Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Amanzi Island Lodge 4 stars

31 Cearn Drive, Leisure Isle, 6571 Knysna, South Africa

#8 of 79 B&Bs and Inns in Knysna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 596 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The infinity pool is exclusive to one particular suite so that was a disappointment.

    Wonderful staff - even helped me with a flat tyre. The rooms have a beautiful view and mine was equipped with a full kitchen. The food was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can’t fault this property, location or staff. We have been in SA for a couple of weeks for our “baby moon” and this place just topped off our stay. If you’re looking to stay in Knysna then pick this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool on the pictures is a private pool. There is a second pool though

    Five star service at a very beautiful place, which is perfectly located for exploring the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Excellent location on Leisure Isle. Bicycles and Kayaks to use for free. Loved the complimentary afternoon cake! Beautiful guest house with very nice breakfast. Friendly staff. Very Highly Recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing I would actually want to COMPLAIN about.

    The fact that we were on honeymoon made us appreciate the bath in the unit :) The privacy of our unit was perfect. Privacy was a problem with some of the other units.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms werent very soundproof. Can hear everything in the rooms around you

    The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful! They welcomed us so warmly and made our stay extremely pleasant. Facilities were fantastic!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our favourite hotel from our whole trip in SA. The property is stunning - overlooking the Knysna heads with amazing decor and beautiful rooms. The staff were super friendly and helped to arrange a shuttle into town for us. The hotel breakfast is good and there is a lovely little sun drenched pool at the back for guests. They also offer bikes (a fave for me) and kayaks for free use.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing would love to have stayed longer!

    Amazing property, loved every aspect. Lots of little extras, like chocolates and water free in room. A fridge, access to bikes and kayaks to use. The island is safe and cute and just beautiful. We had dinner and breakfast and both were very good. Loved the honesty bar so beers and wine available and cheap prices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upscale boutique resort. Service and quality outstanding. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location on Leisure Island with magnificent setting and view of bay. Bonus... free tea and coffee 24 hours a day and desert offered in the afternoon. Exceeded our expectations!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amanzi is a lovely place, well situated with beautiful views. The rooms are very well appointed and spotlessly clean. Fortune, Promise and the rest of the team went out of their way to make sure we had everything we might want. It is our favourite on the Garden Route and we w will definitely revisit - well done Amanzi!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Fabulous position and views. Very relaxing. Evening meals were very good and we didn't have to drive into Knysna. Enjoyed using the Lodge's bikes and exploring the island.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole hotel is furnished with very good taste and attention to details. The room is big, comfortable and spotless. The staff is friendly, helpful and does the utmost to make your stay a pleasant one. The food served at breakfast and dinner is delicious and the setting for the evening is very romantic. The location is very quiet and facing the lagoon

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our expectation was high given the reviews and the price but sadly we felt the service was really poor, lack of attention and care was very disappointing. Eg No dinner table available even though we booked and had a confirmation and then we really had to push to find a solution (there are no other eating places near the hotel so options very limited). Ordered starters - never came. It felt like some of the staff were going through the motions rather than taking the time to actually notice what their guests needed. The dining area is too small for 15 rooms especially when it’s raining!

    Room was spacious and we had our own pool which was amazing although we did pay a hefty price for that luxury. The location and view was stunning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to leave

    The place is very nice situated in a bay very sheltered its very popular with the locals for swimming the hotel is very clean and the food is as good as any fine dining places the staff are very friendly and helpful I would recommend this place to any one . The only regret is I did not stay longer

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was amazing! Beautifully decorated, spacious, very comfortable bed, large bathrooms and bright. We overlooked the beautiful lagoon and had a balcony to sit out on and take in the views. A return shuttle was offered to guests to the town for a small fee, which was very convenient. The breakfast was great. Outdoor pool, bicycles and canoes are also available to guests. We had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was fantastic.. on leisure island overlooking the bay and Knysna heads. Tasteful modern decor, sea view ,lovely breakfast and dining area. Staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. We had breakfast and dinner there on 2nights and the food was very good. Loved the coffee machine freely available and the chocolate cake in the afternoon...also complimentary Beautiful gardens They have thought of everything ..we had a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no negative experiences.

    This is 5 star comfort on a par if not better than the best hotels in Canada & Europe without the snobbery. Outstanding kitchen & the best vegetarian meals prepared by their 2 excellent chefs. The sunsets looking towards the Knysna lagoon & Heads was worth the price of admission.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked the hotel, I was so excited to swim in the infinity pool. When I got there, I found out it was only for one specific room. They don’t advertise that and I felt a little tricked by them.

    The hotel feels like home. It’s very well located, the staff is great, you can borrow bikes and kayaks without paying and has a great breakfast. I woudl definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely beautiful & immaculately clean with spacious rooms spectacular views & the most delicious food. The facilities are top class with attentive and friendly staff. We will definitely be returning!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything! Nothing to dislike about staying here. We didn’t eat at the restaurant except breakfast but it looked busy and food looked good. Breakfast was nice and cooked breakfast was best we had. Loved being able to use the bikes whenever we wanted, and lovely views from our room. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to add, everything perfect.

    Perfect guest house, beautiful property with best access to lagoon on Leisure Island. Free bikes, canoes, paddle boards... Free cakes in the afternoon, very cheap honesty bar. Just a lovely place to stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only issue was the infinity pool which features on the hotel's website and on booking.com is not for all guests to use and is only for the honeymoon suite. In my opinion this could have been made clearer - it certainly factored into why we chose the guesthouse and therefore was disappointing to find out we couldn't use it.

    Very nice guesthouse, staff are extremely friendly and really made our stay. Room is nice and facilities are good. It was my birthday so got a free bottle of bubbles. You can rent bikes and canoes for free and for a small fee, the guesthouse staff will taxi you into town for dinner.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice lodge. Friendly staff. Honesty bar is good. Very good and flexible shuttle service to downtown. We enjoyed the walk in the lagoon during low Tide. Lodge is right on the water, just across a small street. very good place to relax and enjoy Knysna for afew days.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not fault it at all.

    Absolutely amazing hotel! Staff went above and beyond to get us settled in and gave us some free bubbly as it was our honeymoon. Had a lovely lunch and breakfast in the hotel and they organised a shuttle to the harbour for dinner. Our room was huge and beautiful and we had our own infinity pool too. By far the best hotel I have ever stayed in!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No views from our room, so we thought the room price was a little high, otherwise the hotel was excellent.

    The staff went that extra mile that made you feel at home. Allways with a smile. Going to deffo book the honeymoon suite for next year. The location was the best yet, while in SA with bikes and canoes supplied, free to use. There were two areas for relaxing, both with fully stocked honesty bars. There was lots of books and borard games to keep you entertained or just to sit on the terrace with a cold glass of Vino, which we did.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, the setting, rooms were excellent, swimming pool, breakfast was excellent and there were Kayaks, paddle boards and bikes you could borrow at any time. Can’t recommend enough

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb venue directly across the Knysna lagoon. Stunning views and they offer free bicycles and kayaks which was just great!!! Staff are friendly and well trained, food is great (they have a small Bistro on site) Will definitely return next time we visit Knysna - thank you

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff although extremely polite, friendly and enthusiastic need to be better trained. The property (understandably) relies on its design and location but misses a few key details that would make for an absolute perfect stay

    This is a great property. The access and location can't be beat

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very comfortable room with a beautiful view on the water. The location is great, we really like the lounge areas of the lodge and we loved the complimentary kayaks and SUP boards.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location with the most gorgeous views. The hotel has been done beautifully and feels small and intimate. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an absolutely beautiful place, right on the lagoon. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. Breakfasts were delicious, nothing was too much trouble. The use of the bikes and kayaks was great. We loved our stay and will definitely return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable and memorable. The service received was by far the best that I have experienced in SA in a long time! Every single staff member (from the cleaners to the managers) treat you as if you are the only guest they are attending to. The cake and coffee station that was available throughout the day was a really nice touch.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Bathroom was a little small but that was not a problem. Room perhaps needed a lick of paint in some areas. All in all we can only praise the surroundings. We had a little garden and a beautiful view. The water was just across the road

    Loved the location and welcome from the staff. This is not a big establishment and we felt very welcome. We used a kayak which was complimentary and the staff helped us carry it to the water. They really could not be criticised in any way. We will definitely return and will recommend it to friends

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the staff could be more efficient and understanding of customer requests. Lots of steps which were quite difficult for elderly parent travelling with us.

    Beautiful rooms and lovely breakfastss

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The curtains in our room were a little light so the sun woke us very early! A minor issue in a beautiful hotel.

    Staff couldn't have been more kind or helpful. The hotel is beautifully kept with lots of lovely touches and in a great position in Knysna.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing!

    Amazing location with extremely nice and caring people working there. Bicycles, kajaks and paddleboards can be used for free; cake and coffee also complementary all day long.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we didn't stay longer :)

    The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. They found out it was our honeymoon and surprised us with an upgrade and complimentary champagne.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The variety of breakfast could be larger, but what was on the table was very tasty and good. The beaches are better elsewhere than in Knysna.

    Our room was very nice, spacious and clean with an astonishing view over the lagoon. Very friendly personnel, good wines and food. We will definetely be back and stay longet next time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have to admit that this was one of the the nicest accommodation that I stayed in on my trip to South Africa. But not only that, I would have to say that it was one of the nicest I have stayed in, full stop. Miriam made me feel very welcome from the start and gave me a tour of the property. To say the room was spacious would be an understatement. Overall the facilities at Amanzi were excellent and the staff very very helpful. I would have no hesitation in recommending this property.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Fantastic stay. The staff were amazing and the location and hotel beautiful in every detail. All round one of the best places I’ve stayed. Thank you Amanzi, you were great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all perfect

    The rooms were very spacious and beautifully furnished. The view was amazing, being able to use the hotel bikes and kayaks was perfect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn’t like was that we only chose to book for 3 nights!

    Our stay at Amanzi Lodge could not have been better. Situated on Leisure Island, in a quiet residential area, with magnificent views across Kysna Lagoon, and offering the free use of bikes and kayaks. The gardens and small pool are immaculate, and the Lodge is everywhere decorated to a very high standard, including a well-stocked honesty bar, complimentary tea and coffee and home made cake! Excellent bistro menu, dining in an intimate and friendly environment. The staff were outstanding in their kindness and attention to detail.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is in a very special place! We really enjoyed kayaking before breakfast. Walking the sands in front of the hotel at low tied is fabulous! Wish we had stayed here an extra night instead of another hotel we booked in Knysnar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was a downer and the fact I never had a balcony . Makes you feel trapped in the room

    Stunning Place . I would have liked a sea facing room with a balcony. Now I know for next time. Breakfast does not match up to the five star facility. Loved that coffee and cake was freely avail;able and it does look like ciders and beer also . never had but a stunning concept. It is nice to get these extra suprises

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was absolutely amazing, complimentary tea, nespresso coffee, cake, biscuits all available whenever you like. Most beautiful views, lush well looked after garden, room super cosy! I will definitely be back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely location. Facilities were excellent, able to make use of the bikes and kayaks to explore the lagoon. Staff were very helpful. The dinner at the accommodation was beautiful and the honesty bar was a welcome surprise (and one we made good use of). Would definitely stay for more than one night to make the most of the accommodation and the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Plenty of room in the apartment but not enough room in the bed area for suitcases and walking around the bed. Minor detail. Plenty of cupboards but if you only stay a couple of nights your suitcase is your cupboard!

    Very comfortable and friendly. Easy to find and good local restaurants to drive to. Lovely view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our weekend at Amanzi Island Lodge. It was great that we could use the beach-bikes and the canoe's to our pleasure. The entire facility was very tasteful decorated and the breakfast was excellent. The staff was exceptionally friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not change towels when they cleaned the room The breakfast was brown-there were no vegetables at all It took a long time for us to get the omelets There were not enough cheeses

    The service was amazing The location was great The design is really cool especially in the new part of the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is super nice - nice lagoon view, super comfy room, absolutely beautiful design of all rooms. Great breakfast. Awerall, best place to stay in Knysna!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible location! The staff working here are so friendly and helpful. The Amanzi Lodge is set up like a home and is beautiful inside and out. The atmosphere is relaxing and comfortable. The breakfast was great! It was my partner's birthday and they went out of their way to make the day special. We will be back again in warmer weather to enjoy the kayaking and biking!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the best stays of our trip! Everything was perfect, the decor and vibe of the hotel was exactly how we wanted to decorate our own house. The staffs were mature and super helpful. We'd love to make it a home away from our own home! The place was tasteful, super clean, and breakfast was delicately made. We wish we could have checked in sooner so we could spend more time there. Bonus: the bikes and kayaks to borrow and use around the island - a bike ride around the island and kayaking in the lagoon are amazing experiences that are much needed during a busy and adventurous trip. We took the kayak out just before sunset and the lagoon was so serene and beautiful. Ace helped us get the kayak into the water and helped us get it up after we were done, he watched for us from the windows so he knew when we'd be back. It was a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the Milkwood suit offers a warm and friendly atmosphere the room itself were light and airy with stunning views over knysna lagoon our stay at Amanzi was simply the best the staff members are super friendly and the lodge is elegant and tastefully decorated and make you feel relaxed and at home the breakfast and supper was sumptuous, i was pleasantly surprised that they offerd a complimentary adternoon snack witch was delicious...Needles to say our 3 day stay at Amanzi island lodge was Amazing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Choice of nearby dining limited. But that's not a deal-breaker!

    Cheerful, accommodating, helpful staff. Lovely ambience. Just beautiful all around! Free bikes and kayaks too. Good food. Miriam was the best!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very limited DSTV channels, I think sports channels are just too much. At least convert some of the them to channel 129 and 161. Breakfast menu should change daily. We stayed 4 nights and eventually got tired and more because I do not eat pork but was provided beef sausage.

    The DAILY complimentary cake Unlimited free Wi-Fi The garden and the general lounge that overlooks the lagoon The library which has a PC and various games Home away from home

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing..

    Excellent location, well maintained building with lot of common areas to use. Very beautiful garden and lot of interesting art works. We really enjoyed our stay and it was only for one night. We would pick this place again, if we need to stay there for a week or so. They also provided lunch and dinner options and we took advantage of that. It was pretty good. We enjoyed the view from Knysna Heads. This was our best stay among all the places we stayed during our 2 week South Africa trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little smell (breakfast/dinner) in the room - but nothing too serious.

    Great with complementary bikes and Kajaks. Great view and nice room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps the time at which I came to this place (winter). I would probably enjoyed it even more during summer time which I guess would be more lively around and a warmer sea temperature. I guess I'll have to come back again and find out!

    Everything was excellent. Warm welcome from the staff that are always available to help you and provide you with the information you require. Superb room with a great view on the lagoon. Nice canoe ride on the peaceful lagoon during the sundowner. The restaurants and waterfront are closeby. Safe place. I really enjoyed it all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are 2 locations, when you have breakfast you have to go via outside, breakfast room was very cold,

    beautiful décor, friendly personnel, you can take the bikes for a tour around island.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too soft. The coffee was delivered luke warm however when I asked a hot cup was brought to me. I asked for a bottle of champagne to be in my room when I arrived however it was only given to me the next morning.

    Very friendly and Accomadating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit short, and there was no ventilation in the bathroom leaving moist on the windows.

    Hot water bags etc in the room Lots of facilities Very nice accommodation and view Very friendly staff Good restaurants in neighbourhood

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast not enough seating for number of guests, breakfast in general not good, didn't change towels in room, on 3rd day only changed 1 towel whilst we were 2 guests in room

    Heated floor in bathroom, location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing.

    My parents stayed there whilst we stayed at the Turbine. And they loved it The staff were very attentive to them and took much care in their welfare. I will make use of them again. The room was warm at night and the beds had electric blankets too. They have bikes and my dad even went for a little ride along the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    honestly nothing, everything was perfect.

    It was such a lovely place, felt right at home. Lets talk about how the owner pays attention to details and the so ever fresh breakfast that we looked forward to each morning. overall its a place I would visit and recommend in my sleep, me and my partner have such beautiful memories that will forever be engraved in our minds....

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Beautiful location, stylish rooms and common areas. Friendly staff. Wish I could have stayed longer so I had a chance to use the kayaks and bikes that were available for the guests.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is served from 8.00am to 9.30am. It should be extended to 10.30am.

    The lagoon setting was amazing. It was great to be so close to the water. The atmosphere at the guesthouse was warm and friendly. Staff were helpful and kind. The breathtaking Heads view sites are close by as is the Pezula golf estate. There is much to see and to do in Knysna.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Highly Recommended. From the minute you walk in, to the minute you leave - pleasant staff are just in the shadows waiting to serve you. Quiet position. Superior quality. Super clean. Cake at tea time. Wonderful breakfast. The views are beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charging me for having an overnight guest. Also the guy on the bar isn't that friendly.

    Reception staff was nice and friendly. Room was great in terms of condition and space. Amazing view on the lagoon.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dark in the parking area at night

    The place is amazing- the rooms, the details, the view, the garden the feeling you are at your own kitchen and living room even though its for everyone, the free bicycles and canoes- all about this place

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is so hard to give an honest review as there were a couple of maintenance issues, that didn't ruin our stay but certainly left us feeling that we'll go a little further up the road when we visit Knysna again. The power in our room went off just before we left for dinner at 7pm(no not escom). This was quickly sorted by the staff. However on our return (10pm) the electricity tripped again and we had no way of getting it on till the staff arrived the following morning. The door handle on the external door was also broken, not a train smash but not expected in this kind of establishment. A pity all in all, as we are looking for a halfway stop for our very regular trips to Bushmans in the Eastern Cape.

    The Staff here are wonderful. Lovely view, friendly staff, extras like bikes and canoes. The beds are comfy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Every thing, beautiful environment, the staff, the hospitality, the food, the view from the bedrooms, we highly recommend this Lodge, wished we could have stayed longer. Will be returning in the future.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendliness of staff; location; beautiful view from gorgeous bedroom; decor of rooms; lovely breakfast in gorgeous garden setting; a 10 out of 10 experience

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not sleep at all due to noise of frogs in swimming pool at night. My husband got dressed and went to investigate where this incessant popping and clicking was coming from and found it was from frogs in swimming pool. We had to cancel our second night there as we felt ill after losing a nights sleep. I think you should make it clear that this property is surrounded by marsh as you say it is on an island which we presumed was surrounded by sea. Property has really poor sound insulation -you can clearly hear talking from downstairs.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    The height of luxury. I have never stayed in a more beautiful and comfortable hotel. The decor of the whole place is stunning, including art works, and the staff were so kind and helpful. We really did not want to leave. The location is superb, overlooking the lagoon and the heads, and the lounge, breakfast room and honesty bar felt so good. We shall return!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of this property is amazing and the views are outstanding. The complimentary kayaks and bikes made our stay very special. The decor in the lodge is beautiful. All the little extras like free tea/coffee, cake and snacks and the well stocked honesty bar made our stay very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. I would highly recommend this accommodation

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Amanzi Island Lodge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: