Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hanoi City Backpackers Hostel 2 stars

55 Bat Su Street, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam

#120 of 555 hotels in Hanoi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1182 hostel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Fab location, free beer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners coming in @ 10 v loud and when check out was 11 it was a bit of a faff to get everything together around them. A/C wasn’t the most powerful

    Staff were so friendly, helped with booking tours (may be a little more pricey than if you shop around, but worth for ease of it), free beer 6-7 really brought everyone together chatting, very social, perfect location in centre of old quarter

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    The staff were more than amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not something that can be fixed and is through no fault of the hostel, but climbing up 4 floors to get to your room with a massive backpack is not ideal. I also did see a rather large cockroach in the foyer, but from my experience of Hanoi, they are everywhere

    The staff were truly amazing, went out of their way for us all the time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Great breakfast, and free beer (low quality though) for an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smelled really bad. Bathroom door was broken, and it was noisy and got stuck easily. We were asked to check out at 11am when check out was actually at noon.

    Great breakfast, and free beer (low quality though) for an hour every day. Staff were friendly. Close to tons of restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Loved this hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that I had to leave!

    Amazing helpful and friendly staff. We were able to book good tours and transport with the hostel for a good price. Great location and loved free beer hour.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi did not work in room, friends booked a private room in the same hostel and we're moved to an alternative hostel as they overbooked

    Comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Clean, friendly staff, good choice of breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are a little too pushy with selling tours if you ask for any information.

    Clean, friendly staff, good choice of breakfast. Bathtub and could pressure shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Great social hostel. Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Foul smell from the bathroom, sewage smell so no fault of the staff but nasty nonetheless.

    Location, staff, facilities all excellent. Free beer from 6pm-7pm. Great place to meet likeminded people. Good sized rooms with locker under beds. Large single bed with privacy curtain, plug socket, light and small tray. Fridge in the room and balcony in the one I was in. Staff very thorough cleaning. Very good stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    Decent breakfast, lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms a little old but workable

    Decent breakfast, lovely staff..FREE BEER. Rooms are good, make sure you have a padlock to keep your stuff safe in lockers under bed as doors do not have lock on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic central and fun hostel. Cannot beat the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a very high turnover of people in our room when others appeared empty - seemed a bit like we were all crammed into the same rooms rather than being spread out?

    Second time that we have stayed at this hostel and cannot rate it high enough for how lovely the staff are and how great the location is. It is a great hostel for meeting new people as well due to the free beer that they offer every night as well as the breakfast in the morning - all included in the incredible price. A really great place to stay in an awesome city!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Clean, tidy, comfortable, privacy curtains a bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None with the exception of being told get off my bed to allow them to clean despite not wanting/needing my bed to be made but no big deal really can understand they want it looking perfect :)

    Clean, tidy, comfortable, privacy curtains a bonus. Friendly and informative staff. Free beer between 6-7 another bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    Straightforward hostel without much personality but with free beer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything here is geared toward getting you signed up for trips to sapa, halong bay etc. The trips that they sign people up for are way overpriced. When we arrived at 5 am we were told that our bed was ready and waiting but that if we wanted to get to it before 1 pm we would have to pay. Rather than pay we ended up sitting in the lobby and walking around for 8 hours when all we really wanted was to relax in bed. Seemed unnecessary and unfriendly.

    This place is a fairly classic down to business hostel. Everything is well run although it lacks much personality. They are serious about their free beer. Not just a glass or two but basically whatever you can drink within the given amount of time. Awesome! Big beds, hot water, AC, minifridge etc. Wifi was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    The property is located right in the thick of Hanoi and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Be weary of booking a double bed dorm because we unfortunately had to listen to a late-night hook up our first night which was uncomfortable to say the least.

    The property is located right in the thick of Hanoi and the staff is available 24/7. We booked a double bed in a dorm room and were surprised to discover the housekeepers tidy up the rooms every morning. The free breakfast is a good start to the morning and they've also got a happy hour with free beer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    Photos are not representing the reality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos are not representing the reality and even though checkout time is at 11am they came to clean the whole dormitory room starting at 9:30 asking when we want to checkout, after telling at 11, they just continued cleaning...you can definitely find cheaper

    Breakfast and location are very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    Respite in Hanoi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drains in the bathroom were smelly, despite being clean. But otherwise, the room was great value for money, clean, the beds were large and extremely comfortable.

    It's location close enough to all sites and places in old quarter of town. The staff were friendly, very flexible and the breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    It was a real good, clean hostel, breakfast was Good, staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our locker was not to reach as another bed was standing in front of it.

    It was a real good, clean hostel, breakfast was Good, staff super friendly, free beer was amazing of course ;)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    The hostel itself is really worth staying :D
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tour we booked wasn't worth the price. Also the bus we booked had terryfing staff and i think they made more money out of us. So i think city backpackers hostel might as well change their co-working companies.

    Staff was very cool and helpful and the bed was very comfortable The breakfast was delicious all the time

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Double beds, curtains round beds for privacy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure issue so top floor dorm and I couldn’t have a shower but staff very apologetic. Transport - wasn’t offered cheapest price - had to push for it.

    Double beds, curtains round beds for privacy. Bathrooms in the dorms. Nice breakfast and good choice. Lee was very helpful - checked the weather for me in sapa before booking my bus. Also made sure I had breakfast to take away before my bus even though it was very early and before official breakfast time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was bit smelly

    Everything. The staffs were friendly & helpfull. The room was clean & I got free upgrade from single bed to double bed. The breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Pretty much everything you'd expect from a backpackers hostel...oh there's free beer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet smelled really bad. No matter what the staff did it still reeked. Not their fault, think it's the bad plumbing but it just made the stay very unpleasant.

    Bed was comfortable, staff were friendly, location and breakfast were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Loved this hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! For the price you pay, it is definitely value for money.

    Loved this hostel! The bed were lovely and spacious, I shared a double with my boyfriend. The breakfast was brilliant, and had a great choice. The free beer for an hour was a great touch, they even gave us beer the evening after we checked out! The staff gave the best customer service we have seen in Asia so far (7 weeks worth). Will be recommending this place to friends!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Very good quality for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced organized tours and bus tickets - that’s where they are making the money.

    Very good quality for the price. With free breakfast and free beer from 6 to 7pm, it’s almost for free.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Big bed, clean room, welcome juice, I felt really good stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big bed, clean room, welcome juice, I felt really good stay there, also I exchanged money and bought the data card in the hostel, they can speak with English and help many things.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Great hostel in old quarter
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are very friendly and funny (especially Hiep). Free beer is nice and breakfast decent. Beds comfy and dorms good size with lockers. Right in the old quarter, easy to get to most places. I booked Ha Long Bay and Sapa tours through them which were good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    The beds were comfortable and the privacy curtains were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in our dorm room could have been a bit better looked after. This is all.

    The beds were comfortable and the privacy curtains were nice. The fact you could have a double dorm bed was a nice touch. The free breakfast was delicious! Highly recommend the banana pancakes! We got to Hanoi at 6am and couldn't check in until 1pm. However we were allowed a shower and to drop our luggage at this hour! Really nice hosts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Good, comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most staff were fine, but one persons attitude put us off immensely, by putting money before hospitality.

    Good, comfortable stay. The double bed dorms are great for couples. The free beer in the evening was plentiful and added to a friendly vibe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the double bunk room and it was just too cramped. One bathroom per room and it makes soooo much noise when you flush the chain. Didn’t get a good sleep

    Location was great. Large selection of nice breakfast food. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Nice place for Hanoi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free beer finish at some point 😊

    The best was the staff. We were lucky to have Lee taking care of us, he would join you at the table and talk about what to do. Always very helpful and very nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Very good place to stop in your travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    If you're looking for someplace nice and cheap with a good and kind staff, this is your place! You even have a happy hour with free beer, which we love! Lee "Handsome" took a good care of us :) is a very good guy!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Good location, staff are friendly and shared double bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not buy SIM cards from here they sold us a 60 day sim that lasted 2 days

    Good location, staff are friendly and shared double bed dorms are great for meeting people

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    Overall ok, would have been much better if the water actually worked
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The biggest issue was that on the dates that we were staying, the water was completely turned off on 2 separate occasions with no forewarning from the staff. When we realised there was literally no water in the bathroom, not even to flush the toilet, we rang reception who said they were aware of the situation (no apologies or explanation) but would fix it. We waited another 30 minutes and tried the water which seemed to be working again so I said I would go into the shower while I had the chance, half way through mid-shampoo the water went again so I'm stuck there with a head full of suds and literally no way to rinse it off. My boyfriend went down to reception and asked about the water situation and the man at reception said that he just turned it off again because there was a 'flood' somewhere, so my boyfriend asked him was it possible to get bottled water (they had loads of bottles at the reception desk) because he explained I was still stuck in the shower covered in shampoo and he said that he would turn the water back on but to ring him when I was out. That was fine, the water came back on, had the quickest shower of my life and rang him to say I was out. When I rang back which was 5 minutes later, he said the water would be back on for good now. The next morning we woke up again to no water. Not even a dribble out the tap. The most annoying thing about it was that nothing was mentioned prior to checking in and that also there was no apology. Also just for kicks the tv in our room didn't work but that was a minor inconvenience. Otherwise in fairness the staff were pleasant and friendly and we booked a Halong Bay cruise with them which turned out to be very good

    The hostel was relatively easy to find, the staff at reception were friendly. There were complementary crisps in the room which was nice. The breakfast menu was quite good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money in old town Hanoi!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds where rock solid which mad it hard to sleep. Other than that all good

    That's it's in the centre of Hanoi old town, warm welcome with cool drink which was needed after getting lost and walking 15km lol. Sorted out room error quickly without fuss. Clean and tidy. Wi-Fi reasonable good location with cool and nice place to eat within a stone's throw from the front door of the hostel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Social hostel, big comfortable double beds in dorms and free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were cramped - each double bunk bed has lockers underneath but due to the layout of the rooms it generally means some people cannot open the doors to their lockers which means bags pile up in the centre of the room which is already a limited space. Too much Ed Sheeran being played in the social area ;)

    Social hostel, big comfortable double beds in dorms and free beer (from 6 till the keg runs out) There are cleaning staff that clean all the rooms and bathrooms (you have a bathroom in each dorm) everyday Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location, comfy beds and awesome breakfast. Great for a couple of nights stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked a taxi pick up through the hostel prior to my arrival at the airport. However, 45 minutes after arriving there was no one waiting for me. I had to arrange another taxi which wasn’t the end of the world but it wasted a lot of my time when I arrived in Hanoi.

    The beds were very comfortable and wide even for bunk beds- with a curtain for privacy. The free breakfast was outstanding! Scrambled eggs on toast are a must!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    An amazing place to stay, and use as a base if your planning on visiting Sapa and ho long bay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you happen to be staying on the upper floors. The stairs can be abit of a challenge. ( not the end of the world! ) The staff do insist carrying your bags for you.

    We liked everything about this hostel! Location was really good. Rooms cleaned and tidied every day Beds were really comfy and had curtains for that little extra privacy. Breakfast had a good Selection. Mai and Lee, main receptionists including the rest of the staff were always there for you to help in anyway they can. FREE BEER! From 1800/1900.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel to stay in Hanoi with nice small touches to the service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was one small mosquito hovering around in our room who we didn't manage to kill, but we didn't get any bites overnight (and normally my friend and I are mosquito magnets). We appreciated the real roses on the bed, but one downside is that the roses had ants in them and so we had a couple of innocuous ants in our bed who didn't cause us any trouble.

    We booked a private room with Hanoi City Backpackers, but their private rooms are actually located at a different location - Hanoi Culture Hotel (I believe) which is just down the road. The vibe there was more similar to what my friend and I look for in a hotel - travelers looking for a good nights' rest as opposed to partying. They helped us to book an airport shuttle for the next morning (around 300K dong) and since we had to leave before breakfast started, they gave us breakfast to go. The room was clean and spacious and even had real roses on the bed on our arrival. The location was also great, we didn't have an issue walking around the Old Quarter in Hanoi. Despite being located on a street, there was little traffic and minimal noise at night. Service was also great - we enjoyed the small touches, like the bellhop opening the door for us each time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Good location, it's besides the beer street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    However the lock on the second floor seemed to have a problem for a long time. Several staff failed to open the door to let us in. But generally speaking, it's a good place to meet new friends.

    Good location, it's besides the beer street. So it's easier to meet new friends. The breakfast was better than I expected, better than the other two hostels I've stayed before I moved into this one.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    The shower was really nice and big and the breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we booked was still occupied because another couple stayed longer. So we had to walk to another hostel around the corner.

    The shower was really nice and big and the breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Amazing staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs!!

    The staff were so helpful overall and we got on with them amazing. Lee especially was brilliant. The beds were the comfiest we’ve stayed in in Vietnam so far and for us it’s been so nice to come back for a break from riding bikes for hours a day. Free beer is always a winner with us backpackers. Would definitely come back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Great place and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were super friendly and helpful!!! Room was nice and cleaned everyday, the beds were big and comfortable and have privacy curtains which is nice! The location is in easy walking distance for everything we wanted to do in Hanoi!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    You really can’t go wrong staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    You really can’t go wrong staying here. The staff is amazing, REALLY helpful and nice. The beds are nice, clean bathroom. Great breakfast. Can really recommend this place in the old quarter of Hanoi!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    I really liked the helpful service with a smile that i got...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I really liked the helpful service with a smile that i got from the staff. They made reservations with other companies for me with no fuss. Definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice staff and comfortable beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water shut off in the morning for 30 mins or so. No locks provided for the lockers.

    Nice staff, comfortable beds. Curtains around the beds for more privacy. Good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    A hotel converted to hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a bed in 6-bed room, but beds are double beds. So it can be more than 6 people in the room. Not a problem, but just for info.

    A hotel converted to hostel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Free beer included :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good included breakfast. And awesome to have free beer each night, made it a great way to meet other travellers. Beds were big and comfy. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.3
    The staff was available and the breakfast was simple but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a room with 4 double beds and the first night we arrived the room was full and it felt pretty packed in there. Bathroom were very humid and smelt bad and there was not a lot of space to walk around the room as everybody had their backpacks around. The cleaning was done the next day and it was better but our first night wasn’t very pleasant.

    The staff was available and the breakfast was simple but good. The location was also very convenient to discover the city and eat out a night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Good place to stay in the middle of everything!
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly staff, nice breakfast, comfortable big beds, hot shower and own bathroom plus choice between aircon and fan in the dorm, good WiFi. Very good hostel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    First night the ac didn't work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night the ac didn't work. Upgraded my other two nights to a better room with less beds and bigger beds for the price of my old dorm as a compensation. Problems can always happen it's how they fix it that show how good a hostel is, really happy with it. Main woman at the front desk was really helpful. Great plus is that they offer Asian food for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    Great backpacker hostel in Hanoi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dorms were just a little bit crowded. WiFi and shower weren’t working when we arrived, but the amazing staff kept working on them until they were both fixed which was excellent.

    Extremely friendly welcome, staff were all so pleasant and funny. We were given a welcome juice which was happily received after a long bus journey! It was worth staying here for the breakfast alone - they had great options, everything was cooked perfectly and served with a smile, and they also brought with it complimentary fruit (different each day) which was great. Free beer available from 6-7pm (or until the keg runs out - usually closer to 8!) Equally close to old quarter and Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum/ Museum etc - everything can be easily reached on foot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    Excellent customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I said I was a little disappointed not to be able to stay there, but actually think in the end it worked out really well. Just be warned most places in the old Quarter are very noisy and this is no exception.

    Well actually I had booked a private room for two nights when I arrived in Hanoi and then 1 night followings Halong Bay trip. On both occasions there was not a private room available and instead they switched me to a sister hotel. Both were very nice but the second one was really amazing! And they didn’t up sell me; it was the same price. Having said that the actual staff and interactions I had at City Backpackers was amazing. They are incredibly personable and arranged the a Halong Bay tour for me and onward train ticket to hue, all arranged before I even arrived. And the night I left they gave me and my backpack a lift via scooter to the train station and made sure I knew exactly where I needed to go. I was so pleased with the amazing customer service from the staff, but as I didn’t stay in thei actual hostel I can’t comment on quality of accommodation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.5
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The second time we stayed at this place the room was not as clean or good as the first time. The bed sheet had stains on it, the walls were mouldy and the shower was broken.

    The staff are absolutely lovely and really helpful, they make you feel welcome. The beds are comfy and the breakfast is tasty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.8
    Good, but awful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff continuosly touched my boyfriend, they even "pulled" His beard. It was too invasive, and totally disrispectfull. He didnt even talk with them and he got furious

    The location mainly, the free beer and good breakfast. They Let us in to the hostel at 5 am to stay at the lobby and leave our bags.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    Good for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lockers under bed were broke and walls very damp next to bed and ladders to top bunk hurt your feet!

    For the price then it was everything we expected, breakfast was good. Not bad location and staff were very friendly. Happy hour with free beer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Free breakfast and coffee. They also helped us organise a bus to Halong bay for a low price. Would definitely recommend

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    Perfect hostel for its price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little bit difficult to find the place firstly , but the same is about all the hostels in Hanoi old quarters

    Beds are big and clean - bedsheets are changed every day, rooms and bathrooms are also clean. You have free breakfast and a "happy beer hour" each day. Location is good - you can go by yourself to almost all the museums in Hanoi saving money on a taxi. Also there are many restaurants around. Stuff in the hostel is really nice, very helpful, can help you with anything - booking the tour, calling a taxi or whatever

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Very nice BV
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think was good

    Was clean and nice. Confi beds and the other guests were super respectuous. They have free beer which is a brilliant idea to meet people. Internet worked well and it is in a good location, easy to walk around but not in the middle of the noise

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.2
    The beds were large and comfy, the free beer between 6pm and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were large and comfy, the free beer between 6pm and 7pm was an added bonus! Great place to meet other travellers. So Nice to have a hot shower again with good water pressure!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was exceptional (reception and cleaners), so friendly and really accommodating. Like one big family! We will definitely return if we’re ever back in Hanoi, they made our stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Incredibly good !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly nice and helpful staff, very comfortable beds in the dormitory, including a delicious breakfast (several choices) and free beers from 6 to 7PM!! It is really worth going there for such a gentle price, I highly recommend it :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Friendly, service minded staff, free beer (6-7) and lovely double bunk beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When hostels organize tours and transport themselves they often struggle to be unbiased about other options and this is the case with Hanoi City as well. And the laundry service wasnt on fleek, but this is minor details.

    As a couple travelling on a budget the double bunk beds are genius. It is sometimes a bit difficult to meet fellow travellers as a couple, but double bunks and free beer is sure to make you familiar with your roomies. We stayed here 3 times, totally approx 7 nights. Recommended!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.5
    in the time of awaiting for the room you can use proper...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast could be better. had to wait far too long for check-in ...till 2p.m.

    in the time of awaiting for the room you can use proper bathroom downstairs which is really nice. with good supply of cosmetics if you need any. Beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Really nice staff, good breakfast, comfortable beds, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit small common-room which felt crowded especially during breakfast.

    Really nice staff, good breakfast, comfortable beds, very clean and the free beer-hour was a great way to meet people staying at the hostel!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Perfect stay - goid value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff is extremely friendly. They help us with transport, recommendations, etc. The hostel’s location is perfect - right in the middle of old quarter. The big plus - free beers from 6-7 pm which helps people to socialise.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    Nice Hostel for backpackers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big rooms, really nice breakfast and free beer from 6-7 where everyone hangs out in the common area. Great location to explore Hanoi by foot. Beds are really big and bathroom was clean! Would definitely go there again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Great hostel with extremely helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be improved.

    Busy hostel, clean and nice. Staff speaks little English but they have been extremely helpful and willing to go the extra mile, which we really appreciated. Central location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.2
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it was the evening before christmas they invited us for a little party. Really awesome from them and did a good job. Double bed dorm was clean and had curtains in between. Also big lockers.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    Great cheap and happy hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very happy and friendly staff! Dorm beds comfy and big and rooms and bathrooms are clean. They don't have a bad but they give you free beer (as much as you can drink!) between 6 and 7pm anyway which is super cool! Gets everyone socialising. Great value for money hostel very cheap especially as breakfast is included. Breakfast has lots of options and is tasty!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    6.7
    Is an ok hostel for a stop over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor communication within staff! We had been out all day to come back not being able to enter our room, sent up and down all 4 floors getting told different things. We got moved to another room as they re painted our original room! I had paint all over my flip flops

    The location is great! The breakfast was nice and had so many options! Some staff were happy and helpful. Beds were comfy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Pancake and toast sandwich were really good, free beer hour,...
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the door opened itself what was annoying, sometimes a bit too loud

    Pancake and toast sandwich were really good, free beer hour, friendly staff, comfortable and big beds, good price and i always got an upgrade

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    Clean room, comfy wide bed with curtains and power socket.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More expensive bus tickets than other places. I found one to Cat Ba for half price they offered.

    Clean room, comfy wide bed with curtains and power socket. Been upgraded to female dorm for free. AC works well. Good breakfast, fruit appreciated. Friendly and helpful staff. Good central location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is for sure the best hostel I've been in Vietnam! Very welcoming; the staff is amazing especially the guy Lee that made me a ginger tea cause I get a bit sick! Definetly recommend this hostel to everyone who is coming over hanoi!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    6.3
    The bathroom in my private room was a nightmare.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in my private room was a nightmare. A terrible sewage smell came out of the drain, which was covered by a towel and then proceeded to fill the entire room. The drain is malfuctioning and did not allow the water to run away, so the entire bathroom floor flooded. The shower was advertised as hot but was actually cold.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.3
    Comfy bed,central location, relatively quiet and clean for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Climbing on the top bed was a pain as the room fridge is right at the bottom of steps. Breakfast could be a bit bigger.

    Comfy bed,central location, relatively quiet and clean for being a double beds dormitory.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    8.3
    Central convenient and very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a mistake with the booking, instead of a double room we had a Dorm of double bunks to ourselves, it did the purpose.

    Very helpful staff. Very central location.lots of information and able to book tours.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Possibility our favourite hostel in 7 months
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double beds were so comfortable. The double beds had great curtains and lockable storage The free hour of beer of high quality The helpful staff The atmosphere Breakfast was good The price

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Lots of breakfast options, friendly staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Lots of breakfast options, friendly staff, great location. They had comfy beds, privacy curtains, lockers, power outlets at the bed. Richie was great and made everyone feel welcome. Would stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: