Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Somerset West Lake Hanoi 4 stars

254D Thuy Khue Street, Tay Ho, Hanoi, Vietnam

#41 of 152 Holiday rentals in Hanoi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 120 apartment reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    10
    Best place to stay when in Hanoi
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Premier
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More mini marts nearby=D... not a issue though...

    We were first time travellers to Hanoi, felt welcomed when the Hotel car greeted us at the airport. West Lake was great, accessible from the hotel for a good stroll in the evening. Getting around town was easy via GRAB, and the property was located mid-way to my convention and to Dong Xuan Market=)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Apartments were very big and spacious.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Premier
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although I booked a room for two nights without any issues, I was informed when I arrived that the same room was not available for two consecutive nights. Hence I had to switch rooms. But the hotel made up for it by giving free breakfast.

    Apartments were very big and spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Excellent and Good Service frond desk staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room is big and clean. hotel provide some other service to meet the customer requirements. it is very pleasure and good for family and business trip

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.9
    Satisfactory and comfortable short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Executive
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Brekkie is below my expectations as compared to other similar hotels I have stayed in Vietnam.

    The gym is well equipped and the staff are very helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    8.3
    West lake area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Executive
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The taxi cab company contacted by the front desk to take us to the airport tried to rib us off,use only the green taxis when in Hanoi A limited restaurant menu with an poor waitress.

    The area was good if you were tired off the old quarter, had a less touristy feel. Facilities were good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    5.4
    Disappointed with Booking.com, not the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Premier
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is not five stars as Booking.com showed. It has NO star. In reality, it is indeed not five star standard at all. Feel so disappointed with Booking.com for showing the wrong information!

    Staff is helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    6.7
    Refund pls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Deluxe
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deducted booking fees for per night from my bank account before checking in, promised the bill will be cancelled and get my refund no later than 10 days. A month past, nothing I get. Tried to call cs, promised will check for me and reply. Again, nothing I get. Looking forward for an explanation and my refund back! Thanks.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    clean and good view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Executive
    • Stayed 3 nights

    clean and good view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    very cosy and clam place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Deluxe
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location large room friendly staff

    Convenient location large room friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    nice room with nice view
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Executive
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nice room with nice view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Executive
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent breakfast. Very good service from reception, particularly Claire.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Executive
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    Nice view and convenient location to public transportation

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    4.2
    Wrong place I booked
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Executive
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of the room Bed and pillow is old Shower in bathtub?:( Old furniture Still using CRT TV

    Nothing I like about this place

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.6
    The apartment was spacious and the breakfast is awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2-Bedroom Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apartment was spacious and the breakfast is awesome!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.9
    Big room
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio Executive
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was in ground floor

    Big room with full facility

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    It was a very nice stay for my family (including young children and elderly)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Deluxe
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.9
    Bed comfortable
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Premier
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Key of the door, disficul for open the door

    Bed comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.3
    Very supportive staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Premier
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly old. Need to be upgraded.

    Very supportive staff. They're all very happy to help.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2-Bedroom Deluxe
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.3
    Excellent housekeeping
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Executive
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible breakfast except service. I did not expect Japanese style. I recommend traditional vietnam food

    Excellent housekeeping

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.5
    Far from noisy Hanoi central area and good solution for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Deluxe
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so convenient to move around

    Far from noisy Hanoi central area and good solution for family

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    2.5
    Very misleading
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had cockroaches in our room and it's adverised as 5 star not even a 2 star

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.5
    Not exactly meeting​ Ascott standard
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Executive
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finishing a bit run down, old. Breakfast and food was below average.

    Apartment was spacious

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    everything was very great
    • Group
    • Studio Executive
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was very great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    9.6
    360 degree amazing lake view. Good to enjoy drinks and dinner. Good place for the family also.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Premier
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many good restaurants near property

    Lake view from room. Friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    Best choice if you wish to have place like home as traveling to Hanoi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Premier
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfort and cleanliness. Just simply like home

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.3
    the facilities are good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Premier
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    pls remind the house keeping should be carefully in cleaning the room, they have forgotten turn off the electronic cooking

    the facilities are good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Excellent facilities and good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Premier
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Would have liked the option of traditional Vietnamese food in the restaurant

    Ample space in the apartments and very well equipped. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    6.3
    The swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Premier
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    The swimming pool

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    8.5
    Staff Super helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The property could use a modern renovation (especially in the hallways leading to room 215.

    Staff Super helpful. Food was good. Bed was very comfortable. Room amenities were more than expected.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    8.8
    The staff are really friendly, accommodating and helpful...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very minimal concerns-- The toothpaste is very small for a day use. Toiletries and complimentary bottled water should be refilled automatically even when not asked, similar to other 5 star hotels. It was hard to talk to someone from the house keeping ( phone keeps ringing) and I always have to course through my concerns through the reception. I asked for a room with balcony and lake view and was given a room with balcony with very minimal view of the lake (compared to the published picture in booking.com).

    The staff are really friendly, accommodating and helpful especially on special requests. Special mention to Ryan one of the cheerful front desk officers during my stay. The room was cleaned everyday.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    9.6
    Great staff very pleasant and helpful, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our apartment was on the ground floor and too near to the busy road next to the lake. We had no view of the lake as it was obscured by a fence directly next to out balcony

    Great staff very pleasant and helpful, great breakfast. The apartment were modern and well furnished, A great breakfast supplied free of charge

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    7.9
    This was an excellent hotel for our family of 3 but booking.
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    See above.

    This was an excellent hotel for our family of 3 but booking.com only allowed us to reserve for a maximum of two. We had to upgrade to a two bedroom apartment at additional cost. Loved the extra space and clothes washing machine. However it's not in a very nice neighborhood and you need to take a cab when you want to go out. You couldn't see the lake from the 2nd floor. Nice pool and gym, very basic breakfast with no eggs.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    9.2
    Good location if you want stay away from busy and very noisy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location if you want stay away from busy and very noisy Old Quarter.Located next to West Lake just across the road.This hotel has everything you need,including nice swimming pool,gym,smal restaurant e.t.c.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    9.6
    Big bathroom, kitchen amenities, breakfast spread (it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The corridors leading to the room were very stuffy and hot, felt like there wasn't any ventilation. But the air-conditioning in the room itself was great

    Big bathroom, kitchen amenities, breakfast spread (it was great that Pho * chicken noodle soup* was included)

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    7.5
    The staffs are nice and really friendly more than that they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bed sheet and blanket are not smooth maybe it has been using for long time already

    The staffs are nice and really friendly more than that they are very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    4.2
    The only thing I liked about this hotel was its location...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms were unkept and poorly maintained . The doors made noise when closing , the elevators were very very small and slow. The Restaursnt was bad and small. The breakfast spread was very poor, there was literally nothing to eat!!

    The only thing I liked about this hotel was its location opposite the lake.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    8.3
    Breakfast in Verandah cafe did not have vegeterian options
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast in Verandah cafe did not have vegeterian options

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    5.8
    Breakfast could improve
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast could improve

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    10
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nil

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    10
    Excellent value for money!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent value for money!

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    9.2
    Hotel in general and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The food, I would not stay there again, the food was POOR

    Hotel in general and location

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    5.8
    Excutive studio is so small
    • Family with young children

    Excutive studio is so small

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    9.2
    Nice big apartment with everything you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nice big apartment with everything you need. Small maintenance problem with the room which was rectified quickly and adequately compensated.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.2
    Overall.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    No smiles on the faces of the staff. Food qty and spread is small.

    Overall. Great place. I am hooked to Somerset.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: