Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Airlies B&B

36 Bath Street, 6720 Montagu, South Africa

Review score

Based on 102 B&B reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Well done Team Airlies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard Queen with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well done Team Airlies. Elegant comfort in well preserved antique surroundings. Eve a pair of scissors supplied to open those impenetrable coffee bags!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Making the next reservation with Airlies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Standard Queen with Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would have prefered a shower and a TV, however if the guest wants a break from TV and preferes a bath, then this place is idea.

    Friendly, helpful team. Nice breakfast. Location is very central and absolutly ideal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    The host received me warmly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Standard Queen with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't connect or pick-up the wifi in the house. As the house is old and vintage with wooden floors, you can hear pretty much everything that goes on with the other guests which isn't good for privacy, quietness and relaxation.

    The host received me warmly. She provided info on the area and things to do. She also made dinner reservations on my behalf.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Our overnight stay at Airlies B&B was just was we needed. It was tranquil and lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner and staff were super friendly. They made is feel so comfortable, almost as if it were our own home. The food was lovely too! And our room was just perfect!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    We hope to return - fabulous place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard Queen with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cant think of anything really. It was wonderful

    The room was extremely spacious and comfortable. Bathroom huge and well equipped. Nice towels. Breakfast was really good. The location was perfect - great restaurant just around the corner. We loved it here and would return. The manager, Neil, is a real sweetie and so very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard Queen with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A charming experience in a century old house with an interesting history. Beautiful pressed ceilings, a wooden staircase from Scotland (as legend would have it) and delicately old fashioned. Neil was a warm and gracious host, always engaging, full of humour and always there to assist in any way he can.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    We loved the location of the property - it is very central -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room Super King
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved the location of the property - it is very central - and the decor in the room. Lots of attention to detail. Very comfortable and spacious and a delicious breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    We had a fantastic stay at Airlies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Room Super King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a fantastic stay at Airlies. Neil and the team are simply amazing, we couldn’t have asked for better hosts. Best service, breakfast fantastic, room amazing and the garden is a piece of heaven. We hope to be back some day! Thank you guys!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.3
    A charming very comfortable and convenient place to explore Montagu .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi range was slightly troublesome in my room , everything else good .

    The manager Neil was fantastic ! Caring , attentive , friendly and welcoming . His breakfasts were great too. Beds very comfy, lovely room . Perfect for relaxing at the pool .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Neil was a perfect host and couldn’t do enough for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard Queen with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a tv for important sport/news?

    Neil was a perfect host and couldn’t do enough for us. Breakfast excellent with incredible attention to detail and variety of choices on offer.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Accommodation fantastic. Breakfast substandard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant where the breakfast is served treated us like second class citizens. Very disappointing.

    The accommodation is quaint and historic with lovely comfortable rooms. Deon, the owner, is extremely personable and an outstanding host.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast was different and excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was different and excellent! we missed a place to blowdry hair close to mirror ! But Rian was friendly and even upgraded our stay for my daughter who traveled with!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.1
    Freindly and very central but desperatly needs the upgrade that is promised soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard Queen with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is in need of an upgrade which the owners are shortly to carry out having bought the place only a month ago. Toilet in a cupboard with no light and an in suite bath and no shower were not good features. We would try it again when the upgrade has been complete

    very friendly and helpful staff, excellent breakfast and different to the usual offerings

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    7.5
    Excellent stay apart from!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners dog was in swimming pool, I don't think that was hygienic although pet lovers may disagree. Air conditioning would have been nice

    Everything was very nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    10
    Lovely and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hosts are a lovely and welcoming couple who do a delicious breakfast and are always in for a chat. The garden is amazing. You're right in the middle of the village, restaurants and everything else is within walking distance. And it's perfectly quiet. Ask the owners to give you a recommendation!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    Wonderful hosts and B n B, we can highly recommend Airlies
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hosts, the most beautiful eco friendly, well loved garden, quality linen on beds and big fluffy bath sheets. Generous breakfast with thoughtful extra touches, highly recommended

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    We’ve love the place and will go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard Queen with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We’ve love the place. Very neat and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Janey was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room Super King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet in the family room out back

    Janey was amazing! Great parking, clean, beautiful garden with loads of flowers. Very happy we stopped here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location on the main street and quiet during the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location on the main street and quiet during the night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed the break and Montagu itself
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The peace and friendliness

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast was outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was outstanding. Neil was a wonderful host, welcoming and went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    A welcoming and comfortable hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard Queen with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most things were shut on a Sunday or early closing

    Lovely staff especially neil. Great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful quiet little visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Bath and Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were wonderful, and the fact that I could bring my doggy best friend was such a wonderful bonus!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    An absolute gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard Queen with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful house close to everything in Montagu. Exceptional breakfast by our friendly host.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Standard Queen with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor boards creaked a bit!

    Comfy bed. Good breakfast. Arremtive host.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    6.3
    Outdated accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds uncomfortable, bathroom old, no TV in room, no fridge in room. Outdated décor.

    Good location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    9.2
    Reception was very efficient and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Standard Queen with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have preferred a shower instead of bath only

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    7.5
    A lovely house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was in a cupboard and floors creaked terribly

    A lovely house

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    8.3
    Airlies is a nice place to stay. Very peaceful and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no tv in the room.

    I like the garden, The rooms were nice and big,

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    Clean and Friendly !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had little shortage of places to plugin our phones to charge. Else everything was perfect.

    Lovely garden and Animal loving folk!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    10
    Conveniently located and historical accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    very happy with the pool on a hot summers day

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    8.3
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Walking distance from restaurants and good value for money. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Conveniently located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conveniently located. Beautiful room and very well maintained

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    9.2
    Lovely and quite street, great restaurant which our host...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely and quite street, great restaurant which our host booked - just round the corner. Swimming pool, beautifully clean, was most welcome on arrival after long drive on hot day. No air con, but hosts had got fan running and curtains pulled, so just as good (better in fact, if you have asthma). Lovely touch to have decanter of the local sherry/sweet wine in your room. Very relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    7.9
    Property of real character in a very central location in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom facilities somewhat compromised.

    Property of real character in a very central location in Montagu, with all amenities within an easy walk. Swimming pool most welcome after a drive through the Little Karoo. Owner very helpful in giving options and directions for our onward travel.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    9.6
    Lovely pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences. old house so quite creaky floors!! Would always choose room with ensuite.

    Lovely pool. beautiful garden and birds. Very helpful and friendly hosts

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    9.2
    Friendliness of the owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Car parking is a bit far from the self-catering apartment, especially if you have a lot of stuff.

    Friendliness of the owners. Closeness to town. Sausage dog!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    5.8
    The position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not really a bad experience but not up to the standard of our previous B and B's we've stayed at. Having said that this was only our 3rd B and B we have ever stayed at.

    The position

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    10
    The friendly owners really make you feel at home in their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendly owners really make you feel at home in their gorgeous, unique home. Breakfast was delicious, and there was so much excellent attention to detail in every aspect of our stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    10
    the incredibly sweet kitchen :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no bad comments... only thing is the fan was a bit squeaky when it moved from side to side ;) but slept through it :)

    the incredibly sweet kitchen :) the room, the pets at the guesthouse (Pippa was my favourate) the quiet, nature & fresh air. perfect location.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    9.2
    We stayed in a large room overlooking the gardens and pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing we disliked.

    We stayed in a large room overlooking the gardens and pool area which was nice and private. We only stayed one night as it was a quick overnight stopover on route to Franschhoek, but it was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The b&b is in easy waking distance to all amenities in the town and the owner was able to recommended us a good restaurant around the corner for dinner.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    10
    Excellent breakfast and decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent breakfast and decor. Close to restaurants and friendly hosts

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    9.2
    A really lovely place, everything and everybody so nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A really lovely place, everything and everybody so nice. We really enjoyed it!

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    10
    Everything we always stay there when going up to Knysna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing if we didn't like something we wouldn't keep staying there!!

    Everything we always stay there when going up to Knysna

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    Delicious food and wonderful hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Delicious food and wonderful hosts! Clean, beautiful room. Really great place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.2
    Very decent and friendly owners made us feel comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very decent and friendly owners made us feel comfortable. Nice large room. Excellent Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    7.5
    Atmosphere off last century .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Atmosphere off last century .

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    9.2
    fantastic breakfast, specious comfortable and lovely room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    fantastic breakfast, specious comfortable and lovely room, and very helpful hosts, with great tips about the area!

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    10
    The comfort and excellent breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The comfort and excellent breakfasts

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    10
    Fantastic hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic hosts...fabulous breakfast...terrific 104 yr. old house...lovely flowers and desert plants! Montagu is a great little town to visit!

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    8.3
    unique house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    unique house. good atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No ability to pay cash when booking through Booking.com

    Good location.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    10
    Everthing was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everthing was excellent

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    9.2
    Peacefully, friendly staff, walking distance from shops
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No DSTV

    Peacefully, friendly staff, walking distance from shops

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    9.2
    Tasteful interior decoration
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No airconditioning on a very hot day, +-40 degrees

    Tasteful interior decoration

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    10
    As always at Airlies superb in all respects
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As always at Airlies superb in all respects

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    7.5
    Nice and quiet close to restuarants.
    • Couple

    That there is no kitchen window and no Dstv.

    Nice and quiet close to restuarants.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    8.8
    Friendliness and helpfullness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Suggest that breakfast be served with Butter not margarine

    Friendliness and helpfullness

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    Owners are warm and exceptionally friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Owners are warm and exceptionally friendly. You feel right at home.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    7.1
    Friendly owner good parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast not up to any good. Mattress to hard. Floor boards creeked just to noisy

    Friendly owner good parking House very historic. Good locationy

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    7.5
    Lovely B&B, Friendly staff, clean and tidy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The house/Decor could do with some modernisation.

    Lovely B&B, Friendly staff, clean and tidy!

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    10
    Efficiency blended with interest and kindness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Efficiency blended with interest and kindness. Great ambiance. Beautiful gardens and swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    6.3
    Clean - and comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exceptionally squeaky floors - especially during night - and no tv for late afternoon sports before dinner.

    Clean - and comfy bed

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2015

    10
    Great location, friendly owners, lots of little extra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, friendly owners, lots of little extra touches to make our stay comfortable

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    9.6
    Large garden room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No fridge in room

    Large garden room. Lovely pool area

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    8.3
    Service was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Creaking wooden floor Room 4. Parking a bit of a problem.

    Service was excellent

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Guests also reviewed these properties: