1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. Western Cape B&B and inn reviews
  4. Oudtshoorn B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse

Reviews of 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse

88 Baron van Reede Street, 6625 Oudtshoorn, South Africa

#2 of 40 B&Bs and Inns in Oudtshoorn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 189 hotel reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    10.0

  • Value for money

    9.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2021

    10
    A warm welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing welcome from the owner, beautiful building and room in the middle of the town. I really recommend this place.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    good central accommodation and very friendly hosts

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2021

    10
    Home away from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Magda welcomed us to home away from home!! Every minor detail was covered from the comfort and cleanliness of the apartment to the excellent breakfast spread with homemade jams!!

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2021

    10
    Memorable. Fabulous accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like.

    Beautifully decorated room with patio, friendly owners and exceptional breakfast. Centrally located and within walking distance to the town.

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2021

    10
    Sattisfied traveller
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I didn't liked. Everything was jut right.

    All the facilities that are available. The location is central

    Stayed in February 2021

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent

    Stayed in January 2021

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2020

    10
    I wish I could stay a few more days....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing... It was a lovely Stay.

    Owner-run with meticulous attention to detail. Super friendly hosts that were welcoming and sweet. Rooms are spacious and private and so peaceful.

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2020

    10
    Very pleasant place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night

    Owners went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasant stay Owners recommendation of where to dine

    Stayed in September 2020

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything I did not like.

    Super clean, neat and the bed was extremely good. Nice surroundings and the little stoep in front of our unit is lovely. Our hosts were awesome.

    Stayed in September 2020

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2020

    9.0
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place to stay with excellent hosts. We will always stay there if in Oudsthoorn

    Stayed in September 2020

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2020

    10
    It is a lovely place to discover the mondial capital of ostriches
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hosts, very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and varied. The room was big and nice decorated. It is in walking distance from restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower cubical and area needing updating in room 1

    Exceptionally friendly and accommodating owners and staff. Plenty of advice given w.r.t. places to visit, eat.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2020

    10
    It was like home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Es gibt nichts zu beanstanden.

    Dear Marta, dear Christo, thanks again for letting us experience you hospitality! For the recommendation of the day trip over Swartberg Pass the off-road shortcut and the Drink at the waterhole in that Loge on the way back to your guest house. Everything was excellent. We can only recommend you and maybe be your guests again sometime, we would surly love to.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2020

    10
    One nighter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we didn’t like.

    Great position, lovely accommodation and great hosts.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2020

    10
    We highly recommend 88BvR.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n.a.

    We stayed 2 nights at 88BvR and enjoyed Magda and Christo’s extraordinary service. A wonderful peaceful place! We very much appreciated the helpful advises and support for our ongoing trip.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpfulness and friendliness of the owners

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2020

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Barn Loft Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to complain about!

    Everything, we enjoyed every day. The proprietors Christo and Magda were terrific.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Exceptional hosts. Christo and Magda were so helpful and friendly. Truly brilliant!!

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2020

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, comfortable bedroom, well run family business and a wonderful welcome from Clarissa. Highly recommended

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We just had one night, but we had great stay there! The hosts are so nice & welcoming! It was the warm & friendly environment that we loved! We had a great stay and the breakfast was delicious 🙂

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Barn Loft Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Martha and Christo were the most wonderful welcoming hosts. They really made our stay special.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We have stayed here before and always had a lovely time. Christo and Magda, the new owners are great hosts,making everyone fell wellcome. We will be back

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice B&B, run by the most friendly and helpful host family ever! We would definitely come back!

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2020

    10
    Could not fault it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely swimming pool- our room opened onto it. Lots of lovely touches that made our visit so comfortable. Hairdryer, tea making stuff, toiletries, mossie spray, plenty of towels. The owners and their daughter are amazing. Honestly have never met such helpful and attentive hosts.

    Stayed in February 2020

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: