Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Abangane Guest Lodge 4 stars

S10 Sabie Road, 1242 Hazyview, South Africa

#1 of 17 B&Bs and Inns in Hazyview

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 91 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Garden with a swimming pool has a stunning view on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garden with a swimming pool has a stunning view on the mountains and you can enjoy this view for hours. Lodge is situated 1km from the main road so is quite and peaceful. Also, it is very well located to all touristic places and nearby restaurants. Joe and Margrit are very nice and always give you a lot of advices where to go and what to see. Eveything was very clean and comfortable, rooms are big and fully equipped with all needed things. We would definitely stay at this place again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.7
    Pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey. Could not use bath but had to pay more than quoted amount after a misunderstanding re to number of people in “honeymoon suite”. Booked for 1 “guest” I believed to be 1 plus guest. Owner said 1 person only

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    We totally recommend this lodge and would come back if we stay another time at Hazyview.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Holidays were too short ;-)

    After the night in the very clean and comfy room we had great breakfast while we were sitting at the pool with a view to some antelops. A rich breakfast buffet was supplemented by different warm meals prepared by the staff according to our choice. This was outperformed by friendliness and helpfulness of the hosts and staff. Very good advices for trips and a huge breakfast box for early birds. The Krugerpark is easy accessable by car whithin about 20 minutes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Room with Airconditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ddnt like the fact that our stay was too short...could have booked more days...

    The place is amazing and very cosy...joe and Margret were are the sweeatest including their staff members...breakfast is to die for

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding holiday experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Loved the friendly and helpful owners. Also loved the beautiful views of the valley, the great breakfasts and afternoon treats personally prepared by Margrit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful place with great hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Airconditioning
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful place with great hosts! A very special lodge with stunning views and fantastic, caring people. We felt truly spoilt by Margrit and Joe who kindly helped us plan our sightseeing and book safari etc. On top of that they also catered for our special diets in a superb way! We felt super comfortable and happy in this great place! -Hope to come back sometimes!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Amazing experience and excellent treatment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Airconditioning
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish I would have stayed longer at the lodge, I'm definitely going back.

    The place was clean, friendly and excellent staff, we did not know where to go for a great experience and our hosts were kind enough to recommend activities for me and my wife, they made my stay at their Lodge extra special and I enjoyed the cake they baked for us as we were celebrating our marriage anniversary and wow the breakfast was magnificent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Home away from home! It was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Airconditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We are both scared of spiders. We found and had to kill one on our first night there, that almost ruined everything.

    Everyone there is friendly & attends to needs promptly. The owners are very knowledgeable about what to do/where to go. We had an amazing time!! Delicious cake was baked for my partner's birthday celebration, at my request. I will definitely be back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.5
    Bathroom was amazing and the view outside our honeymoon suit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the didn't change our towels....... That really killed it for me

    Bathroom was amazing and the view outside our honeymoon suit was amazing and the hosts wow Joe is amazing and his wife the breakfast impressive

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.6
    a relaxing and quite place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Airconditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room fragrance was too strong.

    A relaxing and quite place! The lady owner of this guest house and her staffs were very nice. They made the place like our home away from home. The lady owner provided us very useful information for our self-drive for game search in the Kruger National Park and a big breakfast basket very early in the morning of our trip to the Kruger. A table for our breakfast on the other day was set nicely by the outdoor pool with delicious hot English breakfast and view of valley of orchard farms. Cookies, cakes, fresh coffee and tea were available for guest all day long. The owner also recommended a good restaurant for our dinner!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.3
    No dissapointments here.Lovely place & hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed hard for the aged but also for a honeymoon couple.(Personal taste)

    Lovely cakes and tea at any time.We felt special and yet relaxed.A lovely bath experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    Definetely recommended and I myself will stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Airconditioning
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Spacious room, nicely furnished and equipped with everything one may need. Strong breakfast with a wide chioce of varieties and options, real coffee from the coffee-maiking machine. Breath-taking views from the terrase over the valley. Quiet and safe place away from people crouds, noisy roads. Restaurants and shops - 5 minutes driving from the guest house, Paul Kruger NAtional park - 15 minutes. Beautiful landscapes along the road to Blide river canyon. And the most important - very friendly and helpful owners who live there and themselves take care of the guests with a small team of local people from neigbourhood.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    i had a lovely weekend with my spouse, pampered and felt comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Airconditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything was excellent.

    the food and facilities are very excellent, and the staff is very friendly. they all doing a great job and make customers happy with their warm welcome. they must keep up the good work, i will have to go there again with my friends or family.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    10
    tranquility and a relaxing atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room with Airconditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    unfortunately the Wi Fi had a problem due to the weather conditions and the service provider did not do a great job.

    The food was well prepared, fresh and delicious.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    Wonderful place with great hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Airconditioning
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was great!

    The rooms and the whole lodge is really nice! Especially the view from the terrace and the pool. Perfect place to come down and enjoy your vacation. The owners Joe and Margret are really friendly and warm hosts. And there were always really helpful. They give you really good advice for restaurants and things what you can do around. Also they provide you a wonderful lunch box when you have to leave really early for visiting the Kruger national park or etc..We could not ask for better hosts! We can highly reccomend this place!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    8.8
    We loved the people, location and property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Airconditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were not comfortable at all and there is not much privacy. Guests walk past your room so you have to basically keep the curtains closed all day

    We loved the people, location and property. We would recommend this to guests who know they are out all day on game drives etc

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    10
    To remember and to com back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Room with Airconditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road to the lodge could improve, however it is not in their hands.

    Very friendly attended staff. They try to fulfill every question. Perfect breakfast and absolutely a beautiful view / location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Had an amazing time, great location , friendly hosts and great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing and very tasty breakfast in the mornings. Owners of the lodge very helpful and friendly that also points out points of interest for you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Excellent!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Airconditioning
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't complain at all

    We were welcomed warmly by the host, the staff pays attention to detail. Very central and beautiful lodge :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    A pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Airconditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was well

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Great setting, charming hosts, very good breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Airconditioning
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Availability of tea, coffee and cake 24/7 was great. Excellent selection of teas. Hosts were outstanding

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    8.3
    Very helpful owners and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Airconditioning
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Homemade muesli and yogurt for breakfast plus Cooked breakfasts excellent. Owners very Helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    8.8
    Will reccommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need to travel for dinner.

    The room was very good. Owner very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    10
    Fantastic location and Great hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a fantastic stay, Joe & Margrit made us feel very welcome, room was great overlooking the pool, breakfast on the veranda was perfect.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    9.2
    Very good accommodation with attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room with Airconditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good accommodation with attention to detail. Friendly staff and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    Happiness destination
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Airconditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was intimate and absolutely perfect . Joe and the team were beyond exceptional- loved everything about it

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    I really enjoyed myself @ abangani the owners and the workers they love people and what they fo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Airconditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view n the cleaness of the place everything is perfect

    The place is so beautiful and very relaxing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    10
    Relax and enjoy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Room with Airconditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners take great pride in satisfying the guest with whatever the need. They offer a rich self service bar.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    9.6
    Supper stay with top hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    some small TLC maintanence

    Huge bathroom, honesty bar , afternoon cake and coffee, breakfast box for day out

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    9.6
    Had a lovely relaxed stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Airconditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful location, personal service, excellent staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    7.5
    Very nice interiors
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Terrible noise from the shower's water discharge the whole night through Night guard sitting right at our open window, the whole night through, without us knowing. How is that for privacy? Night guard woke us twice (after we have been woken up at least 10 times by the noise from the shower!) by talking loudly on his walkie talkie! Neglected gravel road leading up to guest house The place is totally deserted after hours Definitely over-priced!

    Very nice interiors Neat and clean Beautiful rooms

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    10
    Beautiful property and the friendliest owners ever.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Had to leave far too soon!

    Beautiful property and the friendliest owners ever. Joe and Margaret made us feel very welcome and were invaluable with great advice for our impromptu trip to Kruger NP.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    9.6
    Location - up a small hill, with an excellent view of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One drawback of the location is that the adjoining hills probably block off the wind. We are not dog-lovers. Presence of 3 big dogs was a bit unnerving.

    Location - up a small hill, with an excellent view of the adjoining valley. The valley (some other private property) had lots of animals around - we could easily spot Zebras, Ostrich, Giraffe and Deer there itself, especially on the short drive on the dirt road approach to the lodge. Hazyview town is conveniently located for accessing the Kruger Park and the Panorama Route. Breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    10
    Klaus and Ridwaan were the perfect hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't like having to leave!!!

    Klaus and Ridwaan were the perfect hosts. The property was spotless and the service unobtrusive and thorough. we felt like family when the dogs would welcome us "home" each evening and the animals on the adjoining property were a bonus. We would definitely stay here again (if Klaus would have us - lol) and would definitely refer anyone travelling to the Hazyview area to stay here. Neil and Katherine - Canada

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    7.9
    The personel was very kind, and always willing to help us!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing that we didn't like! It is really a nice place!

    The personel was very kind, and always willing to help us! They did our washing for us! The food was also very nice and tasty!

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    5.0
    There wasn't anything I really liked very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I think the guesthouse needs a good facelift. The ethnic African theme (and not very well done) has been outdated for quite a while. In general, for the price you pay, not good value for money.

    There wasn't anything I really liked very much. Maybe the friendly dogs.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    9.2
    View, location, kind owner(s), beautiful swimming pool,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing! I only recommend to arrive before dark, because then the road to get there is easier to drive. It is a sandy but good road to drive.

    View, location, kind owner(s), beautiful swimming pool, nearby the entrance of Kruger National Park, nice room and a perfect breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    6.7
    The gueshouse is located in a lovely and quiet setting, once...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Even though the guesthouse is rated 4 stars, for me it was more a 3 star rating and overprices for what you get, compared to other guest houses we stayed at. The bathroom was small, but yet it had 2 separate sinks but therefore no room at all to put any clothing or make-up bags. The toilet roll holder was about to fall of the wall, the shower rack was rusted, toothpaste stains all over the tiles above the sinks and the floor around the shower was dirty (accumulated dirt from a long time). No toilet spray, and soap provided which did not smell good at all (but ok, that is personal taste). the ceiling could definately do with a paint job. The bed is not really comfortable and squeeks every time you turn. The fan in the bathroom could not be switched off and made an awfull lot of noise, the walls in the house are paper thin. I could even hear what my neighbour's partner was saying from wherever she was, on the speakerphone of his cell. On day 1, we asked for a breakfast basket, as we were heading to the Kruger Park very early, which they prepared the night before already, so it sat out on the patio all night. Apart from fresh fruit and orange juice, the sandwiches provided were not so nice... white toast bread with cheap processed meat. We also got 2 scones, which were so dry, they were not edable anymore. So we managed with the 2 boiled eggs and the (also cheapest) yoghurt with fruit flavor. Shame we did not receive any of the food, they normally serve during their breakfast, as that receives an A+ rating!

    The gueshouse is located in a lovely and quiet setting, once you get to it (600m dirtroad, which might be a problem for smaller cars). It provides most facilities a traveler wants, breakfast on our last day wonderfull and very filling. Very close to the Kruger park. We had a warm welcome from the owner Klaus, who showed us around. However, he tends to be more open to his german fellow-country custmers (as we noticed).

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.2
    The staff and owners are very personable and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff and owners are very personable and friendly. They made the utmost effort to make our our stay comfortable. We loved our breakfast pack that was done for our Kruger day trip! We really felt like longtime friends at Abangane. We will definitely be going back.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    9.2
    Very comfortable, lovely views, garden and welcoming hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We just had a hire car and at times we hit the bottom on the access track.

    Very comfortable, lovely views, garden and welcoming hosts. I can recommend the lovely picnic which they will provide instead of breakfast if you want to go out very early.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    9.6
    The lodge was quiet with beautiful views, Friendly staff who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing we didn't like was the rutted drive up to the lodge.

    The lodge was quiet with beautiful views, Friendly staff who provided an excellent breakfast. A wonderful base.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    9.6
    Very well-managed lodge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillow and mattress not very comfortable

    Very well-managed lodge. Perfect location, only a couple of minutes drive from town, but at the same time a very private and exclusive spot. Infinity pool with great view. Ideal starting point to do the Panorama Route and access the Kruger. Very friendly owners.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    9.2
    Wild animals in the garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My WiFi connection went idd all the time, but maybe my phone was the problem. My wife didn't seem to have any trouble connecting.

    Wild animals in the garden.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    10
    whats not too like, the people, the pool, the view to die...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    whats not too like, the people, the pool, the view to die for !!

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    9.2
    The location is super with amazing views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is super with amazing views. If you are looking for serenity and tranquil, this one is for you.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    6.7
    The view was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattress was inadequate-needs to be replaced

    The view was amazing

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    10
    A hidden gem offering impressive breakfast, rooms and...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    A hidden gem offering impressive breakfast, rooms and ambience

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    10
    The bathroom especially.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Load shedding. But it's out of their control

    The bathroom especially. But whole room was beautiful and clean

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.5
    the friendliness of staff, it was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we were in room 2, the beds were 2 singles brought together,and kept falling in between.

    the friendliness of staff, it was awesome

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    9.6
    A beautiful property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A beautiful property. Nice views quiet with a nice pool. Very nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    9.6
    We stayed here for 4 nights and loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed here for 4 nights and loved it. It is a small quiet lodge with beautiful views. The service was excellent

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    9.6
    A beautiful guest lodge in a wonderful garden, very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A beautiful guest lodge in a wonderful garden, very nice hosts and great location (near Kruger) ! Delicous breakfast !

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    10
    very nice and confortable lodge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very nice and confortable lodge. To be recommended

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Browse Abangane Guest Lodge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: