Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aan de Oever Guesthouse 4 stars

21 Faure Street, 6740 Swellendam, South Africa

#3 of 32 B&Bs and Inns in Swellendam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 767 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Awesome people and natural beauty all around you
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Street View (Hadida)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 night - wish I booked for a week

    Everything was perfect Staff went the extra mile. Flowers on the beds Cookie when leaving But need to mention staff again - truly lovely people

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff who assisted us in booking horse riding. The breakfast was excellent and catered for all tastes. The room was comfortable and even though it became very cold we are provided extra blankets and electric blankets.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent. Will definitely come back here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room (Tinktinkie)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service was exceptional. Facilities was clean and the location was excellent. The staff was very friendly and helpful. And we were upgraded to a better room without requesting it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Aan de Oewer, a real gem!
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Street View (Hadida)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the breakfast with a good variety, hot delicious coffee. Lovely Gardens and surrounds. Very clean rooms and helpful friendly staff. Would love to come again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Thanks for upgrading us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thanks for upgrading us. We loved our stay. The location is wonderful right on the river, the rooms were beautifully decirated and breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    Friendly check-in staff who helped us with all our requests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Street View (Blue Crane)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small nuisance was a missing doormat as it was raining and we had to walk through the grass and mud to reach the room

    Friendly check-in staff who helped us with all our requests. We very much appreciated the upgrade to a large room with kitchen. The accommodation has a good and safe location in Swellendam next to a little river. Just the basic style of the room is different to where we feel comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Street View (Blue Crane)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful place, lovely friendly staff - as they were quiet that week we were upgraded to a fabulous room. Nice touch: two mini-muffins to take away for the journey home. Would definitely go again and recommend to others.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Almost heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed one night but can only recommend this place, very warm welcome of the lady and nice surroundings with a magnificent garden next to the water. And in the morning they had even washed our car !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Short and sweet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room (Tinktinkie)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely cozy and in a wonderful location! Walking distance to great restaurants and on a very safe street! We loved the stream and view of the mountains! While we only stayed one day because it was a quick stop on the garden route, we felt very relaxed and which we had more time! Thy provide a pretty good complimentary breakfast in the morning and a homemade cookie to take home with you after check out!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Everything is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Everything is great! Great room, very spacious, very comfortable bed, nice big bathroom. Breakfast was great! Very nice garden with a great view and a nice swimming pool. Good Wifi. Even the car was washed the next morning. We had a great stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Perfection with a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    There’s nothing not to love about the Aan de Oever guesthouse! The location by the river with a stunning mountain view. The secluded garden and pool area where you can relax from the endeavors of the day. The delicious breakfast. The super friendly staff. And the very tastefully designed interior of our room (stayed in the Hamerkop). We would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    A little bit of paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could have stayed longer.

    In a leafy lane on the banks of the river with the mountains in the background this was a perfect haven of tranquillity. Carol and Vera were very welcoming and even had a small booklet guiding you around the village. Breakfast was excellent and when we left we were given cookies for our journey and even the car was cleaned. An excellent stopping off place when travelling between Cape Town and the Garden Route.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Such nice hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Street View (Blue Crane)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such nice hosts! Very good location, few minutes walking from restaurants. Nice and clean room. Good breakfast. Would definitely recommend and come back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Super B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A delightful B&B. We had the smallest room, which we knew was small, but it was tasteful and had everything you needed. It also had the bonus of a small private outdoor seating area. My parents had a larger room and that was also very good. Excellent breakfast, great wifi, superb setting and extremely quiet location, but only 5 minutes from the best restaurants and cafes. The staff were super and couldn't have been more helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Nice hotel overall. Recommend this hotel for staying in Swellendam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Street View (Hadida)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We spent one night in Aan de Oever Guesthouse. The room was very stylish and comfortable. The hostess was extremely helpful and took an active part in solving our problem with our car. The breakfast was delicious and not as standard as in the other hotels. Nice garden facing the small river. We will definitely recommend this hotel for staying in Swellendam.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    At least a 4 star property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Street View (Hadida)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    An excellent property with all the amenities one could hope for including housecoats. They even washed our cars while we had breakfast! Small touches such as roses on the bed and in the bathroom as well as chocolates added to our enjoyment. The pool was the cleanest we encountered. Located just at the edge of town, it was a short walk to several excellent restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely B&B in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Street View (Hadida)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold plates at breakfast. Bright lights by bedroom window impacted sleep. Advised to property at time of departure and they advised will rectify.

    Serene Location. Very welcoming staff. Good choice of restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Great place with awesome view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Loft Room with Stairs (Bokmakiere)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    such an familiar and lovely place with direct view to the mountains. Great room!!! Thanks for your hospitality, Finnih. Your stuff did and does an amazing job!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful guest house!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Loft Room with Stairs (Barn Owl)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely beautiful and well thought out guest house with stunning views, lovely rooms and a great pool area. The hosts were fantastic, even offering to book a table at a nearby family friendly restaurant when we arrived. We were travelling with 2 infants and cots were provided in the room which had plenty space for all 4 of us. Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    A lovely peaceful place to stay in Swellendam and we'll definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room (Tinktinkie)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing negative to say.

    The owners were so warm and hospitable and immediately made you feel at home. Our room was very comfortable with a good verandah off it. The surroundings are lovely, peaceful and tranquil. We had an excellent breakfast. A big bonus was coming out in the morning to find that our car had been cleaned.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful Guest House!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room, staff, pool area and garden . Our grandchildren particularly liked the pool. Lovely breakfast, and a great service to find your car washed when leaving.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful super friendly guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Street View (Blue Crane)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that we didn't stay longer.

    This guest house exceeded our expectations, which was tricky as we were expecting it to be lovely but the owners were so friendly and helpful, and there were lovely little touches like products in the bathroom and robes, and also having our car washed. The setting is beautiful and sadly we only had a short amount of time here so only managed a quick dip in the pool and sit on the terrace but the pool area and gardens were lovely. The town itself is very small and surprisingly quiet but we loved the architecture and stopped back here again on our return journey back to Cape Town. Some lovely little restaurants and cafes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Good location to explore the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Street View (Hadida)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room ‘Hadida’ was very small and located between parking area and reception. Too many people passing by the room.

    The location. Walking distance to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful place, wonderful setting and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room (Tinktinkie)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have chosen a bigger room, had we realised how small Tinktinkle was going to be.

    Delicious breakfasts overlooking the pool, gardens and mountains. Restful place. Very helpful, cheerful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended for Swellendam stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    The reception was very friendly and enthusiastic. The rooms had a great information guide with recommended restaurants and current menu. I really liked the location which was in a leafy street close to town, very beautiful and tranquil gardens with nice seating area for relaxing stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    An absolute treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Stunning position,under the mountain. Good restaurants within easy access. Particularly enjoyed breakfast on the terrace overlooking swimming pools, a beautiful garden and the marvellous mountain. Hostess extremely welcoming with delightful touches in the room, little roses.Added extras for a special occasion. Thank you

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.5
    Went the extra mile to make our stay special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Loft Room with Stairs (Barn Owl)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have tried to find something to complain about, but we were very happy here

    We stayed in Barn Owl Loft which was a good big room with a free-standing bath and an enormous comfy bed. There was a nice seating area and small balcony. Really spacious and nicely appointed, although it was showing some slight signs of wear. The gardens and pool area are really nice, especially as it was v hot. The guesthouse is off the main road, so it was quiet. Swellendam is a nice safe town and we enjoyed walking to the excellent restaurants each evening. Excellent breakfasts and charming, helpful staff. Lovely bonus - the staff clean your car for you each morning and they give you lovely muffins for your onward journey. It’s that sort of place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Attention to detail great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Street View (Hadida)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to detail great. Good position. Lovely gardens and views of mountains. Easy to walk to restaurants Very relaxing. Would recommend as stayover on route or longer visit Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Street View (Hadida)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    It was a little oasis . A lovely property with a beautiful garden. Wish we could have stayed longer. They even cleaned our car and gave us muffins for our journey.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    Short but sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good I've rated slightly less for comfort but only because we had taken a smaller room

    Location was great. Swim pool lovely and I loved the honesty bar in room and on terrace

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    A swell place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Loft Room with Stairs (Bokmakiere)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing not to like about Aan de Oever Guesthouse.

    The location of Aan de Oever Guesthouse is ideal in easy walking distance of an heritage trail which the guesthouse have put together in a handy guide. The team at the guesthouse are very knowledgeable. The view from the verandha at breakfast was stunning. We looked out onto the Langeberg Mountains under a beautiful blue sky whilst loading up on a hearty brekkie for the day ahead. Our room was large, open plan but comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Excellent location, beautiful setting, perfect rest stop on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Street View (Blue Crane)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's perfect, would take the smallest room here in preference to any other accommodation in Swellendam

    Excellent location, beautiful setting, perfect rest stop on way back to Cape Town. In close proximity to some excellent restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    Gorgeous place to stay in Swellendam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The photos on their page look like they've been taken by a good professional photographer and the place might not be as nice as the photos make out. But it really is that nice. Place is well presented. The breakfast was good. Pool area was well maintained. They cleaned our car while we left it parked there overnight. It's only a short walk into town and they recommended a lovely restaurant to have dinner at. They also had bird feeders in the back yard where you could sit and watch small birds come to feed at.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    This was just superb place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    This was just superb place to stay. We had great time and leisure. Very romantic and scenery guesthouse. Well worth the money. We also got a present-wine, for out anniversary :) Thank you once again for this. We had great time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Excellent - Beautiful place, lovely helpful staff, 10/10!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nil

    Very friendly staff, extremely helpful - nothing too much trouble for them. Accommodation was very clean, lovely decor and in a beautfiul place. Would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation to others - excellent!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.6
    A supurbe stop-over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room (Kingfisher)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two comfortable chairs in the room

    While sitting out on the veranda sipping a glass of wine we were approached by the owner asking us if we would like some ice - a nice touch. Next morning our car was washed for us

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Gem of a place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room (Tinktinkie)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spent a night here with my wife whilst we drove the Garden Route, all I Can say is that this guest house is a gem of a place, staff especially Carole could not do enough for you, the views from the gardens was simply stunning, the room we stayed in was more than we expected for what we paid and when we are back in SA we will endeavour to stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Awesome service and fab place to stay - you won't regret it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (Guinea Fowl)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Great place and sad we only stayed one night! Amazing personal service offering to book restaurants ahead of time ... car washed whilst we were there, warm welcome, nothing too much trouble and a bag of muffins to take away! Couldn't have asked for more. Lovely room and easy walk to all the attractions. thanks everyone!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.8
    Very nice garden and friendly staff, would not book the ground floor rooms facing the street though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Street View (Blue Crane)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a cheap room facing the street which was tiny and did not really feel safe as there was no wall or fence around the property.

    Very friendly staff and wonderful garden and pool area. Very peaceful surroundings.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Gem in swellendam
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Clean. Well managed in a lovely setting.. loved the extra unexpected touched like muffins for car snack on departure and car cleaned. Staff was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Probably best location I ever stayed in SA
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room (Tinktinkie)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast with good choice of cheese and ham/salami. Whole area is lovely prepared and very clean. The owner places everywhere (bathroom, breakfast area etc) some flowers and creates a very nice and friendly atmosphere. Also great information for local restaurants are provided incl menu!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect! A beautiful place with amazing view. Attention to details (rooms, garden, service, food ...) is outstanding. The all property is so well maintained. The rooms are beautiful, very comfortable and with everything we needed. Staff incredible. This Guest House truly deserves the highest score.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.9
    The waitstaff were helpful and friendly, the grounds were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room wasn't quiet. We could easily hear our neighbors as there seemed not to be much of a sound barrier between two rooms that opened to each other for larger groups. Also, the bed pillows were really firm.

    The waitstaff were helpful and friendly, the grounds were attractive and the river and mountain vistas stunning. Watching the visiting birds was special and the pool was very pleasant. Town was a quick walk away with wonderful restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Charming accommodation with equally charming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room (Tinktinkie)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been more comfortable and bottled water was an extra charge.

    Pretty rooms overlooking the river with the mountains in the background. Nice outdoor/indoor breakfast area by the swimming pool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Stay here and you won't want to leave!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room (Kingfisher)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect, I just wish we could stay longer

    What can I say we stayed here for Christmas eve and were not disappointed. The staff (especially Michelle) were so helpful and friendly. The rooms were completely amazing. The pool was clean and warm and had a great view. Breakfast served on Christmas day was great, we were greeted by happy people and given champagne, Christmas crackers and a wonderful breakfast. Before we arrived they emailed us to advised at it was Christmas eve that we should book a restaurant and helped us sort that out. Incredible visit :-)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Street View (Blue Crane)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The beauty of the place, the breakfast, the small muffin for the road when you leave, the cleaning of the car, the room and bathroom clean, price quality you cannot find better

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Amazing value for money, lovely room, excellent location and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room (Tinktinkie)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing not to like, but as a minor point, a better range of quality bread/rolls to go with the excellent range of wonderful jams would have been a bonus.

    Amazing value for money, lovely room, excellent location and very pleasant staff (almost over the top nice if that is possible)!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Great staff, perfect setting, all the amenities and well situated to explore the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Loft Room with Stairs (Barn Owl)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Barn Owl room we stayed in, has chairs and a lounger outside on the balcony, under the vines that allowed us to enjoy the view of the mountains and still remain cool on a hot day. The staff were enthusiastic and engaging, always informative and available to help.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    We'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Loft Room with Stairs (Barn Owl)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely atmosphere; fantastic view on the mountains; very friendly staff; fantastic breakfast; pitoresque little village with historic buildings; good restaurants; good for hiking tours (if it is not too hot :-))

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    This was a beautiful guest house and the best accommodation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is some noise between the units.

    This was a beautiful guest house and the best accommodation we had on our trip. Knowledgeable and friendly staff who were fantastic with our two year old. We will return as soon as we can.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.2
    Superb. Recommendable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room (Kingfisher)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath separate, like toilet. Bit busy. Preferred the quiet at double room straight up the road where we stayed 18 Nov on way back. Pet house. Nice pool. Main place full so booked this on 3 Nov on our way up to Plett. Lovely private plunge pool. Main place pool a bit busy;like breakfasts: lots of people. So we skipped.

    Pleasant surpris: Upgraded to that spacious room upstairs. Bed excellent. Lots of space. Having bath in middle of room took some getting used to. But ok. There was a screen. Quiet and comfy room. Nice small verandah to sit on next to vines.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    a small river is crossing the beautiful garden, the rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    a small river is crossing the beautiful garden, the rooms were pleasant, the beds very good. Breakfast with all you need, and extremely friendly people. We loved our stay at Ann de Oever Guest House.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Lovely guesthouse in Swellendam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Loft Room with Stairs (Bokmakiere)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nesting birds in the thatch roof - I know the guesthouse can't do too much about that, but we did have an early wake up in the morning because of it!

    Lovely welcome and special touches in the room for our honeymoon. Room massive with seating room, large bed and bath. Great private decking / balcony area - was a bit cool to use it but I imagine it's lovely in summer. Good selection for cold buffet. Good restaurants nearby. Safe and secure parking onsite.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Carol was amazingly welcoming when we arrived and provided...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Loft Room with Stairs (Barn Owl)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carol was amazingly welcoming when we arrived and provided all the information we could possibly need on the area including great dinner recommendations (and she happily made the reservation for us). The BBQ facilities offered are a great addition and the room we had (Barn Owl) was beautiful with an amazing view from the terrace. Would highly recommend staying here if ever in Swellendam.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Great guesthouse with beauiful view and an excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great guesthouse with great rooms and a beautiful view. Very warm welcome and the owner did everything to feel us at home. Also the breakfast was excellent. We will come back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Comfortable and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room (Tinktinkie)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really regarding the accommodation. Swellendam itself was a bit boring for us.

    We had a really nice and comfortable stay in Aan de Oever Accommodation. Unfortunately I was not feeling very well, but the receptionist was trying to help in any way to make my stay more comfortable. She even searched for restaurants where they had vegetarian options for me. Breakfast was really good and the view and the garden was lovely. The rooms were very comfortable. When we left, they washed our car and we received a package of muffins-to-go. Very sweet!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    A great B&B, nice location, lovely grounds & friendly staff. Hope to stay there again one day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room (Kingfisher)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we arrived late here so didn't get to enjoy the property as much as we would have liked. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We had to leave early and they prepared our breakfast early to accommodate us. Good breakfast selection. Lovely garden, surrounds and pool. Lots of birds and a great view. Quiet location within walking distance to restaurants. Bed was comfortable, showers great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful, tranquil location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room (Tinktinkie)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure in the shower was a little weak.

    Beautiful setting, great breakfast. We also appreciated the fridge in the room with snacks and drinks. Being winter and quite cold, the electric blankets on the bed were a welcome luxury.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant enough but I expected better for the price I paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (Guinea Fowl)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Easy chairs to make tv watching possible other than by lying in bed Broken chain on plug for basin in bathroom Noise from laundry machines in room adjacent from early hours General construction noise from evident building project Milk for coffee not replenished on second day of stay there

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Short but sweet stay in swellendam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Street View (Blue Crane)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! From the moment we arrived and Carol greeted us with an upgrade to the moment we left with homemade muffins and our car having been cleaned, we couldn't have asked for a better experience. The old Dutch building is amazing and the rooms have everything you need for a special stay. Carol recommended a brilliant restaurant too which didn't disappoint. We would return in an instant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    Ambience plus genuine friendliness and warmth from Carol.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nono

    Ambience plus genuine friendliness and warmth from Carol. The attention to detail with fresh flowers everywhere was just amazing. The breakfast was delicious ans well presented.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Vera and her team are very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room (Tinktinkie)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Vera and her team are very friendly and helpful. Lovely breakfast options with cozy fireplace for those chilly mornings. Will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Thank you for a wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Street View (Blue Crane)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly, nothing.

    We were upgraded to a superior room upon arrival. The view of the mountains from the room is beautiful. The owner suggested a restaurant for dinner, booked it for us and we were not disappointed. Food and the service were very good. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. The owners gave us advice and encouragement to travel down to the coast on Route 62, and it was a stunning journey.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    We had the smallest room, but it was really beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room (Tinktinkie)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had the smallest room, but it was really beautiful!! I actually loved it! Very cosy and with a private terrace. The pool and the surroundings is also beautiful. A good place to relax and enjoy the view with the mountains in the background. And the breakfast was absolutely delicious!! Would definitely recommend this place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    Must stay while in Swellendam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Street View (Hadida)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WONDERFUL. Amazing breakfest, great pool with really nice view. Perfect place to chill out and perfect for get away from city rush. Great for couples and friends! Breakfast is something you can't miss! Oh and stuff! Great hospitality with smile! Definitely would come back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    Amazing stay in a beautiful lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room (Tinktinkie)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful booking a restaurant for us, giving us muffins for our journey when we left and a complimentary upgrade to the most beautiful room. Our car was also cleaned before we left which was a very nice surprise. Their wines are superb and best enjoyed in the sunshine in the gardens or by the pool. I can't fault this beautiful little lodge and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    A great stop in Swellendam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Street View (Hadida)
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/a

    Really liked the warm welcome, the lovely garden setting next to the river with the view over the mountains and the bird life flying around! Breakfast was excellent. The restaurant booked for us was absolutely top class (Drostdy). The very close by Drostdy Museum complex was also well worthwhile visiting. Finally, to get the car washed was a very nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Street View (Hadida)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During our stay of 2 days, we appreciated the helpful hostess, her kind attention ; the large room with the bath overlooking the balcony. Very good beds, the breakfast is various with fresh food. The view on the mountain is fantastic. Nice garden with a swimming pool.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    Relax in Swellendam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had been upgraded to mountain view rooms both with private balcony / decks. Pool was great, beautifully styled house, deck with open fire. Friendliness of staff, easy walk to beautiful restaurant - Drostdy. Gergeous rooms - One upstairs - the Barn Owl was huge and lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    The amazing location , the staff was welcoming and super...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Street View (Blue Crane)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amazing location , the staff was welcoming and super amazing. They booked a place at a restaurant for us for dinner before we even asked . Great idea other we wouldn't have place left. They breakfast was superb, fresh juice, and everything you could imagine. The owner is just an amazing caring person. Definitely most recommended place!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.6
    Much too good for a one-night stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin Room (Kingfisher)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we didn't stay longer

    The manager was lovely, really helpful and friendly and went out of her way to make sure everything was done to make our stay exceptional. The view of the garden and mountains from our terrace was fantastic, the room was huge and breakfast was very good. The location is great as it is at the end of a leafy road, very quiet but close to a number of excellent restaurants, no more than 10 minutes stroll away. There is a pool area and large garden where there are plenty of loungers to soak up the magnificent views.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    The manager was very helpful and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Street View (Blue Crane)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager was very helpful and nice. In fact she gave us an upgrade as we were on our honeymoon. It's a very nice place to stay with all the comforts in place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    gem in swellendam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Loft Room with Stairs (Bokmakiere)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    setting was incredible stream and mountain view . walking distance to most of the eating places place was clean room spacious good breakfast loved the pool and carol was very friendly and made us feel comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    10
    Beautiful pool / garden area with a nice view towards...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Street View (Hadida)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful pool / garden area with a nice view towards the mountains, perfect place to chill. The staff was very friendly + helpful, and we immediately felt 'at home'.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    10
    Excellent accommodation for an overnight stay or longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Street View (Hadida)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely accommodation in a pretty setting next to a stream at the edge of town. Upgraded to a very spacious room on the first floor overlooking the gardens.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: