Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cranes Nest Guesthouse @ 212 4 stars

212 Boshoff Street, Nieuw Muckleneuk, 0181 Pretoria, South Africa

#113 of 130 B&Bs and Inns in Pretoria

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 30 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    5.0
    Very disappointed in overall stay and not worth the amount of money we paid for it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress too soft and pillows very lumpy. Pillows need replacing. TOWELS were horrendous. Only one hand towel. One bath towel. One shower towel. The one towel that I used was threadbare! I took photographs. The coffee plunger was still dirty! Not washed from the previous guest. The previous guest also left a lone PILL on the cup tray which was not very nice! No fresh air as the door did not have security gate and the windows is inaccessible behind the dressing table. Too cluttered. Very disappointed sob! sob!

    Staff friendly and breakfast was good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.8
    Really lovely stay. Very cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is older so sounds carry very easily. Toilet was a bit loud.

    The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. Surroundings were very tranquil and breakfasts were fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.3
    Very good but might have been excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Décor is a little tired, the towels were thin and ragged and the bed short for my height (6'2"). My room lacked a safe for valuables so I had to take them with me on outings. Management team seemed absent, but local staff did their best.

    Location and access for my purposes were ideal although the local restaurant was closed to all but a special party on the one time I wanted to use it. I have lived in Pretoria so the set-up is not foreign to me. the same day laundry service was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    Convenient and great breakfast
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower cap as I didn't bring one. Too many pillows on the bed

    Staff accommodated me by making breakfast earlier than they advertised. It assisted for me to leave before traffic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    The staff were very helpful and friendly and the beauty of the gardens enhanced my stay in Pretoria
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The paper serviettes were VERY thin and not in keeping with the quality of the accommodation

    My room had a wee veranda surrounded by greenery. The garden was beautiful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.7
    The location to malls, park, restaurants, clinic was...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and bathroom were tired. Requires an upgrade for the price.

    The location to malls, park, restaurants, clinic was excellent. Nice that meals other than breakfast were offered although we did not partake of them, The breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    4.5
    The breakfast was excellent
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in the two rooms which had offices and it was noisy, people spoke in high voices. There is rump between the main house and the place where we were accommodated which is not easy to pass. I had to jump the rump with difficulty. The breakfast area was crowded not easy to move. The pictures on site on the website and the actual place are miles apart. Please do exchange visits with other lodges around Pretoria and refurbish the place see what are other places look like. I have used different places in Pretoria which have current standards. I just wanted to explore but was disappointed. thanks.

    The breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    A great place for a get-away.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything: clean, comfy, seclusive and peaceful and nice staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.8
    Very good hospitality. Loved the place and location. It's was nice descreet place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendkt Staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Lovely property.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Most everything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC remote batteries were flat. Had to swap with TV remote. Poor quality white Wine in bar fridge.

    Most everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    It was marvellous
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    It was marvellous

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.1
    comfortable bed and clean room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dirty towels with hair on them

    comfortable bed and clean room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    The cleanliness, well stocked fridge and the quiteness of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleanliness, well stocked fridge and the quiteness of the place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast and cleanliness of f the place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular

    The breakfast and cleanliness of f the place

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.9
    Stay was good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some of the snacks availed in the room were beyond their expiry date

    I loved the location of the place as well as the very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful quiet setting with lovely gardens.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peaceful quiet setting with lovely gardens.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Best stay in a while
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Clean, secure, quiet and accessible

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    7.1
    As above
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy as door to room was not solid so could hear breakfast preparation early from before 6 am

    nice position and people.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    8.3
    The staff were very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lights in room needed replacing Booking.com also need to quote people correctly because my credit card details and the number of guests that I wanted for my stay were incorrectly captured by booking.com and I was therefore charged more for my stay than expected.

    The staff were very friendly The breakfast was delicious The room had everything that we needed It was in a quiet suburb

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    2.5
    I had booked but turned out there was an over booking was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had booked but turned out there was an over booking was taken to a really bad place after being told we were going to be taken to a five star place

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    10
    The well prepared breakfasts and various menu choices.
    • Couple

    The well prepared breakfasts and various menu choices. the fact that they prepared your breakfast once you arrived in the dining room so it was always hot and not dried out. Most relaxing tempo.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    9.6
    Your are located in an excellent area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Your towels are not clean. One sees that they have been to laundry yes; but they have stains of blood, and some visible dirt stains. It is health policy that even if an item has been sterilized, there should be no visible dirt or stains. Otherwise, the item is not clean. It feels dirty. Your breakfast needs some upgrade. It is not too bad but it lacks something. This is a personal one but your staff members seem to be overworked. I may be wrong but they look so heavy-laden. One can see they are trying so hard but I have seen workaholics dropping down and dying while busy with their duties. You do not want to loose such hard-working people.

    Your are located in an excellent area. Your lodge is generally clean; pool, Jacuzzi, rooms. Your staff is dedicated and pleasant: cleaners, cooks, therapists, and Madelee; oh what a lovely girl, bubbly, energetic, working so hard to do everything for guests. We really appreciate her enthusiasm. She is one of the reasons why we are coming back to your lodge again for our next holidays with extra family members and more friends. Thanks for providing enough towels for our use. Much appreciated! Your rooms are excellent, well made up, beautiful, well decorated and spacious. Security is so good; gates are well mended and one feels safe.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    4.2
    parking
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    room to small wooden floor above room hear footsteps needs total revamp of room kettle and electrical leads not safe totally overpriced for what you get

    parking

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    10
    The guest house is amazing, very cozy and incredibly cute.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The guest house is amazing, very cozy and incredibly cute.the price is also very good.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    9.6
    Quiet, clean and very close to the Swiss embassy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quiet, clean and very close to the Swiss embassy.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    Peace and tranquility plumb in the middle of a very busy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Peace and tranquility plumb in the middle of a very busy cosmopolitan suburb. Beautiful gardens and surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    7.1
    Kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi notwork

    Kitchen

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    8.8
    The hospitality, care,the great environment and many more.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is not in line with the hotel, but the weather. cold that I could not swim fir once!

    The hospitality, care,the great environment and many more.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    5.8
    Location
    • Couple

    I object to a glass enclosed en suite facility in the bedroom. Toilets should be private.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    7.1
    Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Pillows wasn't comfortable (to hard)

    Breakfast

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Browse Cranes Nest Guesthouse @ 212 traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: