1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. Western Cape B&B and inn reviews
  4. Oudtshoorn B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse

Reviews of 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse

88 Baron van Reede Street, 6625 Oudtshoorn, South Africa

#2 of 43 B&Bs and Inns in Oudtshoorn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 196 hotel reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    10.0

  • Value for money

    9.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2021

    9.0
    Great location to explore Oudtshoorn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room with enclosed patio (very firm bed). Welcoming and helpful hosts who gave superb advice about what to see in and around Oudtshoorn. Good breakfast included.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2021

    10
    The Gem of Oudtshoorn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Room was nicely furnished and comfortable. We like the Kingsize bed, instead of most place's Double beds. The owners were hand-on, very friendly and helpful. Breakfast made by the owner, and was first class!

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2021

    10
    I’m definitely recommending the accommodation to my friends and colleagues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    I liked everything about the place, the owner was dead friendly and willing to help at any given time, she kept on checking on me if I’m safe on the road since I was doing late check-in. The husband made us a mouthwatering breakfast with a dash of joy and fun. The staff was on point and flexible to assist us.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2021

    9.0
    A pleasant experience, value for money and generous hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Real value for money, friendly and engaging hosts. The attention to detail was striking, The place is neat and tidy. I recommend this place without any hesitation.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2021

    10
    A warm welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing welcome from the owner, beautiful building and room in the middle of the town. I really recommend this place.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    good central accommodation and very friendly hosts

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2021

    10
    Home away from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Magda welcomed us to home away from home!! Every minor detail was covered from the comfort and cleanliness of the apartment to the excellent breakfast spread with homemade jams!!

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2021

    10
    Memorable. Fabulous accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like.

    Beautifully decorated room with patio, friendly owners and exceptional breakfast. Centrally located and within walking distance to the town.

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2021

    10
    Sattisfied traveller
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I didn't liked. Everything was jut right.

    All the facilities that are available. The location is central

    Stayed in February 2021

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent

    Stayed in January 2021

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2020

    10
    I wish I could stay a few more days....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing... It was a lovely Stay.

    Owner-run with meticulous attention to detail. Super friendly hosts that were welcoming and sweet. Rooms are spacious and private and so peaceful.

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2020

    10
    Very pleasant place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night

    Owners went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasant stay Owners recommendation of where to dine

    Stayed in September 2020

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything I did not like.

    Super clean, neat and the bed was extremely good. Nice surroundings and the little stoep in front of our unit is lovely. Our hosts were awesome.

    Stayed in September 2020

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2020

    9.0
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place to stay with excellent hosts. We will always stay there if in Oudsthoorn

    Stayed in September 2020

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2020

    10
    It is a lovely place to discover the mondial capital of ostriches
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hosts, very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and varied. The room was big and nice decorated. It is in walking distance from restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower cubical and area needing updating in room 1

    Exceptionally friendly and accommodating owners and staff. Plenty of advice given w.r.t. places to visit, eat.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2020

    10
    It was like home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Es gibt nichts zu beanstanden.

    Dear Marta, dear Christo, thanks again for letting us experience you hospitality! For the recommendation of the day trip over Swartberg Pass the off-road shortcut and the Drink at the waterhole in that Loge on the way back to your guest house. Everything was excellent. We can only recommend you and maybe be your guests again sometime, we would surly love to.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2020

    10
    One nighter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we didn’t like.

    Great position, lovely accommodation and great hosts.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2020

    10
    We highly recommend 88BvR.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n.a.

    We stayed 2 nights at 88BvR and enjoyed Magda and Christo’s extraordinary service. A wonderful peaceful place! We very much appreciated the helpful advises and support for our ongoing trip.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpfulness and friendliness of the owners

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2020

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Barn Loft Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to complain about!

    Everything, we enjoyed every day. The proprietors Christo and Magda were terrific.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Exceptional hosts. Christo and Magda were so helpful and friendly. Truly brilliant!!

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2020

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, comfortable bedroom, well run family business and a wonderful welcome from Clarissa. Highly recommended

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Verandah
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We just had one night, but we had great stay there! The hosts are so nice & welcoming! It was the warm & friendly environment that we loved! We had a great stay and the breakfast was delicious 🙂

    Stayed in February 2020

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: