Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pho Hoi Riverside Resort 3 stars

Xuyen Trung, Cam Nam, Cam Nam, Hoi An, Vietnam

#168 of 193 hotels in Hoi An

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 451 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the restaurant food was not up to the expected standard Breakfast was good however toaster was from 1960

    the staff were extremely helpful no requests were a problem

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (Without Window)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren’t the best when we needed help making a booking and the breakfast wasn’t amazing, the cereal was stale

    Room was really clean and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water from the shower collected in the floor due to space between the wall and the tub. It did not drain well throughout our stay, leaving the bathroom smelling a bit moist.

    Excellent view of the river from the balcony (definitely worth the extra few dollars!). Nice breakfast with made-to-order omelettes, fruit, tea and coffee, bacon, bread, and cheese. The room was modern and bed soft and comfy. Staff was friendly and welcomed us with delicious juice. Room service was prompt, although a bit pricey considering the small portions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (Without Window)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a standard room which according to our reservation was without a window. I must be fair and mention that i did not remember this and only realized it after double checking while there. Upon arrival though and when talking with the reception they told us that we have booked a room with a window so i did not bother to check since that sound ok. It was early though so we left our stuff lying on the floor next to the reception desk and only came back late at night. They showed us our room which was on the ground floor without a window (i think 102 last door on the right at the end of the corridor). The room was in very bad shape and a moldy smell was making it impossible to sleep there. Paint on the walls was coming out because of the moisture. I went straight back to the reception desk and asked them to come and check the room telling them that there is no way i am staying there. They said they will give us another room and so they did which is a good thing. I asked if i can see the other room but after they told me to follow the girl another one came and talked to her and they asked me to go back and wait in the reception. She returned after a few mins and they asked us to follow her. Obviously they wanted to make sure if the room was made i thought. Upon entering the 2nd huge room on the 4th floor i realized that there are no proper windows and therefore no curtains that can block the light. The room had several small round windows close to the floor level more like a boat's window. It was not a big deal for me especially since we were only staying for one night and i wanted to get some sleep and a shower. Walking into the bathroom i noticed water all over the sink that was full of water until the next day. It was dripping from the ceiling. (Pictures included) I must say that there was a heavy rain on that day for several hours and it was the top floor but still i do not think that should be an excuse.

    The 2nd room that we got after they moved us was ok bu still not great although it was very big. Breakfast was better and had eggs any style, fruits and the usual stuff found in most of the hotels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s loud at times with traffic noise and staff cleaning rooms and moving trolleys in the morning. There were rarely any towels available at the pool.

    The pool is great and the location is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is absolutely nonsense that to stay for an extra night I first have to book online to get the best price!! Then having done this in front of the staff I pay, really!!

    The position of the hotel and tremendously helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not good, just Vietnamees style. We got room with river view, but it was the view on hotel restaurant, where some people had Wedding celebration with Karaoke - It was loud and noisy till 23:00. As I understand it's common practise there. Was nice that they give to us different room after complaining - That room was better, with nice river view.

    Location was good, just across the bridge to Old town where are all restaurants and shops

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom fixtures were very outdated and the curtains needed cleaning. The wifi in our room rarely worked properly. The breakfast was not as good as other places

    Location was quite good and the size of the family room was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff at reception wasn't particularly friendly, at the other places we always received a warm morning and goodbye, but here none of the sort. Can see the hotel and resort needs a bit of an update. a little bit worn out.

    The breakfast staff was nice and the swimming pool area is nice, overlooking the river. The price is good. The best of everything was the location, close to everything. Then my favorite I especially loooved the amazing bar across the street from the Hotel, Mr Duc has ice cold tiger beer drafts and he makes egg coffee, you can also rent bikes and mopies from him for cheap.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (Without Window)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the transfer from Danang airport to the hotel weeks in advance and asked for the confirmation 2 days before, and they forgot the transfer... we had 10 usd discount on the transfer to Hue later.

    The swimming pool is very nice and the location was perfect. Very good breakfast and with a beautiful view! Staff was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception check in and out // to be improved Not really friendly after a stop over to Da Nang In A la cart hotel which everyone was so nice and helpful In Pho Hoi : first they took our passport which I was not happy / and in general so so In the room please through the slipper old of few years and ugly / dirty Better not to provide please The spa was closed

    Regarding the Restaurant, the Chef and food manager have been especially nice and in general the staff friendly and smiley people

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel with friendly staff. The location is 5 mins walk from Hoi An ancient town, very convenient. Rent bikes from the nice guy across the street! Will stay here again if we come back to Hoi An.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, breakfast, facilities and staff. Short walk over bridge to the old quarter. Stayed in a bungalow right by the river. Value for money. Nice pool

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (Without Window)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Staff was very average and I had a big problem in explaining the stuff... room was big but utterly stinky and even after complaining the problem was not sorted. The photos that they show on the site are dubious.... I thought I was booking something else where I got something else. The only good thing about this is the location... Also they don’t have any cycles... Would not recommend anyone

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked to change room as we requested a river view. The room we were first allocated did not give us this. The staff were extremely helpful and did this for us. Happy hour good value cocktails.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems it was a nice place years ago. You have lot of variety in the breakfast but the taste of the food wasn’t good. They don’t have a real place to left the luggage when you do the check out and they put your staff in a wall in the reception hall. We asked for a private place and the take our luggage to a hotel room, very grateful.

    The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is a slight smell of damp in the room which cleared when room was in use, but this is is true of all Hotels we visited in Vietnam apart from Hanoi.

    Everything was fine and staff could not be more helpful, if there was a problem it would be solved immediately.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (Without Window)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main building isn't attached to the other facilitates so that was kinda of a bummer. I stayed in the main building area and the building is a bit outdated. My air conditioner did't work and there were ants and other bugs in my room. Also, when I arrived I ask a staff about airport transport and she quoted my at 400,000 VND. When I checked out 3 days later another staff quoted me at a higher price. I recommend you try and find other transport services. In the end I found another transport service for about 200,000 VND

    Breakfast was excellent! Staff was understanding and helpful. Location was really just across the old town. Bedding was comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Nothing really - we left 3 days earlier than planned but that was because of the cold weather (the Air con didn't really do warm air) - the staff were fair and did not charge us the whole 3 day price which we really appreciated. When you go to the airport of train station - ask if anyone else has booked a car and if you can share - we sat next to another couple in reception, they got into one hotel car and we go into the other, we both arrived at the airport together having both paid the full transfer price. a little bit naughty from the hotel

    We loved this hotel - it is perfectly situated, has a fab pool and comfy rooms. The breakfast was delicious and varied with good Vietnamese coffee The reception and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful. If we ever go back to Hui An we would stay here again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Villa with Garden or River View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was misrepresented. It was described as a villa but was not; it was a room on 3rd floor of three storey building NOT a villa! Shower over middle of bath was too low and we had to bend down to use. Windowsill above shower and top of wardrobes filthy. Sun loungers old and shabby. Some of the service from female staff in bar area was poor.

    Food was lovely and good value for money. Most staff serving food/drinks lovely. Staff on reception very helpful. Good location only a short walk over small bridge into old town area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather in Hoi An was and has been odd lately. It seems that a typhoon in December flooded the town and the Riverside Resort. If so they have recovered well. However, the weather turned cold and damp during our stay. The bungalow was quite damp, and we were cold at night, asked for another blanket on our second night, which arrived promptly! The bungalow was also a little small and cramped for us (compared with all our other stays) but had some character. Early morning noise (from across the river?).

    The resort has the best location in town, across the river from the old town, by the bridge. The staff were very helpful and excellent. Breakfast is quite decent. Older than many hotels in Hoi An, it is nevertheless pretty well maintained. We did like it here, and it has great character.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our heater didnt work, our hot water was off and since our in house phone didn’t work I couldnt call the front desk for help. The shower was situated so that water got all over the floor. In short, I would never recommend this place to anyone.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    coffee is so strong at breakfast. No milk sugar provided in the room.

    the advantage was the short walk over the bridge to the town. good breakfast. reception very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we had in main building was very noisy till 4am with loud music from nearby club. We had to pay to be moved to the villas which was older but quiet. !

    Great location, easy walk across bridge to be right in town! Pool very nice!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms 302 & 303 were very musky. Very hard to breathe in those rooms. Thankfully the hotel gave us other rooms once we raised the issue to their attention. These are rooms with windows. Will need to consider carefully if one chooses to book a room with no windows! Breakfast food was not replenished and no food cover was used despite flies hovering around certain food. Plenty of dining staff but mostly standing & having idle chats. Used tables or plates were not cleared promptly.

    Swimming pool; house keeping & reception staff were friendly & quick to respond to any issues raised. Very central only 5 mins walk from Ancient Town

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (Without Window)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast ends too early at 10am and I missed it the one day but they were kind enough to give me a cup of coffee.

    I is perfectly situated. Just a short walk over the bridge and you at the ancients city with all the attractions. Right opposite u can hire a scooter or a bicycle. The breakfast is awesome. And the staff is great, sooo friendly and helpful all the time. The room was just gorgeous and soo comfortable. I decided to extend my stay because of it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite being a genius member. No drink on arrival as promised (we saw other people get them), we were put in a standard room with no window despite booking a Superior room. They changed our rooms with a window but this time it was a door and when opened the view was of another house (not the countryside views as promised).

    Very close to everything. Best location! And the bed was very comfortable!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is quite a bit of trash surrounding the hotel area. The Villas block the view of the river from the family suites. Breakfast would have been better if more cereal choices and other options were provided. We ordered off the restaurant menu one time and the meat was tough and the rice old and crunchy so we could not eat it.

    The hotel was located a short walk from old town. It was peaceful and quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our original booking was for a deluxe double with balcony and river view. In reality, the room is in the main hotel block and overlooks restaurant building/roof, so very little view of the river, which was disappointing. We therefore paid to upgrade to a riverside view villa. The Villa rooms feel a little damp and dark and do need updating as the decor and furnishings are a bit ‘tired’ and worn. The bedroom floor was very dirty/gritty so unpleasant to walk on barefoot. When showering, the whole bathroom floor got wet as the (dirty) shower curtain was too short There was no curtain above the door, so daylight flooded the room from the window above it. (We used our towels to block it out) No mini bar price list

    We upgraded to a Villa with riverside view and the view was fantastic. The room had character, with wooden shutters and a good sized balcony, which was a lovely way to relax and enjoy the view. The staff were friendly and helpful A lot of effort and planning was put into the Christmas Eve Gala buffet, which we really appreciated. (The food on that evening was excellent) The location of the property is excellent. Easy walking distance from the Ancient Town (5 mins over the bridge)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that my kids were disappointed that the pool is being repaired after a recent typhoon, but was completely not their fault and they were repairing as we were there and they also offered a free return beach shuttle anytime we wanted

    Friendly staff, good breakfast and excellent location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything Was amazing

    Everything, the room are Amazing, bathroom and bathtub were nice, clean and there Was anything we may need. The bed Was huge and supercomf as pillows, they also provide cutes kimonos as comfy clothes to stay in the room. There is a beautiful garden with views to the river where you can have breakfast That is also great, in front of the hotel you can rent bikes or motorbikes for a really Good Price, the guy Who runs it is also very nice. People Who work there are always willing to help and go beyond your expectations, they allowed us to have a shower after checkout. I had an incident going to the airport with a taxi (I lost my passport in it) and they did Everything to help me out even if I Was already checked out, one Man took me in historia motorbike to the Police and to the store where I booked the taxi, after he brought me to the hotel and they kept calling the office and investigating untill they found it, and they also went for it and brought it to my room. I dont have enough words to thank them. It is Amazing to have them supporting and helping so much. I Would recommend this place in any aspect, installations are amazing, rooms and most, People.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath very small and shower head needs to be hand held.We striked it bad as floods caused damage to the property. The latter was not clearly communicated at time of booking.

    Two large rooms connected with door inbetween. Close to Hoi An market and shops (about 500 meter).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We decided to stay an extra night and they tried to charge us more than when we booked for same room. They moved us to to the villa which was an upgrade but i prefered the deluxe room in the main building area.

    Close to old town. Breakfast was good, lots to choose from. Once the pool is back in action (from the floods) it would be a lovely spot to spend some time by.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't informed that the pool and ground floor rooms would be under renovation due to floods - disappointing when you have a small child looking forward to swimming. A courtesy email would have been appreciated as we may have changed our accommodation to something more suitable.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a lot of ants in our room, so our room smelt like ant spray most of the time.

    We were flooded in by Typhoon Damrey whilst at the property, but the staff were very helpful during this time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception and the bungalow were very dated and in need of a thorough refurbishment. No information in room about any facilities/Hoi An other than single sheet of paper advising what you would be charged if any damage. AC unit poured water over TV underneath and eventually we had to move room. 2nd bungalow basin leaked water on floor if taps used. The safe did not work, the wardrobe could not be accessed as the bed was too close to it. There were only 2 glasses in room so we could not pour drinks from mini bar. Breakfast was cold and very mediocre. In rainy season it is very likely the bungalow area will flood.

    Location was fine with good view of river and close to Hoi An centre/market. Once we had advised the staff of all the issues they were responsive and acted reasonably swiftly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (Without Window)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had no window. The whole structure looks a little old, but it might be fair enough for the price I paid.

    The location is just perfect, the young ladies at the reception were helpful and kind, I loved the bathtub. You just have to cross the bridge from the old city and you are there

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airportshuttle was a rip off, two times as expensive as price of other taxi's. Powersockets did not work. Outside door did not close completely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They could do a little bit more in the decoration. The reception area is quite old. And I hate the smell of the lift.

    The room is quite clean and I like the pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hard work checking in and getting the rooms that we were expecting. the new building is where they try to put you even though the room we had booked showed the photos on booking.com as the bungalow in the old section. we have stayed a few times before and there for booked the same room type.

    The river view from the balcony of the bungalow was fantastic, we enjoyed a dip in the pool which was nice and clean. Easy walking distance to the local shops & market. walk along the front and cross over the bridge to another part of hoi an for the night maket.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had to pay the rooms in advance otherwise they would have kept our passports until the checkout.

    The hotel is a great location next to the riverside. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff was nice and friendly. There is a big selection of food for breakfast and the swimming was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom (there is a shower curtain but water flooding to the floor).

    Excellent location (it takes only ten minutes walk to Hoi An Old town). Good breakfast. Good pool (but, water temperature littlle bit warm).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool area a little bit dated and could do with some maintenanace few chipped tiles. Staff lovely in the main but service by the pool a bit haphazard.!! Pool a bit small so warm by evening time but sure it was nearly 40 degrees. Theres a lovely walk by river bank outside the resort. I know its not the property of the resort but its spoiled by littering. Really need to get that cleaned up as ruining the beauty of the riverside area. Seems to be a common problem throughout the country though with waste piece of ground used for dumping rubbish

    The resort organised our pick up at 9pm in Da Nang airport and transfer was perfect and reasonable. Were delighted with it too as always feel its a bit uneasy arriving at night with family (and taxis will always tell you they know where a place is even when they havent a clue!) but when booked with hotel peace of mind and no big price difference either. This was organised last minute with hotel and they were really good to facilitate and quick to respond so I really appreciated it. Arrived at start of the full moon lantern festival so Hoian town was seriously busy. Loved the riverside location, design and spacious rooms. Lots of thought gone into the layout of this resort traditional teak khmer style buildings on the quiet side of the river. We stayed in the garden bungalows which were beautiful and had large spacious interconnecting rooms and little private garden overlooking the river. Real classic colonnial style..massive bed (bit hard but thats a personal thing!!) massive furniture,,.the silk robes a lovely touch. Looking out at waterbuffalo graze by the river banks. Little lily pond outside the bungalows and well maintained gardens and even large herb garden used by the kitchens. One night a large bull frog was making a lot of noise outside bungalow and 2 of the night porters spent 20 minutes locating him and removing our noisy neighbour lol. Kids were out with them and they thought it was hilarious. He was loud as a dog barking! Location is lovely as can pop across to the old town a few times in the day and come back for a swim when you get too hot and bothered. Was invaluable having a pool in the heat of July 35 degrees. We explored some places on same side of river too and husband and son got their hair cut, and we had lunch in a local place behind a garage at the first big bend in the road. Was lovely and cheap as anything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything apart from the location. Old, tired buildings, rotting wood frames, unsealed window frames letting mosquitos and cockroaches in, the murkiest swimming pool I have ever seen (less than half a metre visibility under water) and the worst breakfast buffet in Hoi An (saved only by the presence of bun cha ca, a local noodle speciality - but the less adventurous in need of Western comfort food in the morning will be disappointed). Time to demolish and start again!

    Fair location, just across the main bridge from the commercial centre of Hoi An. That's about it, really.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    toaster was antique took for ever to toast just one side. never any towels at the pool. breakfast room full of flies. hotel should up signs for other guests to keep noise first thing in the morning to a minimum

    pool location on riverside. rooms overlooking river.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The events in the resort on the weekends. Loud, loud, loud. Bad, loud announcements and karaoke during the events and very loud and messy breakfasts by the guests the morning after.

    Breakfast on the patio watching the boats on the river - the staff got used to my order for hard boiled eggs too! My large, clean room with balcony and aircon that worked well. A great dinner on the last night cooked by the chef Mr Thanh. Conversations with Houng (? spelling) that taught me about Vietnamese culture. The pool area, and the bar opposite the hotel with good draught beer and a pool table. Cycle hire and laundry at the shop across the road. A great massage and pedicure just around the corner. The easy walk to the old town and all the sights, sounds and smells of old Hoi An.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At booking page said that they have 1 bedrooms with 3 beds but just have 2, but there were big enough. Booking information said that they accept American Express but they have problems with the machine, we have another card so no problem. Our stay was perfect

    The Resort is just so close to the market and restaurants, you just need to cross a little bridge. The pool it's nice and the breakfast buffet it's very complete with fruit, bread, jam, Vietnam food, milk and you can have different kind of eggs The staff is very friendly, the reception staff very helpful and kind

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow with River View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Wifi reception was poor, given distance to main hotel. Breakfast, apart from eggs and fruit, might not suit some Europeans.

    We stayed in two Bungalows on the Riverfront, near the pool and restaurant. Great location, walking distance into Town, restaurants and markets.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing not to like. If you want to stay at the beach then you need to shuttle it into Hoi An each time so this location is river front and has a pool but no beach yet so close to the old town.

    Huge Rooms, 5 minute walk to the old city. View of the pool and the river from our family room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    The location was perfect..just across the bridge from all the action. Had a really safe, laid back feel to the place and a nice pool for the kids. The food at the restaurant was great and they did a fantastic breakfast. Staff helped out whenever we asked and nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of the food was ok, but perhaps could have been better.

    Very friendly staff, great location, excellent pool area and clean and spacious rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit hard compared to western mattresses, an issue for me with dodgey hips. The same you find in most Vietnamese hotels. Service during the day a bit sparse, especially if you wanted a cocktail by the pool. Seems beer is easy but mixed drinks not available.

    Great great location. Small walk across the bridge into the ancient town, market and food. Another stroll along the path by the river in front of the hotel, under the bridge and approx a kilometre and you find a string of small local cafes, right on the river looking across to the ancient town. Great food and a hidden gem. Hotel's facilities are good, great breakfast selection and relaxing pool. We will stay again. As I have said great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with River View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much not to like here...You just need to get used to a few fishing boats putting along the river and the daily Hoi an loud speaker broadcast at 5am!

    Fantastic location just over the bridge from the old town right on the river and set in relaxed older style tropical gardens. Choice of new modern rooms in new building or original rooms next to pool. We stayed in one of the 6 private bungalows overlooking the river. This was our second stay at Pho Hoi and we weren't disappointed...it's such a quiet and lay back hotel at such a reasonable price...the staff are so lovely and friendly. If you're used to 6 star accomodation, this hotel is not for you, but if you like staying in a unique, value for money, great location hotel then you will love staying here. Thank you Pho Hoi for another wonderful relaxing stay....we love staying with you and we'll be back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The restaurant food was average and the breakfast buffet was just average no cereal and the juices were cordial not real fruit juices. The hotel was not very close to good restaurants

    The staff were very helpful. We had a room with a balcony in the new building, The room was very nice and good size.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast needs fresh baguettes

    Charming older buildings, quiet location overlooking the river yet close to the old town. Staff were friendly. Since we had stayed before, Thu organised a room change for us from the newer hotel to the older villas overlooking the river. We would always stay here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service and meals at the restaurant was poor. Swimming pool very difficult to access if you have any mobility issues.Currency exchange rate well below other rates.

    The view from the balcony was a people watchers paradise.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place needs a refurb badly. Having people throw rubbish & spitting on the floor at breakfast is not acceptable this can be managed by proper management eben allowing for cultural differences, how hard is it to get a operating toaster.

    Not much

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in one of the rooms with balcony overlooking the river. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. However, we were quite disappointed with the bathroom as the shower did not have a proper enclosure and the courtain was about 5 inches from the floor, which meant that our bathroom completely flooded every time we were using the shower. Just a shame that the resort, which has the perfect location and and surroundings, has not been modernised its accommodation and facilities to make it a truely exceptional experience for visitors.

    Friendly and helpful staff, great location - walking distance from the centre of Hoi An, but away from the busy atmosphere. Lovely swimming pool and gardens, ideal to relax in the afternoon before heading back out again for dinner.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (Without Window)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That booking dot com gave me one price then 1 month later cthe hotel put up price a nd I had to pay the dearer on after we had already booked the first one

    Staff were accommodating

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our departure day spoiled the whole stay. We had used two cans of Coke out of the fridge and had purchased two more locally to replace them. The Hotel however charged it for the two cans because we had used THEIR coke and the reason they knew was they marked the cans they put into the fridge. Staff on our departure day were unfriendly and unsmiling, yet the day before they were all happy and helpful. It appeared to be, "Oh well you are leaving today, we dont need to be nice anymore". We wont go back there,which is unfortunate because we had stayed there before without any problems.

    The pool is beautiful. Location of the Hotel so close to the old quarter is a big plus. Meals from the restaurant were ok but not great. Staff on arrival and during our stay were very helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only points taken off would be for our bathroom while it was clean, every time we showered the room flooded it needs to be resealed around the bottom of the bath and breakfast while there was a large selection it's laid out buffet style open air which meant there were small bugs on everything so we didn't eat much.

    Stayed three nights in a riverfront bungalow 601 the room was clean and neat, overlooking the river and the small farmland with cows. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The resort was in a great location just an easy walk over the bridge into town. The pool was lovely to relax and cool down in the heat.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towels in pool area or service for food/drinks. Elevator stunk like someone died in there, service was really poor. School next door so screaming kids & music playing really early in the morning. Air con was pathetic! Upon check out tried to charge us for free water but failed to give us second day of complimentary water. Breakfast was in another building separate to hotel & was all gone by 9am. Shower made a mess & floods the entire bathroom.

    Pool area was nice. Location was convenient.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors are double doors and are noisy to shut.

    The location and the breakfast. The view of the river and the pool. The staff was very friendly and I had a good facial and massage on the premises as well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be improved on. The Vietnamese noodle was good though.

    Great location ! We walked to the local market and Hoi An Ancient Town every late afternoon from the hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception are far too pushy, trying to take us to the tailor before taking us to the room.Sell, Sell, Sell. The room lacks comfort, very hard bed, wooden uncomfortable chairs with no cushions, no towel rails,No chair at the desk, no plug either. etc.

    The view of the river Breakfast quite reasonable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were pushy on sales. I had a motorbike and wouldn't even give directons on how to get to places as I wasn't buying their tour.. The manager wanted to charge 30% for late check out of 1 hour!! Breakfast is horrendous.

    The location is great - room if in the deluxe is good for what you pay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like our superior room in the main building so much. From there, the access to the pool isn't any nice. You would have to walk over the street in your swimsuit, or get changed there by the pool. That was very sad, because I really wanted to have a swim in the pool, but for our short stay it was not suitable. Also, at night the room was very noisy as you can hear all the talking by the reception. The receptionist was talking on the phone (probably privately) until late night. The check in tool very long as they got confused with our changed dates.

    The location of the hotel is really nice. I didn't know Hoi An before and picked the location just by guessing. Couldn't have been better. The breakfast was also quite nice. Not so many things left to eat and the staff was a bit too busy to clean up, but the staff was really nice and friendly. That was excellent. Overall the hotel was very nice, but some parts of the room I didn't like. See below,

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (Without Window)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff and food was terrible. After the second day will eat out.

    Reception Staffvery friendly and helpful. Excellent location and great wifi

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (Without Window)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in the hotel block and many rooms do not have a window. Ours had a door to the outside but as the weather was bad we had this shut so it all felt rather claustrophobic. The staff were rather overeager to help i.e. rather over familiar and over present especially when you are tired!

    The hotel has too parts, the resort part with larger units overlooking the pool and river, and the hotel block the breakfasts were good and the location is good, just over the bridge from the old town so a little more peaceful yet easy access

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was broken into while I was sleeping and the staff could not have cared less. I felt very unsafe, particularly as the door had not been damaged, suggesting the intruders (there were 2 as I could hear them talking) had a key. The staff refused to believe me, saying that nothing like this had ever happened before so why would it happen to me? On another front, the breakfasts are very average, with stale baked goods, fruit sitting out and attracting flies, and even the Vietnamese soups weren't as good as they usually are. It was a disappointing start to the morning.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Garden or River View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi basically didn't work. To be fair the day before we left the IT guy plugged a wireless router in to no avail and he said it was the internet server. However, if you advertise it then have it. Staff weren't great at check in; despite arriving a day late because we got the overnight train, they said our room wasn't ready. After a bit of pushing it magically became free. We went to the bar one afternoon after being in town and after waiting ten minutes or so for our drinks the waitress came back and informed us that the regular bartender was off, had the only key for the drinks cabinet, and therefore we could only have a can of beer - which we had in our room anyway.

    Good location for what we wanted; out of the main town but only a short walk over the river to it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food at the restaurant is quite bad. Do not try the tomato soup - it's like pasta sauce from a tin - but they were decent enough to not charge me for it when they noticed that I didn't go past a spoonful. Quite forceful trying to sell the NYE gala dinner during check-in. And pretending to give us a better room when that was what we had booked and paid for!

    Very convenient access to the old quarter without the noise. Small resort by the river - good enough for the money spent. Nice balcony with views of the river. Good umbrellas for some of he rain we had. Didn't have a chance to try their spa - but would have liked to. Convenient parking for motorcycles.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could use some improvement.

    Unbeatable location, walking distance to the old town and far away enough to be quiet. Also the staff was really nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bridge between the town and the resort is needed to be careful especially for the kids. It is not so safe to pass through.

    Very kind staff, wonderful breakfast and good organizations for the local trip, pick up services, etc. It is highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel has a good location for walking to Hoian ancient town. You can sit at balcony and enjoy nice river view. Fresh air and peaceful make me want to be there again.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Pho Hoi Riverside Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: