Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Somerset Grand Hanoi 5 stars

49 Hai Ba Trung Street, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam

#8 of 53 Holiday rentals in Hanoi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 606 apartment reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.4
    Hotel staff needs training !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Except for one staff which was Jenny, other staff at reception were most unhelpful. Language was a major issue when it comes to understanding and solving problems. The hotel does not have umbrellas to provide its customers except for one and we were a family staying in an apartment. Basics was not followed cause how would one umbrella suffice for 4 family members !!!!!!

    Jenny was an exception and went the extra mile to organise a umbrella.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Best to think twice until renovations are done.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only mini-market not requiring a long walk closes at 21:30, making acquiring bottled water difficult considering receptionist was quite hesitant to offer extra bottles. Interior noticeably old, best to think twice until renovation is done. Aisle leading to the rooms is hot and humid, with only one fan by the elevator, shut off at night.

    Free room upgrade. Extra spacious as expected. Close to the Prison Museum. Square footage a good value for the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed with the room, the incredible noise of renovations. Restaurant Really liked the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired hotel. Bathrooms very old. Beds not very comfortable. Not very good soundproofing. Very disappointed that for a whole day during our stay we could not be in the room as there was renovations going on in the room above us. Extremely noisy jack hammer removing tiles. It was so noisy that you could not hold a conversation! Really disappointed that the hotel did not think to put people in another room when these types of activities were planned. I would strongly recommend enquiring when you book the room if there are any renovations planned during your stay and get a room away from the noise.

    Location was awesome. Reception Staff were great. Restaurant staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    The bedroom not clean enough.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom not clean enough. The second bedroom has a terrible smell When booking, the hotel confirm 2br with 2 king beds each. But after check in, 1 king bed and 2 single beds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Room service is perfect
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The male receiptionist when I checked in at mid night is perfect, very responsive, supportive and warmly. The female (1 of 3 girls) when I checked out hattitude is horrible, not responsive and friendly enough for a 4 star services. I did not remember her name. She sit in the middle of receiption table. Other two ladies sit on right and left hand side of the table.

    Location, cleaness and receiption

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.7
    Overall, fair enough. But special mention to those guys at front desk and the lobby main door
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Unairconditioned Hallway -Old elevators -Skimpy Lobby -Few choices of eateries/restaurants -Old styled swimming pool

    -Front desk staff -Room Cleaners -Helpful guys at main lobby door

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice rooms but staff need retraining
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the reception desk were unprofessional, not friendly or helpful. Many of them would rather chat and text on phones than help customers. Barely broke a smile during check in and check out procedure. Breakfast was average.

    Large rooms, wonderful cleaning staff and good showers

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Room was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early check-in was cool. Nice staff but only the payment system was confusing but I think it is booking.com’s fault which didnt informed me about paying oneday’s fee in advance as a deposit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.7
    Having the apartment gave us a great space to relax in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is our third time staying there and it is disappointing when you check in and the check in although efficient is not over friendly and not very welcoming. The communal areas, the hallways etc need upgrading as soon as possible.

    Having the apartment gave us a great space to relax in especially with children and the location is great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Perfect location in Hanoi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous staff, perfect location and the newly refurbished apartments are beautiful. Convenient mini mart near lobby. A special thank you to Josephine, Chu and the driver for their hospitality and kindness. Also the restaurant for a first-rate meal on our last night. You must also eat at Koto, 59 Van Mieu, Uan Dong Da - across the road from the Temple of Literacy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    Decent Functional property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were a little snobbish and didn’t actually show us up to our rooms. We had to go by ourselves. A lot of repair works going on and most facilities are inaccessible or cannot be used optimally. Not a very good location as it’s far from the old quarter. Quite expensive compared to Hanoi standards.

    Apartment was very spacious and well equipped. Staff was prompt. Nice views from the higher floors. A lot of facilities. Hao Lo prison museum is right next door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfy family accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were too soft and the building was a bit tired for a 5 star rating.

    Size of the apartment was great for a family of 4. Having 2 bathrooms was a bonus. Location was great being close enough to the action but far enough away to not be bothered by the noise. Great breakfast buffet. Very friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathrooms need updating. The street noise in the morning is a bit loud, but not much can be done about that.

    The location was excellent. It was perfect for families with small children as there is a playground and pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited food options if you arrive late in the evening.

    Cleanliness, washing machine with powder available, shops and cafes in the downstairs mall was very handy. Room service was also available till 10pm. Staff were polite & helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Good location and good value for a stay in Hanoi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear the traffic noise even on the 17th floor

    Location and room. Comfortable and well equipped. We are a family of 4 and the 2 bedroom apartment was perfect. Very good selection of TV channels. Playground and swimming pool are very nice for kids even if the water was a bit cold in March

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    The main reason we booked this hotel was for the pool and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main reason we booked this hotel was for the pool and we did not get any notice it was going to be under construction or else I would have gave the ratings a lot higher. Great place with great staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice and confortable stay in the apartment for all the family, close to old quarter and the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 18 nights

    One out of three elevator and other facilities were under review always

    The apartment was big and very confortable, with new furniture and well equipped. At the 23rd floor the sights of Hanoi were very nice. It is located so close of the old quarter that you could have dinner every night in the local restaurants of the narrow streets of Hanoi, even you could go there walking with the children.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel, loud hospital next door
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a hospital right next door making announcements at 6am! This woke us up everyday and was not pleasant

    Loved the spacious rooms. Excellent room service too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.3
    We stayed at the executive with 3 rooms for my family, it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed one night at Sommerset Grand Hanoi, and checked out for the Ha Long Bay cruise tour. After the tour, we checked in again for more two nights. The first night room smelt cigarette strongly, we asked to change the room accordingly. However there was no room left for us, the staff put the oxygen concentrator for 2 hours. We definitely reserved for non-smoking room though.

    We stayed at the executive with 3 rooms for my family, it was my mom's 70th anniversary trip to Hanoi. It was comfortable overall and the breakfast was good. We enjoyed it. We got the quite good tour reservation for our family private Trang An tour at concierge desk and hotel staffs were all kind. Strongly recommend you for your family stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.9
    The appartment we had was a generous size with a decent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The appartment are obviously old and in need of a renovation. Although still neat and clean the carpets smell and need replacing.

    The appartment we had was a generous size with a decent kitchen and washing machine/dryer. All thing good for a family. The staff were very helpful and courteous, speaking and understanding English, which is always appreciated when in a foreign country.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    None.

    The fact that it was a loft. We are a group of 7 with 1 children and we're staying in one room. We were able to bond before sleeping because we are all in one room. Kudos to SOmerset!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    comfy stay at Somerset grand Hanoi, the check-in was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    comfy stay at Somerset grand Hanoi, the check-in was a breeze with staff telling us the facilities well. On the day of our check out, staff helped us to see to our taxi to the airport, ensuring we get there on time. Very approachable staff and they take initiative to help guests who are waiting at the lobby. Upon knowing we have a halal diet, the lobby staff guided us to a nearby restaurant serving halal food and also told us that we can call the in house restaurant to check with the chef to find out what on the menu is halal for breakfast. A great, value for money accommodation that I highly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    The stay here exceeded our expectation. We will definitely come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the lift was upgrading and we have wait quite awhile in the morning.

    The bed was soft but surprisingly we did not had backache the next day. In fact we slept well. We were also surprise to have received complimentary wine, chocolate and greeting card from the hotel as our wedding gift.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable apartment close to the centre of Hanoi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were very dated, especially the bathrooms. Needs a makeover!

    Spacious apartment. Close to Hoan Kiem Lake and the Old Quarter. Friendly, helpful staff. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.2
    Highly recommended, great location and facilities, stylish vibe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a little noisy, with broadcasts from nearby radio station starting at 6am. Pool was being renovated during our stay, though it would have been too cold to swim in December anyway.

    Facilities such as washing machine and kitchen great for an extended family stay. Gym well equipped. Generous space for a family of four.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.3
    Okay stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts! They are upgrading the lifts so might have slowed the speed but do buffer 10 mins to get up/down. There wasn't much smiles from all the staff, except the bear in the lobby. They are upgrading the rooms too so it shouldnt look so tired and worn out in future.

    Connected to supermarket and some restaurants

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    Would have loved to stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive by Vietnamese standards but very cheap for equivalent in West.

    Room with a view. Not far from the old quarter, easy to walk everywhere from there. Great amenities in room and facilities- 25 m pool, gym, tennis courts. Great help from desk, pay the $8 to include breakfast- wide choice and you will not need to eat again all day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.2
    Very spacious rooms. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a leak under the kitchen sink. This was temporarily resolved by turning off the water source to the washing machine, but this meant that the leak continued when the washing machine was in use. In addition, one of the elevators was out of order and looks like it is under major renovations. There is noticeable noise from the street and you can hear some car honking. Although I guess this is probably hard to avoid in Hanoi. It is a bit of a long walk to the old quarter.

    Very spacious 2 bedroom apartment with large living space and kitchen. The rooms are well appointed, clean and the beds are very comfortable. Having two bathrooms in the room was of great convenience as a family. You get a good view of the city and the location is great to access some of the museums in Hanoi and is close to a lot of restaurant and street food options. The hotel helped organise airport transfer which made getting to and from the hotel very easy. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.1
    Good option for 5 friends in Hanoi
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra bed overpriced, cost us more than the original per person cost for the room. Decor a bit tired, undergoing renovations (which were not troublesome)

    Decent location. Pool, tennis courts and gym were great options. Bug spacious apartment type room, comfortable beds, pretty well kitted out. Good value

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    2.5
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very poor quality, staff were rude and not very helpful. We arrived at the hotel at 9am and were told check in at 2pm, when we came back our room still wasn’t ready. Pictures don’t match the place.

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was lovely and well planned. All the appliances were there and the view was spectacular. Enjoyed our stay here for 2 nights. The staff was very cordial and helpful at all times.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    Great stay! Recommended for families and business travellers as the location is ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decors and some room facilities are quite outdated and should have gone through some renovations. Adapters for local electrical devices should be provided upon arrival, as we had some struggle with plugs with small prongs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Superb Apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All positive

    Fantastic find! We arrived late morning and our room was ready so we could check in straight away. The apartment was really spacious and well equipped. Fully fitted kitchen with a washing machine. Two bedrooms and two bathrooms. The bed was sooooo comfortable and the pillows like clouds. It was hard to get out of it in the mornings. The property is in a good location a little outside of the old quarter so a bit quieter. You can still walk to the old quarter in about 15-20 mins depending on route. Jaspa''s bar and restaurant is great. Breakfast has a good range as does the lunch buffet. We had room service one night and that was really good too and the food was hot! Shout out to JB in the bar. A little diamond who loves to chat to all the quests and learn from everyone. Huge outdoor pool and two hot tubs, a sauna and gym. We used it all and couldn't fault it. All in all we would highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    On Wed of the best hotels that we.have srated in in terms of friendly staff, location value for mone
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only small gripe and this is a personal one, is that the pillows were too soften ano we needed 3 to be comfortable

    The staffeta are amogsthe the best and friendliest that I have come across in many years of travelling.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    The apartment is new and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is few choices and the taste is rather ordinary.

    The apartment is new and comfortable. It's great that it has washing machine. That is definitely a plus!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    The hotel is very well positioned and the staff are excellent highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lifts were very slow but they are being upgraded. Small criticism is that the pillows were very soft and it needed 3 pillows to make a comfortable nights sleep.

    Facilities were excellent value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast is on promotion, drop from USD10 to USD6.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a shame that we were told to use shampoo and body milk to clean ourselves when we asked for shower gel. On the second day, we used up the shower gel and we called and asked for two more. The staff told us that we could use shampoo and body milk instead. At last, we had to go down to the supermarket and got ourselves shower gel.

    Breakfast is on promotion, drop from USD10 to USD6. This is definitely a new news to family as it is cumbersome to explore eateries at the morning. Room is spacious and bathroom is clean and tidy. There are two bathrooms in the Deluxe type of accommodation. It is convenient for family with more memberes. Swimming pool is good, with a good depth: up to 1.8 m, though swimming pool and surroundings are a bit worn down. Check in and out is quick. If you plan to cook a meal, the kitchen provides a range of utensils and necessary cooking tools. We had a very enjoyable cooking experience there. Room service is definitely a bargain. Averagely, we spent only 8USD but we are full and we have our meal without sweating a lot( Hanoi is a hot and stuffy place). If you opt for a more comfortable and quality eating environment ( and good food), you may consider the room service and menu has lots of choices. Please refer to the picture.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Centraly located hotel that allows you to visit the old part...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centraly located hotel that allows you to visit the old part of Hanoi by foot. Hotel is located just beside the old Prison of Hanoi (worth visiting!). Very good breakfast. We could use the showers of the welness area in the evening after the visit of Hanoi, even after having checked out in the morning. Would come back again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.9
    Great place for a family just starting a trip in Vietnam as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a bit of updating which they have started on - will be great when all rooms refreshed. Space good our apartment a bit tired.

    Great place for a family just starting a trip in Vietnam as has good space in the apartments. Excellent location - for exploring and helpful staff with recommendations of what to see - taxi booked from hotel always cheaper than when we did it ourselves! Super market in block and good pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.3
    Great location & area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was tired needed to be replaced Mosquito's in the room as netting damaged in bathroom. Only 6 sun loungers available So when full no where to relax or shaded areas.

    3 bed apartment spacious room Facilities good and close to old town of Hanoi

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Emotional Experience cried the last night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stunning view , kids loved their room. Perfect having two bathrooms. Kids did miss TV in their room but the lounge offered it. It was truly home away from home. Well situated enjoyed the supermarket , cost effective as well as coffee shop and restaurant within 2 minutes through connecting corrindors to hotel. Provided convenient exchange of dollars to VND at no cost. Bank right next door to. Small liquor store across the way. Could walk to lake at night. Hotel staff Chloe was superb advising us on what Taxi to take.We loved loved our stay, we didn't want to leave. Linh , our concierge gave excellent advice and tips. Doing the delux tour to Ha Long Bay a must. STUNNING PRICELESS FAMILY VACATION

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    Great size rooms, great staff/great service in all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom are very outdated Also for a deluxe room there was a small but very uncomfortable lounge. Just a two seater and very hard. The room was so large it could have easily accommodated a 3 seat L shape type lounge.

    Great size rooms, great staff/great service in all areas- from restaurant to the front desk. The mini mart in the same building was a real bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Staff were very accommodating, the room was huge, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very accommodating, the room was huge, and the Old Quarter is around a 15-minute walk away. I would definitely book here again once I return to Hanoi.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.8
    Great staff help. Big rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the reception staff so helpful and when i left i realized i forgot our passports im the safe and the manager freddie was so professional and helpful in helping to get them back to me in a diff city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    8.3
    Would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts were very slow... the pool area needed some greenery to smarten it up - too much concrete.

    The room was massive, and quite nicely decorated. Kitchen with microwave (useful for sterilising baby bottles!). Overall great value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    9.6
    Nice & clean, good for large families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finishes were a tad dated, but acceptable & clean

    Rooms were very clean, staff was friendly, room sizes for a large family were nice, was a good bonus to have a washing machine in the kitchen, location on edge of Old Quarter was perfect

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was a bit cold

    The staff were exceptional: polite, efficient, friendly and helpful. The apartment was spacious, clean and very well equipped. Would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    7.5
    Convenient location, spacious apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was quite noisy from the street and one of the bedrooms had a leak from the ceiling.

    The apartments are spacious and well positioned in Hanoi. There is a supermarket at the base of the Hotel which was super convenient!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    7.5
    shops below hotel were very handy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    unpacked then had to change rooms due to no walk in shower (was shown in 3 bed photos) as had a disabled person staying

    shops below hotel were very handy

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    9.6
    Very nice place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poolarea could be a little better. Isn't really cosy and the water is really cold but nothing else was bad.

    Very good breakfast. The kids loved the pancake/omelet man. Not far from the old quarter. Maybe 10-15 minutes walk. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Big appartments with everything. Small supermarket right next door.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    10
    Great apartment in Hanoi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in the main bathroom wasn't great (shower over bath)

    Thoroughly enjoyed this property. Great value, spacious and well equipped rooms in a good location. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    4.6
    Great Location but not well-maintained building
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Mold in bathrooms. Very uncomfortable pillows and beds. Stained furniture. Charge of parking for guesses.

    Location. Staff was helpful and tried to compensate the run-down building.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    The hotel is not EXACTLY ideally located but it still very good and convenient. 10 minutes scenic walk along the lake to the main attractions. Large, clean rooms, perfect for families.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    8.3
    Handy location but dated room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room seemed dated and the lounge had cigarette burns in it, maybe we got a smokers room as it smelt of old cigarette smoke. The bathrooms were quite basic.

    Handy location, good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    7.9
    Huge apartment for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Interior needs a little refresh and the window had no insulation so a lot of street noise enters the apartment.

    Huge apartment for the price. Well equipt. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    7.5
    Visited Sommerset Grand Hanoi early Dec 2016
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is old and the deco tired and could do with renovations. The pics on Booking.com were probably from back then and it's quite far from the airport

    The location was excellent. We could walk to most of the places and the reception staff was very welcoming and informative. The breakfast was very good with a large variety. They kindly looked after our bags while we went to Halong Bay for 3 days free of charge. The washing machine and detergent came in very handy as well as the iron & ironing board. Room service food was very nice, well presented and reasonably priced

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.6
    Excellent comfort choice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spacious room, great breakfast, excellent wifi, but the best by far was Freddie, the hotel manager. So friendly, patient and helpful - we loved him!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    10
    A lovely stay in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More specific instructions for the washing machine, eg what do the program numbers mean? Old lifts that were a little slow but they are being upgraded

    Tall building so easy to find when walking around city, excellent service and information.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    8.3
    Somerset Hanoi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little expensive for dated bathroom and damaged dining chairs.

    View was great, secure and clean. Staff were attentive and courteous. Lovely Christmas celebrations in foyer on Christmas Eve.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    9.6
    Great location and accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's more of a 4 star hotel with basic breakfast that doesn't really cater for vegetarians.

    Great for families. Washing machine and large fridge is a real bonus. Good variety of TV channels in English.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    9.6
    It's great at the Somerset!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The traffic was heavy and the sounds of cars and trucks blaring their horns can be a pain but that is also part and parcel of Hanoi. I felt that the playground could need a bit of a sprucing up and a heated pool during winter would have been awesome. I know it's the hotel's policy but including breakfast as part of the deal would have been greatly appreciated.

    The property was close to many attractions and to the Old Quarter. Although one would have to walk quite a bit to discover these attractions nearby, the walks enhance your experience and discovery of Hanoi. There are also a number of nice restaurabts nearby, Namaste Hanoi, Kimono Japanese restaurant and a Dim Sum restaurant, which offered great-tasting food. The breakfast spread was quite wide and offered a good meal for the start of the day. Service staff were always friendly and obliging.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    9.6
    Good location, walking distance to everything. Clean and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elec outlets need small improvement. Extra adaptors for international users would be nice

    The staffs are friendly and polite. The rooms are spacey and comfy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    7.5
    Comfortable place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets were not vacuumed so they were dusty. They provide just 2 bottles of water per day which in this day and age is hilarious especially for short term stay.

    Spacious suite, location, breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    9.6
    Great apartment in Hanoi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful feather pillows.. but sank down to nothing.

    It was a short taxi ride to the French Quarter which included the Opera House. Staff were extremely helpful. Concierge arranged for a cheaper ride to the airport. Best stocked supermarket which is on ground level...even had gluten free biscuits.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    9.6
    A home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were very friendly, helpful and even accommodating to my special request. Thank you for giving my daughter a little birthday surprise. It made the day so special for her.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    8.8
    Perfect for families
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was perfect for my partner and I and our 2 yr old son. The staff were very friendly and accommodating with any requests we had. Great to have a supermarket in the same complex as the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    9.2
    this is apartments , overall we was very happy , every...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    smoking Smail in the room , but the house keeper provides a air fresher and it was okay.

    this is apartments , overall we was very happy , every thing was good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Very good value for the money~
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been better and the staff at breakfast were a but slow in filling empty food and missing bowls, etc.

    The location in the heart of Hanoi was just perfect, with many places within walking distance. The staff were courteous, polite and helpful. This is a definite value-for-the-money place, especially those travelling as a family.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    8.8
    Good location with great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a but of an extra walk into the heart of the old city ( 10 mins or so) but if you want great facilities then worth it.

    Lots of space and lovely pool. A quiet location too by comparison to the full on hussle and bussle of the heart of the old city. It was right next door to the 'Hanoi Hilton' which wasn't mentioned so convenient for a trip there too!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    Perfect spot for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have a very large 2 bed, 2 bathroom apartment with pool view. Includes full kitchen and washing machine. Very clean, modern and comfortable. Also has some TV in English. Wifi is free (but this is the case everywhere). Our kids made very good use of the pool and loved that they provided complimentary ice creams and drinks in our apartment. Nice touch. Supermarket on the ground floor or adjoining restaurant and bar if you don't feel like cooking. Breakfast had everything you could ask for and more. Quiet location (next door to the Hoa Lo Prison) and an easy 15 minute walk to the Old Quarter.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    7.9
    The hotel rooms had lots of space including two bedrooms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here for three nights in total, two nights before our cruise and the night after our cruise. Our apartment for the first stay was a bit dated looking but for the second stay we had a nicer room.

    The hotel rooms had lots of space including two bedrooms, kitchen and dining area. The hotel was very kid friendly. It was great to have a pool to cool down from the August heat. Nice location too as only a short walk to old quarter and lake etc.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    7.9
    Can't go wrong.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's not in the old town, but close though. Not the cheapest choice but value for money (given size and facilities).

    Big appartement with a washing machine (after weeks of travelling a big plus!). Comfy beds. The pool was the USP for the kids.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    10
    Amazing location in a prime part of of Old Quarter Hanoi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No spa facility

    Apart from the excellent location, the apartment was spacious and the breakfast facility and restaurant was excellent. The swimming pool and sauna etc and Gym was really good. Staff and a full team was really corporative and supportive. Best shopping areas around us. Taxis readily available at all times.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    9.2
    Will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Costs associated with late checkout. Have stayed at both Somerset and Melia many times in past for business and personal trips and Melia allows for late checkout at no cost

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    7.9
    Good location, OK room
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a 3 bedroom, and it was definitely a bit tired, but comfortable.

    Breakfast was good, pool was also OK. Excellent location right beside the old 'Hanoi Hilton' (don't believe any of the propaganda if you go visit).

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: