Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Amber Guest Lodge 4 stars

11 Duthie Street, Rexford, Hunter's Home, 6570 Knysna, South Africa

#7 of 28 hotels in Knysna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 106 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Francelle and her daughter were so hospitable and helpful with everything we needed. Going above and beyond what they needed. The breakfast on the patio in the morning was amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to be mindful that pool is not fenced if small children in your group

    Location, plenty of off road parking. Francelle and her team were just wonderful. Fabulous rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with private Lounge and Lagoon view
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Francelle and her daughter Renee are really friendly and helpful hosts. The executive suite has a great view of the lagoon and is beautiful. Breakfast by the pool was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just perfect.

    Very nice rooms and nice seating area around a small pool. Great breakfast that was served outside. Beautiful views to Knysna.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to mislike

    The room was beautiful spotless and extremely comfortable We would definitely stay there again for longer Breakfast was excellent The owner Francelle what as lovely lady Very helpful in every way possible Thank You Linda &a Chris Pitman

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a heater in the bathroom would be good.

    We really enjoyed our stay at the Amber Guest Lodge. Our hostess was amazing, bery attentive and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly hosts, very conveniently situated for us. Room very new and modern, beautiful pool area where you can eat your breakfast. Would definitely recommend and would visit again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, we loved it!

    What a wonderful guesthouse! Janet and Derek are very friendly hosts, making you feel at home as soon as you walk in. They offered us coffee upon arrival and gave us information about the area. We were upgraded to a suite, a beautiful room with lake view. The room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. Very good shower and bath. Breakfast was delicious! One of the best places I've stayed in SA. I would definitely recommend this guesthouse.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent service and extraordinary environment

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff. Well located, clean and adequately equipped

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff and lovely breakfast makes us feel at home

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More TV channels

    Room were very comfortable, clean and met all our needs

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable and friendly owners.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that we didn’t like

    Great location, facilities, cleanliness. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well located and looked after.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely host, warm welcome.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioner in room

    very welcoming owner

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far from the town

    Clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host was wonderful!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NA

    breakfast was served hot and nice. location is big plus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely zero, nothing to complain about

    The room, bathroom, bed, breakfast were all very much to our liking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very comfortable guest house. lovely pool and breakfast area. good parking.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Derek and Janet were very friendly and helpful hosts. A peaceful place with nice views.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    The kocation, the owners atitude, the value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There really wasn't anything to dislike.

    The rooms were spotless and well laid-out, opening onto a patio area overlooking the swimming pool and a distant lake. The owners were friendly and helpful in giving advice about local amenities, restaurants and walks.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Maybe more balustrades especially if you have tiny tots.

    The owners were incredibly helpful Refunded my overcharge even without me asking Lovely breakfast by the pool

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed here for four nights with another couple in two rooms overlooking the patio and with views over the lagoon. It's a wonderful place to stay with Janet and Derek such friendly, welcoming hosts, happy to chat and give lots of advice and information about the area. The rooms were very comfortable with good facilities, and we loved our breakfasts on the patio always served with a smile. The location is ideal for visiting nearby Knysna Heads (with the amazing East Head cafe for lunch), the Waterfront, Knysna Elephant Park (recommended), Plettenberg Bay with the Robberg Peninsula worth a visit though the full walk is a tough one. All in all, a calm and relaxing stay in a quiet but convenient residential part of Knysna.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    N/A

    Friendly owner and the stuff, clean and nice rooms with comfortable beds. Breakfast was delicious with good quality. Home made muffin was also plus. My family and in-laws were satisfied and enjoyed the stay there very much.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Proximity of neighbouring room, the occupants of which smoked on the verandah alongside our accommodation.

    Location. Friendly welcome, clean and well equipped room.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the walls are quite thin so you can hear people coughing ..

    Friendly staff - nice room with great bathroom. I only spent one night but I could have stayed longer. Nice breakfast too!

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hi, we stayed as a young couple in the 20's/30's and we absolutely loved their guestlodge. It was extremely clean and they responded to every of our needs. We even had a little bump where we hit their wall with our rental car by accident. Janet and Derek were extremely understanding of the situation and we were amazed on how they faced the situation with outmost professionalism. They took care of everything concerning the inssurance, which let us proceed with our day and not worry about it more. We highly recommend their guestlodge. If you have a rental car nothing is too far from them. Knysna is a very small town anyways. p.s. Loved their boxer dog. William and Anh

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Couple

    We left there very unhappy and were treated like criminals. We were defamed on social media upon their instruction and will never return or recommend their B&B.

    The room was pleasant, neat and tidy.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very relaxed atmosphere without endless rules that make one feel like one is barely welcome. The hostess offered and indeed did book us a restaurant and we were most delighted with the whole experience, especially the breakfast. Thank you Amber Guest Lodge!!!

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stupid but can't find any

    The personal attention and the pleasant quick serving off. the 2 staff ladies. Very convinient clean room and regular change of towels and cloth, Guesthouse diserve 9,7 as reward. For golfers reduce green fees

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A small drive to the wharf for various restaurants. Close to the heads and easy access to the main road. Was a nice place to stay

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Its a bit far out of town but im not worried about that too much.

    The rooms were amazing and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    More cupboard space for longer stays

    Breakfast good, Clean, secluded, and location easy to find and close to most things

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious. Would definitely recommend this guesthouse to others.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lots of road noise:(

    Beautiful place. Great people !

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    look for the detail is missing, no real recommondations what to do in knysna.

    the big and spacy room. guest house is very good located.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    all the best

    10 out of 10

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Clean Great breakfast Friendly

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The apartment was well furnished and clean and the owners were very friendly and attentive.

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Owner was very welcoming and friendly, breakfast was excellent. Rooms look new, nice library for books and movies.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cleanliness and quality of bed, bedding and linen.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing of any real significance. Wifi could have been better in the room we stayed in.

    Great room, good breakfast, friendly and helpful owners.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    None.

    Very spacious and very polite and courteous owner and staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    nothing

    The owner is very friendly and helpful. The place is safe and beautiful. Breakfast is good. Not too far from waterfront.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Value For Money Friendly Staff Location

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Excellent facilities in the room

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly owners and staff, always very helpful. Breakfast excellent and our room was lovely with great views over the lagoon.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was just perfect. The hosts, the location, breakfast menu was even written in French, great stay. One night was not enough

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Browse Amber Guest Lodge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: