Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Phan Thiet Ocean Dunes Resort 4 stars

1 Ton Duc Thang, Phan Thiet, Vietnam

#5 of 27 hotels in Phan Thiet

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 165 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was to big and too spacious ! ;)

    If you heard a lot about Mui Ne and you want to visit there, then go with this hotel :) because its not in actual Mui Ne. Yes all you need to get a motorbike and drive uo there to look around. Honestly not to much to see. In this hotel you ll be close to the beach, like real close. And close to town so you can wander around nice cafes, shops, restaurants, and feel like local. We didnt meet any europeans there :) no turists at all to be honest. Roads are quiet enough to go by scooter. Breakfast at the hotel is Amazing, best we had in Vietnam trip. Swimming pool nice as well :) Beach was clean around the hotel, but water just to warm to chill out, not like around Da Nang or upper area..where its cleaner and refreshing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon temperature very cold, could not be adjusted, Told reception, who said maintenance would fix, did not happen. Rooms a little dated 3 star, everything else 5 star.

    Great beach view from large balcony. Well maintained gardens.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were given had the most disgustingly stained carpet and a very bad smell. We complained and were transferred to another room, marginally better. This large hotel is over 20 years old and I would say the carpet and furnishings have never been replaced. Tired is such an understatement. Very popular for weddings; the reason we were there, so it can be noisy. Not a popular destination for western travellers, what was once a surrounding golf course is now land for sale. Taxi ride or 15 mins walk to Phan Thiet.

    Lovely pool and grassy surrounds - playground great for kids and beach just out front.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ”queen size double bed” was two single beds pushed together, rather uncomfortable. The surroundings is a big construction site. The restaurant need to have better service, since the pricing is over average.

    Nice pool area, could be such a nice hotel if the beach was taken care of and the beach bar would have been opened.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Amazing resort, great friendly helpful staff, great pool and grounds you walk to the beach, superior room facing the beach was amazing wirh huge balcony will definitely return.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As a wheelchair user the ramps to the breakfast room and the reception are quite steep when traveling on your own.

    Nice location. Close to the sea and nice swimming pool. Big room with big balcony. Good variety of breakfast choices. Complimentary bike rental.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Sometimes the hotel holds parties (they held 2 parties during our stay), so I advise booking rooms with garden view to avoid noise in evening

    We enjoyed quite and isolated atmosphere of the hotel. We stayed in the first part of December and there were very few people in the hotel (only on the weekend a little bit more guests arrived). There was always plenty of free space on the beach and near both swimming pools + matrasses and towels provided free-of-charge. Private beach, rather clean (but sometimes there was trash brought by the sea, but as far as I understood this is the problem of the country in general, not the hotel. The staff is super nice and always willing to help (although they don't speak good English), but there was a senior concierge who spoke really good Russian (unfortunately I don't remember his name - Vietnamese names are very difficult for me) but he saved us many times, and we would like to thank him additionally (especially for helping my husband to organize my birthday celebration). The breakfast has a great variety of choice: local as well as European dishes, everything of very good quality. Very quite neighborhood (which is unusual for Asia). Some people might find it too distant from other attractions and cafes (the nearest is 15-20 minutes walk, or 3-5 minutes by taxi, which is very cheap). Rather big and clean rooms, they change shits and towels every day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos are much nicer than the real thing. The complex is smaller than expected and the beach is not hugely clean. Food options were poor outside of breakfast and there aren't many options nearby. We ended up walking 20 minutes to Phan Thiet through a construction site to get food each time. There was an odd smell in the room too. In hindsight would pay a bit more and stay in Mui Me instead

    Room was clean, breakfast was nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs were not professional, the way they talked to customers were very rude and not polite. I went to a buffet in the morning, at a narrow pathway, the waitress was insisted to move with waste on his hands to pass me, which I think they would have give way to customers first. It is 4 stars resort, not a motel....

    Beautiful yard! Quiet and relaxing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, the most beautiful, relaxing, comfortable, clean and gardens well looked after. The room was a great size, plenty of room to move around. Will be back again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That all the rooms are so old and out of date. It needs renovation. The tiles around the pool was so slippery we all slipped whilst walking.

    I liked the ocean breeze blowing into the hotel so the positioning near the beach was really good. Breakfast was good. Food ordered at the hotel was quite good but took bit too long to make and pricey for this area.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place looks quite run down and needs to be renovated to be counted as a 4-star hotel!

    The hotel is located in a quiet location with excellent surrounding and very good access to the sea.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have ordred food from the restaurant all 7 days on our stay - in 2 days we get sick from the food. The restaurant have to be careful with cleaning in kichen and how to store food !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    facilities are too old

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything.

    The hotel is near the beach, very good space around the hotel. Very big room. Very good service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to walk to the beach ,

    Location and staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The omelette on the first day was excellent, so too the fruit selection.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the breakfast before few years better than now .

    Beautiful garden , nice air , very friendly staff , good food in restaurant .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a little bit old, but still very clean.

    The sea view from the 4th floor is very nice for the sunrise.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is so boring

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beach was quite dirty

    Large rooms, clean batchroom. Very good breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude of the staff was terrible! Not worth going back

    Breakfast and pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff doesn't know well . some staffs are not professional

    quiet place. if you want to just take a rest, it is the place

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevators old

    Clean, location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was outdated, overused and needed urgent upgrade

    Gardens were spacious

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was everything ok, not excellent but ok.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    my aunt complained the bed was uncomfortable and had lice

    breakfast was great. variety of options. beef stew was way too tough though.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts of the hotel need refreshing

    Bikes available and city is not too far, nice beach location, well trained staff and good food

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel right on the beach, peaceful surrounding .Will county me back again .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is relatively far from town/other restaurants and attractions

    Very helpful personal, nice territory and amazing food in restaurant

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to the beach and excellent balcony with great sea views.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable bed, good aircon, friendly helpful staff and great choice for breakfast. Quiet location if you need to get away from the rat race

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long way from Mui Ne beaches and very quiet when we were there.

    Great staff and very relaxing stay

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    A more Western menu

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should change/match the name tag of food/fruit description whenever set up new food/ fruit.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room was a sea view room and it was amazing. the staff were courteous and always ready to help. breakfast which was included was adequate. overall I had a great time.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I have no complaints at all.

    We are three mature aged women who knew nothing of the Phan Thiet area or the accommodations, so took a chance on Booking.com and the Ocean Dunes Resort. We were not disappointed with our adjoining rooms. The hotel was lovely and the staff exceptionally warm and helpful - even big hugs on the day of our departure, and no communication problems. The resort itself was huge with beautifully maintained grounds and gardens, and the ocean view from our balcony was a delight each afternoon as we sat and sipped on our G&T's. The rooms were very comfortable, and very clean with all we needed for our three night stay. There is a travel desk; a souvenir shop; great bar and restaurant with delicious meals and one of the best breakfasts I have had in Asia. The sunsets are magnificent and well worth an early morning beach walk with your camera - you won't be disappointed. At 5:30am we couldn't believe the number of people on the beach at that time of day. The down town area could be a little too far to walk, so a very short taxi ride for only a few Dong.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The scrum at breakfast but this was because the hotel was full for lunar new year. Any other time the hotel would be perfect

    The service was excellent and the room comfortable. The location was beachfront and the pool area was quiet and clean. A short walk took you to several restaurants

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom had no curtain. This is the only negative thing I could remember.

    This hotel is standard 4* hotel. As stronger points I could name the breakfast, private well maintained beach, spacious rooms, polite and very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room had a rear "garden" view, but apart from the town, there was also a construction site with apartment blocks due to be built near the hotel. This was OK for a couple of days, but for a longer stay a sea view room would be better. The restaurant food and drink prices, with 10% vat and 5% service charge added, are relatively high by local standards.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Attractive grounds right next to the beach. Excellent breakfast. Very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff at the front desk were great, very helpful. But the staff at the restaurant where we had breakfast weren't very friendly. Maybe they were having 2 bad mornings.

    It was very affordable for a 4-star hotel. Had a great massage at the spa and the view of the sea is just great to look at when having breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately this hotel is stuck in the past! It was like stepping back in time. It is a huge hotel but it's totally deserted, almost eerily so. This lack of atmosphere was quite draining. I saw 6 other guests at dinner and were far outnumbered by staff. The staff were very friendly but only one spoke English and it was still difficult to converse with her (this isn't a huge issue though as they were very nice). The hotel, aside from being tired and dated and in need of investment, was dirty. We were watching rats scurry around the place at dinner. The food was not good, very bland and anything with flavour I wished it didn't have flavour! Breakfast was bizarre, with horrendous cheesy Christmas music playing (not around Christmas period). We had to find things to do on day trips away from the hotel as I think we would have turned insane from staying there too long!

    The hotel had a nice, big swimming pool and well manicured lawns as well as a quiet beach area.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - hotel is a little bit worn out, no renovations made lately, so if you're looking for luxury, you probably won't be happy - staff were mostly friendly, but when we said we saw a rat in hotel garden, quite close to the restaurant terrace, waiter's response was like "so what" - hotel spa had rooms which were a bit dusty, and no renovations made there either - however, treatments were professional and price wasn't too bad, cause there was a discount during our stay

    + sea view was fantastic! + the best breakfast during our 3 weeks journey in SE Asia: wide selection of both Asian and Western food + beach was peaceful, not too much garbage, swimmable in the mornings when waves were smaller + nice pool area + free bike rental (traffic in the surrounding area wasn't as bad as eg. in HCMC, we felt safe enough to ride a bike) + location: away from the fuzz and buzz of the main tourist area in Ham Tien, closer to local life (though it's 1-2 kms to anywhere from this hotel), and still only ca.15min. to Ham Tien (by taxi; it's also possible to take a local bus if you walk first) + we weren't forced to pay for New Year's dinner (which seemed to be the policy in many other places) + reasonable price to get all this!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant food quality is low.

    Very Good place to rest little far from noisy and overcrowded touristic places. Very friendly. Excellent spa and good price for all prosedures. Clean swimming pool. Children friendly infrastructure. Terrific quality/price ratio.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Asking for new Sandler and tissues and overheard one of staff maid made a comment to another "room 421 asking for so may things" . The fact was, I informed all maids to NOT clean my room because....one, the maids could rest and two, to conserve water from excess bedding and tower washing as suggested from the room note.

    Room design had good view of ocean.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didn't like that the resort charged us 70000 to the bus but a taxi from the bus to the resort was 20000

    Food was lovely. staff very friendly and resort very relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit far from downtown

    Great view on the sea and swimming pool. Breakfast with a lot of choice. Employees friendly and smiling. Swimming-pool and the beach near. Garden very well maintained

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Disappearance of Golf view

    Location & Pro Service

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent location at beach and very close to city centre

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    had 2 bookings here and so glad that I returned. great service. Great resort

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The FO staffs should smile with guest. I tried to find if any staff smile with me, but i couldnt see a smile from them.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    many services have been cut-off: billatd, table tennis...

    location, beautiful view

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything and the staff were great! So friendly & welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi in rooms

    The stuff very helpful and the food was at a very high level. Our view from the room was lovely looking straight out to the sea.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not a thing

    Quiet clean professional staff good value

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the internet was really bad. sometimes there was even no internet.

    the golf course and the beach in the resort was enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff,

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Beautiful garden, swimming pool, rooms, breakfast. Great staff. I want to live there for ever.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very welcoming

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great view, great price, helpful staff, loved the room and balcony.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi not 100% somtimes not working or a bit slow

    Staff and the resort was amazing. Will go back

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast is not really attractiveness!

    Room is so nice and location is good!

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Browse Phan Thiet Ocean Dunes Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: