Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of aha Alpine Heath Resort 4 stars

Off Cavernberg Road, 3354 Bonjaneni, South Africa

#3 of 6 hotels in Bonjaneni

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 306 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    4.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    An enyouable stay, but would probably try for a more real 'Drakensberg' experience next time around
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Chalet in need of some maintenance. Many little things broken (fridge door, front door lock, etc) Somehow it didn't quite feel like being in the Drakensberg - located in a valley before the real mountains start Service in the restaurant is really slow, and everything has curry in it - we don't mind a bit of curry, but not on every dish!

    Staff generally very friendly Pricing very reasonable Breakfast was excellent The nearby Adventure Zone is awesome for kids and adults

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    The kids loved it, and thats all that matters.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Chalet
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Peacock pooh on the seats at the restaurant.

    Just not happy with the service at the restaurant, we waited for long periods to be served because the property is short staffed during the week, the food was good but found some items on the menu weren't available. Its important when you are on holiday and you don't intend to cook that one has a wide variety of food to choose from. Also, not sure on the cake delivery but it was fresh the one day and the next it was completely stale. I hated the peacock poo on the chairs outside the restaurant completely unhygienic and I don't think complies with health standards of South Africa. (this particular issue would make me not come back)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    It was ok for a a single night getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was average. Expected more than one roast - had only one. Taste was nothing exeptional. No soup - especially with the cold weather. - lots of cold starters though

    Rooms were clean and cormfortable. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Overall the place is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners aren’t the friendliest of the stuff members

    The kiddies activities were great kept them busy for most of the day Stuff at reception and the on site restaurants are very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Chalet was quite small and the furnishing was dated. There is also a bit of a walk from the carpark to the Chalet.

    Excellent location- close to the Royal Natal National Park which has breathtaking hikes. The hotel also offers guided and unguided hikes within their property. The property size is large, with amazing views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    Great place but improve the restuarant services
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The resturant does not cater for vegitarians It takes too long for the food to be served The waiters do not check on you you need to call an wait.

    The fascilities was good Kids had lots to do

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant resort good amenities and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness could have been better lots of spiders and insects inside unit bathrooms need upgrading and better locks on doors and windows

    Good location and very friendly and efficient staff good entertainment for kids

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Amazing location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is okay. For lunch and dinner I'd recommend to go to surrounding accommodations, or make your own.

    Amazing surroundings! Perfect for hiking, mountain biking etc. The chalet (deluxe) is spacious and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.7
    False advertising
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was extremely disappointing. Not a wide variety and did not cater for dietary requirements for vegetarians and those that don't eat pork or beef. Also Deli shop was not well stocked for self catering. Poor quality. False advertising.

    The scenery and activities were good. Nice hiking trails and kids were well entertained

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Excellent location and staff were friendly and helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The entire staff that we dealt with were always super friendly and extremely helpful. The kids centre was fantastic and always had something on the go for them. The rooms were nice and clean and everything worked. A great place to stay for the family and definitely worth the visit!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Stunning resort with excellent facilities and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly a number of options weren’t available on the menus in the restaurant and coffee shop for dinner and breakfast but staff were happy to accommodate us with variations to meet our tastes.

    We only had an overnight stay so did not have enough time to use the fitness centre. The place was absolutely stunning and the staff couldn’t have been more helpful or friendly - especially with the children.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.8
    Most likely will not be recommending your establishment - sorry.
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff are LAZY, service was slow and the food was pretty awful.

    Hiking opportunities were good, pity about the rubbish and graffiti - someone should try to sort this out as the surrounds are beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.7
    Accommodation below standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard of accommodation was poor, e.g. Roof leaking, fridge didn't work and had to be replaced, low water pressure in one bathroom, kitchen infested with ants, etc

    Very scenic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    4.6
    Atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our chalets were dirty! We payed a lot for 2 chalets R31000 to be exact yet the chalets were infested with cob webs an insects. Housekeeping did a dismal job of cleaning. And the infestation of ants was disgusting. Won’t return anytime soon.

    Atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    The staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast menu doesn't change which makes it dull if you're staying for a few days. Also, during the week half the breakfast options are not available but you're paying the same price as the breakfast over the weekend. There was no aircon in the rooms which was much needed.

    The staff were very friendly. There was a lot of awesome activities planned for the people staying at the property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Large groups, noisy, property maintenance needs attention. New general manager who seems to want to improve things. Had to pay to get a braai (BBQ). This should be standard.

    Lovely location, great walks, good facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.3
    The house was clean and the view was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was not close to the house. We had to walk with two small kids in the rain with all are baggage. Not Fun! No help from the staff. We explained that we had two small kids and that my husband just had a knee operation. Still they offered no help. The kids play area was under maintenance and there were not a lot of things to do for kids. We will not be returning there any time soon.

    The house was clean and the view was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Amazing. i will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it gets very hot in the self catering units and you cannot leave the windows open because of insects and mosquitos. Can the units not be airconditioned? Otherwise, there are absolutely no other concerns.

    the resort was exceptionally clean. the staff were very friendly and efficient and the service and food was excellent. the resort was children friendly and catered to their special needs. housekeeping and maintenance were super quick to react to any concerns.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    Was fairly satisfied, but very disappointed with the last payment issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Was made to feel cheap with their finance management. Was not contacted in any way, when a 50% deposit payment was taken. 100% payment was needed on check-in. Was not possible to pay for meals, debiting the room, but needed a credit approval or had to pay cash. During one supper, waitress disappeared for 20 minutes while wanting to pay. Went to reception to let them know this fact, and would pay next morning on check-out. They sent the waitress to our room to collect at 9.20pm !!!

    Wonderful location, with good structures. Excellent organization for the kids, keeping them safe and busy with all sorts of activities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.5
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was horrible from main restaurant. The cleaners 👀 . I would have appreciated a shower cap.

    The kids loved the activities. The staff is helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    6.3
    Sleeping was very uncomfortable due to the heat in the chalet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering many people visit in Summer, there should at least be airconditioners in the chalet. You are equipped with a fireplace n electric blankets so please consider aircons. For this reason I will not recommended non visit this establishment in Summer. Ever. Also the restaurant menus needs to be drastically reviewed. The food was horribly tasteless n unpleasant looking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.7
    Nice holiday for family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was old , our toilet had a bad smell and the water from the shower wasn't draining properly. Had to wait 30 minutes for the water to drain after 1 person has showered. Other than that I really enjoyed myself.

    The food is fairly good . Loved the kids entertainment. My kids enjoyed everything. The staff helped us with information when my son needed medical attention. Really appreciated that. We will be back someday.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.3
    4 days and R10K wasted
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Resort did not enforce a family stay environment for SOME guests. Load, drunk partying till 04:00 in the mornings. Will never stay at this place again. Staff allow SOME guests with own beer at BREAKFAST, load non family oriented.

    Resort did not enforce a family stay environment for SOME guests. Load, drunk partying till 04:00 in the mornings. Will never stay at this place again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.7
    I will definitely come back to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed in our main bedroom was a little saggy and the cleaners refused to wash a pot that we had used for cooking our meals because it was not from the resort.

    I liked the whole community feel of the place. The resort is amazing with a lot to offer. The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    6.3
    Activities were good, rooms could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms were not in the best condition. Should have better pathways from rooms when it rains gets messy. Should have air conditioners in rooms, very hot at night. Food not so good.

    Facilities and activities for kids were good Kitchen fully equipped

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    6.3
    Awesome location with beautiful views and great hiking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness was not up to scratch. Facilities need upgrading. Furniture and bathroom were dated. Bed very uncomfortable. Staff need more training.

    Awesome location with beautiful views and great hiking trails. Mini golf, pool and tennis court kept kids entertained. Clay Pizza oven added bonus

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    4.6
    Fifty fifty.( Good and bad)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front of house staff especially the reception team a few of them couldn't care less, we had the worst checking in my life time

    The view is amazing, cleanliness of the place is so good,the only thing that let's the place down is the customer service,90% of the staff don't understand the importance of customer service it's sad and shocking for the amount of money you pay to get such service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    had a great stay, enjoyed the sceneries And the activities at all out fan
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast was same everyday, the breakfast menu needs some variety, the tv needs more chanals, there is a need for some music in the chalet

    bed was comfy ,the rooms were clean, staff was friendly and respecful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.8
    Got better as they days progressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Facilities management, ensure that all appliances per unit work as they are intended to. Response communication from staff is poor and can be improved

    The location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    2.9
    Front office manager thought she had done us favour by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front office manager thought she had done us favour by checking us in very bad attitude. The rooms where filthy. curtains, sheets, and a reclean up was done on Saturday morning. Light fittings and switches are a health risk. All the curtains where replaced and sheets that where stained and dirty toilets re cleaned we were told that we could not be moved if we needed to be moved we must pay R500 extra per nite

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    The dinner, facilities, and activities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to really check the charges as initially we were told that the breakfast was not included when it was.

    The dinner, facilities, and activities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    I had a lovely stay, i wish to go back there soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Dinner Buffet did not meet my expectation and the bathrooms did not have air freshner.

    Friendly staff, if we had queries we were attended asap. Very nice place to be at.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Holiday was enjoyed by the whole family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Closer access to the units with the car would have been nice to off load and load up when leaving. The bathrooms would need an upgrade soon, but still very clean

    The welcome was fabulous and staff very accommodating. Great facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Excellent service from everyone on the resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service from everyone on the resort. Peaceful and tranquil atmosphere. A special thank you to Jack and Kent at the horse riding for giving us such a wonderful horse riding experience. Will definitely come back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    we had a great time, but I feel there are room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    limited food choices in their menu. Did not enjoy their breakfast options, very limited. They neeed to revise and make changes for us to visit them more.

    the security who were patrolling the entire night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Tranquil, relaxing and definelty somewhere I would recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not like the fact that when I booked on Bookings.com the voucher included breakfast which I assumed was for the entire family. yet when I got there I was advised this is only for one person. The inclusion of the breakfast was one of the main reasons I booked at Alpine heath instead of taking any other package deal with other resorts. the staff at Alpine were not very willing to look into it and we ended up not having any breakfast at the restaurant as it would have been crazy for just one person from the family to eat at the restaurant.

    I love that the resort itself was so peaceful, the kids were so free to play around and everything looked really safe . the rooms were super comfortable as well

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    I prefer smaller guest houses, with less people. Very busy place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The year end function at the resort was very noisy, and they occupy the swimming pool completely. We waited very long for our food at the restaurant, although the restaurant was almost empty, only 6 people in the whole restaurant. The food was good though.

    The spa treatment was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was beautiful I can't point one thing that wasnt right .

    Environment, the place its self was perfect. The staff were so friendly I could have had a better place than alphine its so perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Most enjoyable experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lunch we were going to have but ended up cancelling.

    The view of the area on arrival as spectacular.The breakfast buffet was delicious. Rooms were comfortable and clean, well equipped with everything we needed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    Location, friendly and helpful staff, facilities e.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I expected a better standard of accommodation for a 4 star facility. It deserved 3 stars.

    Location, friendly and helpful staff, facilities e.g. tennis, coffee shop, etc

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful location and but service not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at restaurants was painfully slow. Despite booking including breakfast, the staff didn't seem to be aware of the arrangement and we ended up paying for breakfast. Chalet was covered in ants, we had to wash dishes immediately after preparing food or eating. Resort got very noisy when a school group arrived.

    Location is beautiful. My daughter enjoyed the jungle gyms, trampolines and horse riding.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.8
    Nice but needs a revamp
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need a bit of remodeling and revamping. Could do with a major spring cleaning. It's just average,nothing spectacular. Some of the pictures are misleading. It's quite a drive into the place so kids kept asking the dreadded ARE WE THERE YET

    The guide for Horse back riding was excellent. Alot of lovely activities for kids. Its Completely self catering and shops are very far so make sure you have everything you need for the duration of your stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.0
    The ideal winter holiday destination
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathrooms need to be upgraded, and bath / basin mixers would be ideal. Being muslim, they did not cater for us, so we could not buy any of the food from the restaurants, the cost of bread, ice cream and even the water was expensive from the Village Market, we ended up driving all the way to Harrismith to buy pizza.

    The Resort is situated in the heart of the Drakensberg mountains, if you looking for silence and relaxation this is the place to be, if not there is lots of activities at the resort to keep everybody active from horse back riding, putt putt, hikes, movies, tennis & squash and volley ball to name a few, as well as a host of other daily activities. All Out Adventures is very close to the resort were they have cable tours, quads, trail runs, zip line, king swings and many more , but make sure you have lots of spending money it can become very costly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    It was a wonderful trip despite the rooms not being up to standard. Great staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Safety, Someone came into our room at Chalet 67 and pulled our handbag out, when my mum called out they jumped out the window. The bag was on the bed open, only some of the contents where taken out, but not stolen, we obviously disrupted them. I called reception and security came up, but never got a call from management or anything of that sort. The Toilet in Chalet 66 en-suite leaks and wastes a lot of water, the electric blankets did not work and the shower had tiles missing on the floor,cracked tiles on the wall with mould on the seals . All the items on the inventory list was not there at the time of checking. Chalet 68 the door is faulty and was a mission to open and close.

    I liked that they had entertainment for the kids for most of the day. The hiking is amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Overall, we always enjoy our stay at Alpine Heath, great fun and fabulous family time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was just a little concerned that the electricity kept going off. It may have been as a result of the wind, but it was a little annoying.

    The resort is fabulous and such a wonderful family environment. I love the fact that my kids can run about freely without me standing over them watching that they're safe. I also love the fact that there's so much for them to do.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.1
    The spacious unit and beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unit we stayed in was feeling tired and dated. Beds very very uncomfortable and noisy. Also the lounge suite was hard and uncomfortable. I know they are in the process of renovating the units but in the interim they should not be letting out the old units.

    The spacious unit and beautiful views

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic resort in the scenic Drakensberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much, perhaps I would only mention that some charges were rather irritating, for example the daily charge for using a braai and in some cases exorbitant, for example for a tennis ball.

    Fantastic location in the scenic Drakensberg; daily activities for the kids; comfortable, well equipped chalets; chalets are cleaned on a daily basis; several marked hiking trails starting from the premises; quad bikes and other activities are available within 10 minutes by car; delicious cauppuccinos and waffles served in the coffee shop, and I have to mention the excellent pizzas made in a wood fired oven. All in all a fantastic resort!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    6.7
    View was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was extremely boring. Croissants on Tuesday morning was rock hard and old. Dinner was an absolute disaster on Monday night. Management was supposed to contact us next day, still waiting! Furniture very dated and in desperate need of an update.

    View was excellent. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    The Prefect and most relaxing holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool should be heated, You guys have a lovely pool, but the sad part is that we cannot use it during the winter months. It should be heated.

    Love the service of the staff at the resort, Love the activities for the kids. There was always something to do. The kids was safe and the kids center really helps with babysitting while the parents can enjoy themselves

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.1
    Relaxing Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Later checkout , Halaal foods at the establishment will certainly make a positive difference considering the amount of muslim guests.

    Wonderful fun filled activities for kids

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Place of many happy returns
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The booking online is confusing. It equates one, chalet with one room! I booked 2 chalets by mistake, which I corrected. I was told I would have to pay the price of one chalet as a penalty for cancelling. Fortunately I called reception and they were very understanding. My final booking confirmation stated that I had booked ONE ROOM!!! For 4 people? Please get this attended to, Booking.com

    Excellent, friendly and helpful staff. Variety of dining options. Beds were nice and warm. Chalets are spacious and well laid out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    6.7
    Views were beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Whilst the promise of activities for kids, there were not always staff around to entertain the kids or in the Leisure room. Breakfast was of a poor quality with a shortage of food. Knowing they had booked in a large family they should have increased stock. What was promised in the menu / brochure was not available.

    Views were beautiful. Provided for a peaceful leisurely holiday

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    All's well that ends well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lack of buffet breakfast; the lack of muesli for breakfast; the smoking in our one bedroom; the size of the lounge dining room, kitchen in the units is not fit for 6 adults; The booking process was easy but the payment process was not - my booking was almost cancelled and it took many calls to ensure it stayed in place and was paid.

    The bedroom size; the surrounds and walks; the child friendly nature

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    7.9
    Both mornings staff called the chalet on the chalet phone...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both mornings staff called the chalet on the chalet phone before 8am waking us up for. O reason whatsoever. Once was to confirm check out time which we knew and once was to confirm a horse ride for the following day. Both calls were completely unnecessary and cancel out the purpose of a restful break.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    5.0
    not great
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast staff were really not efficient at all, the eggs were undercooked, the egg white was runny and the breakfast took very long despite the coffee shop being empty when we ordered. Some staff seemed to struggle to understand English, especially the waitress at breakfast. The resort is looking run down and in desperate need of renovations sooner rather than later if you want to keep customers coming back, the gym is non functional and outdated, the bikes are not maintained. The kiddies room is dirty und not well kept. On check out I was billed for breakfast despite the breakfast being included in the nightly rate, I had to point this out to the receptionist.

    The pizza hut staff were accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    5.0
    They claim to be a family resort but very negligent to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They claim to be a family resort but very negligent to children safety Cleaners left detergents at my doorstep as they were supposed to come and clean up after we check out. Whilst we were trying to get ready to leave the kids were playing outside and my daughter sprayed one of the detergents on herself and now has chemical burn marks all over her face and arms. How can you leave strong chemicals where kids are playing and can reach? I feel that if the resort was more focused on safety of kids they would not allow cleaners to leave they detergents unattended in easy reach of children

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    5.8
    Great location, but poor management of the resort left us disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed here two years ago and comapred to that, this time around was disappointing. There was no vibe, no buzz, no sense of excitement. Most of the kids and family related activities did not take place - reason provided was that "stock" did not arrive whereas most of what was needed could be obtained on site. Apart from a few friendly staff members, most of the staff were not very friendly and did not appear like they were enjoying what they were doing - very little enthusiasm, no passion. The chalet was filled with daddy long leg spiders, whenever you moved something a spider would crawl out - clear sign that cleaning wasn't done thoroughly. Braai was only cleaned after three days and after it was brought to hotel reception staff's attention. Some equipment on kid's playground in disrepair and posing danger to children. You would expect, with 300 families on site for a long weekend, they would have, at least touched up with some paint. Most of chairs outside were covered in bird droppings, no one bothering to clean them. Not that one goes to the mountains to watch TV, but when you do, one would expect the channels to work, especially in a four-start establishment. Some TV channels, unfortunately had very poor reception. Overall, for the amount one pays to stay here, and for the 4 star rating, one expects better - so, overall disappointing. You are only as good as your last game!

    The fact that the children can roam free is a plus - would have been even better if kids activities took place as shceduled and playground equipment were in better condition. The pizza and waffles were great! It is such a beautiful location, and with a little more effort and passion from the team (and it all starts with management), it could be a great place. Sadly though, we were very disappointed if we compare this stay to our stay here two years ago. Please get you act together guys, you have it all, don't let it go to waste through poor management!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.1
    Liason with resort was poor prior to arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liason with resort was poor prior to arrival. Requested to upgrade but failed to get back to us. Rooms are fair but bathrooms and lighting could do with some work. Bathroom cleanliness needs some work (taps). Otherwise an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.2
    Breathtaking Relaxing Awesome Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The music on Saturday night should be more English music rather than house music... The beds are a little hard...

    Very nice activities.... enjoyed the scenery...resort is beautiful and relaxing... lots to do

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.7
    Apart from the problems mentioned above regarding the chalet we occupied, we enjoyed ourselves.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Chalets needs serious revamping and modern furniture. We found old couches, old blankets, old and dirty carpets. Actually the entire house we occupied need serious revamping. None of the rooms was appealing to us. We missed home the moment we walked in. The nights were really bad, the smell of the septic tank is unbearable. At night, you could smell the toilet even when toilet doors were closed. This is a health hazard. May be they must put some odour in the septic tanks or consider draining them on a regular basis. Windows are not closing properly as a result during windy days they become noisy.

    Alpine Heath gives you great view of the mountains and tranquillity. Suitable for the family. Nice programmes for the entire family.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.4
    Not as great as the previous times we've been
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Leaky shower, Housekeeping skipped a day, some staff unfriendly, putt-putt course in bad shape, shop poorly stocked, it didn't feel worth the price tag

    Views awesome as always, great family walking trails, close to Royal Natal National Park

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.9
    Beds are not comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To pay for a portable braaier every time u want to braai!!!!

    Beds are not comfy. Milk was off in the cappuccino. Had to wait 45min after having called reception 3x to check our unit before departure.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.1
    Paradise can be sub standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unit was falling apart, geyser leaked non stop, kitchen blinds fell off, front door would not lock. Staff did not care about geyser leaking had to beg them to come look told me just overflow pipe. There was a lot of paper and liter around resort and a fair amount of liter on trails which was disappointing, you can see there is no attention to picking up liter when going out on horse ride the guides just ride past it should be all staff job to keep it all clean

    The entertainment was great for kids, and the hikes were excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.6
    Always a great holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lighting in the chalet is insufficient.

    Facilities were top notch and great activities for the kids. Very friendly staff. Restaurant food was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.9
    Good and wonderful atmosphere in and around the area.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Good and wonderful atmosphere in and around the area. Professionalism of the security staff personel, restaurant and hospitality staff. Not to mention Victor at Leisure zone, he is amazing and has superb talent in all he engages himself with. Thumps to him and Ontle.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    6.7
    Just the kiddies facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that theres no aircons or even standing fans.theres no shuttles going from units to the entertainment area.i stayed at unit 60 with an old person who couldnt walk imagine mums with prams also to unload a full car walking up and down wasnt easy

    Just the kiddies facilities

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    5.0
    Not worth the distance and effort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chalets need updating. Ceiling fans not able to cool rooms adequately. Was too hot and uncomfortable. Staff didn't attend well to problems. Advertised as free Wi-Fi but didn't deliver.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.8
    Anne at reception was excllent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Anne at reception was excllent. her customer service was amazing. she really made me feel as comfortable as possible. The restaurant staff made my wifes birthday special.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.3
    Happy times indeed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was not very welcoming and they never answer the phone yet its open 24 hours

    The security guard (Praise-god) was the friendliest and most welcomimg, but the rest of the staff was great and the place is peaceful and relaxing, i would go back over and over again

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    10
    We enjoyed the Karaoke night on Friday and a morning hike on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food (buffet dinner on Saturday) at the restaurant was very disappointing.

    We enjoyed the Karaoke night on Friday and a morning hike on Saturday, so many fun activities plan for the day ...best place ever.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    6.3
    great potential with an extra bit of tlc
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No air conditioning, not value for money because have to also pay extra for eg braai, ping pong balls, tennis balls etc

    area is beautiful, staff friendly, awesome pizza

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    10
    My Family weekend away at Alpine Heath an overall awesome experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waitresses walking around were not helpful...no smile...didn't seem like they wanted to help anyone....just a job....

    Friendly staff at the shop. The barman was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful family holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kiddies meals on the nite we booked our kids for a meal+movie.

    Victor, the events organiser was absolutely wonderful especially with the kids. The watering hole was the highlight for the kids

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    8.8
    A real tranquil getaway up on the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to drive out to Bergville to buy meat for a braai - a bit of an inconvenience

    The fact that as much as it feels like home, I don't have to clean up and I can do whatever I want each day- alone or as family

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    8.3
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Atmosphere here was perfect. Rooms neat and tidy. Staff were very friendly. Loved the pool area. Enjoyed the activities. Would definitely come here again.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: