Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parker Cottage 4 stars

3 Carstens Street, Tamboerskloof, 8001 Cape Town, South Africa

#14 of 249 B&Bs and Inns in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 82 B&B reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    10

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room 2
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was in a great location for walking around, and near lots of great restaurants and bars. The hotel and garden are really lovely and private and peaceful. Our room and bathroom were also lovely, although on the smaller side. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room 2
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Sound from the wooden floor as you walk around the property.

    Nice breakfast, friendly environment, excellent location, great management team and conformable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Croissants were not nice but the rest of the breakfast was great. Particularly the fruit parfait.

    Cosy. Home away from home. We were staying with our adult daughter and it was great to have the two rooms together in a closed off area at the end of the corridor. It was very private and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A TV in the room

    The location is ideal for a leisure stroll to shops and top restaurants. Sunny tranquil garden with wonderful verandah to sit on and watch birds, excellent linen and bed and a separate bathroom in which to shower once booked out and you have a late flight

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was at the front and quite noisy with people coming and going - they did warn us about this so it was not a surprise, but if this will bother you then make sure you have a quieter room.

    Lovely old home that has been converted into a B&B very close to shops and restaurants. They serve the most amazing breakfast that lasted us until dinner! The owner was very friendly and was very interested in making our stay as enjoyable as possible.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just perfect, the staff with Pamela, the best host ever! Beautiful garden, tasteful decoration, crazy good breakfast and nice aria with good restaurants. We traveled a lot but this we haven't seen often ( or never....) thanks everyone!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much really.

    Lovely staff with genuine curiosity about the guests with a very personal approach, made a real effort to make everyone feel comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is how a B&B should be. Parker Cottage sets the bar extremely high without overwhelming one all the time. Special thanks to Tomas for arranging everything we hadn't thought of before coming to Cape Town for a spur-of-the-moment visit.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    Breakfast was exceptional

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel, lovely building in a central, safe location. Breakfast was fantastic - great start to the day. Staff were very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful atmosphere with refine breakfast. Charming staff and owner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Welcoming and engaged staff. Personal and friendly. Fantastic breakfast. Good support in finding out things to do.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Everything.....willingness to go the extra mile

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful old house within walking distance of centre. Newly refurbished and very tasteful. Amazing breakfasts. Great staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The best breakfast & customer service ever !! all the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room 2
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Warm and friendly owner and staff. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such an unseen hospitality! Great ambience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    lovely setting and a fantastic staff..

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room 2
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptional breakfast. Personnally made every morning. Really friendly and nice staff. Good location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, comfortable room, lovely staff and the best breakfasts we had in our 3 week trip to South Africa

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast fantastic.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was 4*.

    The ethos of the establishment and the friendliness of the staff. History meets 21st century!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, awesome breakfast, beautiful house, perfect location!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The best B&B in Cape Town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing - it was all perfect

    the amazing breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room 2
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely Perfect in all matters BR CBO

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed every bit

    Awesome breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No downsides to staying here!

    We really enjoyed our stay at Parker Cottage. The staff is very friendly, the cottage is charming and the rooms are beautiful. Breakfast is really good. Location is good.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This was the MOST LOVELY stay! I cannot even begin to put into words how helpful, kind, and pleasant the staff was. I was traveling by myself and they went above and beyond to create such a lovely experience- helping me to coordinate activities and just made my trip! I am dreaming of returning!!

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I return to Parker Cottage a few times a year, each time it feels like coming home! Their breakfasts are sublime, staff are natural, friendly and helpful. Each room is furnished differently. Hand on heart I'll keep going back.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we stayed in was quite small with no bath, TV or fridge.

    Lovely stay in a beautiful house with nice quirky touches. Such a warm and personal welcome to Cape Town. The breakfast was the best yet in South Africa with perfectly poached eggs and a great selection to set you off for the day.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A bit too expensive

    We Did of course like Phil, who could answer all our questions. Charming setting, lovely breakfast in the garden. Comfortable beds. Perfect place for a few days in Cape Town.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    This was our second visit to Parker Cottage and hopefully not our last. The whole experience was excellent, even better than our first visit if that was possible. Many thanks to Phil, Liz and the whole team at Parker Cottage.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike.

    Everything. A very professionally run bed and breakfast. Every member of staff was kind, considerate and accommodating. The service included invaluable local information about places to see and visit, making dinner reservations. We were even lucky enough that they liaised with the car hire company on our behalf following a minor accident. Breakfast was beautifully presented, plentiful and with a wide variety of choice. The property is wonderfully located for exploring Cape Town on foot. This will be our first port of call when we return to South Africa which we definitely will. A wonderful experience - thank you.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lovely team of people who go above and beyond what is required to ensure your stay is enjoyable. A good location in a quiet residential area. You can rely on them for recommendations for restaurants, places to go, trips to book etc.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    From the time of our arrival the team at Parker Cottage tried their utmost to make our stay memorable. Phil, Tomas and Penny as well as all the other staff were fantastic. The breakfasts were delicious and the room very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I liked it here and would stay again.

    Great location, safe parking. Lovely staff. Special thanks to Tomas and Penny who were wonderful at giving us some great advice (like going up to table mountain as soon as we got to CT- the sunset was amazing- cloudy the next day). Helped us organise trips and the wine tasting evening was fun. Breakfast lovely too- thanks to the lovely cooks. No TVs in the room which I feel is the right way forward- you're in Cape Town people! Get out. (They can give you a telly is you ask).

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    -used soap bar in shower when I arrived (gross!) -windows shook VERY loudly with any sort of wind (they need to get it fixed) -lot of noise from other people outside of room -their preferred tour guide is not great -place isn't secure - no one there overnight. don't think it would be too hard for someone to break in..

    hotel staff really made an effort to give great service good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I don't have anything negative to say apart from my stay was too short.

    The staff are always willing to go out of their way to help you understand more about the area and things to do. The guides they have put together are so informative, you don't need your guide books. The property is beautifully decorated and once you step into the front garden, you forget the hustle and bustle you have left behind.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't really like to leave after our stay :-(

    From the warm reception by Penny with a cool "Weissbier" on the veranda to attentive service throughout and friendly local support -- such as rental car, trip proposals, restaurant & entertainment tips, etc. -- our stay was truly remarkable. An experience never to be forgotten!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing breakfast and very nice and helpful people! I already want to go again!

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is not great vis-à-vis the City Centre

    The breakfast was very good and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just one little thing, the water pressure at the bath.

    Everything! Thomas and the staff are amazing :) breakfast is super. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff was wonderful, food was fabulous, place was completely lovely and charming. Altogether a terrific stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Home from home, great breakfast, ample parking, welcoming staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Beautifully creatively decorated. Excellent breakfasts, so healthy! Super, friendly staff

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: