Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of 20 on Church

20 Church Street, 6720 Montagu, South Africa

#12 of 14 B&Bs and Inns in Montagu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 37 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.7
    I liked the welcome dessert wine:) the breakfast was also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought it was a self catering place. That realisation ruined the whole trip for me, especially travelling with kids. It messed up the budget as well. We had to cut the trip short, we checked out a day before. The Wifi didn't work as promised.

    I liked the welcome dessert wine:) the breakfast was also very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.1
    The housse was a beautiful old home with ancient floors and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housse was a beautiful old home with ancient floors and ceiling, rooms spacious. But it is run by Mimosa B&B across the street and service was not met. No towels at arrival, no cups for morning coffee, air condition not working. But staff polite at Mimosa polite and friendly. Needs to forget 20 on Church.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was confusion with the booking .., I book for my husband and myself I never travel alone . I thought I was getting a special rate but apparently the quote was for 1 person and we had to pay double what was quoted .., the owner gave us a discount which was nice of her ... Booking. Com should be careful what prices they quote ....

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    This is the place that we discovered without knowing it and this is the place we will go back to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lighting in the bedroom - somewhat too dim to see in the cupboard and reading lamps-spotlight to read with would be nice. Maybe an extra plug or two

    Location, staff friendly, food great, ambiance very nice, they even presented us with Jeripiko in a carafe in our room every night

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.9
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast menu is given verbally, perhaps creating a detailed breakfast menu will help new customers feel a bit more comfortable? Room has a private bathroom, but shared lounge and kitchen, which isn't very private.

    Great breakfast and comfy room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    Mimosa Inn is highly recommended. Gardens are lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above

    We were upgraded across the road to the Mimosa Inn. This was very comfortable with all the extras. The dining room was beautifully decorated. The TV room was a little disappointing but then again we were not there to watch TV. Most places we stayed in had a TV set in the room. Our Hostess was helpful with WiFi and with recommending a supper venue.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    10
    treat yourself...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    could'nt stay for full breakfast but the packed platter and extra's will remain a "positive" talking point- can only imagine what we missed(maybe next time?)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Montagu
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful and friendly accommodation would visit again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi had to go to main hotel .

    The place was ideal and comfortable.the staff terrific and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect stop over for a person on business travel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bitterly cold night not affected by single wall heater

    Bacon and Egg cooked the way I asked for.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic accommodation and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was amazing but the staff was even better.... we were made to feel like the only guests there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.5
    Good overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too dark

    Comfortable bed - bathroom was modern, enjoyed the complimentary sherry

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.1
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No bar fridge in the room. Uneven paving to room.No newspapers available.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    Very good B&B in picturesque small town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast. Next time we will definitely try the wine and dine evening option.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    10
    Air conditioninh
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioninh

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    7.1
    Relaxing, tranquil
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds in the lodge across were squeaky

    Delicious breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.6
    Nice to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly of the staff, the confort, nice swimming pool ;-)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    7.1
    Bed was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we arrived we were looking for a decent sized sign. : But the only name that stood out was MIMOSA. - we went to the hotel next door to be told that they were one and the same. Mimosa property meanders through about three or four plots of land. During the daytime the fabulous gardens are fully on display.

    Bed was fantastic. Decor was fun and 'out there'. Great modern bathroom. This is not your regular B & B - it can only be described as being decidedly Funky

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    7.1
    The bed was v comfortable and the breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The sign on the door of 20 Church st said "closed, go over to Mimosa Lodge." So we did, Mimosa seemed vague about any booking. Booking.com, being on-line, should be up to date with its information. So Mimosa Lodge's knowledge of my booking should have been better. Lighting in the bedroom & bathroom was poor.

    The bed was v comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. The proprietor was v genial.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    Location was ideal for what we needed, singing with the Cape...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience at all

    Location was ideal for what we needed, singing with the Cape Welsh at a concert in the NGK Church, within very short walking distance. The room was well appointed and comfortable. On a cold winters day the welcoming glass of Port (refilled) was very enjoyable. I am happy to recommend to friends. Thanks Sepp.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    10
    A pleasure to stay in the same house as the lady who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A pleasure to stay in the same house as the lady who contributed so much to the history of Montagu.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    8.8
    Nice rooms and a nice garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nice rooms and a nice garden. The breakfast was very good and delicious and the accommodation is located perfect.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    10
    We had a lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had a lovely stay.we can definitely recommend 20 on church to everyone! The food was amazing as well

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    8.8
    clean, tidy, quaint, crisp bedding, walking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    clean, tidy, quaint, crisp bedding, walking distance to everywhere, lovely breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    The whole layout was perfect enhancing the beauty of Montagu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!!!

    The whole layout was perfect enhancing the beauty of Montagu.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    9.2
    Friendly staff, beautiful decor - just a wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, beautiful decor - just a wonderful stay. Would recommend to anybody.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: