Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Adley House 4 stars

209 Jan van Riebeeck Way, 6625 Oudtshoorn, South Africa

#34 of 48 B&Bs and Inns in Oudtshoorn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 42 B&B reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    bed was super comfy, bedding was new, breakfast was amazing,...
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bed was super comfy, bedding was new, breakfast was amazing, but the warm vetkoek stole the show completely. Nothing was too much trouble. Because we were there for a gala and checkout time was at 10, they stored all perishables in the kitchen fridge and freezer - amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    5.0
    Vetkoek was the highlight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room opened onto verandah, and the host had a table there where they entertained a group of people for a long meal. This was right outside the only window and am outside door, meaning we had zero privacy. The guests smoked and so we had to keep the window closed and curtains drawn in 33 degree summer heat. When we got to bed that night, we discovered the linen had a used body odour smell which was nauseating, but being late at night there was nothing we could do. A most uncomfortable night of sleep indeed! The room we had was in the main house at the entrance and next to the reception/office. This meant we could hear ever word of the interactions with guests arriving and coming for info etc., and of course the pounding feet on wooden floor past our door constantly. Not a peaceful place.

    The hostess was very friendly and the breakfast was fine. Freshly made Vetkoek and the fruit was also good. There are some lovely restored antique cars in the open carport next to the main house.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    5.8
    Very mixed experience, suggest making sure you get the right room !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathrrom has been planted in the room and is in shoking condition(black mould, loose toilet seat, shower bloked, vanity too small) for such an upmarket facility. The room is noisy because of the passage which leads to reception which is attached to the room and only separated by a standard door. The entrance bell is very loud when people are trying to get in late at night or early morning. Television quality not great and can't be seen from one side of the bed.

    Quaint Old Farmhouse style with high ceilings. Wonderfull gardens and surrounds

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    6.3
    There was light aircraft always flying over from when we got...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was light aircraft always flying over from when we got there until 10pm at night, we booked for 2 nights but only stayed the 1. The daughter of the B&B also had a screaming match with the staff which wasn't pleasant to hear.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    6.3
    A very nice setting with beautiful gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms in the outside area are very dated and need upgrading. Although we arrived before 7pm, our host seemed more interested in getting away and locking up the house rather than making sure we were ok and explaining the area to us. Similarly at breakfast, we felt like we were being hurried along as the host had other things to do, despite the fact that we were always relatively early at the breakfast table.

    A very nice setting with beautiful gardens. The breakfast buffet was really nice .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.2
    A good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wooden floor needs maintenance coz it makes noises when you walk on.

    The hosts and staff are very friendly. We arrived late- like 10:30pm, but we were welcomed by Nicky with no complains but greetings and smile. Breakfast was good. Once again Nicky took his time to show us where to go what to see in the area and Helene made bookings for us for various activities and meals. Thank you!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    We will be returning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very friendly and accommodating- we were there to run in a race and they were very happy to leave the kitchen open for us to make our own breakfast. Bed very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the room could have been better

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Very homely and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was delicious. They helped us with every issue we had super efficiently. The garden is gorgeous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    Location and spacious accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and spacious accommodation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Amazing Stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful rooms, great breakfast with fresh vetkoek :-) and amazing people service! Would recommend to anyone

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    9.2
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location in the center of Oudtshoorn, big room, nice garden, good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    A great start to 2017.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My stay was too short.

    Staff were excellent & very hospitable.It was like a home away from home.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Lovely house and gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Helpful advise from pleasant owners. Lovely breakfast with traditional bread.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    8.3
    We arrived at a very busy time during the KKNK festival, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Baby cot was beautiful but a little rickety.

    We arrived at a very busy time during the KKNK festival, and were in a perfect location to walk to the grounds and enjoy it. Breakfast was good, with a buffet inside (although we didn't get to enjoy it as we weren't told that it existed - only saw it as we were leaving) Room was a good size.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    9.6
    This is a pretty house set in an attractive garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were happy.

    This is a pretty house set in an attractive garden. We found the room and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was tiny but very clean and well-organised. Breakfast was a celebration, and the ladies extremely helpful.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    9.6
    Lovely staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Air conditioning was not as good as required .It had been over 40 c so not totally surprising .

    Lovely staff ..very welcoming .The food was excellent and one of the best of our trip .Great Braii too

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    6.3
    We stayed at Adley House for a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was rather old-fashioned and the little terrace didn't provide any separation from the neighbor. Staff was friendly but compared to our other experience with South African people and hotels rather held back. Breakfast is only until nine which is sad for people who might want to relax and not hurry in the morning.

    We stayed at Adley House for a night. The house is located conveniently in the center of Oudshorn and the garden is really beautiful. The room was very large. Breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful gardens and surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If I do have to give a negative, it is the bathroom and toilet .. A bit tired looking, but clean.

    Beautiful gardens and surroundings... Chatted with owners Hilda and Peter.. Staff were very helpful. Will definitely recommend to others.. The breakfast was delicious with the home made donuts...

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    10
    A delightful quirky old property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    A delightful quirky old property. Beautiful grounds. Lovely staff and delicious breakfast

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Guests also reviewed these properties: