Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Airport Game Lodge 3 stars

21 Fourth Rd Bredell, 1625 Kempton Park, South Africa

#30 of 55 hotels in Kempton Park

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 281 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.0
    3 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the rooms extremely cold with inadequate heating. Disappointed that only after I had booked found out that the restaurant was only going to be open for breakfast. We had to rely on food being delivered.

    It was a good place to recover from a 13 hour flight with little children. Space for them to run around and enjoy the game

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.7
    Review of Airport Game Lodge - Jason Turner (South Africa)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 20 clean but not well maintained - handrail for towel broken falling off the wall. Room very cold with tiled floors and only one floor mat - should put additional mats or carpets in bathroom and in living room. Location in semi industrial area, not as appealing as gallery photos which implies vast open space for the animals, misleading. Layout of buildings not very appealing, more like design of government buildings - ie. functional but lacks style for a hotel. Ripped front seats in shuttle vehicle, doesn't give good firsy impression. Poor communication between reception and shuttle driver, I had to wait 35 mins at the airport while driver tried to find out which other passengers needed collection.

    Close proximity to airport, and concept of having wild animals is appealing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    The staff were super friendly and the breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nice but it was extremely cold. I was cold throughout the night.

    The staff were super friendly and the breakfast was delicious. The free airport shuttle is also great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    The room part was clean and nice quiet area.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was terrible...the shower head and door was old and needed to be replaced a year ago. The toilet was stained. I wouldn't rate them 3 stars.

    The room part was clean and nice quiet area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Am planing for a trip to Souith Africa and I will stay there again and again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately when I checked in I could tell the bedsheets where not changed after the previous use. There were hairs on the bed.

    The animals view was so nice in the morning. the structure., green corridors, the green grass..... excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    i enjoyed it and my son loved it he cant stop talking about the animals
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the TV they must upgrade and put kids programmes and the place is cold it needs a heater the heater they have is just extra light its not warm at all

    the location, staff and the shuttle to the airport and the fire place i loved it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    it was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the food can be improved as there were too oily and no one at the server point to assist

    the food can be improved as there were too oily and no one at the server point to assist

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Clean and convenient for business and shopping around joburg
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small Beds in the Double room and they charge too much for shuttle service to the nearest mall

    Clean and convenient for business and shopping around joburg

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    I have already told the travel manager of our company to recommend the lodge to our people.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shuttle only arrived about 1 1/2 hours after my plane. I was under the impression from the online info that the restaurant was open for all meals but it only serves breakfast and I had to order food to be brought in from the only place they deal with. Still, I love the lodge.

    What a beautiful little room! Comfortable, pretty and right by the airport. Loved that they gave a shuttle. The lit up pool at night was beautiful and, my pet duiker having died earlier this year, I was happy to be around the game.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    I enjoyed staying in that place . In future I would love to visited that place. I guess very few thi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fire on the second day was closed and the TV only play few channels. If airconditions may be added instead of heaters that can improves my experience of the place.

    Guests are treated very well. Your staff was so welcoming, friendly and respectful. Guests are treated equally without judgment of colour , ethnicity or race since I ve noticed most of the guests were from overseas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.4
    NICE NAME, NICE WILDLIVE, NO SERVICE!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was looking for an accommodation close by the airport and for the two night I was in Johannesburg, Airport Gam Lodge was perfect. When I got to there, it took them a while for to answer the intercom making me wondering if there was anyone there! Later, after I finally got in and got to the reception, I have been greeted with a HI and left to wait! Then I could understand why it took them so long to let me in! There was only one lady and she was busy helping a couple with some bottle of wines, first choose then to get it out of an automat. While waiting I could witness how people may have difficulties making choice between two bottle of wine, should we have red or white! And then how frustrating it could be to have to deal with a very reluctant automat that does want your money! At least they entertained me while I was waiting. Finally the lady handled the check-in and bring me to the room (26) explaining me how busy they have been handling all those groups. While she was presenting the room I mention that there was no towel, but she organise it and I got one towel slightly later, but no mat to put by the shower. On my second day, I got a phone call from the reception of the hotel requesting me to stop by them when I would come back to settle the bill as I mentioned I would leave early, what I did when I got back at 9 in the evening. But then, when I got to the room, I was horrified to discover that it was it the same state than when I left at 6 in the morning! I walked back to the reception to hear "Oh yes, sorry but the previous client left with the key and we do not have a spare key to open the door, reason why the room has not been cleaned! Would you like me to put you in another room?" NO THANKS, I will use the other bed, but may you maybe give me a towel that I can have a shower? Sure, wait I will be back right now! I stand there for few minutes until I got two small towels then thanks the lady and said good night to hear back good night!

    Close by the airport, view over the field and the animals, spacious room (26), confortable beds, free parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.3
    Maureen&Nick
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable. After the second night our bodies was so sore. It was like sleeping on the floor.

    It was very peaceful and breakfast was great. It is a pity they don't do dinners.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Great!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access at the gate expose clients to danger. If it rains I'll be wet trying to reach the phone.

    Rooms Bed Nature Quitness Privacy Cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.7
    Simple, but meets the requirements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our first stay in a superior room lots was missing (light bulbs) and the basin tap was faulty which meant that the water spat over the basin. The second visit was in a standard room; luckily that room was much better maintained . Breakfast is served till 9 am, arriving at 09h05 we we're told that breakfast was no longer available, though lots of people we're still having. Not really flexible and hospitable. So we went for breakfast elsewhere

    The airport transfer service and parking facilities for your car are great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    6.3
    Very disclosed venue though your service was not up to the expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. It was cold n nothing to warm us 2. Only 3 boring tv channel working 3. We complained the night we arrived n we were not attended at All, the next day once more we called reception and we were never assisted 4. We requested iron and ironing board which also we were never attended until we left-Poir service indeed

    The area is quite n good for one to have a peace of mind

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    2.9
    Mean stuff members, filthy property (full of old broken cars) No airvinditioner. Bad service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon my check in at the Lodge's reception, the receptionist was so mean, we were then given room 15, which is a room in the furthest corner of the property. This room was located behind what looked like a scrap yard. There's multiple old broken cars in the yard. The lodge didnt have any stocks on drinks except the h2o which is readily available everywhere in the country. The room was so hot, there's no airconditioning and the the fan mounted on the wall wouldn't really work. The bathroom window wouldn't close. This is not really a lodge, this is more like a place you'd book when you've got no other options. I wouldn't recommend it. Bad service

    The transfer from or Tambo International Airport to the lodge was comfortable and we felt very safe.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Great breakfast and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a hard time finding the shuttle driver at the airport and I had to wait a long time (2 hours) for the shuttle to leave because we were waiting on another arrival whose flight was delayed.

    The room and hotel grounds were exceedingly pleasant and relaxing. Breakfast was fantastic. I wish I had more time there to use the pool.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    4.6
    General Manager needs to learn some trust
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly there was no happiness or acknowledgement that we booked with them again. It's ok. One of the reasons I booked is there is a common kitchen area where we can cook. It was a state of mess and unclean with several things dumped there. Fridge was not working. So they gave us a fridge in the room. All this was still ok but the attitude of their GM Thomas put us off completely. We left after 2 days. On way to airport( we went 2 hours ahead only as it was close to catch an international flight), Thomas calls the driver Rodney and asks him to return as we hadn't made the payment. our credit card details were all provided and it is the foremost duty of staff to ensure the clients leave before paying. The way he was talking to us to come back or draw cash and pay was rude and absolutely with no trust despite us coming a 2nd time for no fault of ours. He knew we couldn't miss our flight but was just asking us to return. He further instructed Rodney to take us to a police station to sign an affidavit. Seriously some service this was. Our savior that day was Rodney who ensured we didn't go back . I gave him my card details again and he took personal responsibilty of this and ensured the card was charged without us. How could he have done it but Thomas wasnt able to beats us. Shoddy treatment and it was a damp end to our otherwise great holiday.

    We went there as a repeat customer after 2006. It's a quiet and serene place close to airport and they have some games like ostrich, guinea fowl, springbok for a leisurely 2 days with a toddler which we thought will be nice. Free airport shuttle service was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Loved the accomodation and the animals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One supper was unacceptable as it was weighed we paid R65 for one spoon of rice and a half spoon of stew..

    No breakfast on both occasions as departure was too early.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.3
    Convenient stay but Lodge needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lodge really needs refurbishment - rather tired furniture and fittings. Limited TV channels. No bathmats so shiny floor a bit dangerous. Ricory coffee in rooms (again!) not Nescafe.

    Nicely located and peaceful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    nice relaxing place to stay but close to the Johannesburg airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good size room and very clean, with animals behind a fence ( small antelope, guinea fowl, ostriches) --very relaxing place to be. Bed was comfortable, the breakfast good . I doubt I would find the place without a shuttle though ( which worked well by the way) but a bit isolated which was a good thing in our case but may not suit everyone especially if you do not have a car Very friendly helpful staff who were very happy to help out with ordering in meals from restaurants even though we chose not to eat at the onsite restaurant for all the meals

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    3.3
    Very disappointing and not what was advertised on booking.com
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was advertised as pet friendly but when we arrived with the two Jack Russels we were told that no pets were allowed. They let us stay. Our rooms were not made up so they had to allocate other rooms. Restuarant was closed on a Friday night at 7pm Breakfast not up to standard. Toilet paper on the bathroom floor - cheap TV and general furnishings old and dated and bedside lamp did not work Hairdryer in bathroom not working. I will NOT recommend this place to anyone. Free Wi Fi not working.

    Garden and premises.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    would check out other places before booking it looks good in pictures but in person its avrage
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Buffet style dinner, weighing each portion of food and paying per weight not good.

    it was peaceful clean and the staff was friendly and courteous but the breakfast was poor .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.0
    In view of our experience I would not book this property again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were not notified in advance that we would need to change accommodation as our room was unavailable and I had to telephone several times to find out where our lift was that was supposed to pick us up from the airport - I had given the airport game lodge our flight time/arrival time but they turned up early and when we didnt come through to arrivals they left. The car had to come back again to pick us up after I managed to get through and explained that we had only just landed and still had to get our baggage from baggage reclaim!

    We actually didnt stay at the airport game lodge even though we booked it - after being picked up at the airport we were advised there was a problem with the water in the room we had been allocated so we were dropped off at another premises nearby. We were actually charged more for this property than the price we had booked at airport game lodge which I thought was not right but I didnt want to make a fuss with the other guest house owner as they were very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Short trip from airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airport transfer-more communication required about this as no-one there when I arrived & then waited an hour until driver came as he had decided to pick up later flight passengers as well. Would have been good to know of this plan.

    Short trip from airport.enjoyed the animals & being able to feed them.very quiet at night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice large rooms perfect for an overnight stay when travelling through Johannesburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was not screened off from the bedroom. Had to walk through bedroom to get from shower to wash basin and toilet. No restaurants, shops, bars nearby - very remote area.

    Very large rooms, comfortable beds, nice outdoor sitting area. Nice grounds with game to look at.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    5.8
    Basic hotel near to airport with shuttle included
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are run down and need to be brought up to date and during winter months they are cold! The small electric heater is barely adequate and inappropriate to be left on all night. On our first night one of our taps leaked and a week later, when we returned to a different room, the small bathroom sink had been fitted with a kitchen monobloc tap that overshot the basin; in addition there was no plug on either occasion. I didn't complain as these faults are obvious to the staff. TV quality poor. I paid extra for a deluxe room, which met my needs on my first visit, but on return to the hotel a week later I was given a 'superior'. I was disappointed with the room and it was hard work making the reception staff understand that I felt as I had paid extra, my deluxe room should have been saved for me; they also couldn't see why I felt a reduction was appropriate, as the rate I had received through Booking.com almost 3 month before, was below their walk in price. Eventually this was dealt with the following morning by phone to the owner. The restaurant is a little hit and miss. Lovely fresh salad and soup; but the fish was clearly frozen and poorly cooked. Buffet looked ok.

    The hotel is usefully situated near to the airport and an airport shuttle is provided for clients.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    Great hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We used the free airport shuttle to take us to the hotel- Thomas our driver was friendly and helpful. Eva on reception helped our friends who had trouble contacting their ongoing accommodation- she rang and emailed the property. Breakfasts were great, hot and cold foods, good coffee! WiFi generally very good in our room. Near to airport, would recommend as friendly place to stay!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    3.8
    I stayed fews hours and i did not like the place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was too cold, facility not what i expected. was not good at all. Had to checkout the same night to the other Lodge. I paid for nothing. Please install air conditioner for the customer comfort.

    Friendly Guys who assisted me.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Paradise in JHB!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only thing is I can suggest is to upgrade the TV'S.

    The staff was genuinely friendly and very helpful.Breakfast was 5****** and although restaurant is fairly new staff noted suggestions.I have found my permanent place whilst travelling monthly to JHB! Highly reccomended

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    Airport Game Lodge - my home in Jozi!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a good property. Staff are great. Breakfast is delicious. Airport shuttle is good. It would be a great place to stay in summer as there is a nice pool. However in winter the tiled floors are very cold and the hot water takes a long time to come through the pipes.

    Staff were great especially Rodney who helped to sort out transport into the city to a restaurant and pick up to return to AGL late at night which I was nervous about. I stayed there five times in a month.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.5
    perfect stay
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view...room...but the TV didn't have enough channels...but the WiFi replaces that.

    I really liked the assistance of the staff...hence when I arrived I made a mistake on my online bookings by booking a date for June instead of may,but I was assisted and helped. I had my stay and it was perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Great place close to the airport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a great place close to the airport. You wake up and see the deer and ostriches in the huge garden. The people are nice, airport pickup is reliable. Cozy restaurant (perhaps not open year-round) Just great value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.2
    Where the Game is Tame & the Wild is Mild
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chilly room - no heat, but small portable heater helped.

    Animals on site! We opened our door to see antelope, ostrich & guinea fowl. Large room, good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    6.7
    spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bath mat was dirty, bathroom was dated, stains on pillows etc. an effort to update decor has been made, but it falls a little short

    spacious room breakfast room was very nice outside property was very nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    8.3
    The perfect lodge for beginnings and ends to overseas trips.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water in morning (this has happened on 2 occasions to us) when large groups shower and use up hot water.

    Always very helpful -- we stayed 2 nights with a gap of 10 days in between for travel to Serengeti -- they picked us up at 12:45 am at Oliver Tambo. You are allowed to leave your vehicle their FREE for short periods of time! Very convenient and ample breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Splendidi stay
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Lovedthat place . Its a little "bush" paradise close to the airport. Quiet with some animal viewing behing dence, impalas that you can feed and ostriches.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    6.7
    The service to collect from the airport and drop off again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pitch dark in the shower. Shower shelf completely rusted Very basic room but is advertised as a Deluxe Room. Insufficient lighting to walk to the restaurant. Badly worded on website as the bedroom with 4 beds (family room) only allows two people. Very basic b&b.

    The service to collect from the airport and drop off again is a fantastic service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.7
    Lovely stay at Airport Game Lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we ate our dinner at the restaurant. We ordered the steak and chips, ordering our steak rare to medium. When the steak came ours was not the thick piece that all the other people got but a very thin piece. which was not a problem if the steak was not served on a very very hot plate. So when the thin steak came, even though it was nicely seasoned, the steak was well done through and through because of the extremely hot plate.

    The breakfast was really nice, lovely swimmingpool area, green grass and most of all the animals roaming around gives you a feeling of having a holiday in the Wildtuin

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    8.3
    A Touch of the Wild just near Johannesburg airport
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Within 5-10 minutes drive from JNB OR Tambo airport. Secluded country setting in the city. Animals roaming,gives you your first taste of Africa day one. Staff courteous and shuttle free to-from the property. Excellent value for money, rooms comfortable with all necessary facilities for its star category. Highly recommended for transit or overnight stay on arrival or departure Johannesburg area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.1
    the place was quiet and peaceful
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked a room for two people sharing, but when I arrived there they gave me room with 2 single beds, reason being that they could not pick up amendments I made on my first booking. it was bad sleeping on separate single beds with my husband.

    the place was quiet and peaceful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    10
    Beautiful relaxing place close to O.R.Tambo airport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    table lamp did not work

    Fantastic location close to the airport, but you get the feel of being outside the city because of the big garden area and the area with game. A very relaxing place to stop-over in Joburg

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    8.3
    Good but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could be little more courteous. Breakfast is very basic.

    The ambience is great. It's like a resort. Rooms have what is just needed. Maintained well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    8.3
    Room was spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was spacious. It was a very quiet environment. Loved waking up to see animals (ostriches and types of antelope) from my room. Was only an overnight stay, so meet my needs.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    7.9
    An enjoyable overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shuttle service was mainly for the airport and very expensive. Breakfast was also disappointing.

    The accommodation was good and served its purpose for the midweek trip. Enjoying the country environment in the middle of a huge commercial area was welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    5.0
    besides the above mentioned the little bucks and birds at the lodge calmed me... but never again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no tv against the walk, it looked like the place was robbed dis the wires were hanging there and no top on the table it looks like there was supposed to be a glasstop, but nothing.... we don't mind to pay for a stay but really this want on.... and when I arrived at the airport it was a running around to find them... and that had my flight details emailed to them.... when I got them I had to wait another while for other passengers to arrive... really really not worth at all

    There was animals that set a nice mood, staff was friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Wonderful relaxing family environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower door could be repaired.Maybe consider a little play area for kids that is accessible and convenient.

    Relaxing atmosphere. Animals are a plus. Definitely a place to visit more than once.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    9.6
    Excellent choice near the aiport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the second time a very good stay close to the aiport but quiet,also the airport transfer is very well organized. BIG BONUS is a cozy restaurant since 2 months with good and reasonable priced food so no you don,t have to go out for dinner.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    6.5
    Out-of-town vibe close to airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were too hard. Regarding food, we landed on Christmas day so we only had the option to eat lunch and dinner at the lodge. There were very few and very basic options for lunch (mac & cheese-type plates). The evening offered a buffet and we arrived about an hour before it closed, but there was not much food left. When we asked for more meat, we were told what was left was four portions. It tasted OK, but we only got a ten rand discount for the

    Nice with impalas in the garden.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    5.0
    We will not book at Airport Game lodge again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was raining and had to run to get to the restaurant. The room was not clean, the pillows were dirty and the wall behind the bed was black with grime. There was only one towel for two people. The room was quite noisy as we were adjacent to the reception.

    The location was good. Supper & breakfast were good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.5
    Friendly staff and the meals were great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard but no worries for just one night.

    Friendly staff and the meals were great! Like simple home cooking. I really enjoyed dinner, and breakfast was good too, including the coffee!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    7.9
    Great 1 night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Though it was a short stay. I wish I could stay an extra night. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The complimentary transfers make all the difference. Thank you Thomas for your patience and going the extra mile. Much appreciated!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    7.5
    The airport game lodge is a lovely place with a really nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is tricky. Without a car you cannot really go anywhere, so you have to book a tour (that can be quite pricey) or go by taxi. It takes around 30-45min into the city.

    The airport game lodge is a lovely place with a really nice garden and a good restaurant. The included breakfast was really nice. Also, the room was nice and quite spacious but I think there are also less spacious ones... so depends if you are lucky :) a variety of tours are offered

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    7.5
    a little bit of the wild in the city
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to stop to buy meals as the accomodation only offers breakfast; we were tired so this was an inconvenience. The breakfast table didn't label the meat products which is important for other faiths. Im not sure they had any beef, it felt like all meat products were pork.

    The rooms were quite spacious, beds were comfortable and large (queen sized beds in a twin room), the room's deco was tasteful. The facility is green with great outdoor sitting featuring hammocks and benches. They have some wild game in enclosures and guests may feed the animals but need to purchase the feeds (grazers, no carnivores). Especially loved the free airport shuttle.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    5.4
    thanks but no thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that they let their dogs wonder around and always barking on guests. their reception is not even visible, we had to be assisted by the cleaning staff

    nothing

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.2
    Excellent location and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room where I slept was next to the reception area, which made it a bit noisy with everybody arriving and leaving.

    Location is excellent for travel to and from OR Tambo International Airport. Friendly an helpful staff. Great variety of food available at breakfast. Nice atmosphere with wildlife on premises. Room is clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.3
    Clean rooms and pleasant gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurant or cafe. Pool could have been cleaner, lots of insects in it.

    Nice gardens and animals to look at. Plenty of outdoor seating areas. A very relaxing peaceful atmosphere. Kitchen area with vending machines and a place to prepare & eat your own food. Reception helpful with ordering take away food. Able to arrange late checkout time, for a small cost.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    7.1
    Accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is difficult to find as the GPS could not locate the street. Had to ask at petrol stations for directions.

    The premise was clean & the staff very accommodating. They provide options for dinner at other establishments as no evening meals provided. The breakfast had a good range if cooked & non cooked choices.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    6.7
    Quiet accommodation near to airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No TV remote, shower head was dirty and sprayed in all directions except where we wanted it to, not many animals for a place called a game lodge.

    Nice large rooms, friendly helpful staff, good breakfast buffet except there was no decaf coffee. Close to airport.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.2
    very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    towel hanger was broken.

    staff are very kind and friendy. free shatle service from and to airport was very good. many animals can be seen such as ducks, chikens, horses and springbogs.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    7.5
    My stay was a short one,too short, but would like to come back.again. It was the first time I made a
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not watch the TV, because I could not see the remote. but it was too late to look for it in the office.

    I had to leave too early and could'nt have breakfast , but I enjoyed cups of tea and coffee very much in the room. I had a restful night. It was all I needed that night.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.9
    The staff were amazing and really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food and beverage services were a vending machine only. There were no facilities within walking distance to buy groceries or a meal. They offered a delivery service however it to an average of 2 hrs for meals to arrive.

    The staff were amazing and really helpful. From airport pick ups and arranging day trips I cannot fault them at all. 100% satidfaction in this regard.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    7.5
    Nice location, basic room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a deluxe room and disliked: * shower next to bed - not en suite. * loo with tiny basin * no wash basin except the tiny one in loo. * bed was only 150 cm wide & was expecting a wider bed as per booking form. * plastic sheet under bed linen as in hospital made it really uncomfortable and noisy. * although this was supposed to be a deluxe room, only 1 ply loo paper.

    What I liked: * the location close to the airport. * spacious and clean room. * quiet although close to the airport. Large grounds with animals (bucks etc). * plenty of parking spaces.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    7.1
    Close to the airport with good transfers and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very cold, additional heaters are needed. No WiFi and TV in room didn't work.

    Breakfast very good. Most staff helpful and friendly. Good for a stay near the airport with excellent transfer service. Trips easily arranged from reception.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    THE ROOM WAS SPACIOUS AND CLEAN
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE BED WAS TERRIBLE....VERY OLD MATRESSES

    THE ROOM WAS SPACIOUS AND CLEAN

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    Friendly, helpful staff - a real positive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not really a "game lodge" with a buck and domestic animals...

    Friendly, helpful staff - a real positive

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Winderful stay at a reasonable price. Such a african feel
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were clean but a bit stiff. Much softer would be excellent

    The heater

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Satisfactory
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet facility

    A well locate hotel in a serene environment. Lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Airport Game Lodge Review
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet, large and peaceful. I recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    Help ful and easy booking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as nice as internet photos and “game lodge” a bit of a scam

    Help ful and easy booking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    everything was comfort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no complains at all

    everything was comfort

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cold

    The place and the staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Conveniently close to the airport. Very tranqui. Looks out over a field with wild deer.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities could've been kept slightly better

    Tranquil and quiet even though it's very close to the airport. Spacious room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    A good choice to avoid city hectic environment.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My stay didn't get any thing to not like

    The quietness, the noise of the ducks eheheh reminds me when I slept at my grandmother farm...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is in a great location for the airport and set in lovely grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel for my daughter as a stop off between organised trips. She was collected from the airport and felt safe.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Airport Game Lodge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: