Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. Western Cape B&B and inn reviews
  4. Cape Town B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of Anchor Bay Guest House

Reviews of Anchor Bay Guest House 3 stars

150 High Level Road ,Three Anchor Bay, Green Point, 8050 Cape Town, South Africa

#4 of 276 B&Bs and Inns in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 296 hotel reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2018

    10
    perfect for visiting Cape Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Burt is a fantastic host, who greeted us very friendly at our arrival. Check-in was fast and the Guest House is located in a safe neighborhood in Cape Town with breakfast locations and restaurants in walking distance. The room was spotless clean with super nice windows (double glassed, it was very quiet at night), a spacious bathroom, cupboards with enough space for everything as well as a coffee machine and a fridge. We were provided by complimentary coffee, water, red and white wine and rusks which was such a nice gesture! The Guest House also has a common room with a TV, more coffee, wine and a honesty bar as well as a beautiful veranda to sit outside. Burt gave us plenty of information on Cape Town in general as well as an restaurants, breakfast locations, activities etc. and we felt very welcome. Would stay here anytime again, thanks for everything!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    9.2
    Friendly. Clean. Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We seemed to have the smallest room but probably the luck of the draw when booking. The stairs were also a bit difficult for seniors.

    The friendliness of the owners. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was small but had everything you needed. Complimentary wine and a lovely guest lounge and balcony were such a treat.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2018

    10
    A great place to stay, which is suitable for both friends...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    where is nothing bad

    A great place to stay, which is suitable for both friends and couples. The owner of the house is very attentive and ready to help! The rooms are very clean, bright and beautiful. The most important thing is an amazing terrace with an absolutely beautiful view of the ocean. Also, guests are offered for free wine.. If we are in Captain, we’ll stop there!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Burt and Bev were excellent hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one thing!

    Burt and Bev were excellent hosts. From the beautiful room with a great view to the wine and coffee in each room, the stay could not have been any better.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Best Hotel Experience Ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Burt&Bev are the best hosts we have ever seen...Cape Town is not the safest place, espacially if you compare with Europe but they make you feel safe in Cape Town. Hotel is in safe area and Burt informs you very well what you need to expect in the areas you plan to visit. If we come to Cape Town again, the only place that we will stay is Anchor Bay Guesthouse...Highly recommended!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    The best I have booked yet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely nothing

    I have booked about 200 times with booking.com: this was the best! I would rate it with 20 points out of 10. A wonderful large room with a beautiful view. A very helpful host. The price performance ratio is incredible. Thanks Burt!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Very nice area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice area. Safe to walk anywhere nearby. Great tips from staff about where to eat and the best way to get around. Very impressed and would stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike!

    Well we were met by the our very warm and fatherly host Mr Bert. Fatherly because he literally helped us with maps and even marked out places to visit for food/leisure. He gave us a brief of capetown culture and the do’s and dont’s. The rooms are very comfortable. Good house keeping staff, very warm. The bathrooms are exceptionally clean and well maintained. The balcony overlooks sea point, which makes an amazing view in the mornings. Ask me if I would go back..!! HELL YES!!! Highly recommended

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    The host was more than accommodating and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host was more than accommodating and helpful. There were complimentary rusks, tea, coffee and wine which was far more than we expected. The location was so central and safe.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Perfect place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Facing Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. The room with the terrace has a beautiful view. There are a nespresso in the room and two complimentary bottle of wines. The bed is very comfortable and Burt is really helpful. I truly recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Coffee (Nespresso machine) and Tea (water boiler) provided in the room for free - Very good restaurants (I recommend the Huzar Grill) in walking distance (10mins) + it’s safe to walk at night - Complementary bottles of white and red wine provided in the room - the host (Burt) is superfriendly and helps you with anything (even with tracing our luggage which went missing at the airport!) - the room is perfectly clean We had a perfect stay for 3 nights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sea Facing Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Anchor Bay is truly a delightful guest house, Burt and Bev are wonderful hosts. Walking distance to many restaurants and breakfast/coffee joints, a grocery, a lovely Thai massage place (Dee Dee), and about 5-10 minutes by car to the V&A Waterfront (~40 rand in an Uber). I can’t recommend this place highly enough!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Good value Guesthouse in a lovely safe location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was generally happy with everything

    The owner of the hotel Burt was very friendly and took time to go through all the guest house facilities with us . Guest house was in a very safe area of town . Would certainly recommend to friends and family.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Comfortable, clean, friendly and convenient - we'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! It was perfect

    Lovely house just off the main road in Sea Point. Lovely bedlinen, comfortable beds, bathroom and shower spacious and clean. Nespresso machine, tea, rusks and complimentary wine! Great sunset views from guest general balcony. Staff lovely and accommodating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Facing Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful sea-view room with private balcony. Friendly and helpful hosts ensured we had everything we needed- a real home from home. Complimentary wine and rusks provided. Location great for the promenade/HOHO bus and walkable to the V&A waterfront. Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Delightful, stress free, easy going.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes although when traveling from JHB one must get comfortable with parking your vehicle in the street (this is a very safe area)

    Great owners. Very welcoming and secure access to property. Always felt safe. Guesthouse with a homely feel to it. Very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location within easy walking distance to nearby...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi speed was a bit changeable

    Excellent location within easy walking distance to nearby beach, bars and restaurants. The property was extremely comfortable, the complimentary wine in the room a lovely touch, and super access to the shared balcony with views of the bay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay in Cape Town - you won't regret booking here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great room! Loved the balcony area, free wine, what's not to like? Burt was especially helpful and good to us - helped post something home to us as well. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a more personal touch than just a standard hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    The room itself was really nice and homy,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work very well. It did not have elevator

    The room itself was really nice and homy, with great details. The bathroom was spacious and really clean. The staff was extremely kind and recommended good spots to go. Coffee and wine available for free.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Lap of luxury!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing at all we did not like, everything top notch!

    What an upmarket, classy establishment! Room spacious, clean. Bathroom lovely. The view from the deck is absolutely stunning. A warm welcome from the host, who himself showed us around and mentioned all the amenities. Cannot fault this guesthouse.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.2
    A great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The TV in the lounge need upgrading! The property does not include breakfast.

    Our bedroom was very comfortable with a beautifully hidden walk-in bathroom, lovely lounge and a great balcony with tables and chairs overlooking the park, stadium... The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Buses run outside the property. Our room included 2 complimentary bottles of wine, daily replenishing of refreshments. The property security was excellent with very easy to use swipe keys. Wifi was excellent!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Lovely guesthouse, excellent service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked the Anchor Bay Guest house during a business trip. The room was cozy and beautifully decorated. I had my own private door leading out to the balcony with a sea-view. The Room has air-con & ceiling fan, Nespresso machine with Nespresso Pods, fresh water & a mini fridge. The Service from the owners were EXCELLENT. It has an en-suite bathroom with a shower , the bathroom had new soap, conditioning shampoo & shower gel available. I had a place to work and because I am a Google Street-View trusted photographer, I had to take a 360 Panorama that can be viewed on their google business listing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    Top guesthouse with lovely hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They don't offer breakfast, which is totally fine by me. Therealso wasn't a TV in my room, there is just one in the shared guest area. Again, no issue for me, just be informed. Rooms to th streetside can be a bit noisy in the mornings.

    Charming estate with very comfortable shared space and patio in a quiet neighbourhood, still only 3-4 km from the city center. Lovely hosts. Spacious rooms with decent fridge and window covers actually darkening the rom - a rare apperance in SA.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Great host with lovely house-keeper. Clean and comfortable accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A TV in our room for late night viewing so that we don't disturb other guests in the communal lounge area.

    Sound proof windows in room. Extra drinks supplied by owner, over and above complementary wine. Nespresso coffee. Great patio overlooking city and ocean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Highly recommended if you want a small, friendly, well-run guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Dodgy wi-fi.

    Burt and Bev are excellent hosts, friendly, relaxed and knowledgeable about Cape Town, and they run an excellent guest house. Alice, the housekeeper, ensured that we returned 'home' every evening to a spotlessly clean room and with all amenities refreshed. Further, we were well supplied with complimentary, very good South African wine. Location is great, with access to a variety of dining options and the Cape Town waterfront.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Incredible stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Facing Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Incredible stay! We had a beautiful room with a sea view and a balcony. We had coffee, tea and delicious rusks in the room and two bottles of wine, we were so impressed with the hospitatliy - I will definitely come back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Home away from Home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although they don't serve breakfast, I was able to go to the Wooworths Food Supermarket around the corner and buy a few breakfast things to keep in my minibar. Fancy coffee machine in lounge area and in the room. Burt's restaurant recommendations were spot on! Lovely to get back at the end of the day and sit on the balcony and enjoy a nice glass of complimentary wine. Uber drivers took only 2 or 3 minutes to collect you and it was a quick ride to the Waterfront.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Facing Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. The owners recommended a great place for dinner and what to do the following day. Comfortable and very clean. Great great breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom supplies can be better.

    Everything was very good. Better than expected. Very clean room, great hospitality of Burt, cool refreshments, good quality free wine, beer and more.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful african house,very clean and confortable Room,big bathroom,wonderful terrace with sea sight.coffe machine,milk and buiscuits for the breakfast.very kind staff,gave usefull information to us.I would absolutly recomend this structure and I hope to come back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Felt like a boutique hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thank you Burt for being such a nice and supportive host! Amazing sea view from shared balcony. Quiet and super clean room, proper coffee... Really good value for money!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Perfect host and guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    We liked everything about our stay. Bert was a perfect host and we found him very polite and helpful with tips on where to go and eat in the local area. The guest house was spotless and the balcony on the sea view rooms was a highlight with great views over the city. We loved this place and ended up booking a second night within 10 minutes of getting there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    An awesome guest house - but only if you don't depend on wifi
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved staying at Anchor Bay Guest House so much that we extended our three day stay into a 7 day stay. However, we regretted extending our stay and would not return for one reason: the wifi was slow at best and unusable at worst. We work while traveling, so we depend on having stable internet of moderate speed (ideally 10Mbps). We are relatively light users (gmail, wordpress, web searches), yet the wifi often would not be able to load anything in the late afternoon and evening. Although this might not be a problem for users who just want to sync social media and mail on their phones, for us it was a huge frustration that forced us to work in a nearby bar (that had stable and much faster wifi) multiple evenings. Burt, the owner, said he paid for the fastest internet possible, so it doesn't seem there is much he can do to improve the wifi quality. Hence, we can't recommend Anchor Bay Guest House if you depend on or need wifi. But if you don't, we whole-heartedly recommend staying. Small comments: No conditioner in the bathrooms (and the conditioning shampoo in the Seahorse room did not condition). The non-desk chair in the Seahorse room felt too fragile to sit in - it should be replaced. All of the chairs in the common lounge and deck are soft and plush - it would be nice to include some hard chairs for those who need more back support.

    Anchor Bay Guest House provided comfortable lodging and great service. We stayed in the Seahorse room 3 nights and then moved to the Owl room for 4 nights. The Owl room is more spacious (two closets, two large twin beds, a large desk), while the Seahorse room has the benefit of a covered patio with a table and two chairs. Both rooms have large bathrooms with soap, shampoo, and plenty of towels provided. Each room has a mini refrigerator. Burt, the owner, greeted us at check-in and provided a very helpful overview of the property and neighborhood. Burt was around the property frequently (he lives on the first floor) and was always helpful, without being intrusive. A very friendly maid was on the premises from around 10am to 1pm to clean and make-up rooms and the common areas. The guest house has four rooms available. These four rooms share a common lounge area with plush sofas as well as a patio with a table and chairs. The patio has an incredibly beautiful view over Sea Point and Green Point, with a view of Robbin Island in the distance. We enjoyed working on the patio and watching the sunset. Unlimited red and white wine, crackers/biscuits, tea, and coffee are available both in the rooms and in the common lounge. Beer is stocked in the common lounge fridge (and upon request in the room fridge) for a reasonable 15rand/bottle. The neighborhood around the guest house is affluent. There are many restaurants, cafes, coffee shops, and laundry places within a 15 minute walk. Although we were approached multiple times by beggers on Main Street, we never felt unsafe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    7.1
    Good for 1 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and view displayed much nicer/bigger on pictures. You cannot spend too much time in your room, because it feels cramped with 2 people

    Bed was very comfortable. Room had both air con and ceiling fan

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    We can highly recommend the Anchor Bay Guesthouse, it's the perfect property for vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sea Facing Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    What didn't we like ? We only booked for a two weeks stay, it should have been for a two months stay !, Perhaps next year, who knows ?

    The views from the balcony were breathtaking especially dawn and sunset. Burt and Bev were perfect hosts, they went out of their way to fulfil all our wishes,we cannot recommend them highly enough. Also, let us not forget their excellent staff, the cleanliness of the property deserves and. receives the highest praise. If you are going to Cape Town for your vacation, aim for the one property which nigh on guarantees perfection - the Anchor Bay Guesthouse run by Burt and Bev

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    11 out of 10 - 4 Star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Parking on the street but it is clearly stated on the property site that parking is not available; however there were no incidents in this regard and it seems that parking on the street over night is a common practice around Green point. Cant flaw perfection.

    Burt's warm welcome and the time he took to explain places and tours to go on while we stayed there for 5 nights; he even helped with carrying our luggage upstairs. The view of the sea and stadium from the deck was something to look forward to every morning and sunset. We really appreciated the complimentary rusks, sweets, coffee, wine, the fridge in the room. The cleanliness of the entire property was really marveling to me - beautiful home and smells fresh all round. Great book collection. The beach towels. This property gave us a home away from home feeling. We stayed in the Owl Room and everything was perfect. Excellent wifi connection if you are into that sort of thing :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    Amazing gem in Cape Town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No complaints!

    We had a wonderful time in Cape Town! Burt was a wonderful host and gave us lots of ideas to see and travel around the city. We loved it so much we stayed twice! Would highly recommend this guesthouse in cape Town! great location, safe area and amazing people! Very gracious host!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    10
    Excellent Host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Absolutely amazing location. Real value for money. There is a free bottle of red wine for guest! Even options on white chilled wine. It was a Wow moment.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    10
    Nespresso coffee, kettle and bar fridge available in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nespresso coffee, kettle and bar fridge available in the room. Air conditioning. We had a room without a balcony but could make use of the comnunial balcony with lovely views.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    10
    Property was furnished to a very high standard & was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Property was furnished to a very high standard & was spotless There were no restaurant facilities therefore I have not scored that question Excellent location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Exceeded Expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sea Facing Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Made to feel very welcome, Burt was the perfect host providing anything we required including breakfast pots. With beautifully appointed rooms and great views. We travelled with friends and found the guest lounge and terrace a perfect retreat at the end of a long day, overlooking the sea, with drinks and nibbles what else could you want. With 4 rooms all on one floor this would be perfect for a family/friends get together.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    Fantastic guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Facing Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    The view was incredible and the owners, Bev and Bert were lovely and welcoming. We were disappointed to be only staying for 1 night - especially with bottles of wines and beers provided in your our room free of charge.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    10
    Great host, beautiful spot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great host, Burt was awesome and the property is well kept with great attention to detail with things like coffee pods, rusks, complimentary beer and wine!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    Hospitable, comfortable, great value guest house. Great base for exploring all parts of Cape Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    really helpful friendly owners. Great location- easy to walk down to sea front & variety of places to eat and drink. Bus stop outside with other routes close by - easy to get around by public transport and taxis Lovely balcony to sit out and enjoy glass of wine (complimentary!) before going out for the evening. Excellent value!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    Fantastic Guest House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this Guest House. Lovely house, impeccably clean and well maintained. In a safe neighbourhood with shops and restaurants close by. All in all, great value for money.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    9.2
    Great view and good coffee !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two sigle beds were confortable. Ut they were separating all the time- maybe the room was not the best option for thr couple who want to sleep together in a double bed .

    The view from te balcony was great and the place eas very clean !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    10
    Home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes

    Friendly welcoming and homely. A 5 star guest house with that extra touch the owner's Burt and Bev were so helpful and should be proud of their beautiful home. The extra touch of a glass of wine and a coffee machine in each room showed the attention to detail. Look forward to staying again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    LOVED the view, atmosphere & hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Absolutely nothing can be faulted. Everything looks exactly as it does in the pictures. The added bonus of a communal living space & patio that also boasted tea/coffee facilities was great for us as we booked two rooms & spent some time in the evening socialising before bed. We couldnt wait to get home from dinner to enjoy the evening view from the patio along with a complimentary glass of wine/beer made the perfect ending to our 1 night stay. We will be returning next year!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    10
    Perfection!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we could only stay one night!

    The extra effort by the hosts, generosity of home comforts, cookies, wine, coffee machines, sweeties.... Wonderful comfortable guest lounge linked to fab sun deck with superb view towards Robbin Island, city bowl. Helpful advice and service, everything in room perfect.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    9.6
    This is a lovely property, and the owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sea Facing Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A breakfast option would have been good, but everything else was excellent.

    This is a lovely property, and the owner was very helpful. Even had a complimentary bottle of wine and bottles of beer in our room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    10
    Excellent stay at Anchor Bay - thank you Burt
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, modern decor, comfortable lounge area that feels like home. Excellent coffee machines in every room. Amazing sound-proof glass in bedroom, gorgeous toiletries available in bathroom. Clean, comfortable bed. Burt was an amazing host! Will most definitely be staying here again

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    10
    Perfection from start to finish, a Cape Town must visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we only stayed for 3 nights at the end of our trip. Wished we'd of stayed longer.

    Perfect from start to finish, great little touches, great hosting, great location, great views. Perfect.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    9.6
    A nice package!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Facing Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Great host. Nice atmosphere with a beautiful view from the balcony. Host is really willing to explain everything about the surroundings, things to do, restaurants etc..

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    10
    Beautiful, peaceful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    would have liked a TV in the room but not a major issue - they did have one in the lovely lounge.

    Loved the place - the owner was most friendly and helpful - stunning deck by the lounge looking over the ocean. Lots of little touches - highly recommend it and cannot wait to go back - Very peaceful place

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    10
    The little details of hand-wash at basin, tea-making...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Were not aware that children were not welcome. We were accommodated but felt uneasy about having my granddaughter with us, as was originally indicated on tour site but was lost in further communication. All went well.

    The little details of hand-wash at basin, tea-making facilities, themed rooms, cleanliness.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    Wow the place is very clean and peaceful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wow the place is very clean and peaceful! The views from the guest house are AMAZING! The staff and owner, oh my goodness they are so friendly! They will assist you in anything you need, they know the city very well. Very good people indeed and best guesthouse I've stayed in. I would recommend it both for leisure and business. The rooms have everything you need! If you don't see it just ask for it and its there. What a great stay we had!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    9.2
    Gorgeous, cosy home - complimentary wine! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't have time to explore what else was on offer around anchor bay as we left the next morning, so cannot comment further on what was in the area.

    Burt's warm greeting was just what we needed as a first welcome to Cape Town! The house is beautiful, with lovely open views off the living room. He upgraded our room as there was a last minute cancellation and we were super impressed by the quirky facilities in the owl room. It's a short walk to the beach promenade where there were a couple of close restaurants - we had tapas for lunch and then jumped on the convenient city tour bus at the stop across the road- then on the way back, had dinner at Hussar Grill followed by a short stumble home! Thanks Burt for your warmth and information even though it was just a short stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    9.6
    Central, clean, comfy :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I stayed in "Butterfly" which is a wee bit tiny. All of the other rooms are a lot more spacious and if I returned I'd ask for one of those.

    Everything, location, cleanliness, complimentary drinks, willingness to help with anything that will make your stay as comfortable as possible.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    Burt! What a guy 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Facing Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the guesthouse, it is within walking distance to restaurants, amenities and the beach. What made it more special was our host Burt who had impeccable etiquette and was very accommodating . Could not fault anything!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2018

    10
    Perfect home away from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Burt was very welcoming and we had a great stay at his place.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    8.8
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Facing Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No private parking!

    Nice location and Beautiful view from the room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Lovely, comfortable and central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location fabulous, lovely views from common areas.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    Perfect start for our SA road trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak WiFi in our room Quite noisy in room to street side

    Large bed Very helpful and friendly host View from terrace Coffee, tea, wine for free

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sea Facing Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything one needs when in Cape Town on business.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Just great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a lovely guest house! Host, room, beds... could not be better

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very Clean, Great Host - took the time to walk me through the best spots close-by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Room was well equipped!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    No secure off-street parking

    Room was well equipped!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    everytime again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    using of kitchen would be great

    Nice Staff, friendly host, balcony, clean rooms, location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Wine and coffee included
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wine and coffee included

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Excellent!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Very comfy air conditioned room, with free wine and Nespresso coffee!!! Loved my stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Really added to our wonderful experience of Cape Town. Can't recommend it highly enough!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing!

    The owners and staff were super friendly and helpful. Excellent value for money. Great views. Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.9
    Small b&b in a good area of Capetown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was fine.

    Good and safe location. Nice view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable, a good base to get around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly host, nothing was too much trouble. Nice balcony and lounge. Spacious bedroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Great facilities, a great stay! Will definately go back!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Burt was a great host! The view was divine! It had all the comforts you could want and they pay attention to detail

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: