they were so helpful and always there if we were hungry or needed something. The food is amazing, the rooms are big and old school really nice hostel!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    9.2
    Stay there, it's worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The kitchen was a bit dirty, but otherwise everything was fine!

    The breakfast was tasty, they lend bicycles and you reach the center in 10 minutes. The hostel was really beautiful and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    10
    Super outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing bad.

    1) The best breakfast I have ever experienced at B&B. 2) The best hospitality as if you are part of the family. 3) They serve lunch and dinner at reasonable price which are very good taste cooked by grandmother in local style. If you stay many nights, you could enjoy diversity of local cousin. 4) They help your transportation not only to other cities but also to old town at free.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    9.6
    A home in Khiva! A good price for a great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a beautiful hostel with very comfortable beds, clean rooms, showers and toilets. It is specious, has a lovely garden where they serve a tasty breakfast. It is also possible to eat a traditional dinner there. The location is a bit far from the old Khiva, but you can borrow a bike for free. It is a nice ride and they tell you where to park it. The owners are very kind and helpful. They also helped me to organize a transfer to Bukhara.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    8.3
    Nice staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit too far from the city center without the bike. My friend was staying at a cheaper and prettier hostel in the dead center, which made me a little sad. The toilet smelled a bit bad, but the one in the shower was fine.

    Nice staff! The owner made me and my friend a great deal with the taxi driver to go to Bukhara. There are free rental bicycles to go to the city center, if your legs are long enough for the bikes unlike mine. You get a variety of food for breakfast, which was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    9.2
    One of the nicest hostels in Uzbekistan
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mixed dorm was a large room with single beds, not bunks, so there was no privacy.

    This is a beautiful facility, a lovely new building and pleasant garden area. The owner goes out of his way to be extra helpful, even to driving guests to the shared taxi station. Staff speak excellent English. Delicious breakfast varies each day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    9.6
    The family which keeps the property are very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing bad

    The family which keeps the property are very helpful. They arranged goid transportation and accommodetaion for me in Bukhara where I went after Khiva. They provide free bicycles that is quite helpful for going to the historical part of the town. The house is nice and comfortable as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    8.8
    Very good hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was not a 4 bed dorm as booked and a 20-30 mins from center but all other good things compensated for these small issues.

    Nice common area to meet travellers. Excellent breakfast. Very nice and helpful staff. Beds comfortable. Tour to fortresses and taxis reserved were very good and fair price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's a very good hostel next to the city center, hostel is managed by very nice and polite family who will answer all your questions and help you with everithing! Also you can take free bicycle for cycling all over thre town and breakfast is very delicios and including! I recomend to everyone best plase for living in Hiva! :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic breakfast, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location a bit far off from the old city centre

    Fantastic breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. He even drove us to the city centre as it was a distance away from the hostel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    10
    The basics are great - there is a nice kitchen for self...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There isn’t a thing.. everything was awesome.

    The basics are great - there is a nice kitchen for self cooking, comfort shared area, clean bathroom and two different toilets, which is very important! The bedroom is large, and there is a lot of space for each person.. very satisfying. AND the most important- are the wonderful family that runs the business! They are AMAZING! They was so kind, and helped me a lot during my stay in Khiva, they even organized a special ride for me at the same morning to see some sights around the city, not obvious at all! In conclusion- the most hospitable place I’d know so far in all Central Asia - you HAVE to pay a visit..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    9.2
    fancy hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They has two hostel, one is the guest house near the city center and this one is 2km from the old town center. But they can drive though two hostel and you can also take local bus number 4 from this hostel to the old town center. They are lovely family and the mother will help you when you are in the kitchen. They even do not let you wish the dishes. The bed and room is clean, good shower and breakfast. So good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    7.9
    Friendly spirit of city of Khiva is within the owner of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower had quite a low pressure

    Friendly spirit of city of Khiva is within the owner of the hostel for sure, very friendly, sincere. Location is just outside of the old town. Room have high ceilings, wi-fi is decent for Uzbekistan, 1MBPS which is a lot for this country.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    9.2
    Decent guesthouse - good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's no real common area downstairs, and the dorm is right next to the reception desk. We sort of awkwardly hung out on the couch in front of the desk a bit. The water in the shower smelled a bit funny and I think there might be just one bathroom in the guesthouse, but it was fine for us. The guesthouse is really little and a bit older (I suspect the hostel might be larger).

    We actually got given rooms at the Guesthouse Laliopa, so this review is more relevant for the other property. The location is perfect - just outside the old city gates (I believe the hostel is further away). We stayed in a 4-person dorm but were the only people in the whole guesthouse. They brought in another heater without us asking and our room was very comfortable. The breakfast was great (actually, most places in Uzbekistan do amazing free breakfasts), and the wifi worked well. The man running it was also really nice, even though we must have been a pain to cater for in the off-season. He helped us sort out a car to Bukhara and gave us advice on where to go, which is great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    10
    Great hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice family-run hostel. We were given tips on what to see in the city and a tour to the desert was organized for us by the hostel. Located in a nice neighborhood, and we were very kindly driven to the city center. Clean, big room, fantastic food!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    10
    One of the best guesthouse I’ve stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi wasn’t the best but this problem exists for most guesthouses in Uzbekistan.

    Everything was perfect!!! Definitely 10 points!! This family run place feels like a guesthouse/homestay rather than a hostel/hotel. The family made me feel extremely welcomed. I was so hesitant to leave if not for the fact that Khiva was too cold for me. And the hostess cooks the BEST MEALS. The breakfast was memorable! The dorm beds were extremely comfortable and warm. Free ride to and fro to the old city whenever you want.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    10
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have no words to express my gratitude to the lovely family that runs hostel Laliopa! I felt warmly welcomed from the very first time. The landlady gave me some food and fruits as I didn't have the chance to have lunch. Moreover, her husband took me to the old city and their son brought me back. The next day I had a free bycicle! And the breakfast is simply amazing! The landlady is an excellent cook! So if you're in Khiva and you want to feel like home, you should stay in Laliopa Hostel!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    9.6
    Best hostel in Khiva
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They allowed me to use a bicycle free of charge and ride it to their other property next to the old town. Breakfast was substantial and delicious. (no coffee though) The house and its rooms are spacious and comfy. Powerful, hot showers, too. They arrange good trips to see the Khorezm fortresses.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    9.6
    Home from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little far from the centre of Khiva- but the hostel provided free bicycles so it was no problem really.

    The staff are amazing! So friendly and ready to help. They gave us free lunch on arrival. Nice little garden, and the hostel is very clean and spacious. The breakfast is OUTSTANDING!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    9.6
    Just 1 address when in Khiva ! You will certainly enjoy it and have a memorable moment with the fami
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing .....

    Absolute superb accomodation in a family's house, lovely garden, everything neat and very clean, excellent and tasty full breakfast, very friendly entire family, the sons and father do all they can to help you, can only say that this warm family run hostel is absolute one of my favourites ! Thanks to whole family !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    7.1
    Nice Enough Hostel, Inconveniently Situated (Not the Same Address as the Guesthouse)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible location. About 20-25 minutes' walk from the old town, which is where you will want to be in somewhere like Khiva.

    The place is clean and quite comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    10
    Well-kept place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Forthcoming and friendly owners, strong family-run-place feeling. Delicious breakfast, hot water with good pressure. Simply but lovely decorated rooms and beautiful courtyard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    9.2
    The hostel is right across from the street from the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The internet was sometimes a bit slow sometimes. The room got a little hot at night.

    The hostel is right across from the street from the old city. The hostel has a friendly atmosphere and Nadir organised a trip to some ancient citadels for me. The room and bathroom was clean and comfy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    9.6
    A classy place with plenty of personal touch from the host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place is some 2 km away from the old town, but free bicycles and discounted rates fully compensate fir this minor inconvenience.

    A classy place with plenty of personal touch from the host. Free bikesare available i the hostel, whoch makes the travel to the historical downtown both quick and fun.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    9.6
    Great stay at this hostel, friendly staff and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a good 20-30 minutes walk from old town Khiva, but you can always ask someone to drive you there.

    Great stay at this hostel, friendly staff and good breakfast. The rooms were also big and spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Awesome staff, their day trips make it really easy and quick to see the things around that you want to see like the Aral sea, castles etc. Also fantastic advice about ongoing travel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful Uzbek family
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It s basically a homestay. The family is so welcoming and warmhearted. They shared their dinner with me. They are all very helpful and kind. The room and bed were comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and filling.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    10
    What a great hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    What a great hostel ! Loved the family and the facilities were awesome. Comfy beds, lovely yard, nice big varied breakfast and clean good showers and toilets. They also had a free car service to the old city which was sweet!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    9.2
    A comfortable, homey place in Khiva
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The family running the hostel is wonderful. Breakfast is excellent. Even though the location is a bit far from the walled city, there is a free shuttle service between the hostel and the guesthouse of the same name and it is close to the West Gate.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2017

    8.3
    The kindest hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit far from the main attractions of Khiva but still good value for money and they take you there by car for free so all good :)

    The host family are the kindest people ever. Very helpful, patient - just lovely people! I got sick and was cured back to health by the mother, who happens to be a doctor. Good breakfast. They also cook amazing meals if you ask :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    10
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    10
    Very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bunk Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very good breakfast. Hospitality (lovely hosts). Bed, shower, toilets were good. Loving and helpful hosts. Hostel was pretty.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit far from the center.

    Friendly staff. Spacious, welcoming and clean hostel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    9.2
    Great breakfast, arranged ride to Bukhara from hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Far-ish walk with few restaurants nearby.

    Great breakfast, arranged ride to Bukhara from hostel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    8.8
    The free bicycle, the breakfast and the beautiful house
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I wish there would be one plug for each bed in the dorm.

    The free bicycle, the breakfast and the beautiful house

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    7.5
    Great Breakfast and big rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great Breakfast and big rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    9.6
    Very helpfull Staff, flexible approach, very satisfied...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hmmm :)

    Very helpfull Staff, flexible approach, very satisfied with a stay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    7.5
    Nice garden, good breakfast with lots of fresh fruit, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No kitchen!

    Nice garden, good breakfast with lots of fresh fruit, nice hot shower.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    8.8
    Nice backpacker place in the north of the town, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice backpacker place in the north of the town, excellent breakfast, extremely helpful staff and lovely owner family!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    8.8
    Nice backpacker place in the north of the town, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice backpacker place in the north of the town, excellent breakfast, extremely helpful staff and lovely owner family!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    10
    The staff and Hostel Supper
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Allt var mycke bra

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75