Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aquavit Guest House 4 stars

8 Serica Place, 6600 Plettenberg Bay, South Africa

#5 of 55 B&Bs and Inns in Plettenberg Bay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 98 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.8

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite-Room 5
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING

    Ole and Linda were truly wonderful hosts and their home, furnishings, art work and so many other things were nothing short of spectacular. This is so much more than a BnB; you are a guest in a truly remarkable home. Do not even think about staying in another spot along the Garden Route. Traveling can be tiresome and knowing you have the BEST waiting for you at the end of the day makes all the difference.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite-Room 5
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Very friendly and welcoming owners and staff. Really relaxed atmosphere. The house is immaculate and you are made to feel really at home. We used Aquavit as a base to explore this area and I fully commend all that was offered. The accommodation was very comfortable and I really liked the way each room had its own veranda and space.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite-Room 2
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little to complain about... we somehow didn't get the email checking if we wanted a twin or double room but that might have been an issue with Booking.com

    An absolutely beautiful home with a very personal touch in terms of decor, service and treats. The owners provide a very warm welcome and advice for sight seeing. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the bay is a delight - great views, pristine service and really delicious food with lots of freshly prepared options to your choice. The pool looked great and a good size for swimming but the weather meant it wasn't warm enough to use.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite-Room 5
    • Stayed 4 nights

    To be fair we were warned that the hot water was slow to arrive in the bathroom . This was true . We were warned not to walk at night from town to the guest house and this made the location of the guest house a little disappointing , though this was not a big issue . I wish we had known before booking ?

    The homemade cooking was excellent . The management and staff were very personable . Guest house was immaculately presented .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything was great only one thing was the background music could be more varied and a bit more lively, but that's personal view.

    Everything was perfect. Best place we stayed in during our three weeks in South Africa

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite-Room 5
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    However the owners are living upstairs and they are very present. They check when you go home and comment a lot. This is paired with a superficial way of communication where they do not let a minute go by to explain you they are the bosses. Too arrogant and too many rules for my kind of vacation... seems to be different for middle aged / older guest though...

    The house is beautiful, standard is high, everything very clean. View and pool are awesome. The breakfast is outstanding. The staff ist friendly and professional.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not have time to taste the wine collection .

    The architecture and design features of the house were superb , I have travelled the world and have never stayed in a hotel or guest house that has been presented with such flair and attention to detail from the house to the breakfast absolutely superb ,only wish we could have stayed longer and enjoyed the company of our hosts.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite-Room 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the perfect stay: best designed house and rooms, very clean, very nice and friendly hosts, perfect breakfast, incomparable great view. Better then most 5 star hotels!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite-Room 4
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like! Well the weather could have been better 😊

    Everything! Lovely, lovely hosts, beautiful house , extremely stylish, clean, comfortable, spacious, every detail thought through. I would like live there! The balcony where you have breakfast has great views over the bay. As do bedrooms. Lovely guest lounge area. Breakfast was delicious. Would definitely go back again. No problem getting a taxi into plet for dinner only 5 minutes away and costs 50 rand.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite-Room 4
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Fantastic service! Ole and Linda made us very welcome and were very informative about local sites and restaurants. Special mention for the breakfasts which were brilliant!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite-Room 3
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owners were extremely personable and helpful. Breakfast selection and quality of food was very good. Whole property (our Bedroom/bathroom and shared lounge/balcony/pool area) was very stylish with good quality furnishings. linens, crockery, cutlery etc.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite-Room 2
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not advised that we would pay extra for a king bed

    Everything about Aquavit is top class, the welcome, facilities, superb breakfasts, willingness to book restaurants, even the brandy!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite-Room 5
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was rude and too nosy in what I did every night and asked "why did I even book to stay here?" as I slept out at a friend one of the nights and didn't drive back as I had been drinking

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite-Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived early and was not allowed to check in, we were aware of the check in time so this is acceptable. As we were touring SA for 3 weeks we had a lot of luggage and valuables in the car. It would have been nice to have been offered a secure location to leave them until our return. This was not offered as an option yet in the room it says that it is available for customers.

    Great views, nice pool, good breakfast, lovely pancakes and cakes.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The host invest in every detail! Rooms and lobby are big, isolated but still give a warm felling. The rooms are very clean, everything in excellent shape. Romantic view of the bay during breakfast. Pool is very nice as well. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite-Room 4
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved everything about my stay. They are such a welcoming couple and have such a beautiful facility. I travel M-F for work all over the United States and so I'm used to living in a hotel. This was the nicest part of my stay in South Africa because it didn't feel like a hotel, it felt like 'home'. The rooms are impeccable and beautifully designed. The food was great, the wine options were phenomenal and the view is one of a kind. When I go back to South Africa I plan on making it a point to visit them again. Thank you for your hospitality!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a great stay at Aquavit. Linda and Ole made us welcome and their home is beautiful. The breakfast was lovely with wonderful views over the bay. We would return without hesitation.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite-Room 5
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really-we were there in Winter-in Summer you would probably need to drive to beaches

    A marvellous house built to last with quality fittings and hosts that seem to like what they do

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite-Room 5
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very personal service from Linda and Ole and the very stylish decor of the property. Oh and the views! And the breakfasts!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite-Room 5
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was amazing - best croissants I have ever tasted!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite-Room 4
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast was outstanding, as were the views and the hospitality.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite-Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Accomodation is on par with a ***** hotel. Breakfast with a view is a dream. And ****** stars for the hosts Linda and Ole with team and dogs :-)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite-Room 4
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic views. Superb breakfast. Lovely room. Hosts very attentive and staff so helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite-Room 4
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely nothing

    The view, the service, the breakfast and the little touches.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite-Room 5
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible home with amazing views. Very friendly and helpful couple and staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite-Room 4
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing view, beautifull house, high quality rooms & an outstanding breakfast!just perfect! We hope to come back!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite-Room 2
    • Stayed 5 nights

    An absolute gem. Luxurious accommodation with a spectacular view and charming hosts. A model for all up-market establishments.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite-Room 4
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    Beautiful accommodations & setting overlooking Plettenburg Bay. Delicious breakfasts on the patio. Very charming hosts...very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite-Room 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather;)

    Breakfast and the house/ location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite-Room 4
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Awesome view, great breakfast and super helpful, welcoming and friendly staff!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite-Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed there the second time. Beautifiul house and cosy, wonderful rooms. It was the best breakfast on our trip. Ole and Linda are excellent host.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite-Room 4
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hospitality from Linda & Ole, beautiful room, views from property, great breakfasts & the dogs

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was amazing. Views of Plettenberg Bay were fantastic. Staff were very helpful on what local attractions to see and what places to go eat.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 star facility, lovely hosts.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Warm and engaging welcome by the owners Linda & Ole. We were made to feel like friends not customers and their beautiful home felt like a home from home. Amazing breakfast - if ever a breakfast was fine dining, this is was it!

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mattress needed replacing, so didn't sleep at all - would be fine if you are by yourself or very lightweight but my husband is tall and more built, so you noticed the mattress quality.. Breakfast was very strange being served with sautéed vegetables - would have preferred this clearly communicated so I could have asked for something more traditional with my eggs. Continental part of breakfast was good though.

    Dogs were lovely, quality of home interior was very nice

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast and check out could perhaps be slightly later.

    Linda and Ole are amazing hosts with fountains of knowledge about the area including activities and restaurants. They made us feel welcome in their beautiful home. The breakfast was incredible and probably the best scrambled eggs I've ever had. The view was pretty stunning as well.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    E very thing at this guest house was way above average from the accommodation to the breakfast. Always an important question...Would we return ? An emphatic yes.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't know if this accommodation so suitable for young guests. It is very luxurious and i have the feeling its is not so personal like others stays we had on the garden route. Don't felt so much home. We both 25 & 23. :)

    I guess best accommodation and location in Plett. The hosts making the best breakfast and the stay perfectly.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic guesthouse with hosts who were extremely helpful in booking dinner, taxis and advising us about local area. Gorgeous breakfast with the most amazing views to the sea.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The Guest House owners were very unfriendly and reserved. We did not feel welcome. They made us repeatedly reproaches because we booked at short notice!

    Pool

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    A very warm welcome to a lovely guest house. Ole and Linda couldn't have been more hospitable or helpful. Dakota and Zoe (the rescue retrievers) were also a delight. Our only regret is that we were unable to stay for longer. A truly wonderful introduction to Plett and we shall hope to return.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Probably the best place I've stayed at. Beautiful house, beautiful views and lovely hosts, Linda and Ollie. We loved it so much that we stayed an extra night.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This guest house fitted it's description of a guest house with a view - the view was spectacular, the food lovely at breakfast and the room and bathroom was lovely too.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location is fantastic , on hillside looking over Plettenberg Bay and mountains . Architect design with wonderful use of modern materials . Very stylish interior design . Bedroom 1 had lovely glass frontage opening onto terrace and pool . Linda and Ole great hosts . Breakfast easily the best in Africa

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing apart from my wife wants me to update our house after saying at Aquavit.

    This is a architect designed guest house to which the owners have thoughtfully furnished with impeccable style. Attention to detail is superb as was service like making sure we got reservations at superb restaurant's like Zinzi (a must if you can get in) or the Fat Fish in town. Linda & Ole are charming hostes and we can't wait to return.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NOTHING to say!!!!

    The care, the AMAZING breakfasts, the comfort, the artistic design of the b and b and the kindness and helpfulness of Oli and Linda.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect Hosts, Perfect Views, Perfect Place, Just Perfect!!

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Simply the best !

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    absolutely beautiful ,contemporary design . Stunning views .

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely property and the most amazing breakfasts we had in our whole 2 week visit of SA

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    everything

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. Aquavit was perfect.

    The guest house & our room was immaculate. Breakfast delicious. Can't imagine anything better in Plettenberg.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful breakfast, view and dogs!!!

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful house with a nice ocean view in Plettenberg and very nice owner. Worht a visit.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely room. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You need a car to get anywhere nearby.

    Amazing house. Friendly hosts. Lovely view. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location many attractions in the near area. Price is a bit expensive.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Friendliness

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Liked the total experience

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stunning location with views of the coastline and mountains

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    slow internet checkout at 10:00 am owners treated guests very friendly but were rude to staff

    great view excellent breakfast very clean room

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Such a beautiful Guesthouse!

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location next to street, earplugs are good investment.

    Breakfast on balcony with view over beach area.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything about this place makes it special

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Browse Aquavit Guest House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: