Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of 7 Church Street Guest House 4 stars

7 Church Street, 6720 Montagu, South Africa

#6 of 14 B&Bs and Inns in Montagu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 199 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    We stayed here one night for our honeymoon, we really enjoyed the accomodation. The room is very beautiful and confortable, with a lot of small details to make the stay really perfect. The owner is a kind and helpful person with a lot of good advices. The garden is absolutely beautiful. We really enjoyed the breakfast with a lot of home made delicacies.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Montagu is not such an interesting village. The hotel is ok, really spacoius, but a little dark and we didn't like this romantic style...

    Really friendly host!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good.

    Beautiful room, amazing gardens and well situated in Montagu. Owners very friendly and a wealth of local information. Wonderful bird life to observe.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything.

    The host! Mike was really helpful and knowledgeable about the places in Montagu and some that were further afield. Our bathroom was excellent and the room super, also more garden than I expected. Mike you were a star and even got our car washed although we didn’t realise until we got out at the next stop!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    May and Mike, the owners of this great guest house, provide a wonderful warm welcome and go out of their way to make sure your stay in the beautiful town of Montagu is one of the highlights of your travels. We have been to dozens of countries all over the world and without any doubt we can say that this place is very special.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool is a bit small.

    Our suite of rooms, the views and the garden were exceptional. Mike and May, the owners, were great hosts, both informative and very entertaining. The property is ideally placed for local walking and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Having to leave!!

    Mike and May the owners of this amazing guest house were the most friendly, hospitable and caring couple you could wish to come across. They went out of their way to help us as my wife had broken her arm a few days earlier. They arranged a doctors appointment for her very quickly and also a booking with an Orthopaedic clinic in Worcester. The beautiful gardens and their excellent recommendations for local restaurants all helped to make our stay as comfortable as possible in the circumstances. We have travelled extensively during the years and 7 Church Street must top the list!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed in our room was a bit noisy and made a creaking sound with every movement.

    The room was big and comfortable and equipped with all the facilities and more. Breakfasts were more than ample. Our host Mike was really charming and has a fountain of knowledge about the area. He even advise us on the best routes for our homeward journey.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The hosts, Mike and May go out of their way to make people feel at home. Great tips on things to do/sights to see. Immediate action after our suggestions for improvement (installed fan on top floor of family room). Full breakfast including lovely fruit platter! Beautiful and well-kept garden including bird tree!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Private Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine here!

    The garden with so many flowers and the room with a brand new bathroom was wonderfull and all situated in a good area in Montagu. Also the hospitality was great and the hosts were very helpfull.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A big help would be little ramps for wheelchair users to cross over door thresholds and grab rails in the showers.

    All staff very welcoming, friendly, offered good suggestions for activities and restaurants and accommodating of our personal needs. Exquisite gardens and art.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault the property.

    The hosts were beyond helpful! The facilities were excellent and the garden sublime. The room was huge and quiet. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    Our host Mike was very informative and extremely charming. Room and bathroom was huge with all the modern luxuries and the most beautiful gardens Breakfast was delicious and a huge spread

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could have been better.

    Mike our host was so lovely. We never met his wife May but on hearing we were celebrating a significant event she arranged a bottle of bubbly left for us- how lovely. Garden amazing. Food amazing. This was the nicest place we stayed in on our trip including a five star lodge that cost us about 10 times as much. I totally recommend. Lovely safe feel to town too and restaurants and bars all in short walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain.

    We had a one night stay at 7 church guesthouse and were really flashed from this location and the lovely hosts Mike and May. Everything was fine, the accomodation, the garden and of course the breakfast. May gave a lot of recommendations which we have followed. Montagu is such a lovely place. We definately will come back and can recommend a stay at this guest house.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    May and Mike were probably the best hosts I've had the chance to meet. From check-in to check-out, they showed great care down to all details. The room, very recently renovated, was very comfortable, and the breakfast served in the patio was a delightful start for each day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    A small guesthouse that made you interact with the other few guests in a nice way! Lovely breakfast in the garden!! Unfortunately we only had a stop-over, could have spent more time in the area to explore and relax!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Welcoming and informative. Clean, roomy and relaxed. Perfect location to explore Montagu on foot. Very accommodating and both us and the kids loved it. Even great wifi coverage.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like walking across the grass to our room in the dark. A path would be good.

    It was well appointed for walking to the restaurant in the evening and we didn't feel threatened.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spacious room in the back of the wonderful garden. The main building remembers at an old British cottage. Mike the host is very very helpful and came up with useful hints.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Elevated Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    May and Mike are very nice hosts - and assisted whatever was needed. The recommended restaurant was great. We had the spacious Garden View Suite with a great veranda with a fantastic surrounding view. The garden is lovely and the little pool helps to cool down. The hot and cold breakfast is delicious and you get whatever you want - eggs mushrooms bacon beans tomatoes omelettes. We came to Montagu for climbing and we can highly recommend Montagu Climbing. We climbed with Justin who is a fantastic guide and he knows the whole area. The shirts are great as well :-)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location in quiet road in centre of town. Very friendly owners - nothing too much trouble. We were provided with maps with highlighter pens showing the main attractions. Extensive garden includes area near the main house under vines where full breakfast was served.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything except that we didn't have enough time to enjoy the use of their pool - but that was our problem not theirs!

    The owners were very friendly and welcoming. They went out of their way to be helpful. The room was very comfortable and the grounds were beautiful. Great location right in the centre of town to explore and handy for restaurants etc.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gardens bring in many birds all of whom start singing at various volumes with the sun rise..

    Lovely breakfast. Lovely rooms set in well presented gardens. Good location. Mike and Kay were great hosts and made us feel very welcome offering much advice on places to visit.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception was extrememly warm and friendly and the hosts were prepared to give interesting information on the town and its attractions. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We cant find any negatives

    May and Mike are amazing hosts. They go out of their way to make sure your stay is good.The rooms are very big,and beds extremely comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No comment.

    A complimentary glass of muscadet on arrival. Mike was a most convivial host and helpful with local hints for eating out. Cottage type room in grounds was delightful and breakfast sumptious. Quiet location in a safe area of Montagu.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3/4 beds

    Friendly hosts and very accommodating. Cute dogs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and well kept

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Private Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Extremely friendly staff and owners makes you feel right at home. Breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was what we wanted with large bed quality linen and a separate small lounge area and large bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful, enchanting garden. Friendly hosts Went the extra mile.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful location - the garden is amazing - We loved it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mike and may make you so welcome ,and the whole experience was excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slight hike to room and breakfast service a little slow.

    Great Location in centre of town. Safe parking. Quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delightful place to stay. Charming, helpful owners. Comfortable room with great attention to detail. Hope to go back there sometime.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elevated Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small sun bathing area

    The owners

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice gardens, very spacious room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place and owners were great and we will be back one day Meantime many thanks for a great welcome and stay Richard H Bedford ex Marple!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    can't think of anything

    Interesting guests, very helpful patron Mike, Lovely garden

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful garden Nice room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NothingQ

    Walking distance from everywhere Beautiful gardens Friendly owners Nice breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent. Can recommend to anyone. Enjoyed the garden and piecefull envirenment

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful hosts. We had a great stay!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool and pool area were pretty small.

    Very nice and friendly personnel, beautiful rooms, garden etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Elevated Garden Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Central, great hosts

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent - Home from home

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, central and amazingly beautiful. It was like a magical fairyland. The hosts were very friendly and made you feel at home.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The special map drawn for us to show us the scenic route to Cape Town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room furnishings

    Nice welcome, good hosts, good breakfast, great garden

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful and friendly owner with lots of good tips for things to do and places to eat

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice host with good help and stories.....Beautiful large garden with things to explore, our room was also spacious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Elevated Garden Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big room with huge terrace, beautiful gardens and great breakfast. Very helpful and engaged hosts

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    very nice room, new and beautiful bathroom, very nice hosts, breakfast in the garden

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Private Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My first ever 10 score. Amazing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Elevated Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    May & Mike are undoubtedly the best host we've ever met. Loving people, very helpful and easy to communicate with.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price

    May & Mike very sweet! Property is quaint & comely.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rates was a little high in comparison to Montagu Vines where the rest of the group stayed.

    Lovely hospitality by the owners (very sweet)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mike en May: lovely hosts; very nice room and beautiful garden

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a comfortable chair outside room

    Owners couldn't do more to be helpful and friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ontbijt was goed. De kamers waren ruim. Ligt leuk in een tuin.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elevated Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The hosts were really friendly and had a wealth of information about the area. They couldn't do enough for us. Amazing accommodation.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great room, great welcome - a perfect base for visiting Montagu.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very central location.near shops and restaurants. Friendly owners, who provided help and advice about what to do in the area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Fantastic landlady

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfekt B&B / Thanks so much!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly hosts. Great breakfast. The backyard garden and pond area were very enjoyable to explore.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nicely decorated large room. Large garden to walk around and sit to relax. Very friendly and helpful owners.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road works nearby

    Great location. Near walking distance a great variety of restaurants. Friendly & helpful owners.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Elevated Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming well furnished Beautiful gardens Comfortable Great hot water supply lovely breakfast excellent staff attentive

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and welcoming hosts. Great breakfast. Lovely town- Victorian houses, masses of ibis, lovers walk and good restaurants

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price & wifi

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quirky, very cosy and still retaining an African feel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good breakfast and very helpful travel advice

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: