Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of African Violet

12 Mauritius Crescent, 7975 Noordhoek, South Africa

#2 of 9 Holiday rentals in Noordhoek

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 69 apartment reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rob & Jenny are awesome hosts, warm & friendly. The passion that has gone into creating African Violet can be seen in every little detail. Beautiful views of the mountain & sea. Cant wait to return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Nook Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The out of this world view of the area from up there. Being able to see over the horizon and the Lil town was breathtaking. Too beautiful unforgettable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Nook Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room I booked was nice and every thing was very clean. Jennifer was great ! She so nice to me and she did everything she could to make my stay confortable! I evan stayed and extra day! I do recommend the place because it is very cute with a lovely view and nice poolside relaxing area!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The advert stated that the accomodation was in Noodhoek when it was located in Capri, a sub section of the municipality of Noordhoek. I was under the impression the location was a lot closer to the sea in the suburb of Noordhoek when in fact it was quite a distance away

    The hostess was very helpfull and booked a restuarant for us. The view across the valley was lovely. I would like to apologise for taking the white face cloth by mistake. I thought that we had brought 2 white face clothes when in fact we had only brought one

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jennifer is an excellent host. She gives all the advice and care you require. Everything was like in a fairy tale. The view is fascinating. The apartments are lovely decor and in a sophisticated style. We enjoyed a barbeque on our private deck. Sunbathing at a swimming pool was very relaxing. I would recommend this resort for a honeymoon. The location is the best for accesting all the Cape Town bests :) We will come back if we return to Cape Town ... Thank you :-*

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hostess was amazing and very friendly. We loved the privacy, the suite had everything we needed, including additional wall plugs that we usually forget for our phone chargers. Off street and safe parking, close to shops etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything,the host was very friendly. The property has an amazing view and it is situated at the top of the mountain. There are alot of fun activities to do in the surrounding areas from horse riding, romantic walks along the beach,to camel riding and so much more. I strongly recommend African Violet for your comfortable stay, a home away from home. 😌

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that I would want on the next visit is the curtains in the lounge to be darker type, more like the rooms was, that one cannot see completely through at night when the lights are on.

    The view firstly was stunning, the privacy of the apartment is great yet still with the stunning view. The fireplace we especially enjoyed and the bed was so comfortable, it was really like sleeping in your own bed and better.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    ventilation in the bathroom, steps to the Courtyard Suite are perfectly fine but may not work for anyone with mobility challenges,

    very well equiped kitchen and lounge, great view over the valley from a private deck

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice view, luxury room and decor, excellent host. Very clean overall and warm housekeeping. Location is little far but still convenience to out for certain interests point.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found the mattress to be very firm, however, it is a quality mattress.

    The host, Rob and hostess, Jennifer were very accommodating, friendly and informative. A useful little area map is provided and points of interest highlighted. The African Violet provides a relaxing and convenient central base for exploring the surrounding area and coastline.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I checked in at the Garden Studio and enjoyed my stay there. To mention are in particular - the Comfortable bed - the nice view from the patio - beautiful pool area with outstanding views of Noordhoek - Open plan kitchenette - DSTV / WIFI - Nice room design / furniture - Private parking - Centrally situated between Noordhoek and Kommetjie, perfect for exploring the Pensinsula with short drives to Fish Hoek, Simons Town or Scarborough and finally the friendly and helpful hosts.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was not stable - though our host worked diligently to correct during the stay. Hopefully will not have the same trouble in future.

    Beautiful setting - private room with nice mountain views, conveniently located and exceptional host.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed the location.It was central for beaches, scenic drives, the drive to the Cape of Good Hope was easy and the restaurants within easy distance. Jennifer and Rob at African Violet were exceptional hosts and provided every facility in our self catering accommodation.We will happily book another stay here if the opportunity arises. We have had a wonderful stay. Thank you both for making us feel so welcome.An excellent centre for visiting the area south of Cape Town and the False Bay Area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I didn't like

    One of my best holidays by far Staff was very friendly , place is beautiful with stunning views ,easy access to beaches and shops,I enjoyed the quietness ,will defnitely go again

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was tight and anyone with an intermediate or full size car would struggle

    The property was ideal for our needs. The courtyard apartment was a good size with good facilities for a guest suite. The terrace and swimming pool areas had great views

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Loft Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the peace, serenity and resort-like feel of this establishment. Our hosts were friendly, helpful and accommodating. We also appreciated the fact that we were afforded total privacy.The apartment was clean and well-equipped. The view from the tub is to die for and the comfortable beds ensure a good night's rest!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the fittings in general needs fixing, the spa bath when using the jets smells like rotten eggs, and black sludge comes out of the jets. We wanted breakfast in the morning, but was told the lady which makes the breakfast is not home, therefore no breakfast...we stayed at this place specifically for the breakfast..we had to carry our bags(heavy) ourselves uphill up the stairs...the host only showed me the 2nd day how to use a gas fireplace, which evidently was also not operational...The lounge/Kitchen area and bathrooms only has front windows, the bedroom has none...we felt like we are suffocating whilst in the bedroom...very stuffy also...definitely not for you if you are claustrophobic..or faint hearted...there is no natural airflow...all the windows on one side...for $150-$200 there are far better places out there...you have been warned.

    the view from the terrace was breathtakingly beautiful, ideal for a summer getaway....infinity pool is awesome

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave!!!! 😕😕😕😕

    The location was perfect, a little dream hideaway with surrounding views. The property itself was chic and sophisticatedly comfortable. The finishes were modern and the epitome of comfort. Shower was beautifully presented and the shower pressure was perfect. Our hosts were amazing. It's the best place we have stayed so far, we would go as far as to rent it monthly!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing i ddnt like

    The view outside

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    EVERYTHING! African Violet exceeded m expectations. The location, the hosts, the property, room, everything was beyond amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool to cold

    Off the beaten track

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps to apartment access difficult would not recommend to older clients

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - very nice hosts! - gorgeous view and beautiful garden - perfect location to explore the cape

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Nook Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Hospitality

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great accommodation. Fantastic views, lovely comfortable bed and great host.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was published as Noordhoek and its actual location is Capri

    I felt in nature with amazing sea view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hubby would have liked more channels on tv

    Bed very comfy. Love the white towels with toiletries.. Also love d the view of the mountains from my room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Loft Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stay should have been longer

    We had the most amazing hosts very responsive easy to communicate and we had an absolutely awesome time

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Has a very relax, calm atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Oh, you need a car to get there.

    It was like a retreat!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The freezer compartment was not working properly

    Large airy room, very peaceful location with amazing view

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We Should have stayed for longer...:-)

    Everything! Will recommend African Violet to anyone. Wonderful accommodation! Excellent hosts!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Struggled with the fireplace.

    Loved the jacuzzi bath.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room could be better soundproofed - we could hear noise from people upstairs and from the unit next to us.

    We spent one night at African Violet on a quick visit to CT and we found the location was good - close to shops, the village and main roads to other towns. The unit was spacious and well kitted out with everything we needed. Lovely view.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room very hot. Would have preferred air conditioning. The access road to the parking space is not for the faint hearted,

    The hostess was charming and very helpful. Bed very comfortable with high quality bedding. Very well equipped kitchen , including adaptors for British plugs. Great wifi. Lots of interesting places to visit from there.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have preferred air conditioning unit to have been in the bedroom rather than lounge as the fan provided was noisy for sleeping.

    High quality bed linen, towels and toiletries. Very friendly welcome with helpful information regarding local restaurants and shops. Good WIFI in the Loft Suite Apartment, Sat. TV. Felt safe and secure. 40 min drive to Cape Town centre so all sights are within driving distance.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The finishing Touch within the appartement like broken lamp, broken power socket, broken ventilator. The shower knob could be puled off.

    Friendlyness of the owner Clean Good location, close to highway and shoppingmall

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing that I was not pleased with was the quality of the wifi. Most of the time we were there the wifi didn't work so we had a hard time going online to book the activities that we wanted to do. Also I was unable to contact my family back home without the wifi, so it was kind of an inconvenience. Other than this minor detail, our stay was great.

    First off I have to say that Ms. Jennifer is amazing!! She helped us with everything that we needed during our stay. My boyfriend and I stayed in the honeymoon suite with the indoor jacuzzi tub and the outdoor pool. The room was so romantic and the view from inside and out are great! At first we thought the space would be small, but we were more than pleased with the amount of space that we had. The location is about a 25-30 minute ride to Cape Town but we really enjoyed the privacy and comfort of the African Violet.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very safe with a grocery store nearby. Made it nice to get things we needed. Very quiet and a great view of the bay and mountains. Nice bathroom and nice powerful hot water. Private gated parking.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was not serviced during our 8 day stay, although towels were changed twice. The bed was very low and hard - not very comfortable and it was quite noisy with equipment, motors and things running all the time. Jenny did sort out the pool pump, positioned on the outside of the bed head but other noises persisted. Although the kitchen and facilities were good the space was cramped.

    An attractive setting with beautiful gardens. Everything had been thoughtfully provided, especially in the kitchen. The place was rather small with awkward steps down to the room, but the patio and view was lovely. Nordhoek was good with plenty of restaurants and just 30 minutes from Cape Town.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Jen was very accommodating and made my stay very pleasant. Having a beauty therapist on the premises was a bonus. I would definitely visit again.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Electrics require attention. Steps in room.

    Secure, off-road parking. Quiet location. View from patio.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very private no noise beautiful view

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautiful accommodation, clean, comfortable and gorgeous views and pool. Just lovely.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    The owners really Friendly and the view is amazing, the suite was cozy and designed.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Payment was a bit of a muddle!

    Very walm welcome even though we were early. Gorgeous room, nice balcony, pretty view and very helpful host.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: