Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5 stars

15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam

#35 of 555 hotels in Hanoi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 770 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Wing - Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our 4D3N stay at Sofitel was truly an awesome experience & the service level of every staff we came into contact was magnificent. We feel very welcome and at home.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Historical Wing - Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could have been more stable and the glass enclosure was a little claustrophobic.

    The historical wing was charming and had a lot of character. Decent sized room, quiet as I requested, but no view. Bed was so comfortable it was difficult to get up in the morning. The ceiling fan with its tassel made me feel I was in a different century, room tastefully furnished.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Historical Wing - Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to find any fault. Can't wait to stay again.

    Everything. The ambience is superb. we stayed in the "Historic" section and could not fault it. I know the new section is cheaper and certainly looked elegant when we walked through but its not as "inviting". Breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Opera Wing - Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms in the Opera Wing were more modern than the original rooms. Food in the restaurants was reasonable, but not great value for money. Wines very expensive. The lighting in the Beaulieu restaurant was very bright, and gave the place a stark and cold feel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Historical Wing - Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From arrival in the historic wing impression is understated luxury. The service was great everywhere, ambience wonderful, especially liked Le Club. Interesting free tour of the bunker under the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Opera Wing - Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel has a unique blend of being in a great historical building, in a great area, with excellent facilities and staff. It is an excellent combination.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Opera Wing - Grand Premium Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing!! Absolutely gorgeous. We booked an Opera Wing Room with Lounge Excess The Executive lounge is perfect for afternoon tea and evening cocktails. Go downstairs and enjoy the incredible breakfast options. The French Quarter is great for family and sight seeing. The staff is top notch. Highest recommendation!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Wing - Grand Premium Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The smoking in the Angelina Bar, we live in a country where there's no smoking indoors. It was unpleasant to leave with clothes smelling of smoke

    Amazing service, nothing was too much to ask. The staff is always friendly and professional. Loved the options of restaurants and bars in the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Wing - Grand Premium Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was amazing & so was the room & food...complimentary drinks in evening along with breakfast & evening snacks all provided for in Executive Lounge...well worth money paid for the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Wing - Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property was hard to navigate - didn't know which restaurant was which, confused about breakfast times. Staff could perhaps be clearer about this during check-in. Bed was uncomfortable for my partner, dips in the middle. Also - the room we were first assigned to was quite noisy.

    Amazing service - from accommodating a room change request, staff offering lemongrass tea when my partner sneezed, helping us with getting (more than) enough food for the breakfast spread even though we were late. Great service at Le Beaulieu as well. Lovely touches in the room - love the Lanvin toiletries and madeleine for turn-down service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Opera Wing - Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a small boutique style charming hotel but - unlike what the pictures show - a very large Hilton/Marriott style -in terms of capacity - hotel. When we were there, there were very large groups of loud tourists belonging to package tours. Ask imperatively for a room in the old wing and NOT in the charmless modern (or Opera) wing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Wing - Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality of the products/food and attention to preparation was great. One of the top hotels I have visited and that includes many of the great hotels around the world.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    This was our 3rd visit to Sofitel Metropole in Hanoi. We stayed in the modern Opera wing and had a quiet room on 6th floor. The beds are super comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Wing - Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool could have been a little warmer.

    The bed was extremely comfortable and I would like to know where I can buy the mattress topper that was on the bed. The staff looked after us beyond our expectations making our stay so special.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historical Wing - Grand Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Above mentioned plumbing disaster!

    Everything about this hotel was amazing. The way they beautifully maintained the historical aspects of the hotel added an extra bit of interest. The rooms, the staff, the service, the food in the restaurants (that breakfast especially) all could not be faulted. Even when there was a plumbing disaster meaning a change of room they could not have been more apologetic and helpful and even threw in free breakfast for the entire stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Opera Wing - Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is made for old tourist groups from america or other countries. all these 70 + get exactly what they want: tourist food staff thats only nice to get a tip,as soon as they do not get it,they change immediatly. this is a complete tourist trap!

    Location and grand building

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Historical Wing - Grand Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    the bed was extremely comfortable, much needed after a 24 hour flight from LA to Hanoi. I would highly recommend this hotel, the staff, service, food, ambience was amazing!! one of the best hotels

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historical Wing - Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not want to leave.

    The location of the hotel is excellent. The service was professional and friendly. The food at their different restaurants was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Wing - Grand Premium Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave,!

    Room 743 in the Opera Wing is simply fabulous. It entitles you to club privileges (snacks, breakfast and a butler). It is without doubt the best hotel room we have ever occupied in the many countries to which we have travelled. The Metropole hotel is terrific in all respects in both the old historic wing and the new Opera wing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historical Wing - Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about the Metropole.

    A very comfortable room in the Old Historic Section of this famous hotel. We particularly enjoyed the tour of the hotel by Mr Duc explaining the history of the hotel. The garden restaurant was lovely and it was great to watch the brides being photographed, from the Terrace bar in the late afternoon. They also arranged collection and drop off at the airports in verycomfortable cars.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Historical Wing - Grand Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were a bit too dark, not much light we can turn on inside. I didn't like how the bar outside was mostly smoking allowed and played no music at all.

    Hotel room was spacious and service was great. The location was also perfect and the historic nature of the hotel was very special.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Opera Wing - Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no relax room after the sauna

    immediate perfect feeling, structure of the hotel, room quality, wonderful bar with super cocktails ("charly chaplin" became my favorite),impeccable personnel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Wing - Grand Premium Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was not consistent. My wife had to wait a long time for her lunch in Le Club whilst my dish had already been served. At check in we were told check out could be around 2pm, maybe even 5pm but actually we were asked to check out at noon.

    Check in was very friendly and efficient

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Wing - Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!

    The service was excellent, professional and personal. We loved the attention to detail, the superb bamboo bar, the ambiance of the hotel. The staff was very accommodating and provided us with an early check in, due to a special condition we had. The food in the hotel restaurants was excellent, and the recommendations and arrangements through the concierge desk were great. Definitely the place to stay in Hanoi!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Opera Wing - Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small and first room was showed to was right at the end of the corridor. The rooms were cold and dark, and no effort had been made to switch lights on and make cosy for my arrival which was late at night

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Opera Wing - Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Generally overprized. Rooms rather small. No Specials, staff friendly but rather cold.

    Breakfast amazing. Could not be any better. Nice historical building, very good location. Staff very friendly. Check in and out very professional.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Wing - Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel felt a little impersonal. As a guest at an iconic and relatively expensive hotel (i.e. you're hoping for something special), we were left feeling disappointed, on occasion, with some more senior staff who made us feel a little uncomfortable.

    The hotel is full of history and well maintained - it's an beautiful looking hotel. Staff were, for the most part, lovely. Great location - a walking distance to everything of note in the old quarter, yet slightly away from the hustle and bustle. Wonderful jazz bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Wing - Grand Premium Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No apple TV in the room - last evening we had room service and wanted to watch a movie

    The amazing history of this hotel and the modernity perfectly mixed together

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historical Wing - Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy hotel room! Staff couldn't tell me exactly where it was coming from! Finally they proposed to change the room but it was worth - one window without any view! Previously at the check in I payed extra to be upgraded for the better room and view! Our stay was terrible

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Wing - Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Spice Garden restaurant was not only not authentic but quality is very bad. For a hotel such as this it’s important you should do something about having an excellent Vietnamese restaurant. It’s very disappointing

    Excellent location, good historic ambience

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Opera Wing - Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you use the shower in the bath tub the floor gets all wet despite there being a door. Breakfast....wish you could change it a little daily.

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Wing - Grand Premium Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather

    The Metropole hotel Hanoi is a true 5***** hotel and Dao Dinh at the club lounge looked after us very well from our arrival with champagne and during our 3 night stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Opera Wing - Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    love the history behind the hotel . the staff is very professional . we had a complaint barbecue our room faced a construction area and was very very noisy. the hotel night manager took very well care of us and moved us in the middle of the night and upgraded us ! NICE . the next day it seems like the whole hotel new about it and they were really genuine and concerned about our well being .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Wing - Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 3 nights and asked to stay in the new wing first and after our trip to Halong a stay in the old part. We got upgraded to a slightly bigger room in the old part for the first days so I can not compare the two wings. I can only say both rooms we were given in the old part smelled a little musty. Also the mattress of the double bed during the second stay was not comfy. I was a little disappointed and think prices are quite high so one expects better quality.

    I like the special feeling you get in this beautiful colonial hotel. It is unique, well located and staff is very friendly. I would especialy like to thank Sophie! Transfer arranged by the hotel was swift. Drinks in the bar were very good and so was the food in the Vietnamese restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historical Wing - Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was the price but a great hotel! Wish I could have stayed longer.

    Stylish hotel Great bar - bamboo bar Great cocktails Great breakfast Really helpful staff especially the lady in the restaurant who arranged some coffee and pastries for my husband in the room. Arranged a reputable taxi to airport at good price. Lovely room in historic wing. Fantastic shower. Room well equipped.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Opera Wing - Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    High tea was slightly disappointing.

    Beautiful Heritage hotel, nicely decorated room Very helpful staff & Excellent service Vietnamese restaurant is delicious

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historical Wing - Grand Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked it all,

    A world-class hotel proud of its heritage and tastefully restored. Historical exhibits within the hotel recall the presence of Graham Greene, Noel Coward, Bill Clinton and all the rest who have stayed. Reminds me of what Raffles was like before it was "renovated". Food was of a standard equivalent to a grade 2 restaurant in major world capitals but much cheaper. The Metropole would not be worth a Michelin Star but it would surprise and delight most people. Many of the rooms are original dating from 1903 - ask for the old wing. I loved this hotel and I am a jaded global traveller. I would rather stay here than the Langham in London - rooms and service is better, food is as good and it is way cheaper. In an outstanding location. There is nowhere else to stay like it in Hanoi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Opera Wing - Grand Premium Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very beautiful, clean and comfortable, classy hotel , good service and centrally located with everything you need except the swimming pool which is too small.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Opera Wing - Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds are narrow. For a double room, the beds are twin size. Rooms are also on the smaller size.

    The serenity of the property especially the gardens and the pool area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roll out bed provided for our daughter was a proper bed and very comfortable which was great. The pool was lovely and the staff very attentive. The welcome champagne was a nice treat after a long journey.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Opera Wing - Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff is always friendly, helpful and professional. They make every visit a pleasure. Beds and bedding are very comfortable. The Sunday Buffet is one of the best in the world and always a highlight of our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historical Wing - Grand Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's in the detail. After four days of low quality shampoo and lotions, tasteless food and appalling wine options, my 25 year patronage of the hotel is appalled. Ticked boxes don't make a hotel five star. Complacent staff training and tired management. Staff using the public toilet and not washing their hands is just one example. Children shouting 'Marco Polo' for hours every day in one of Hanoi's only outdoor pools with no respite was another. There are better options if you don't want the pool.

    Loved the original rooms, super comfy bed, the location and the towels. Loved a bowl of Pho Ga in Le Club Bar. A good outdoor pool area and location, location, location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Wing - Grand Premium Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Snacks served at the club level could have a little more finger food, such as spring rolls, chicken wings, nuggets...

    Love the floor tiles, the comfort of the bed, the layout of the room, all the corners of the hotel...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Opera Wing - Grand Premium Twin Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed is quite small. I ordered room service but the food quality is much worse than 2 years before.

    Excellent breakfast both for food quality and staff service. Good location and staff are very attentive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Wing - Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic rooms in the new building were not amazing, but fine. Upgraded rooms are better.

    Beds were very comfy. Food was good, but overpriced for Viet Nam. Staff exceptional. Good Bar scene and good drinks. Hotel has a cool historic value. I enjoyed our stay very much.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Opera Wing - Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spontaneously updated me to a room in the old wing. Went out of their way to accommodate me on my last day with a late night flight. Not only did they give me a late, 2PM checkout, but they let me hang around the pool and use the wifi all afternoon and gave me a 1-hour free courtesy room to take a shower and change before I left for the airport. Also, the visit of the recently re-discovered bomb shelter beneath the hotel was an emotional plus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Opera Wing - Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool area felt quite crowded during our stay and not preferable if you want to relax and have some quiet respite from bustling Hanoi. An alternative if you want fresh air can be the rooftop garden.

    The location is central but still gives a quiet feel and not at all hectic. But when you do want hectic, it's only a short walk away! The buildings are beautiful both outside and inside. The staff are so charming with their "bonjour" and "bon appetit". They were very ready to assist to get us to our room, at turn down service, to get us seated at breakfast, etc. The pool area was a bit crowded during our stay but the rooftop garden was a nice place to sit in the quiet. Our room in the newer Opera wing is the basic one and quite small, but serviceable. The bed is ultra comfortable and the duvet feels like a cloud. The front desk said they offer a tour of the property but unfortunately we did not have the time to avail.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we had the double room, and the bathroom separated by curtains... if used sliding doors, will give more privacy...

    we have two older children, and we have two rooms to be connecting if possible. When we arrrive, the rooms were connecting, and all setup such that we have easy access to each other. The location of hotel is very central, with easy walking distance to key tourist spots.Overall staff were very helpful, go the way out to assist. Great service. Food generally good quality and taste. Like the decor of the hotel very much - both old and new wing has its own flavour, and ambience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Opera Wing - Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved the Sofitel Metropole. Staff were excellent. The hotel is beautifully appointed, calm and welcoming. The Bamboo Bar at the end of a hot day in Hanoi was bliss.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Opera Wing - Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Before moving to the Metropole (for a family wedding) I had a room in a boutique hotel about 2 blocks from the Metropole overlooking the lake. My room there was absolutely superb, with a view of the lake through the tree canopy, and a lovely balcony. My bathroom was sumptuous! By comparison I was very disappointed with my room in the 'new wing' at Sofitel Metropole. Not very spacious, ordinary bathroom with hideous red tiles. It really needs a full refurbishment. View wasn't terrific either. Previous hotel was 1/3rd the price of the Metropole.

    This is an absolutely outstanding hotel. The public areas are beautiful, the pool and courtyard lovely, the ambience unbeatable and the staff really excellent and beautifully attired. Nothing was too much trouble they I changed my mind a few times re when I was arriving and checking out! 10 points for flexibility and willingness to please.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Wing - Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the Opera wing the shower is over the bath which won't suit everyone. In the old section we had a separate shower.

    This is a superb hotel of Legend status with over 100 years of history and service. Guest Relation staff are extremely helpful and always on hand for any information. We stayed in both the old section and the new Opera wing on two occasions and both are comfortable and perfectly maintained. We ate in the Vietnamese restaurant and found the food and service very good. The hotel is well located near Hoan Kiem lake. Rooms are charming with all amenities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Opera Wing - Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit too quiet; would have been nice to have a more lively bar, open later Food and drinks seem unnecessarily expensive

    A calm and relaxing respite from hanoi

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Opera Wing - Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a jacuzzi . But that's honestly just clutching st straws to find something to complain.

    Loved the staff. Loved the Vespa food tour did it first day ANF ever since understood the culture of every plate we ate for the following week amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historical Wing - Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No improvements necessary

    My favourite in the world! The staff are superb, the historical wing is very luxurious and has much charm. The bed and pillows are the best. Would visit Hanoi just to stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Opera Wing - Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The service was impeccable, the food options plentiful and delicious, and the location highly convenient for sightseeing the historic French Quarter. What really sets the hotel apart, however, is its incredible history, which the staff has done a magnificent job of preserving and displaying. Special recognition is also merited by the spa, which was spectacular.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Opera Wing - Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding Hotel. Top 3 on my list of favorite hotels. Supreme atmosphere, high skilled service, awesome food. Usually I do not write any reviews but this time I have made an exception because of how exceptional the place is. Definitely bestplace to stay in Hanoi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historical Wing - Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    The hotel is close to the lake and the old quarter where there is a huge choice of street food vendors and eating places. The Metropole breakfasts were generous and delicious with lots of fresh fruit and local dishes. The hotel location was great for walking to different areas of the city for sightseeing. The staff were friendly, polite and extremely efficient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Historical Wing - Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough beds at pool. Building work was using 1 of 3 sides. Use al a carte breakfast for smaller eaters.

    The Metropole was amazing. Fully of character and history. The facilities are definitely 5*. The staff were amazing potentially the best I have ever meet. They delivered our bags to the airport for a connection 2 days after we left. Perfect connection. Concierge is particularly fantastic. Pool area is amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historical Wing - Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not included in the price of the room.

    Excellent 5 star hotel. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The facilities were great - pool was a good temperature and decent size. We got macaroons in the evening which were very delightful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Wing - Grand Premium Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Exquisite hotel. It's all in the details. And the quality. Wonderful accommodation with super-comfy bed. Definitely recommend the King Prestige suite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Historical Wing - Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool area could've been a bit larger

    Service was exceptional. Always with a smile. Food was fresh and of high quality. We felt like frequent visitors the first time around. Historical wing had a lot of character.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historical Wing - Grand Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    The breakfast from the Club was great. The pool area is very nice. We had a very good room. We felt very welcomed and the staff is really committed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Opera Wing - Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    French restaurant was quite atmosphere and extremely over priced. Selection of food at Breakfast buffet in the Asian restaurant a bit disappointing.

    We loved the Metropole`s History and location, highly recommend the historical tour of the hotel, extremely informative guide and very enjoyable. The bamboo bar and pool area was gorgeous, beautiful setting surrounded by trees and the beautiful buildings of the the hotel. The Opera wing were a room was situated was built most recently and is in keeping with the original building.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Wing - Grand Premium Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Friendly staff who go out of their way to assist. An oasis of calm in the middle of busy Hanoi. Big rooms with access to the lounge - free high tea and cocktails & snacks every day. Wonderful breakfast and very good restaurants and bars on site. Relaxing pool area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Wing - Premium Double Room Patio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expected more for the price with the buffet breakfast, felt a little uncomfortable with the staff required to greet guests in French given Vietnams' colonial past

    Beautiful hotel, loved the buildings and garden, lovely helpful staff, all very elegant. The bomb shelter tour interesting, lots of nice little extras like canapés at bar and poolside drink and fruit,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historical Wing - Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Superb hotel. We will stay there again in a flash if we visit Hanoi again. Indeed, if they have other hotels around the world, I will look at them first for choices of where to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Historical Wing - Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on park that played loud music every night. Hotel offered me another room but I couldn't be bothered to move.

    Bamboo bar and pool were an oasis. Staff were wonderful. Food was amazing. Macaroons some of the best I ever had!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historical Wing - Grand Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room lacked a couple of comfortable armchairs.

    Staff are excellent. Room (in historic wing) beautifully cool and comfortable - even without using the air-conditioning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Wing - Grand Premium Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our view was a little disappointing, a tiny bit of backyard but then the neighbouring run down houses and rubbish. Solution was to not look out the window. It didn't ruin our experience was just odd for this level of property.

    We went for a little bit of luxury as it was my birthday and had an executive club room. The room itself was beautiful, so luxurious. The bed was out of this world comfortable, we didn't want to leave. The whole experience was amazing, I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Historical Wing - Grand Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about this hotel was amazing- clean, great location, excellent selection of food and drinks, friendly staff and the room was really comfortable. Have nothing bad to say about this hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Wing - Grand Premium Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Executive lounge was excellent and room on seventh floor in Opera Wing was very quiet. Breakfast was very good, both in the executive lounge and in the Beaulieu restaurant. The afternoon tea and pre-dinner cocktails were also great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Opera Wing - Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was expecting more from food. The ambience in the legendary La Terrace Cafe was very special but food was not the same standard. Bread and butter were generally good but rest was average.

    The rooms were small but comfortable. Bed was super good. They were helpful with the late check-out.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most exceptional staff - Hoa did everything she could to make us happy - to room changes and breakfast and the beds were the most comfortable in all of vietnam

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Wing - Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Wonderful hotel experience from start to finish! Lovely welcome to Hanoi with a very slick private transfer with delicious macaroons and mineral water to refresh us after our journey from Da Nang. We stayed in the traditional part of the hotel and upgraded which allowed breakfast, afternoon tea, and free flowing alcoholic drinks in the evening - definitely recommend this!! The restaurants and bars were excellent and staff very warm. Really liked the well preserved architecture of the hotel and tour of the hotel history. A calm and peaceful oasis in the midst of a somewhat chaotic Hanoi city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Wing - Prestige King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I could think of except the cost.

    It's one of the old ladies of Asia, Raffels being another. It's better than Raffels which has become a big commercial rip off. There is the old wing and the new Opera wing. We stayed in the Opera wing and the rooms were excellent, with no shortcomings. Also used the club level which was superb. Go and look at the history boards in the old wing. They run along the foyer and up a passage. This hotel has history. Another interesting thing to do is a tour of the bomb shelter under the swimming pool. Tours in the late afternoon. Ambiance was excellent. Restaurants and bars could not fault them. The hotel is right in the middle of the old French quarter of Hanoi, with many wonderful buildings all around. Just down the road is a lake with a temple and a Buddhist shrine on it. Walk round the lake well worth it. The only thing that does get hurt is your wallet. Well worth a stay if it fits your budget

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: