Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alpine Inn 3 stars

No. 3 Montagu Street, 6530 George, South Africa

#6 of 12 hotels in George

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 90 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Was great! Will definitely recommend it to my family & friends :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wall clock anywhere & glass coasters are more than welcome. We stayedhad @ unit 15 and had to park round 50 metres away from our accommodation. Was a bit strenuous after a 400km drive and fatigue.

    Flat was modern and cosy. Heaters in the rooms was a bonus, since it's winter. Loved the dressing table in the bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Family accommodation away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3-Bedroom Self Catering Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV was outdated and initially only black & white until we found some colour resets.

    Very spacious and was effectively kitted out with all necessities for self catering. A big unit with three separate rooms and two bathrooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.3
    Not what is promised in the pictures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was next to a noisy main road. The "Alpine Inn" suggests German style, but it is not. We booked it because we thought it has some Bavarian heritage but it is misleading. We were a family of 5, but seating in the room was only for 3. Wasn't very comfortable. It is a bit out of the way and there are plenty of much better accommodations available for that price.

    There is not much to say about this. It was an overnight stay, for which it was fine, but definitely not longer than one night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.9
    Overall, a good stay, albeit just an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not sleep on the bed. It was not very supportive for my back condition. The apartment was very neat but the rooms were unfortunately very cramped.

    The neatness of the place... Was excellent!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    All in all a wonderful stay. Just a pity we couldn't stay longer. I would definitely recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staircase next to the parking needs relecters or some sort of lighting at night. The tip of the railing nearly took out my left rearview mirror as I was trying to park in reverse. Outdoor pool has no lighting for night time swimming.

    The rooms were nice and clean with plenty of natural light. Beds were very comfortable. Great value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    2.5
    Highly dissapointing night at Alpine Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3-Bedroom Self Catering Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had small bugs in our beds which made us itch. Others who were staying at the property were playing loud music & they weren't told by staff to quieten down. Our unit was next to the parking lot so cars disturbed us. We were right next to the main road so traffic kept us awake. Beds uncomfortable. Construction to adapt units shoddy & so looked cheap & poor quality. I paid almost R1800 for a nights accommodation & expected much better quality accommodation than I got. Highly disappointed!

    Not much.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Break away 2016/17
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying at the self catering unit, it was evident that the unit is in need of some day to day maintenance.

    Property is kid and family friendly. Is located in a quiet part of George and is ideal for relaxing and enjoying the peacefulness. On site pool and maintained garden is a absolute bonus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.5
    The owners of the place are so friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning staff. They would come and tell us they want to clean while we are relaxing, that is intimidating the clients.

    The owners of the place are so friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.1
    Quiet. Nice atmosphere.
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spiderweb at the back of the bed. Had to kill a spider luckily not a big one. No safety gate at the door. Nothing infront of the door only windows were covered with curtains. The wrap for the dishes was brownish. As we were four friends there were only one couch for three to sit infront of the tv. The fourth one had to use one of the kitchen chairs.

    Comfy beds. Spacious bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    5.0
    Satisfactorily
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Cottage with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Definitely the location, too far from the Academy - not Alpine Inn's fault though. For the purposes of the stay/trip, the space was too small. There was a bar fridge with i.e. no cooldrinks in? The breakfast can be altered with perhaps more variety.......?

    The bed was comfortable, thank you. The serving of breakfast was timeous and the staff was friendly. The Wi-Fi definitely a winner, thanks.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    9.2
    Great value for a quick stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location almost gave me cold feet, but the complex is very safe and secure. After speaking to some locals, we found out that parts of the area (Blanco) are not as scary as it seems!

    The two bedroom apartment we were given was very spacious and complimentary coffee is always appreciated. The owner was also very accommodating with an early check-in at no extra charge!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    6.7
    Thanks for the stay but please see improvements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some dust in the corners behind the bed that made me sick. I have allergies therefore I need a dust free environment. Please ask the cleaning staff to clean properly everywhere. The tv is outdated and no DVD capability is there.

    I liked that it has a view of the mountain and the sheets are clean. The towels are given when needed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Nice location, we had our own room (19) out the back which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice location, we had our own room (19) out the back which was out of the way and had a small courtyard and nice braai area as well as its own access gate

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    9.0
    Great enjoyed the comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The front door to the cottage no. 8 had a stained glass window which was good. However when the lights were switched on at night everybody outside could see inside the room through the patterns.

    Great enjoyed the comfort

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    7.1
    A bit overpriced for what they offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If there is WiFi in the Hotel description I don`t expect to get 250mb only and need to pay to get more. Especially not for the price they charge per night! There`s a Braai Area next to the Pool and a Microwave / Fridge in the Room but not one plate or anything else beside coffee cups and glasses. So what do they expect me to do here? Both points we didn't experienced like this on our SA Roadtrip before. When checking out, no Manager in House to suggest some improvements.

    Nice & comfy little Bungalow in front of the well maintained Pool and a green Garden.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    8.3
    Good location close to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unit didn't have a can opener. The bathroom had a funny smell when we arrived, but that was solved by the room spray provided. They could replace the two sofas in the sitting room with one large couch to improve the flow and use the space better. Maybe they cold also look at investing in a basic DStv Compact subscription, we only had SABC TV.

    The hosts were friendly and efficient. The staff were very pleasant and accommodating. We were allocated a first floor unit with a veranda. The veranda is a great area to chill, it would be great if the awning was made waterproof so one can sit on the veranda when it rains. The linen was exceptionally clean. The quality of the accommodation offers great value for money spent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    10
    I never sleep well when I travel, but I managed a full...
    • Solo traveller
    • Cottage with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I never sleep well when I travel, but I managed a full night's undisturbed sleep. First time ever for me. The scrambled eggs at breakfast were the best I have ever had

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    Everything is very simple and a bit old, but nothing is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to a road, a bit noisy. Slow internet.

    Everything is very simple and a bit old, but nothing is missing and the hosts are nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was fantastic

    The staff and management was fantastic. We were treated like family

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    awesome place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    loved everything. perfect for our little family get away. would highly recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    Very nice, safe place, close to where we wanted to go. safe haven with cameras to make us feel safer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were comfortable

    Clean and neat. Staff left us alone to enjoy our stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Great value for money and the online pictures don’t show exactly how perfect the place is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mirrors in the rooms while dressing this is a problem for a lady. However there were 2 huge mirrors in the bathroom. Rather move 1 to the bedroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    everthing was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    was good☺

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    Acceptable but needs better access to wifi. Need a car to benefit from this property properly and l
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    aircon would have been excellent. limited electricity sockets and very poor wifiAcceptable but

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    Will definitely visit again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Far from restaurants

    Bed was extra comfy , and very clean !! Nice couch in the TV room Nice and quiet

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    More WiFi was needed, beautiful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Everything, beautiful place!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.3
    Great location opposite Fancourt golf estate 👌👌
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled a bit stuffy, as if it stood closed for a while. Double bed sounded like it was going to fall apart. 🙈🙈

    Good location ...warm welcome...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Short but nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a tight fit. But comfy.

    Everything was as expected.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Great stay fantastic service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neat and clean and comfy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable bed and perfect for the purpose of our stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Comfortable, clean and friendly. Close to everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    My stay at Alpine Inn was short, but very comfortable. Thanks to all the staff and owners.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cottage with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to make a last minute late booking for another room and they were very accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.8
    very comfortable and homely
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was good

    the bed was very very comfy, breakfast good, service good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.2
    A hidden gem with beautiful views of mountain
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay in the self catering unit and will surely book again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can hardly comlpain. Keep it up.

    Would definately visit again and recommend to people. Thanks. Adele Meyer

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.6
    Friendliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Friendliness

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    7.9
    it was a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no place for suitcases. Room a little small

    Garden is super. Super location. Easy access and find. I will stay there again. value for money

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    10
    Holiday hill
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The short visit

    Easily accessible Ample safe parking

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    10
    Alpine Inn overnight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was lovely.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    5.0
    The shower floor was filthy, the toilet brush was old and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower floor was filthy, the toilet brush was old and brown, there were cobb webbs on the headboard of one of the bedrooms.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    7.9
    Clean and attracting rooms and a quiet area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean and attracting rooms and a quiet area.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    10
    exelent
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The peace. Exelent area

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.8
    My stay was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was looking for plates.... and maybe air conditioner would make a difference

    I slept like a baby.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    Pleasant, comfortable, safe.
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Kitchen in the self catering could have been better equipped.

    lovely comfy beds and great pillows.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    7.5
    We liked the privacy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked the privacy. The facilities is practical and make you do when on holiday;go out, explore and come back to a welcoming place to relax for the day of tomorrow.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    6.3
    They were able to provide me with a nice clean Baby cot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room was not cleaned the day before we left, even though it was clear that someone was in the room.

    They were able to provide me with a nice clean Baby cot.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    3.8
    Since we planned on spending most of our weekend at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    When making the booking we requested a double bed and 3 single beds, which was an option when booking as we were 1 couple and 2 people who are acquaintances to each other. Arrived, checked in and got a room with 2 double beds. Queried this and was told that was all that was available when the booking was made. (It would have been nice to be informed before the booking was confirmed!).1 of the guys decided to sleep on the couch and the other on the double bed, we looked for extra bedding and there was none. Called the manager and was told that she doesn't see why we need extra bedding since it is not that cold, but she will give us extra bedding the following day which never happened. Went braaing, and there was no light at the braai area, again called the manager and was told oops I forgot to put it on and she is 19.7km's away so she is not coming out to switch it on. And to top it off the tv in the room did not work at all. Would not recommend Allpine inn to anyone.

    Since we planned on spending most of our weekend at the Fancourt Golf Club, the location was the only good thing about Allpine Inn.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    7.5
    Lovely clean linen and towels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couch in the lounge was very uncomfortable. No DSTV (Thanks to management for organizing one for us) No fans in unit.

    Lovely clean linen and towels. Staff very pleasant. Management very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    3.3
    Small nice garden on the side of the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Small cottage room, transparent glass door,no security,self Tering cottage but no kitchen facility, not even microwave

    Small nice garden on the side of the rooms

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    8.3
    The surroundings, buildings, garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a bad experience but our room was a tad small. Would also have liked to be able to have a meal at the restaurant but it has closed down.

    The surroundings, buildings, garden

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    9.2
    THE BED WAS VERY COMFORTABLE
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    EVERYTHING WAS FINE

    THE BED WAS VERY COMFORTABLE

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    The quietness off the facility and the comfy home we got
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No cleaning materials- no scoop to pick up dirt.

    The quietness off the facility and the comfy home we got

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    10
    The Place was very clean, bed was extremely comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Place was very clean, bed was extremely comfortable and very cozy rooms. The owner was very helpful in accommodating us with an early check in.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    9.2
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendly staff. Very clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    2.5
    bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bad

    bad

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    10
    The location, view, all the facilities and generally the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location, view, all the facilities and generally the staff made our stay with the money and time! Thank you for accomodating our needs!

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    8.3
    The manager or gentleman at reception was VERY rude
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The manager or gentleman at reception was VERY rude

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    10
    Everything you need very very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise from hut in the corner

    Everything you need very very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    10
    Best bed ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Best bed ever!

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    9.2
    Thank you so much to the owner, she was truly wonderful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thank you so much to the owner, she was truly wonderful and understanding in our time of trouble!! Many many thanks!!

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi should be free and easily available

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    7.5
    Comfortable bed, good bedding, clean, good breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The tiny, tiny room. The noisy swimming pool pump that ran all night !

    Comfortable bed, good bedding, clean, good breakfast, pleasant staff

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    7.1
    The pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location

    The pool

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi wasn't available

    Friendly staff Lovely bed linen Interesting murals

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    7.5
    Friendly, efficient service from the Management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly, efficient service from the Management. Certainly deserves its 3 stars.

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: