Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of InterContinental Hanoi Westlake 5 stars

1A Nghi Tam Street, Tay Ho, Hanoi, Vietnam

#133 of 555 hotels in Hanoi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 773 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spent the most horrible stay for our honeymoon in this hotel. We booked 4 nite from 17/6 to 21/6 via booking.com and paid 35usd/nite for upselling to overwater pavillon but ended up in the room surrounded by thousands of mosquito in the balcony and in front of our door, some alive and some are dead but it seems like nobody cleans for many days. We took the video and showed to the front office, one lady explained for us "but they (the mosquitos) are dead?????!!!!!!! ", and when we suggested to change the room because I had trypophobia, she reluctantly moved us to different room which is far awar from the lake without any apology as if this is our fault. The room facility is quite good, room is clean however there is no special decoration for honeymooners with flowers like other hotels. The breakfast buffet is nice and the F&B staffs are better - trained than the FO and concierge. The FO staffs, both Vietnamese and Korean, are inactive, cold, barely smile, barely say hi and tried their best to avoid the contact with us. When we arrived, there were no one to introduce about the room and we had to initiate asking them for help, otherwise they would give you the bland look and kept going with their chatting. During 4 nite there, only the staffs in the restaurant asked us for our feedback, otherwise the guest relation team in the lobby did not bother to do so. Same thing happened when checking out. They saw us struggling with the suitcase but they ignored and went away.The hotel location is not the ideal place for tourists as I got charged 300.000 vnd for 3km route twice because the hotel taxi drove us around the 18km route of the West Lake in stead. Sadly, this taxi had the contract and comission with the hotel. No wonder why there is a rumour about the drastically dropping down of the hotel revenue 3 years ago, staffs seems do not care about their work at all.

    The breakfast buffet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We live in Hanoi but wanted to 'get away' for our wedding anniversary, with busy work schedules we could only sneak away for one night and picked the intercontinental westlake. We're very happy we did as our stay was fantastic, pleasant views, friendly staff and a very relaxing stay. Breakfast was fantastic and the staff serving were very polite, friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The sound proofing of the doors to the suites could be better as you can hear everything in the access corridors

    Staff were very friendly and extremely efficient. Room service was nothing short of amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all

    Breakfast was amazing huge variety! Pillows were amazing like sleeping on a cloud!! Staff were incredibly helpful!!! The place is simply stunning!!! A big shout out to the bellman Son for being so helpful during our stay!!! Highly recommend to everyone!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Servers in the breakfast seems bit under pressure. One of the ladies poked on my shoulder. They acted like we will not breakfast fee at the end. Luckily we used on our last day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked king size double bed room,which is more expensive than two single beds room, but they just combined two single beds into one without any notification. I was litte a bit dissapointed. It was first time that my partner visited Hanoi, and I wanted to make her fully satisfied because she was deciding to live in Hanoi with me or not.

    Breakfast was perfect, and my partner was also satisfied with the service. The view from the room was nice, staffs were kind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Bed Overwater Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was good if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of Hanoi but my view is that it is a highlight of why you go there.

    This hotel had the best breakfast buffet offering of all the hotels we stayed at during our 18 days in Vietnam. Room was comfortable although we were supposed to have a view of the Lake, it was of the canal. Love that you get a pillow option at no extra cost (or at least I think it was). Helpful staff for activities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found it very inconvenient having to leave pool area to find staff member to order food or drinks. Need to have staff regularly checking if those guests around the pool wish extra refreshments

    Food was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    our bed. we asked for a king sized bed and they had put twins together which didn't really work out in the middle of the night when the beds moved.

    our room was wonderful, overlooking the wonderful Westlake with the most amazing sunset ever.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Bed Overwater Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish they have halal food section served during the breakfast.

    The hotel location is just perfect. The staff were very helpful, even the in room dining come faster than I expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Panoramic View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The duty manager named Duy Anh (i cant remember exactly) and other staffs werent professional. It was such an important occasion to us but you all made us feel super uncomfortable. The worst stay at any property of IHG so far!!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club InterContinental Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was not ready on arrival, and the hotel by mistake did not cancel the deposit fee (took 4 days + an email to make this happen)

    Great location and nice view to the west lake.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Bed Deluxe Panoramic View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Assisted me with baggage to room.Tv a bit dated.Room rug a bit worn.shutters were loose and didn't close properly. Aircon made a knocking noise 1st night , second night seemed to be better

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Panoramic View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room with the lake view smelled bad and was quite worn out. So one did not feel cosy in there. No mosquito net over the bed which mattered at night as we did have a mosquito in our room. Not many local restaurants around the hotel.

    Nice and calm location compared to the rest of Hanoi. 20 min by taxi to the old town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club InterContinental Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the club lounge was disappointing. Also in the club lounge there was pressure to book and eat in the hotel restaurant.

    Spacious comfortable room. Lovely ambience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit far away from city center. Perfect for one or two nights but not more!

    The overwater pavillon with great view of the lake, the size of the room and bathroom, the nice balcony and the sunset bar. Overall price paid for our stay, including food and drinks was really not expensive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The concierge recommended a Vietnamese restaurant that is ultra high end that tasted more like Chinese cuisine to us. We have wanted something local.

    My wife and I stayed in Intercontinental Hanoi West Lake for 2 nights. It is located in a tranquil location but slightly away from Hanoi Old Town where a lot of the shopping and restaurants are located. They upgraded us to a room with lake view. There was discrepancy that our booking included breakfast but the hotel did not have the same information. This was quickly resolved. The breakfast was pretty good. The concierge recommended a Vietnamese restaurant that is ultra high end that tasted more like Chinese cuisine to us. We have wanted something local. So note to myself and others, do note that the concierge recommendation cannot be taken at face value. Overall, still a great stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Bed Overwater Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is unable to solve issues promptly, they were uninformed and rigid, We had an issue at check in and it was resolved then by the manager, but the same issue was brought up during our checkout. An outdoor pool for Hanoi’s winter isn’t practical. A small indoor pool would have made our stay more enjoyable.

    The scenery and the feel of the place, very peaceful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is too far from the madding crowd. Had to take a taxi all the time, no shuttle service to landmark, shopping centres, markets etc. Also, I booked airport transfers with the hotel directly and upon payment was advised it was double the amount, very disappointed as I hadn't budgeted the correct amount, no one took accountability for this or tried to rectified this, reading my confirmation , I still read it as the total amount for 2 transfers but Hotel Manager did not budge.

    Enjoyed the overall look of the hotel as I upgraded our rooms, we stayed on the lake which was beautiful. Booked tours with the hotel , very expensive but it was worth every cent. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallway where our room was located was really smelly.

    It has very beautiful lobby and pool looking on the lake. Breakfast was great and amenities were good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Panoramic View Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Loved everything.

    The breakfast was really great. A wide variety catering for all. The Overwater Room had a beautiful view. The location of the hotel is great, close to many little restaurants around the lake. The bed was extremely comfortable. Loved our stay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club InterContinental Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The club service was personal and very good. Also the management were flexible and accommodating in helping my wife and I to leave a couple of days earlier because of the weather

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel but not modern as expected. NOTHING to eat or to shop around the hotel. Too far away from the city center and every time we go out we have to take a taxi. However, try your luck. We spent 270K one way to the St. Joseph Catherdral but only 65K when return and realized that we got tricked.

    I liked the breakfast, the toilets and the showers. I liked the items that they provided, e.g. laundry bag and shoe bags (both of which I took away to use). Plus, they gave us so many bars of soaps, that I can keep for future use. They own a pool, which you can have a swim in! They have some tanning chairs you can sit on, even a sunset bar!!!! InterContinental even has hotel rooms on the West lake (a.k.a. Hotel rooms on water), which you probably don't find in other hotels.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double room was not available and staff asked for upgrade or else would stay in twin beds room. The staffs outside were not friendly, not help to take luggages when I traveled my child. No sense of help.

    Location and facilities are good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The mattress was to hard, it hurted my back all night - Pillows were not nice and soft enough - No flip flops in common area rule is ridiculous

    The view was terific overlooks the Westlake

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a suite over the lake and it was wonderful, we visited Hanoi during winter so we could not enjoy our balcony and the bar as much as we would like, but the views we got of the west lake are unforgetable. It is expensive but it is worth every penny. The breakfast is the best we got during our whole trip (we travel during 20 days in Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam) where we stayed in similar hotels.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Bed Overwater Panoramic View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked that it was away from the noise of the main city but it was also a good location if you wanna have a walk around the outside area to see how local people live and go about their daily grind.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was out of the city centre, but in a nice lakeside setting

    Excellent beds, international breakfast range with beautiful pastries, convenient and well equipped gym

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club InterContinental Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful and comfortable hotel looking over the lake, a short taxi ride from the old quarters. Was a perfect setup to relax at serenity of the hotel whilst doing small day trips into the bustling old quarters. Also the breakfast buffet was very good - always a great and enjoyable way to start the day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even the nearest tour point, Lake Thoi, is not near enough to go by walk.

    Service that suits the name 'Intercontinental'. Nice breakfast, okay swimming pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we did order a coffee late and it was awful, milk was not great at all for this coffee and coffèe itself was extremely weak. they definetely need to improbe on this

    room was perfect and breakfast had a huge amount of selctiom which was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Panoramic View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As expected, some mosquitoes - but rooms were equipped

    Interesting - nice to be on poles over the lake - and watch the fisherman paddle by signing in the morning. Nice cocktail bat

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 5 star hotel, the rooms are definitely ageing and in need of an update. When showering the water escapes and floods the bathroom making the floor a hazard. The toilet also didn't flush properly. There's also an intense mosquito problem, and the property didn't supply coils so we were unable to sit on the balcony of the water that we paid extra for.

    The staff here go above and beyond. Positioned over the Westlake in Hanoi, the property has an amazing hazy view of the lake that is a beautiful scene all through the day. The pool and buffet breakfast were highlights to our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cat rate the place highly enough. Located near the main route, but situated in the beautiful West Lake, fabulous location. Staff were very helpful and incredibly welcoming. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was little small. And little deep(1.45m) so I couldn't swim.

    Nice facilities and Great view. The best thing is that they allow to the check-out guest to use facilities like shower room. I really appreciated that.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None!

    Great location. Over water room was perfect. Definitely opt for breakfast - amazing! A really great place to stay in Hanoi - we're back there on Wednesday!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Bed Overwater Panoramic View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing to complain!

    Everything was perfect, very nice Stuff also in the Bar and Restaurants. And the Food in the Restaurants was excellent :-), especially the Italian Restaurant ! You can see the Fishes in the Lake and Fishermen trying to catch Fishes, very romantic and natural Place! Very close to the Center of Hanoi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am writing to complain about the service quality at Intercontinental Hanoi. At check in, my friend who also stays at the hotel helps me check in first and was told that there is no room for our bed preference. She was instructed to go for an upgrade which she said is too much and decided to wait for my arrival anyways. As I arrived, I enquire about the situation and the staff said they have found a room with our bed preference. I asked about the upgrade mentioned earlier, and the hotel staff (Dzung) said that earlier there was no room but now they have found one. When we check out, the hotel charges us 70USD ++ each night for the upgrade. We did not use any of the service included in the upgrade because we were unaware of it and the room is the same size as a normal room (43m2). Furthermore, the standing bathroom was leaking a lot and flooded the whole bathroom floor, but we decided to neglect anyways because we only stayed for 2 nights I find the upgrade outrageous. I have never been tricked into an upgrade this way by any hotels. Quoc

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We usually stay in Hoan Kiem district but selected this hotel since we had a one night stop-over. Great property in a lovely location. Rooms over the water are very special. Food in restaurant was good and reasonably priced. Will definitely consider staying longer next time eventhough Westlake is some was from the city centre. Breakfast buffet was also very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Panoramic View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a lake side room with beautiful view, but we were disappointed that the balcony could not be used or the door be left open, as there were hundreds of mosquitos outside in the morning & evening.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    King bed was 2 beds pushed together, definitive bump in the middle of the bed and the pavilion was quite noisy with people walking by and who were not considerate of anyone else

    Breakfast buffet, the view and location of the property

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress sinks in so we didn't get the comfort as expected.

    The lake view is beautiful. Friendly service. Staff remembered our in room breakfast the 2nd time we ordered!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Panoramic View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our every need was met during our stay at the InterContinental Westlake Hanoi, and the high-quality service and hospitality could be felt throughout the weekend. I could not have imagined a better way to spend the weekend celebrating my girlfriend's birthday - from our beautiful lake-side room with an amazing view of Westlake, the plush king-size bed, the cozy swimming pool with great pool-side service, my girlfriend's surprise birthday cake later in the evening, and the final breakfast buffet to send us on our way back home the next day. We definitely want to stay with the InterContinental Hanoi Westlake when we visit Hanoi again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Panoramic View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised not to be met with a welcome drink for check in.The only bad thing about my stay was the mosquitoes everywhere. On the balcony, the sunset bar and even walking from our room to front desk as the entire hotel is on the water. This was a massive issue even though we had spray on and checked the room every night I still had a dozen bites.

    I had a room with panoramic water views. Clean and very comfortable rooms what you expect from Intercontinental. Beautiful hotel built on the lake.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The street noise perceived in the cheaper room on the street side (especially at night when trucks and cars honked their horns). I had to pay extra money to switch to the much quieter lake side.

    The nice lake view from room 452 on 4th floor. Room was quiet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Bed Overwater Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a located too far from the city centre, meaning that you have to catch a taxi each time you want to go out for lunch, dinner etc or even just for a walk and look around. We end up staying in the city centre on our last night in Hanoi and enjoyed the location much more.

    Lovely scenic location, quite at night and comfortable sized prooms. Great if you want to escape the hustle and bustle of the city centre (which we loved to be honest so spent our last night in the middle of it all for the true Hanoi experience)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Bed Overwater Panoramic View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requires a taxi to get to old town, and most other sights.

    Amazing amenities and a gorgeous design. The staff really made it easy to travel with our 18 month old.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn't change a thing,

    Peaceful surroundings on the lake with breathtaking views. Room was very nice, clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were exceptional. The staff went out of their way to please. When they found out it was our anniversary, they surprised us with two glasses, a bottle of champagne and cheesecake! We don't think there is a better place to stay. Thank you.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need a bit of a refresh - overall they are ok but not 5 star! Restaurants and bar all very quiet with little atmosphere.

    Great staff and good hotel design. Brekfast buffet amazing!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location- far from city centre but quiet place with a great view Staff- impressive, very kind and helpful Service- everything was perfect(fitness center/taxi service/various pillows) Breakfast- loved evrything, fruits are not bad

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club InterContinental Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit old. I stayed in the lake view room, view isn't really impressive especially the weather was bad during my stay.

    15mins ride away from the city centre, quiet place to stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed one night, unfortunately but what little we see and experienced, we wish we had stayed longer!The food at Saigon Restaurant was one of the best we've had.The service also was very good. We will come back.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike about our stay .

    The staff were very friendly and helpful went the extra mile as it was my husbands 60th birthday the day we arrived and it was also our honeymoon . There were flowers and a card on our arrival and also cake .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Residence
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our view! Perhaps when booking ask for rooms looking across the lake.

    The service in this hotel is professional and very friendly. English is spoken well by all. Breakfast was fantastic! Particularly the pastries as baked on the premises - yum! Our friends (who are traveling with us) stayed at this property same time last year and were greeted like family! The personal touch and care is to be commended. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A peaceful serenity slightly out of the crazy city of Hoi An. Bed is very comfortable. Breakfast buffet is amazing and both the Saigon and Milan restaurants have stunning and very tasty food with impeccable cleanliness.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Panoramic View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were only there for a night and wanted to enjoy the sunset over the lake. As nice as our upgrade was, it didn't have this view. However, the hotel assured us that if we returned we would have the view we wanted. It's all about service and they seem to be very customer focused!

    The staff cannot do enough for you, the hotel is spotless and we were upgraded to a two-room suite that was pretty spectacular. Also bought the Club facilities, which gave us afternoon tea, cocktails and snacks and we were able to have our breakfast in the Club lounge, as well as check out there. That was very useful and allowed us to get to the airport quicker (there was a large queue in the reception).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast is not so delicious and except west lake, city view is not so good cause there is nothing yet around hotel, but i think that Viet nam is developing country , so that's why we could expect a lot of building view within not so far future :-)

    it was so comfortable and view of west lake also quite well, i have a mind to visit again to there

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is well wonderfully designed and a credit to the architects. It is situated in a beautiful and quiet area of Hanoi. The staff were wonderful and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Bed Overwater Panoramic View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    twin bed for 3 people, couple with one kid was too small arrangement. Getting a king size bed next time.

    the room on the lake is really lovely. Breakfast is buffet and offer a lot of choice. Friendly staff. We were able to leave our luggage one full day to go visit the Along Bay for one night.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's quite far from the city centre, 20-25 mins in taxi. Minibar prices expensive.

    Rooms were comfy with good views. Staff were fine - didn't have much interaction. Breakfast was good. Location is good for the expat area and european restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Bed Overwater Panoramic View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good location, amazing property and breath taking view from the Overwater Pavilion rooms. Excellent breakfast and good food quality. Staff is very friendly and will always serve you with a smile. highly recommanded

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Bed Overwater Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing Hotel on the lake, 5 stars all the way... The pavillons on the lake are simply amazing. Staff is very kind and efficient, food is amazing, little buggy to bring you to your room, comfortable rooms, breathtaking views, special atmosphere, nice decoration, traditionnal and modern with a touch of class and luxury. A must stay!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Inter continental is always great.

    Many uber drivers needed help to get to the front entrance. Not many attractions in the surrounding area of the hotel so if you want to go outside you would best get a taxi/uber (uber is super cheap).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Panoramic View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ate in Milan restaurant one night and was pretty disappointed. Felt like a canteen - no atmosphere. Service was OK and and food was quite good but nothing outstanding and overpriced for what it was.

    Superb room, very clean & well prepared. Peaceful location after the madness of the old quarter. Nice pool and sunset bar. Awesome breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hours for the Sunset bar was confusing, it stopped serving food from the grill 30 minutes before it closed and those lamb kabobs smelled heavenly.

    I really enjoyed our night in the hotel. Sadly we booked another hotel before our 3 day cruise. I wished I had spent the few extra dollars and stayed here. The view, breakfast, service at the front desk, and overall facility is great. We had a wonderful conversation with a few staff members. I think a manager held my plate at breakfast when I was trying to listen to a conference call on my phone and get breakfast. lol

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and Asian restaurant are noisy/crowded and Buffett mass catering style .... should be more exclusive Some rooms noisy from outside

    Staff very nice and helpful Excellent business venue with diplomatic lounge

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Panoramic View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices of food / drinks inside the hotel is unbelievable high . In the business lounge small bottle of water 11 times more expensive than the same water 50 m outside the hotel.

    Kind personal

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly and efficient. They were quick to change my room and offer a bigger one . The air conditioning was not so good in the earlier room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Panoramic View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside is that due to the amazing location is is a 30 minute taxi ride into the old town of Hanoi but it costs just £3-4 to by taxi, of which there are always about 20 lined up outside the hotel. We had a trainee at checkin too which, after a long day of travelling to get there, seemed very frustrating as it took ages to check in. In hindsight I think we were just tired!

    Incredibly beautiful location with our room literally sat in top of the lake looking out to the city. The bed was extremely comfy, bathroom had a huge (sized for 2) bath tub AND shower with his and hers sinks as well. Breakfast buffet was the best we saw all holiday too

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Find it difficult to think of anything I didn't like save for the visit this time was too short.

    I have stayed here before and always enjoyed the location and the layout of the hotel. Happy to stay here again next time in Hanoi.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff asked us a lot what we thought of their service, which was great but perhaps a little too much by the end.

    Staff were extraordinary, couldn't be more friendly or helpful if they tried. Breakfast buffet was epic, almost too many choices and all amazing. Long bar and Barefoot cafe had nice little extra touches of amuse bouche/nibbles etc. At the pool and beach they bring you a cooler bag with bottled water. All up a very well thought out and executed resort.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The surrounding is quite seedy. On our way in, our flight got delayed. We took a taxi from the airport after midnight. When we got off the main road quite a few local men swamped our taxi and the driver opened his door. We got a big scare! Fortunately, the driver continued on after a short converse with the men in Vietnamese...

    The hotel is very pretty but quite dated. Being there in the raining season, it is wet every where! I wonder why anyone would build a hotel over the water! However, the staff is very courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found this hotel very uncomfortable and dirty. There were 2 dirty long leg spiders in the room and the next morning when I turned my bed covers over there were at least 4 mosquitoes in my bed and about 6 mosquitoes in my freinds bed!!! This was once a 5 star property but no more.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To reach perfection I would have liked something like a bar or pub in front of the lake to spend the evening, drinking and maybe listening to some local music.

    The structure is lovely, quiet and well maintained. There are many services and of good quality. A lovely view waits for you at the restaurant. Excellent service given by the entrance guy: smiley, always available and willing to solve any problem. The reception girls where very efficient too. Nothing to complain about. The rooms are with a nice stylish furniture and with well working accessories.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Overwater Pavilion Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    noisy from the house keeping staff, and the location is far away from hanoi old quarter.

    the best breakfast i had ever good view from balcony very good gym.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse InterContinental Hanoi Westlake traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: