Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of aha De Zalze Lodge 4 stars

Kleine Zalze , Strand Rd (R44), 7613 Stellenbosch, South Africa

#30 of 37 hotels in Stellenbosch

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 364 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    It was really a pleasant experience and I will stay there again in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have requested for flowers petals on the floor from the door to the bed and for a few other things to create a romantic atmosphere and it was done perfectly, Even the room number matched the day of our engagement which made everything just perfect! WOW!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Perfect weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Comment

    We went there for our 10th wedding anniversary. The fireplace in the room gave a nice cozy atmosphere. The next morning we took the mountain bikes, provided by the Lodge, for a sunrise ride around the vineyard and golf course. The views was breathtaking. We also received a complementary wine tasting which was a nice addition.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant where we had supper and breakfast lacks ambience and very claisterphobic

    Accommodation great but restuarant where we had supper and breakfast lacks ambience and is very clausterphobic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    All in all a lovely break in the countryside!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee in the rooms was NOT good. Poor quality. The blind could not be lifted as there was a broken "hook" to secure it - very clearly not new.

    Lovely spacious suite. Nice big towels!! Wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really pity you can't have a cappuccino instead of plane coffee without having to pay extra not a big deal just surprised us.

    Specious suite good bed breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Excellent winelands choice - very good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom fan - somewhat noisy - keeps running until you switch light off - a bit annoying. Needed to run shower water 2/3 minutes before it began to get warm Shower floor (tiles) were very slippery and no grab handle 10am check-out too early (they will extend to 11 if you ask nicely)

    The breakfast buffet - and the view from the terrace there - is excellent... Location a short drive from many wonderful wine estates Very good security on the estate Fridge, free drinking water, tissue box Good wifi and built-in international socket adaptors Terroir Restaurant very good, if a bit pricey by local standards

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Love it!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We always stay at De Zalze Lodge when we visit Stellenbosch. Beautiful views from your balcony, love lounging around the pool overlooking the golf course and mountains in the distance, taking walks around the estate and through the vineyards, rooms are big and comfortable, breakfast is excellent and you can not ask for a better location. We'll be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Excellent and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in the Pinotage lodge but I prefer Merlot wines, So my next visit will be to the Merlot lodge.

    A very off the beaten venue for some very well earned rest and relaxation, surrounded by picturesque and serene scenery. Very good security check points making our stay there very secure and safe.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    4.2
    Not enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very noisy in the evenings with drunk people making a lot of noise in the rooms. Had to call reception. Noise didn't stop. Shower's drain was blocked and water running into the whole bathroom

    Breakfast ran out of certain of the food items

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    We had a great stay here staying in one of the suites at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym is a bit of a non - event. Would either scrap it and make jt another room or buy new, usable equipment!

    We had a great stay here staying in one of the suites at the end of the estate, overlooking the pool. Really well appointed rooms with everything you need. Staff are very friendly and the breakfasts were really good! We ate at the nearby terroir restaurant which was fabulous and also did the wine tasting there. Stellenbosch is 5 mins away by car, Franschoek a little further. Lovely, peaceful location and we would definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    A good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely apartment when we switched rooms with good views of the estate & mountains which is a must when you are holidaying. Staff were fantastic and always helpful & welcoming. Convenient to markets and other attractions

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    It was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have like to play golf but the course was closed.

    The clean Hygienic Bathroom. The soft comfortable bed. Free Wi-Fi and nice tv programs to watch. Most important was the quiet and romantic atmosphere for my wife and me that has a very busy work schedule. It was our 23 anniversary and we really enjoy our stay with you. The breakfast was extremely nice. Compliments to the friendly staff. We appreciate everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel and great golf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t get a table at Terrior and no effort was made to find us a table despite me trying to book weeks in advance or there. being empty tables on the night.

    We had the most basic room and despite that it was still stunning. Breakfast was fantastic. We also made use of the golf course. We wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    3.3
    We were grossly overcharged for ugly badly furnished rooms with threadbare towels and dirty carpets
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told we had rooms with balconies and mountain views. The price was R4500 per room per night. The balconies are less than a metre wide and look into a Car Park The rooms are down some grubby windy bar to stairs like a dungeon The stairwells are grubby. There is no hotel lounge or bar to sit in. The so called hotel restaurant is worse than a railway station cafe.

    This place is a disgusting overpriced fraud.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    conveniently located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not receiving a complimentary bottle of water except upon the first day. nothing in the bar fridge.

    conveniently located. beautiful views and surroundings. free wine tasting was on offer although we didn't get the opportunity to take this up.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    Simple, nice setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a suite, only to be given a room on the ground floor squashed in between the gym(which no equipment works) and the sauna. No balcony with any views. No fireplace or other features that we were expecting from a suite. Patchy underfloor heating and a terrace rather than a balcony. Check in is at 3pm, however the restaurant closes for lunch at 2.30pm and only re-opens at 6.30pm, which is a bit inconvenient for a 4 star hotel.

    The staff were friendly, winery setting really nice and pool area clean and welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed with the standard compared to other places we have stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very poor, room too small and not clean, money taken from card before we even knew!! Charges for everything even borrowing a plug!

    Pool and view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    5.8
    Compared to my previous visits ; disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The suite, Shirah, can only be accessed by stairs or steps making it difficult for the elderly'. The cable connecting the TV was draped on the floor and a curtain was soiled.

    The location and friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely and peaceful
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV channels not a wide variety to choose from and reception was not so good.

    Very comfortable and neat rooms and lodge situated in very peaceful location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    5.0
    Unimpressed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small. Towels old and stained. Décor was questionable. No lounge or bar area. Could not eat in the tasting area, restaurant was not taking in anymore guests after lunch service. No quality character or wow factor for a 4 star establishment

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    tranquil environment, nice beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location of electrical points for charging etc is poor. should have more 2 pin plug points. wi-fi very poor signal this questionnaire is too long

    tranquil environment, nice beds

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.6
    Dream stay at aha De Zalze Lodge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints.

    Swimming pool area was super beautiful with mountain scenery and nice place to relax on a hot day. Great staff and super service. Excellent breakfast and dinner at the Lodge Restaurant. Bed was extremely confortable and wifi worked well. All in all everything was pretty perfect!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    3.8
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets and bathrooms were not cleaned properly. The carpets in particular were very dirty. The facilities in the rooms were badly situated with the kettle having to be boiled inside the cupboard. The rooms were overpriced for what they actually offered and had only views of the buildings in front of them.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    An all round excellent hotel a short hop from Stellenbosch central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely comfortable room, great location, super views, winery and restaurant on-site, short drive into Stellenbosch town. Breakfast was also excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    6.7
    Large room with great views and a good variety of things to do and see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows not very comfortable, air conditioner in bedroom didn't work so we didn't sleep very well.

    Beautiful views of vineyard, golf course, and mountains. Great facilities such as restaurants, winery, pool, and golf course. Very good breakfast with great views. Golf course is in great condition with friendly staff. Large room with kitchen and fireplace, small balcony with a lovely outlook.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    4.6
    Booked out one day early
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dark room with little window overlooking parked car 3m away. Only one chair in the room. Very slippery bathroom tiles. Very limited DStv package

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    6.3
    Fine for a night stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very corporate , no individuality just a room to spend the night in . No outside seating area or views .

    Modern room ,comfortable bed and very clean, small fridge in the room with two small bottles of water . Kettle and instant coffee/tea provided . Nice toiletries.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent stay! Lovely big rooms with tea and coffee a fridge and great views! Staff was exceedingly helpful whenever we spoke to them. And just had a kind manor throughout our whole trip in South Africa! Would definitely recommend x

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Great place to stay , central to the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Porters to assist with luggage on arrival Improved lighting above vanity mirror in bedroom

    Location, view ,surrounding facilities ( Local wine tasting and restaurant ) and proximity to more wining and dining. Security well managed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    Just loved the heated bathroom floors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just loved the heated bathroom floors. Breakfast was good, especially the smoked salmon but if you order a fried or poached egg, you do wait a while. Our 3rd visit and we will return as it is such a central venue from which to tour the wineries.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.0
    Disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The prime business of the owners of this wine estate is (obviously!) to make wine. The hotel/lodge is either run as a franchise or is not well-funded. It falls way below the description as advertised. The staff is poorly trained. Basic comfort is about the level of this establishment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    It is a beautiful place with an amazing view for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a bit small, but very stylish. Would have like the mirror and dresser to be at the same place.

    It is a beautiful place with an amazing view for breakfast. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    5.8
    Not what we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, from early morning, we had builders on either side of our room - Merlot 3. There was drilling and noise permanently. We did ask Reception on Wed afternoon to please stop the builders on either side of us drilling, however, they said that they could not do that. We then asked why did they position us in between two units that were being upgraded and they offered to move us, however, we were checking out on Thursday morning and it was not worth packing up everything. After trying to have a late afternoon sleep which the constant drilling made impossible, we contacted Reception again, however, once again they said nothing could be done and later arrived at our door with a cheese platter. We do appreciate their efforts to try and make it more comfortable, however, we cannot understand why we were positioned there in the first place. (We did note that there were other vacant rooms which they could have placed us in especially if they were aware of the building.)

    The friendly service and the position.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.1
    Still enjoyable however previous visits to the Lodge were overall better.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service at breakfast slow on day 1, better that breakfast is always buffet style. Also plates were not collected immediately when finished and stacked up on the table. Also clubhouse restaurant was closed on the Wednesday evening and guests were not notified.

    Location and surroundings stunning

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.1
    Take off ONE quality star
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.Initial room they decided to put me in even though it was early in the week. I booked a Standard room but believe there were better Standard rooms available because it was still early in the week and aother room with a better view was available.Other room was provided after complaint was lodged... 2.The noise of the fan whenever the bathroom light was turned on as well as the absence of a proper shower. 3.Poor lighting in bedroom which made reading extremely difficult.

    Breakfast Access Security Proximity to gholfcourse

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    6.3
    Okay stay but wouldn't come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the whole ambiance of the place. It's like this huge luxurious bungalowpark with loads of white houses but we didn't feel it. We got an upgrade, which turned out to be a an even bigger room with 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms and a massive living room. Maybe for some big is better but, to say it in Dutch, it wasn't 'gezellig'. It's nice that you can walk to terroir but next time we take a cap! And €140,- per night is way to much for wat you get.

    The location is good, everything is clean, the staff is friendly. Best of it is the restaurant near by, Terroir, that won many prices. The food is outstanding and it's really cosy. A wine tasting is also a recommendation, Klein zalze wines are very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    This one night was aha and it sctualy felt like a weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The streets can have little lights for walkers at night.Door of Pinot Noir no.3 lock was not fixed.

    This one night was aha and it sctualy felt like a weekend. Beauty of nature and the golf corse. With the white buildings and everything with the wine-best.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge was very noisy. Golf course closed for maintenance.

    Room was very spacious and comfortable. Staff very very helpful and friendly. Terrior restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    4.6
    Avoid at all costs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was truly appalling - in fact they served fish that was off, which was a definite health hazard. The restaurant should be shut down before they kill someone

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    3.8
    Great disappointment!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were very disappointed!! The room was not made completely even we have been told so. The room is not very comfortable and needs a refurbishment/modernization. We would have preferred lunch at the wine restaurant which was not possible. The breakfast was very simple, plates were missing, and it was not possible to get a cappuccino. We cannot recommend the hotel at all!!

    The location is wonderful with nice view to the Hottentots mountains.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    8.8
    Stunning location and wonderful golf course
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dreadful lighting in bathroom and bedside. Le Terroir resturant over priced and we were told the menu would not change for some time, so we did not return. Dinner in small resturant was excellent value for money.

    Staff and location. Reception staff and resturant staff were all delightful and most helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    9.6
    Unforgettable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The DSTV channels indicated in the Welcome Brochure in our room, were not available. We had mostly SABC, Soccer and Gospel Tv to watch and the picture was poor on the only movie channel. This was frustrating at bedtime.

    Stunning views to be enjoyed in a relaxing atmosphere. The restaurant's food was excellent and our room had every comfort we needed, all provided with style and taste.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    6.3
    Nice but felt more 3 star than 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant at the venue (for breakfast, lunch etc) is very bland and could do with an upgrade in decor and food We had a toasted sandwich for lunch which was tasty but took quite a while and the breakfast buffet was ok but really not great Overall the room and breakfast experience was a let down versus the price paid for the venue Felt a bit more 3 star vs 4 star

    The staff were friendly and the pool setting is lovely If you play golf, I guess it's great proximity to the golf course

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    5.8
    Very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water in room.Had to pay for machine coffee if didn't want filter coffee?part of breakfast?Noices from rooms next door.

    Pool area beautiful view with rimflow pool.Nice touch was bottle of complimentary wine.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    7.5
    Nice place with good pool overlooking golf course
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Golf View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hallways smelt a bit of mould and other guests mentioned the same. Breakfast a bit limited. Had to go back to reception to ask every day for towels to be brought to the pool because they'd forgotten them

    Good-sized infinity pool overlooking golf course. Nice sized suite with free bottle of wine as welcome present. They also have their own small restaurant for the evenings with a limited but good menu which saves driving anywhere. Parking available outside room. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    6.3
    Mixed results
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very average accommodation. Restaurant food is also just average (as opposed to Terrior which is extraordinary)

    Beautiful pool area! The staff are relaxed and friendly. Do try Terrior 'next door' ... their food is outstanding (see what I did not like).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    10
    Great place for golfers with luxury suites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better Not kept warm but staff were happy to microwave it for us! But not ideal . Such a fabulous place should serve a better breakfast.

    The one bed suite was amazing with great furnishings and lovely bedroom with balcony. Golf club house very friendly staff and good service. Le Terroir restaurant is excellent .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    7.9
    Great venue with beautiful views - come and relax!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower door sticky and broken - mould in the shower. Stairs to our room dark and steep.

    Setting was great and relaxing. Wine tasting guide was excellent and enjoyable thank you.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    8.3
    An overnight stay in the winelands
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Low water pressure.

    There was a seat in the shower for disabled guest. The breakfast is included in the price as well as the bonus wine tasting voucher.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    7.9
    Overall happy for the experience, but for the shortcomings - excellent location to unwind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel reception staff need to provide a little more attention to new guests - more informative and the like. Bar could be better organised. Bathroom needed some work - showing signs of wear and tear. Wine tasting not 5 star - I felt very much left out (maybe it was that time of the day!) Bike map needs significant improvement - it is easy to wonder onto golf course!

    Ideal setting and rooms spacious. Breakfast superb! Excellent gate security Non reception staff superb (to a large extent they saved the day)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    7.1
    IT'S ALL ABOUT LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quality of the decor wasn't very good....paint drips on doors and floors. Bathroom, although spacious, wasn't luxurious and not a place you'd want to spend much time in...not many toiletries either. Also quite noisy in the morning as staff seemed to congregate outside the door with their cleaning gear. The restaurant needs to have good manager. There were plenty of staff but not focusing on customer service...tables were not cleared in a timely fashion. no-one circled the restaurant with coffee pot top ups...people had to take cutlery, plates etc off other tables....easy things to rectify.

    Great location and great space in the suite.Breakfast was good and willing to make eggs to order,

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.6
    Home from home at Kleine Zalze
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit cold, and it took quite a while to warm it up. But there was a nice warm blanket.

    Love staying at Kleine Zalze, my home from home. The staff is always friendly, the bed comfy and the breakfast and dinner awesome.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    2.9
    Terrible experience !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bath, which is also a shower, was terribly difficult to shower in. The shower- head was so far from the bath that we had to bend in order to get water on us. The Breakfast was very poor- we even had to pay for coffee ( we were hotel guests). Carpets in the rooms are dirty Beds have a sunken hole in the middle Rooms are tiny. They booked a church gospel group in the hotel room next to us, we had them making noise from 6am till 12pm at night. When we complained to reception they said they knew it was a gospel group/ conference when they booked them next to us. We were there for a relaxing weekend and landed up getting no sleep as the neighbors were screaming and shouting all day long.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.2
    A great location to use for a tour of wine lands
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to shower due to position of the bath !

    Great location , value for money and the wine tasting was very good . Breakfast on the balcony with great view of estate and mountains

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    WONDERFUL --A PLACE TO RETURN TO!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bedroom where my elderly Mom of 92yrs only had a Bath/shower. Very difficult for her to use and she also would not have managed the stairs to use a room down stairs. Normal shower would have been ideal!

    Overall stay was awesome.Staff friendly and helpful at all times. Rooms beautiful.Food very good.Lovely setting!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    6.3
    Information policy of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Information policy of the staff.. We didn't know, that we booked a winter special deal, which includes a free diner (dish of the day) at the terroir restaurant for every night you stay there. So we eat out there every evening and paid for that extra, because the staff didn't informed us about the deal. As I complained about that, all the staff said was "oh there is the winter deal next year as well".. She didn't try to apologise neither gives us something as a compensation. Also the wood for the fireplace wasn't complimentary, although it's on their advertisement. It's only complimentary during the winter season, but there's no word of that in their folder. Furthermore the floor in the room wasn't cleaned very well. My feets were dirty after walking on it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.6
    My most pleasant surprise ever, a Godsend.
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was that the mattress cover had stains on.

    The beautiful furnishing and the homeliness. The fire place. I had to nurse my sick son back to health after being in hospital, so definitely the lovely food from the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    10
    Fantastic one night stay at Kleine Zalze
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be lovely to have a proper shower in the rooms - currently shower over bath (minor detail though!)

    The rooms were very comfortable, lovely bottle of wine to welcome us, stunning views, fab breakfast, great wine tasting and very close to other wine farms and restaurants

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    7.9
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - security staff members Edward and Katie made us completely uncomforteable by enterogating us at the gate on thursday the 1/09. i advice that you look at the footage video of this incidence it was bad, we actually even got lost inside the facility because of our experience with them because i got really upset. Katie retracted when i got really upset and Edward continued to be rude and mean, demanding that i give him my ID, phone numbers and full names. i was a guest not a fugitive. Edward does not respect your guests. - gentleman behind the bar in the resturant on the 2/09 didnt greet my daughter and I. i ordered scrabbled eggs with few ingredients in them and the order he delivered was wrong. he can be friendier. - also ask your staff to greet your guests, i travel all over the world, your staff especially security were not the friendliest.

    beautiful, quite and tranquil facilities. great food and wine - the guy at reception upon our arrival was patient and helpful. he went out of his way to make us comforteable. i was a little late driving from cape town and he waited for me until i arrived. - the guy who srved us breakfast on Saturday the 3rd (wellington/ harrington/ i forgot) was a God sent. exceptional service delivery, friendly and was really helpful. the guy behind the bar can learn from him in terms of greeting people and being helpful. Dumi was ok, however i met her earlier outside and she didnt greet me. her service started when i got to reception later and she told me amongst other things that my bill was short with R10. she's cool, but as a face of a hotel, she can greet people always.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.2
    Tranquility
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a slamming door late at night and early morning that caused a nuisance. I have reported this.

    All perfect and convenient online booking with great views and location is tranquil.we enjoyed a lovely breakfast with great service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    10
    Excellent place to relax and forget about work!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like

    We loved absolutely everything about the place. Breakfast was awesome just needs more variety of sausages like pork or beef for people like me who don't eat lamb. All staff were very friendly and always helpful special mention to Paddington who went above and beyond to make our stay unforgettable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.9
    Hilton Ross does not care about other travellers
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hilton Ross tour buss was parked right in front of our room at 0730 on a Sunday with its engine running filling our room with diesel fumes. We had cold water in the evening and morning . Otherwise a wonder place

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    7.5
    Great stay at De Zalze
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfasts are really rather sparse and this could certainly do with the same level of pizazz that the restaurant has for their dinners. The size of the servings could also be increased - my mushrooms for breakfast consisted of 1,5 sliced button mushrooms.

    The restaurant serves the most amazing dinners which never disappointment that alone is enough reason to go back. The setting and peaceful atmosphere are great after a busy day.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Bicycles need to be tuned up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bicycles need to be tuned up!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location! Good food. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    heated floors

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    It is a perfect setting for a run or walk through the...
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a perfect setting for a run or walk through the vineyards.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The atmosphere was cold, from the rooms to the dining area. Food selection at the restaurant was average.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.8
    Had to wait about 10 min to get hot wAter out of the shower.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait about 10 min to get hot wAter out of the shower. Extremely small room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable. After all, it was a business trip !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was equally good, and staff excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    It was superb and just what we long needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I experienced an unsettling noise at night,which gave me a restless sleep. However over and above there is nothing to dislike.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    Good stay, value for money. Would go back again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower wasnt great but I guess thats because of the water restrictions.

    The room was very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Awsome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really don't have anything bad to say

    It's awsome. Beautiful view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Ambience superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have put in more milk for coffee and water since not much was coming out for voffri

    Considerate and helpful staff. Nice surroundings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    met expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture in room was a bit sparse nowhere to put suitcases

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse aha De Zalze Lodge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: