Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Empress Hotel Ho Chi Minh City 2 stars

136 Bui Thi Xuan Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

#395 of 693 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 27 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no hotel facilities, no pool or common rooms. There was a bar but it didn't seem to have anyone serving or drinks available. The room was very small. Although it was beautifully clean. The resteraunt was for breakfast only. I think you can find more for a similar price.

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. Especially the bus boy, always chatting and polite. Was willing to help with anything and just chatter away. It was a quick grab bike ride to most places you would want to visit and tours would happily pick you up from hotel. The room was immaculate and serviced daily. The breakfast was substantial.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    Not much choice for breakfast, especially when there for a few weeks. In September the internet was secure but not this time, even though I was assured it was on several occasions. My notebook got infected with a virus.

    David and Lucy at reception were very helpful and all the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast is not buffet but a selection from limited number of set-meals. room is quite small. I booked for the club room (second most expensive tier) but the room I got is on second floor and just like a normal deluxe room size in other hotels although the pictures show bigger rooms. They did give me the clubroom service which is a free flow minibar per day. The receptionist insists all the rooms are of the same size except for double/twin rooms. (strange to have club room tier then) water could flow out from the shower and wet the whole bathroom. I booked for 2 nights but I did not see anyone did housekeeping to my room the next day. I was quite surprised to know that they do housekeeping only once every 2 days.

    nice and modern look. water pressure and temperature is good for shower. the staffs can speak English well. wifi is not fast but usable. good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Both corridor and rooms has "old" smell that is stuck in rugs and textiles. Sound isolation to the room above is bad; sound from water pipes and moving chairs are noisy for the room below.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad service bad facilities Always try to charge anything even you didn’t used. Booked same room with friends for same price but all the room is different it is not fare enough, how dare they can provide me a single bed even I’m booked double and payed double bed price.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little more expensive than similar hotels within the area.

    I last stayed at the Empress Hotel some 3 or 4 years ago. Since then it has been refurbished to a high standard but the friendliness of the staff has remained. The hotel is a short walking distance to many restaurants, street food shops and some attractions. The room I had was great, modern, reasonably spacious and great en suite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The bellman Rio and the front desk assistant Lucy were absolutely fantastic! Very helpful. They even went out of their way to help me organise food when I was unwell. 5 star service! They made our stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice if there was a fitness center or spa / salon available but over all very pleased with the accommodation.

    The greeter and all staff were very professional and friendly and spoke English very well. Breakfast was great. The hostess was very helpful. The property was very clean and well kept. They provide shampoo and body wash in the shower. The bed was very comfortable. Loved that they provided robes, slippers, a mini fridge with variety of drinks, a safe to keep your belongings, flat screen tv and free wifi. An added plus is that when you check out and your flight leaves later or you want to explore the area more, they will keep and watch your luggage for you at the front desk.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff couldn't activate my credit card so had to pay in cash so had less spending money for the rest of my trip

    large comfortable pillows Clean and tidy room Stayed there 3 or 4 times over a11 year timeframe and would recommend to anyone

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    every thing great hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a couple wifi issues, but the front desk had them addressed very quickly and had me connected to another network in 10 minutes. Also, the breakfast is just so so, but they are very nice in the restaurant.

    The front desk staff was very friendly as was the kitchen on the top floor. The hotel is also a fantastic value.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a little issue with the wi fi however was assisted and fixed by staff immediately.

    We enjoyed first the welcoming staff their assistance, cleanliness of the facility plus our room and everything functioned appropriately,hot water,air conditioning and TV etc... We should not forget brea first was appreciable.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel under renovation, it will be better in the future , this is the only issue right now

    It was okay , Mr. David was cooperative and makes it easy for me. It was okay over all.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    this hotel is under construction. breakfast is horrible. no water pipe at toilet to wash your a×x...

    room was clean. receptionist staff was great and always wanted to help.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel is under renovation, and so it is messy, noisy and has no restaurant, so no breakfast available, despite claiming to have so when booking. We would not have stayed here had we known the inconvenience caused by the renovations.

    Nice bed and hot shower, clean room.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Still under construction, so noisy during day. Very minimalist breakfast, quite disappointing.

    Clean modern room.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staffs are friendly and helpful. Quiet and convenient place.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel is still under construction.

    This is my second stay in this hotel. The receptionist are great and goes beyond in assisting me.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Ongoing work in the hotel. A lot of rats in the area around the hotel

    ice people

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The facility is a bit old and the lobby under renovation

    There is a young man knows Chinese and very helpful for tour guidance.

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Guests also reviewed these properties: