Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Tours & Activities Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. Western Cape B&B and inn reviews
  4. Oudtshoorn B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse

Reviews of 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse

88 Baron van Reede Street, 6625 Oudtshoorn, South Africa

#2 of 55 B&Bs and Inns in Oudtshoorn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 357 hotel reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    10

  • Value for money

    9.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2019

    9.6
    Great hospitality and warm-hearted hosts, many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Barn Loft Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hospitality and warm-hearted hosts, many recommendations what to do in Oudshoorn. They also booked a table for us for dinner in one of the restaurants near by. Fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2019

    10
    An oasis in the middle of the (semi) desert!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. If I was being picky I think the shower could have been a little more powerful.

    This is a family run business and Mum, Dad and daughter were a delight. Very good info given on check in of places of interest and restaurants. They reserved a table for us at a local restaurant - it was wonderful. Bed very comfortable and aur con room had a fridge with honesty bar. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2019

    10
    An excellent place in Oudtshoorn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An amazing place to stay for exploring the Oudthoorn area. It is located close to the centre and many restaurants around. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with all equipment you need. The hosting couple was wonderful and very serviceminded. A place that we warmly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2019

    9.6
    The hosts were magnificent - very welcoming and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts were magnificent - very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. The room was very clean and comfortable and it was great to have a cooked breakfast included.

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2019

    10
    A fantastic place to stay for our visit to Oudtshoorn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Barn Loft Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - the guest house was superb in every direction - can't think of any way to improve

    What a stunning guest house. Everything about this place was fantastic. The room was spacious,very clean and comfortable - also very well equipped. The breakfast was excellent - very tasty and plentiful with a great choice. The location was excellent with good restaurants in easy walking distance from the guest house. Very secure parking at the side and rear or the property. The hosts, Christopher and Martha were a very kind, considerate and extremely helpful couple - thanks for a truly great stay guys!

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2019

    10
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Barn Loft Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Magda and Christo, the owner of this guesthouse are really friendly and helpfully people. The guesthouse itself was wonderfull, silent and clean. Fresh cooked breakfast and buffet is available. If we ever come back to oudtshoorn, we will stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2019

    10
    Very convenient and in close proximity to various historical sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was very happy

    Very comfortable room nice and Quiet. It was in easy walking distance of a number of lovely restaurants. Christo and Magda were delightful hosts and proved helpful in providing information on the history of both the origins of the name of their establishment and the history of Oudtshoorn. This was important as i was on a trip to study the routes of my ancestors as they travelled through these parts

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2019

    10
    Friendly, welcoming hosts, comfy, cosy room, super...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing apart from having to leave

    Friendly, welcoming hosts, comfy, cosy room, super breakfast. Just wish we were able to stay longer. Will be back!

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2019

    10
    Magda and Christo were the perfect hosts with a warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Magda and Christo were the perfect hosts with a warm welcome. They gave us great information about the area and what to see and do. The room was clean and comfortable and had a supply of drinks including local wine, if you wanted to have any at a reasonable price. The breakfast was delicious especially Magda’s homemade granola. I would highly recommend this guesthouse.

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2019

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The owners are lovely people who take the time to get to know their guests and nothing is too much trouble. We would highly recommend!

    Stayed in September 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2019

    10
    Best Guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just that the room they showed on the booking app wasn't the same as the one we were staying in

    That there was privacy the owners treated you with respect and that its very close to town

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2019

    10
    Everything was amazing - comfortable, clean and nice room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Barn Loft Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say about it.

    Everything was amazing - comfortable, clean and nice room, very nice hosts, delicious breakfast. Outstanding stay! Would definitely come back if ever in Oudtshoorn again

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2019

    10
    Magda and Christa were the consummate hosts, making me feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Barn Loft Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Magda and Christa were the consummate hosts, making me feel very welcome and going above and beyond in making sure I made the very most of my stay in not just Oudsthoorn, but South Africa as a whole. The room was lovely and clean and had everything I needed. The communal areas are spacious and welcoming. Magda’s dinner recommendation was perfect and I’m glad she booked a table for me; not something i ever do myself when travelling!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2019

    10
    Fantastic !!!! Would recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Everything about room location cleanliness , size etc. Our hosts Christo and Magda were both fantastic nothing was too much for them went out of their way to make it a memorable stay. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2019

    9.2
    Food, accommodation and especially the hosts were great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food, accommodation and especially the hosts were great! Very welcoming & accommodating! Convenient location close to the city center. Good value for money!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2019

    10
    Fabulous and friendly. Super guesthouse. Just sorry to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Only wish we could have stayed longer.

    The owners were fabulous and so friendly. Felt at home straight away. The room was great, the pool area was good, the recommendations for eating out were excellent . nostalgia was the name of the restaurant, just up the road walking distance away, which was super and food was delicious and so cheap. The breakfast provided was excellent. We even had our own gluten free bread which owners had made specially for us. Definitely would recommend and if we are in the area would definitely stay at again, without question.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2019

    10
    Best choice in Oudtshoorn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our hosts Christo and Magda are very friedly. They helped us to plan our activities in Oudtshoorn. Thanks a lot for that! The house is really nice and breakfast was delicious and great!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2019

    9.6
    Great Guesthouse with Super Service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Owners, Magda and Christo, were a lovely couple who couldn't do enough for you, to ensure your stay was enjoyable. Sadly we only had 1 night in Oudtshoorn to sample the area but have vowed to return.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2019

    10
    Friendly hosts - centrally situated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms in the stable are a little bit small - therefore they are cheaper. If you like more space book the rooms with verandah.

    Excellent hosts. Zoe und Huw try to help wherever they can. The best restaurants of Oudtshoorn are just next door.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2019

    10
    Unbelievable hospitality. The owners and staff makes this guesthouse great!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The owner and staff went the extra mile on all terrains of hospitality!! Even made me food to take on the road after a marathon and not being able to attend breakfast!!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2019

    10
    A home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Zoë en Huw are the most warm and helpful hosts one can imagine. They will do their utmost to make your stay unforgetable. Really nothing is to much. The rooms are clean, spacious and equipped with comfy beds, a refrigirator and good shower. The breakfast served was outstanding with cerials, freshly made muffins, fresh fruits and eggs of your choice. The B&B is located in the centre of Oudtshoorn and surrounded by restaurants within walking distance. Zoë en Huw are always willing to make arrangements for diners if required. Highly recommended without any doubt.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2019

    10
    Great location close to restaurants, nice room, good breakfast, friendly hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything

    Zoe and Huw are very hospitable and generous hosts. They provided restaurant suggestions and made bookings for us, also some good suggestions on what to see and do in the area. Good breakfast too.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2019

    8.3
    Zoë and Huw are the best hosts ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Het is basic maar dat klopt bij de prijs.

    Zoë and Huw are the best hosts ever! Welcoming, full of tips about the area and funny. Wish every guesthouse had this couple to run it!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2019

    10
    Wonderful experience - extremely helpful, kind hosts;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful experience - extremely helpful, kind hosts; comfortable and well equipped room; delicious, rich breakfast on a nice terrace; central and safe location. The owners, Zoe and Huw were wonderful from the moment of our booking in sharing great ideas, suggestions, driving directions which helped us enjoy and experience the area. The effort is highly appreciated, we are grateful for the short yet memorable time we spent at their guesthouse, thank you!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2019

    9.6
    Amazing Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of any way it could have been better.

    This was our favourite stay in the country! Such amazingly friendly hosts, whom we could have chatted with for ages. They made our stay extra special and are super knowledgeable about the area. Breakfast was great; especially the homemade goodies. We were sad that our stay was so short! Thanks so much!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2019

    10
    Loved the feel of welcome during my stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small potential saftey issue regarding the shower and the water saving option that they are using, but have already mentioned to the owners before I left.

    Loved the feel of welcome during my stay. Definitely will go back. Also high recommendation on the baked breakfast tartlets and home made plum jam. Yum!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2019

    10
    Very comfortable centrally located B&B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Barn Loft Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like

    Very comfortable centrally located B&B. Very helpful, informative owners.plus it's right near excellent restaurant La Nostalgie

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2019

    10
    We received more than what we bargained for and were pleasantly surprised by the hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Barn Loft Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not change anything even if I wanted to as everything was absolutely fabulous. Everything was in place and no mistakes could be identified.

    Our hosts was warm and very welcoming and accommodating. We were treated like royalty from the minute we stepped in. We felt at home and the styling and layout of the house was wonderful and very inviting.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2019

    10
    It was a really great stay and the staff were super friendly and helpful. I would do it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a cold shower in the morning as there was no hot water. I'm sure it was just a glitch somewhere but there isn't anything else to complain about.

    The breakfast provided was amazing! We planned on leaving early and the staff prepared a great morning snack that we were able to take on the road with us. Staff were friendly and helpful. Everything was extremely well kept and well run.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2019

    10
    Best Host ever! Lovely room with all comfort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were unbelievable friendly! Took lots of time to introduce appartment and things to do around. Definitely recommendable place to stay! Congrats and THANKS to H&Z!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    8.8
    Nice place with a special fruit salad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was rather dark and not very spacious.

    We had here the best fruit salad ever! Anyway, the breakfast was absolutely fabulous (especially the special scrambled egg, amazing!).

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2018

    10
    Very beautiful place in Outdshoorn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Barn Loft Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very beautiful place in Outdshoorn. But the best is the couple who owns this place. We got so many informations and advices what to do, that our two days were full. The breakfast was very nice and the owners were always very nice and funny. Thank you a lot !!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2018

    10
    Fabulous guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous guesthouse. The welcome of the property owners Zoë & Huw are very friendly. Zoë made several helpful suggestions and restaurant bookings. Very good breakfast. The guest house is good located and is an easy walk into town.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    10
    Great set up in a very central place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great set up in a very central place. Very comfortable rooms, lovely breakfast all freshly cooked on the terrace and very helpful owners. They advised on things to do, which restaurants to visit and did the bookings for us. Offered drinks by the pool...all little touches of service were much appreciated. Great towel art on our bed! Safe parking.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2018

    9.6
    Zoey and Huw are very welcoming, enthusiastic and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Zoey and Huw are very welcoming, enthusiastic and helpful hosts, who look on the bright side of all situations. We had a very enjoyable time in their very comfortable accommodation.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2018

    9.6
    Perfect little hide away with the friendliest of hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Barn Loft Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect little hide away with the friendliest of hosts. We learnt a lot of background information and got great tips for excurtions from the hosts Zoe and Hugh. Breakfast was veeeery delicious.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2018

    9.2
    Overall excellent. I recommend the venue and would return any time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A light above the wash basin would help for shaving purposes, as natural light is behind one's head (room 8).

    Very welcoming and informative owners

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2018

    9.6
    + very good sense of humour ;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    + very good sense of humour ;-) + located at main street + but rooms are quite enough + walking distance to many restaurants Keep in going like this! I will come back!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2018

    9.6
    Friendly owner, wife and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very compact and we were booked into a room equipped for disabled people. Internet a touch cranky.

    Friendly owner, wife and staff. Really good breakfast and lots of information about activities in the area.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2018

    10
    Stay here it’s lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better.

    Fabulous guesthouse. The room was lovely, comfortable and very well equipped. Breakfast was delicious. Well situated in town in walking distance to restaurants and shops.Huw and Zoe are great hosts and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. They gave us plenty of information about the local area which helped us make the most of our stay. We will happily recommend staying here.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    10
    Got a free upgrade to bigger room :)!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Barn Loft Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got a free upgrade to bigger room :)! So welcoming and outstanding friendly owners. Helped us so much with our trip plans. Just a perfect place to stay! Breakfast also very good!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    10
    The passion of the owners is reflected in the quality of the experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Barn Loft Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The proprietors were superb, every traveller's requirements thought of and attended to. Great advice re. local attractions. Good breakfast choices.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2018

    9.2
    Top marks to Zoe and Huw
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome was friendly and the information provided really helpful. Huw made several helpful suggestions and bookings. He and Zoe were both very friendly and created a really good atmosphere. The guest house is an easy walk into town which is good for bars and restaurants. And they gave us cheery goodbye. All much appreciated.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    Amazing and recommend to anyone visiting the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot fault the place, everything was great.

    Food was fab Hosts were amazing, friendly and just so great to be around, always making you feel welcome Room was comfortable and private. Central and in walking distance from town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    We really appreciated to stay one night at this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Barn Loft Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really appreciated to stay one night at this place. We were upgraded in a better room. The owners were very available and nice. They gave us very good advices about the area, the things to do and the restaurants. We recommend without any hesitation.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Very comfortable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    We liked the host and hostess and the friendly way they received us. We were very impressed at the cleanliness of such a big guest house. Breakfast was excellent and our room very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    The perfect place to break up our long journey from Cape Town to Addo, hosted by the perfect hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike about this place. The location is perfect for exploring the surrounding area & attractions and you're also in easy walking distance of some amazing restaurants. The rooms & facilities are first class & spotlessly clean. The breakfast is not suitable for those on a diet, it's amazing! The thing that really sets this apart from all the other places we have stayed is the hosts. They go above and beyond what is expected and nothing is too much trouble. They are your hosts, your tour guides and you feel like you've known them for years after just half an hour. This was the perfect place to break up our journey between Cape Town and Addo and I would happily stop there again.....in fact we joked earlier today that we might call in on our way back to CT and we only left 3 days ago!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Great location in Oudtshoon should have booked two nights here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely warm welcome, spacious and stylish room and shower room. Well stocked mini bar and sunny terrace to enjoy a sundowner soon after arrival. Excellent choice of breakfast foods and good restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Super friendly and helpful hosts, great location, amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Barn Loft Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly and helpful hosts, great location, amazing breakfast, comfy rooms, safe neighborhood, great recommendations on restaurants from the hosts. Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Huw and Zoë are wonderful hosts, humorous, down-to-earth and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Barn Loft Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Huw and Zoë are wonderful hosts, humorous, down-to-earth and we felt very welcomed. The room was comfortable, the breakfast exceptional with homemade jam, fresh fruits and lots of other good food served in a stylish room. They helped us planing our trip with lots of good suggestions. We will definitely come back one day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts are lovely and friendly, they had a lot of recommendations what to do in Oudtshoorn and around. Our room was big, comfy and had it‘s own terrace. The breakfast was tasty and a lot to choose from, even with homemade jam and cake. It was a wonderful stay. We definitely would come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Expectations exceeded
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no boiled cabbage on the menu :-)

    Beds where comfortable, shower pressure was strong and breakfast was delicious. The hosts were very friendly and hospitable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    The only place to stay in Ostrich Town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What's not to like? Huw and Zoe go the extra mile to make you welcome and ensure that your itinerary is fine tuned. They were marvellous hosts and run a terrific guest house - look no further than number 88.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    The owners are super friendly and even accommodated our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners are super friendly and even accommodated our dietary restrictions. They helped us plan our day giving useful tips and discount vouchers. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Excellent stopover on Oudtshoorn
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    My daughter and boyfriend stayed here last year and highly recommended it so we booked this year. We were greeted by Huw and Zoey who gave us a warm welcome and drink. Huw explained all about the best places to visit and restaurants to eat in - that was extremely useful. We took his advice to follow the Swartberg pass loop, back via Meiringspoorr waterfall, which was excellent. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast was delicious and we really appreciated the homemade pastries, muffins and jams. Would definitely recommend to others and will stay again if in the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Excellent hosts make all the difference - felt welcome immediately and would return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was just what we were looking for .

    Welcome drink on arrival and hosts took time to explain the area,local points of interest and good places to stop on our onward journey . Milk shakes and lunch at Barrydale , Diesel and Creme, was great and we would have passed by otherwise . Breakfast was exceptional - best scrambled eggs and personal touches of home made muffins, pastries and jams . Hosts make you feel welcome immediately and it is like a home from home. Would definitely return .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Should be everyone's base for seeing the Klein Karoo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that we can think of.

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, albeit short, but as usual Zoe and Huw standards never waiver. Proximity to excellent restaurants, comfort and ease of access means we will be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Best B&B in South Africa
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Barn Loft Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a great place to be! Unfortunately we only spent one night in this beautiful B&B with the lovely hosts. We would have loved to stay mich longer but had to leave. All prepared with love, especially the breakfast with handmade marmelade and muffins.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Great location at a great place! We come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Barn Loft Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything perfect

    Zoe and Huw are great hosts. We felt welcome from the very beginning. The room and breakfast was one of the best on our whole tour. We regret that we didnt stay longer. Thank you for the great stay and all the very inspiring conversations!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    We had a great time at 88 Baron!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a great time at 88 Baron! The room was nice and beautiful. The owners were really friendly and helpful. The facilities are nice and clean, breakfast was really good, nice pool and the location is perfect with some excellent restaurants on walking distance. Most definitely recommend this place!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Great!!!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing whatsoever

    During my 2.5 week's stay in South Africa I've been in places that were at least good, but I'm too lazy to write a review about every one of them, so I chose the best, and that was the 88. When you come in you directly feel welcomed by Zoë and Huw, a great couple, who are friendly, helpful, informative and flexible in an extraordinary way. And they're a big laugh too! The rest of the staff is really nice too. For the quality they offer the price is very cheap. Had a wonderful stay!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    We will definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Very happy.

    The owners are very friendly and incredibly helpful, the bedrooms are extremely comfortable, we loved the double sinks and the swimming pool. The location is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic value for money and perfectly placed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huw was a great host. Very helpful with good maps and advice. The guesthouse was perfectly placed a stones throw from the shops and restaurants. Breakfast was good and whilst our room wasn’t the largest we stayed in on our holiday to South Africa, it had everything we needed and it was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    All we wanted and more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the attention to detail. Breakfast went above and beyond expectations. Can recommend the ostrich sausage. We were made to feel very welcome by Huw.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Good for town centre and restaurants and owner so helpful and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps plastic glasses provided by pool side as glass is rightly so not permitted in pool area .

    Owner was so pleasant and helpful. He was always willing to suggest things to improve you day to day itinerary.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    The only place to stay in Oudtshoorn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    What is not to like! Huw is a great host. The room was fabulous! Clean, well equipped, multiplugs for charging phones, etc., great breakfast, close to restaurants. Beautiful place to stay!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Lovely place a short stroll from 2 good restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was raining!

    We had to leave too early to stay for breakfast. Huw kindly provided us with a breakfast tray which was great - delicious granola, fresh milk, yoghurts, juice and real coffee. Much appreciated. Thanks also for the shoe shop tip.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Overall we enjoyed staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Barn Loft Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hue and Zoe are super helpful. We had to leave before 5am and they provided a huge breakfast tray for us. The room was clean, the beds comfy. There is an attention to detail here that adds value, little things like they had put the aircon on before we arrived to ensure the room was cool and there are little vanity kits in the bathroom. The location is handy on the Main Street and parking is secure at the back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    Great location, wonderful host and great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. Parking was a little bit tight, but no big deal. Best to back into the spots if you have bikes so you can get out in the morning. I am sure it's not normally an issue - MTB'ing seems to attract large SUV's!

    Great location (esp for doing the Attakwas Extreme MTB race or the 36One MTB Challenge) and close to restaurants, etc. Hugh is a very personable, attentive host. While a full-on breakfast is included, for those doing early morning races, Hugh will prepare a breakfast tray the night before (French press coffee, instant oats, granola, banana, 2x yoghurts, milk, juice and more I am probably forgetting - I didn't finish it all!). Would definitely be at the top of my shortlist for my next stay in Oudtshoorn.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Added to My Favourite Places List
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything! The owners could not have been friendlier and they provided every extra to make our stay most enjoyable. If we return to Oudtshoorn it will definitely be to here

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    A great stay in the heart of Oudtshoorn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zoë and Huw are the most welcoming of hosts. They are very considerate and anticipated our needs accommodating to our specific dietary restrictions as well. In addition, the room was clean; there was no noise; the pool was refreshing. All round great experience. We very much recommend this place for anyone looking for accommodation in Oudtshoorn!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    We recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a quiet and comfortable accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Everything was just fine!

    We had a wonderful stay at the 88 Baron Van Reede Guesthouse. Zoe and Hugh are the perfect hosts. Since they live next door to the guesthouse they run their B&B themselves without relying too much on outside help. This allows them to offer a quality service in all respects. The rooms are comfortable and have everything one could wish for. Zoe and Hugh know the area very well, and thus made suggestions for places to visit and restaurants to go to. All very good suggestions! And the breakfast is fabulous. We will certainly stay again at 88 Baron van Reede, but then for a longer period of time.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.8
    Great helpful staff nothing was too much trouble
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited fine dining and things to do without transport.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful with organising and booking trips for us. Within our group of 4 it was one persons birthday and they helped tremendously to make it very special. Location-whilst the location as a town offers very little the place has a location which is good for onward travel and things to do in the vicinity.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Friendly owmers with quaint property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The owners were very friendly and helpful and made recommendation on things to do locally and provided us with a discount at these amenities. Breakfast was excellent and the property was excellent value for money and very well presented.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic hosts who were so great with information on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Barn Loft Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic hosts who were so great with information on restaurants and what to do in the area. We only had one night and that was too little, we could easily have done a couple of nights more. Both to see more of the city but also for the service at the B&B.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: