Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Acorn Guest House 4 stars

4 Kerk Street, 6529 George, South Africa

#20 of 37 B&Bs and Inns in George

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 153 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The curtains in our bedroom not lined so room very light all night.

    Very comfortable bed & good facilities. Well priced & well appointed. Staff efficient & friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lounge area was under maintenance so couches and other sitting areas were covered up.

    The staff was friendly and the place is beautifully decorated

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is beautifully designed , the staff is very kind and warm. Theresa and Esther with a great delight helped us to plan the trip for the day and answered lots of our questions. It's a great pleasure to sit outside of the room as well as inside. The parking is inside the property. Delicious breakfast. The place is even better then on the pictures.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the whole staff are very warm & welcoming, The breakfast was good in a lovely setting. Its close to all things important; eg hospital, golf courses, shops & restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not very clean guest room and bathroom; bathroom as transit to the main building

    very friendly guesthouse lady and staff; breakfast not very varible, but with delicious eggs and fresh juice; breakfast site at the pool with view to the beautiful mountains; parking slot close to the appartment door

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst there was wifi once connected the connection was extremely poor and no internet connections could be made.

    Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Overall a very enjoyable stay and I shall be returning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we stayed only for three days. But whatever was offered we enjoyed. We liked everything our

    My wife and I liked the comfort which the room provided. We enjoyed our the privacy and quietness.The staff made us feel at home and welcome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found the property a little pricy for what it was, although we still had a very enjoyable stay.

    Great little find, with a spacious and comfy room and a beautiful outdoor setting. The service was great, and having breakfast included was perfect for our quick little stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The décor and ambience of the Guest House was amazing. The staff were exceptionally friendly and especially Charlene. She recommended some excellent restaurants and gave us her undivided attention when required.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no pool net / locked fence so not recommended for families with small children or those that can't swim.

    Staff were extremely courteous and welcoming and prepared to go the extra mile.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door had no security alarm and neither did the area, even if there was a gate. Felt unsafe because the staff leaves by 19.00 and we were alone. The heating was not on anywhere in the house and we had to eat breakfast with jackets on.

    Nice beds and beautiful room. Hot shower, well working wifi and tv. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small (was told) and the bathroom slide door does not close properly. The TV is on a cupboard which is a bit awkward for your neck.

    Friendly staff and tasty breakfast with attention to detail in the room and rest of the house. Beautiful and large kitchen and living area for guest use available.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody was there when we check-in, when called on they not replied. After half an hour a lady caretaker came and allowed our vehicle in parking.

    Cleanliness, beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked the TV to be in the bedroom, and not in the adjacent little lounge.

    Our stay at Acron Guest house was a short one, but very pleasant. Beautifully decorated guest house, with a particularly charming court yard with wooden deck around the swimming pool. Our bedroom was spotless and well equipped. The breakfast was excellent .... very tasty. I would most definitely recommend Acorn Guest House.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They advertise on line that their rooms have air conditioners which was not the case with my room. She did bring me a fan to compensate. The rooms are noisy due to the Queen room being right at the entrance and till late it was not nice.

    Their breakfast was a great range and very well presented and the staff was very friendly. The private parking was safe.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The B&B was even better than the pics. We had a very warm and friendly welcome thanks to Charlene, always available to help us out. The owner was very kind to buy food my daughter, who's gluten intolerent, could eat. The room was fabulous and the breakfast abundant with a wide variety of food. Will surely return!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    A really easy drive from the airport bring you to this quaint little guest house. We arrived to a friendly welcome and shown directly to very nice room overlooking the pool. The bed was large and comfy, the room had air-conditioning, good curtains, plenty of cupboard space and a well equipped bathroom. It had a separate excellent shower and a quick filling, claw footed free standing bath. All very nice, clean and perfect! Tea and coffee was provided and a little fridge.  For a couple of nights stay, this was a very nice stop. Around the pool there are a couple of areas for seating and two sunbeds. It would have been nice to have pool towels provided and although there were sunbed mats we couldn't find them. The guest house is well located for an easy walk to several excellent restaurants and the outenique transport museum...and it has secured parking. We did however feel that the breakfast was a bit meagre with very little cold choice with even the bread and cakes being not terribly fresh. They did cook breakfast to order although they got mine wrong both days despite only wanting bacon, tomato and mushrooms!!! However, the hosts were welcoming and the guesthouse very nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Acorn guest house was a lovely B&B that catered well to my families needs. The staff are very friendly and were accommodating to our needs. Breakfasts are served out at the pool, and is made fresh on the premises. The rooms are decorated in a very rustic style, with framed tapestries and old-world charm. The guesthouse is centrally located, and in good walking distance to a lot of the restuarants. It's also about 8km away from Victoria bay. I would reccommend this lovely guesthouse to anyone wanting to use George as a base and venture out each day to the beaches and other attractions.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't fault anything.

    Housekeeping was on point,the breakfasts....comfortable beds and the overall customer service experience was exceptional..

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a big dog outside the room (maybe it's a pet of another guest, or the host), so we are scared and cannot go outside in the evening.

    Fantastic view, amazing experience.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I booked to stay there last year they messed me around so much I cancelled, they agreed then charged me for my stay. I havent booked this year at all would never go there. They are so useless they have got there bookings all messed up again. Crooks

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very ordinary and the vegetarian person was not given an extra egg/mushrooms in lieu of no bacon. Church bells seem to ring every 15 minutes 24 hours a day - not ideal for a light sleeper.

    Clean, nicely decorated rooms and new bathrooms, helpful and friendly staff, safe parking and central location. Excellent value for money when compared to an hotel. Would go there again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    none whatsoever

    excellent reception every time. Central location. All requirements absolutely great! Best breakfast early served.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    amazing environment and lovely hosts and staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful place and amazing hosts

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Assistance of staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was good in terms of value for money

    Family accommodation. Able to see kids. Safety good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Quite a nice & cosy place. Breakfast includes a 'sweet sour sakalaka", which is very nice unique.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast croissants were limited, no cornflakes

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv horrible .Shower blocked up. Struggled with door to lock

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It was all great

    Beautiful décor, lovely access to the pool area through the glass doors leading onto the patio area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very accomodating. Room and breakfast were great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Vey nice breakfast, Nice big clean room. Slept very well in the nice bed,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice coming from the next door church every half an hour through the night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The place was super clean and the people very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The eggs at breakfast were like rubber, not to my liking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to airport, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were very good and spacious

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walking up stairs to 3rd floor

    Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stunning

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comfortable bed...had to watch soccer...had a delicious breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too small TV.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly with some lovely recommendations for food and sight seeing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The church bell making noise!

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pressure of water in shower was very bad 🙁

    Love the space and bed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, all good.

    All good, I would recommend this guest house to anybody, it's well placed and the staff and owners are very nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi stopped working, no aircon

    friendliness, food, decor, setup, bed

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great team! wonderful breakfast , clean and cozy

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    so cold

    bleakfirst is good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Apartment was amazing separate front room and lovely bathroom with a very effective shower , very attentive hostess

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No improvements needed

    Everything was absolutely perfect, the breakfasts, beds just everything was awesome

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and accommodating staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff and owners were very friendly, but not overbearing and full of tourist ideas. Breakfasts were fantastic with a healthy option as well.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt like home away from home

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good cosy neat.

    Perfect

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Visrestaurant The Fat Fish.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and comfortable stay in the center of George. Well run establishment with friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Church Bell on the Hour and Half hour....

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful feel to the place

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and well appointed and the breakfast was outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the church bell that woke me up every hour :-)

    just a beautiful little place :-)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing at all

    It was a good place to stay, staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. We would stay there again without hesitation

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The water pressure was terrible. I couldn't take a shower (with shower head above bath) and the bath took 25 mins to run. Also - I tried to sleep in the afternoon and wasn't warned that there would be maintenance done and couldn't therefore sleep due to the noise levels.

    The staff were very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Couple

    The "old house" smell in the room. Some people might like it.

    We stayed in room 1. Spacious, clean and comfortable. Great breakfast by the pool. Good location with secure parking. Will visit again.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Only had 1 towel in the bathroom, had to text the manager late in the evening to ask for another towel.

    Loved the mattress! I actually also sleep on a Genessi mattress! Had a superb nights rest 😊

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was to close to the reception .

    The person who welcomed us were very gentle and helpfully , staff involved with breakfast in the morning was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything was great the rooms were comfortable, the staff, service breakfasts, the place near to everything, we loved it, also having the closed garden area to safely park the car was wonderful

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely, lovely guesthouse. Warm welcome, beautiful room, thoughtful touches like extra toiletries and sherry. Comfortable lounge. Walking distance from some nice restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent advice given for our onward journey. Rooms were bright, clean, and airy. Although on a busy road, we were not disturbed by any traffic noise.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing - I'll gladly return anytime!

    Everything! The stylish décor, spacious room, delicious breakfast in beautiful surroundings, super-friendly staff, little touches such as chocolates on the bed & sherry, comfortable bed, huge spa bath, convenient kitchenette, extra touches of headache tablets & other convenient articles in the bathroom - just felt like very welcome guests, very much at home! :-)

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    George is kind of a boring place and there is not really much to do.

    The staff is the best I've ever seen. They're were helpful and kind and they made our stay even better. The rooms are clean and big and the breakfast is great.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The only thing my husband and I didn't like was the bed. We both had backaches each morning as the mattress was quite hard.

    The Acorn Guest House was lovely! The whimsical decor, spacious rooms, and yummy English breakfast were just perfect.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Terrible tecno music coming from the room located at 1st floor due to a disco pup. Impossible to sleep up to 23. Don't take the room on 1st floor

    Nice place , the owner is simply extremely kind ... Something to improve

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was right next to the entrance so you could hear all the comings and goings

    *Friendly, welcoming staff, *delicious filling breakfast, *comfortable & tastefully-decorated room, *complimentary bottles of water, *books to peruse during your stay,

There are also 53 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Acorn Guest House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: