Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of A Stone's Throw Accommodation 3 stars

9 Stones Hill, Route 67, Port Alfred Road, 6140 Grahamstown, South Africa

#10 of 17 B&Bs and Inns in Grahamstown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 50 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner contacted us at least three times on our way - we explained we were on a road trip so not sure but would be there late afternoon. Her son was having his matric dance that night so she ushered us in and basically threw the keys at us. We were under the impression the venue was in town - A Stones throw it is not - about 6 ks outside - not walking distance and no restaurants in the vicinity. While the accommodation was clean - facilities were non existent - only a chair outside the room - if it rained!?- nowhere to sit other than on the bed. We were under the impression it was B & B but rudely told to check what we had booked - they do not cook. All in All a very disappointing stay - would not recommend at all!

    NOT A LOT

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi password promised via SMS ....not received Filter coffee offered but no coffee in the room Thought I booked b&b but no breakfast was told to stop off on the road ! Towels very small

    Room decoration

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very cold in the rooms and the toilet doesn't have a window.

    I liked the bed, it was nice and big and very comfortable. The cleanliness of the space was superb as well. Then moving outside, the view was just breathtaking...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower is in the room and has only glass wall.

    Very friendly owner. We got an WhatApp-Message and an E-Mail with further information how to find the accommondation. There is a wonderful terrace in front of the room. The room was clean with a modern design. The distance to Grahamstown is about 2.5-3 Km. We would book it again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Short drive to Grahamstown where there were places to eat. We left our coat in the wardrobe & she kindly sent it on to our next long term stop. Many thanks it arrived no problems. On our way to Port Elizabeth we visited the Addo Elephant NP, excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The power went off but they run the generator

    We slept like logs with door open Very peaceful and safe Perfect distance from town TV and power to charge phones provided 24/7

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely no complaints.

    The facility is in a beautiful location. The owner was very friendly. Everything is neat and clean and well maintained. Will definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place gets zero for hospitality. The owners or managers were not there to greet us as their guests. Sonela, who greeted us and showed us to our rooms is still young and could use a bit of more guidance, someone a little senior to assist him Breakfast was not good and there was confusion as to whether we needed breakfast or not Grahamstown was hot during our trip, yet the floors in our room were heated. There was also no air conditioning which made the room uncomfortable Overall not happy with our stay at this bed and breakfast. They need to do better

    The location was beautiful and the rooms were clean and spacious

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin with Veranda
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were perfectly happy. It was really tiny but had all we needed for a one night stopover.

    It smelled so beautiful inside. The top section which asked what type of traveler I am doesn't give the option. I'm a 53 year old woman taking my 75 year old mother on a roadtrip as a birthday gift. So I completed "mature couple " but we're not a couples

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Cabin with Veranda
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was clean and comfortable and Suzanne went out of her way to accommodate special requests. And the view is unforgettable!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful setting. Crisp linen. Really comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The two beds can become a bit uncomfortable when sleeping with your partner.

    Gorgeous setting, the view down the valley was spectacular

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single basin in the bathroom was too small

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin with Veranda
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm water

    Good view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    appreciated the under floor heating and hot water bottles as Grahamstown is chilly in winter!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok. No negatives.

    Location. Ideally situation for scenic views.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Was absolutely amazing

    The facilities and the comfort, the way we were treated.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed very uncomfortable, scary electrical point above kitchen sink.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water. Luke warm only

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location to Grahamstown for work

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hospitality from Suzanne . Beds extremely comfortable .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not have a microwave oven.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful view, peace and quiet. We loved it

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky doors makes a noise when opening or closing

    Edith the caretaker very helpful.nice ambience

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The accomodation

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booked for Stones Throw (view, breakfast, pool etc) and got 30 Oak... Street instead - with none of the advertised features of Stones Throw - BUT the same price!

    Clean, friendly reception.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location and view is amazing.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The facility requires airconditioners for summer weather

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice quiet location, friendly owner and good recommendations for food and entertainment

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike

    Peace and quiet - just the Wind ;) Suits up just fine.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The property is easily accessible from main routs, but located in the countryside with beautiful views. The cabins give a feeling of total privacy.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    • Solo traveller

    It is quite and peaceful yet so close to town.Had every thing one could want and more.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Couple

    Load shedding ....Eishkom

    Tranquility in abundance

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: