Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of 5 Seasons Guest House 4 stars

60 Van der Stel Street, 7600 Stellenbosch, South Africa

#25 of 76 B&Bs and Inns in Stellenbosch

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 141 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect. The local information provided on restaurants and sights around town was very informative and they assisted by getting us a booking at a local restaurant. The breakfast was the best I have experienced at any B&B anywhere before.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our accommodation was cosy and peaceful, warm and perfectly located for the purposes of our stay in Stellenbosch. Breakfasts were very good and the staff were friendly. Our accommodation was home-from-home comfort. Thank you Team!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly outside of town but is super easy to get a Uber in. Takes 2 mins and costs next to nothing. Don’t let put you off.

    Run by lovely people who really make you feel welcome and at home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    About a mile and a half from town but that made for a pleasant walk in the evenings and a short Uber back.

    Beautiful Property and very warm welcome. Excellent Breakfasts nice swimming pool for a dip at the end of the day. Best Guest House room we had in Western Cape.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a way out of the centre of stellenbosch. Not in walking distance really.

    Honeymoon suite was lovely. Shame about the water situation in Cape Town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was great!

    The staff were lovely especially Chanel who was very welcoming and offered her assistance at all times. They were always on hand to offer advice about the location and things to do and where to eat etc. Lovely pool area - room was great with TV and kitchen facilities. WiFi worked all over the property and felt very comfy and safe. Breakfast was lovely too! Great location and place to stay - completely worth a visit when in Stellenbosch.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    How about offering guests a packed lunch (picnic) at a charge of course, to facilitate day trips that don't stop at a vineyard restaurant, or for those guests wishing to stay around the pool for the day. Not a complaint - just a suggestion!

    Great location, friendly staff, nice pool area with comfy loungers and a great breakfast. We had a lovely stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxis cost four times as much as Uber. So get the app!

    The staff was super awesome. Extremely helpful, smiling and positive. Helped us with bike rental, transport to various places in taxi, by bike, booking flights, choose restaurants and Call them to book tables. Very good breakfast served with a smile. No problem getting the breakfast very early on departure. Clean room, good space. When the aircondition broke down they put much effort in getting it fixed. Nice garden with good shade and good sunchairs, many tables and chairs. We loved our room and felt very much at home.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's just a pity that the guesthouse is not in close walking distance to the central town, but that's nothing an Uber cannot solve!

    There is nothing I didn't like about this guesthouse. The staff are all super friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautifully decorated. I was also given a room upgrade without having to ask for it! The breakfast options are all wonderful and a big variety is on offer. I can really recommend the french toast with bacon and banana!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little bit too small

    The staff was kind and attentive. The girl at the desk, Chanel, was very helpful. The breakfast was good and various.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I travel a _lot_ for work, and I think this is the first time I've ever bothered to write an online review of somewhere I've stayed. That's mainly because of the staff here. They were the best thing about this guesthouse: everyone I met was amazingly helpful, kind and friendly. Otherwise I also thought the place was generally excellent: a very, very comfortable room (for me) and a very good breakfast. The location was convenient for the purposes of my visit. I expect it is much quieter than if staying near the centre of Stellenbosch. I was on foot; especially for others in the same situation it might be useful for me to note that there's a small but decent supermarket close by, so you don't need to travel into the centre for supplies.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is very friendly and the whole guest house has a wonderful atmosphere, very modern and cozy. Beautiful surroundings! Will definitely suggest the 5 Seasons to anyone visiting Stellenbosch. A great find :).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one cannot use the stand-alone bathtub due to the water shortage.

    Location was perfect, on a quiet road. Staff was very helpful in any question and restaurant recommendations. We were lucky to get the honeymoon suit which was very large and pleasant. Only one cannot use the stand-alone bathtub due to the water shortage. Willi recommend and come again, if in the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    little flexibility regarding arrival time which was inconvenient to us No heated towel rails or electric blankets DSTV channels limited shower rose was sub-average

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to declare, everything was perfect!

    Everything was perfectly arranged to make me feel really in hollydays! The girls and ladies were efficient, lovely, kind and supportive! Breakfast was the best, with low carb options! 10 for everything!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi would cut off when outside but that can be expected but everywhere else worked very well!

    Centre withing 20mins walking distance. Spar also 20mins away. Great range in breakfast - buffet style or hot, freshly made from given menu. Staff were very helpful and friendly! Kitchen has the essentials i.e. kettle, fridge, microwave, utensils and complimentary coffee, tea, sugar, milk and water.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Strange that I had to use aircon or else the room would have been stuffy. Opening windows led to mosquitoes in the room. My sherry was not refilled. Not all my favourite channels on DSTV were available (like BBC World, CNN, eNCA).

    Very comfy bed. Quiet, peaceful neighbourhood, but 25 minutes brisk walk from town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't like having a check-in deadline to worry about

    Great neighborhood, handy for town center (15 min walk or 2 min drive). Nice garden and pool area with loads of loungers, towels etc. Comfortable room with enough kitchen facilities for simple meals if required plus local supermarket just around the corner. Friendly and helpful welcome and stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We liked everything about this place. Very friendly staff, private parking lot, nice swimming pool and large rooms. Loved it and would definitely come back.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not enough parking. I had to park outside one night and I was not comfortable with that as it was a rental and kept thinking it would be stolen or damaged!

    Very Friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    my classic room's bedroom was in a loft with steep steps, would preferred both the lounge and bedroom to be on one level.

    Positioning of property was great, close to restaurants, vineyards and Jonkershoek for running/cycling. Siutated in a quite neigbouhrhood. Staff very friendly and attentative

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for most people but make sure you don't book an upstairs room if you have any disability problems

    The quiet location, the overall property and the staff could not fault

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was cold despite warm weather. Unfortunately a mistake was made by a staff member sprinkling chlorine into the cold pool late afternoon which didn't dissolve hence making the pool unusable until too late. The furniture around the pool is first class with v good cushions and towels.

    Beautiful location in upmarket suburb about 20 minutes very pleasant walk from town centre. Very well maintained and excellent staff, the website photos are a true reflection. We will return if we are in the area again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very disappointing

    Very nice room and bathroom and nice to have a little kitchenette even though we didn't use it .liked the DSTV in the room .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 5 Seasons guest house is a short drive from the centre of Stellenbosch- approximately 25 mins walk to local restaurants and wine bars. We were greeted by Emily, who was especially welcoming, as were the other staff at breakfast. The accommodation was very comfortable and modern- our rooms had their own little balconies overlooking the pool area- the perfect place to catch the evening sun and savour the sample of sherry that the guest house provides. We had a great night's sleep, surrounded by peace & quiet, and wish we were able to stay longer than one night. I would certainly stay at the 5 Seasons again, and would recommend to anyone passing through Stellenbosch.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Guest House exceeded our expectations. Our suite was huge, tastefully furnished and spotless. The staff are friendly, professional and helpful. Stellenbosch was extremely busy, so we were grateful for the quiet, peaceful street the guest house is situated in. I would recommend 5 Seasons Guest House without hesitation.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room had a horrible smell of damp which the owner refused to acknowledge. Pillows were uncomfortable. Hairdryer nearly caught alight but was quickly replaced.

    Front receptionist lady friendly and willing to help, lovely breakfast offering, luxurious and clean. Bathroom and shower perfect.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike

    Everything! It is stylish yet homely. The staff are friendly but unobtrusive. I love this place and hope to go back again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was very intermittent - a frequent SA problem unfortunately

    In a quite street but quite close to the centre of Stellenbsich in a well appointed standard room with a comprehensive breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing much - certain attention to detail is needed like light bulbs that is out

    Value for money. Staff is awesome. Lovely area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast’s, secure off road parking, fantastic and very hospitable staff - what more can I say!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast, nice room and bathroom. Everything perfect. Just a bit too far to walk to the center

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is served late "8" at least "7"

    Very cool and quiet place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    towels were very miffy smelling and shower drain was blocked. Advised staff of this

    The friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities and great breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very good breakfast, very comfortable rooms. Did not test the swimming pool, but it looked nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    beautiful property on a quiet street in Stellenbosch.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron and ironing board. Would have stayed longer.

    Excellent Staff. Super Clean. Good wifi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great all round.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Friendliness of staff, management and the superb breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, great value for money, and the breakfast was superb!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    Great beds, great breakfast, friendly staff, very quiet location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance to the location where I had to go was a bit far.

    I loved the room called Mountainview in the loft with the balcony!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge in room not working

    Swimming pool area beautiful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not stay longer.

    Greatest place to stay location and the staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable with very friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half an hours walk to town.

    Breakfast excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room , no view

    Quiet situation .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast brought to my room when I was running late. Great, friendly staff. Lovely pool and sun beds.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fresh breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked Everything. There is nothing we didn't like. Stunning surroundings.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant attentive front desk!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower just trickles out. Need to look at shower head. Breakfast far to late at 08h00 for business. Would have preferred 07h00 or 07h30.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Breakfast was very good; staff were extremely nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one negative

    Very friendly and personal atmosphere, beautiful rooms in a beautiful setting, delicious and copious breakfast, loved staying there

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Fabulous stay! The room, the bed, the pool - everything was lovely! Great care is given to making your stay as comfortable as possible. The secure parking is an added bonus.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our room was up some outside stairs -not practical for older people. too far to walk to town for older people-parking a bit limited if the b+b is full

    good breakfast comfortable rooms excellent staff,free water,coffee and tea in room .

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Upstairs a bit of rickety staircase Not walking distance from town restaurants, but short driving distance Small bathroom, no bathtub

    Beautifully clean Nice quiet street Friendly staff Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The suite is not worth it. Door is at the front entrance which means everybody coming or going walks in front at all hours. Also, the rooms above seem to have wooden floors and every step the other guests take is loud and clear in the room below.

    Nice location in a quiet street. Room is beautiful and a spacious bathroom. Good quality linen and comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lady who runs kitchen extremely rude. We were served an egg that was bad. The bad egg forgivable but the way she spoke to me was as if I exaggerated it. She obviously does not know how to deal with a woman of color with an opinion. Poor poor character. She could never work for me. Downer on a beautiful property.

    Wonderful location. Room very comfy. Quiet with good parking.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    People from reservation not as warmly friendly as in all the other hotels/guest houses we experienced in South Africa. Pool looks a bit dirty because of trees around.

    Wonderful breakfast and nice young service Madame.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We certainly did not appreciate the hostess comment implying that me and my wife were having an affair due to the fact that we were there with separate cars.

    The property is situated in a beautiful part of Stellenbosch.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nobody helped with bags upstairs, not really practical if your bags is heavy and you are a lady travelling on your own. everything els was fine - thank you

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There's no owner/manager in residence. The house is locked up late afternoon and the guests let themselves into their rooms externally.

    A great view of the mountain

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was small, the walls seemed very thin and noise from neighbouring rooms could be heard. Dogs barking from neighbouring properties especially at 'walking' times

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences

    The room we were in was beautifully decorated, spacious and very clean. Staff is very accommodating and the breakfast a real treat compare to majority B&B's.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Really - nothing! Everything was just perfect!

    We just stayed for one night over New Year's Eve and we are more than happy with our decision to stay there. We were a group of 8 friends (4 couples, age between 25-35). Gisela welcomed us warmly and helped with just everything possible. We relaxed at the pool until we were picked up by a shuttle to go to our New Year's Eve celebrations (shuttle arranged by the guesthouse). Everything went so smoothly. All rooms were just great, clean, big enough and very private. Breakfast was fantastic too. We would always come back and stay there again. Highly recommended!!

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    It was a wonderful stay staff was awesome

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was beautiful, clean and comfortable!

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Courteous staff, Comfortable room, good Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast needs to be improved to offer a wider variety of food.

    Room

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The accommodation was perfect

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The airconditioner was noisy and they would not accommodate an early breakfast.

    The breakfast was good, rooms were good.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Friendly staff. Quiet and secure location.

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: