Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Westin Cape Town 5 stars

Lower Long Street, 8000 Cape Town, South Africa

#44 of 152 hotels in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 473 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Every need was met!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot think of a negative.

    The facilities are phenomenal and the people are outstanding. Check in and out - easy. The concierge’s recommendation for wineries- great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel, comfortable rooms, but not really value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They did not allow my Uber to go into the drop-off area (there seemed to be an issue with me using Uber and not the cabs offered by the hotel).

    The rooms are really comfortable. Great amenities; shuttle to V&A, gym, etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Luxury stay with easy access to the Waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing specific

    The room was big and easily accommodated a king size bed, with desk and lounge space. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet, so we had a good night's sleep. We had a great view over the Waterfront from our room. Shower was great and had really hot water. We ate dinner at the restaurant on the 19th floor - the menu is quite small, but the quality and service were amazing. From the bread-rolls to the fish and meat mains and the deserts, all were top class. Breakfast had a good selection, including foods from around the world, which was a nice find in a South African hotel. Unfortunately the same options were served both days and the buffet options weren't great, but the staff behind the counter can make meals to order and those were really good. You must try the fresh fresh juices, really great. The hotel is within walking distance (about 1km) to the Waterfront and to a Virgin Active gym, though walking at night is not a good idea. They do have a shuttle to the Waterfront that runs until after 11pm

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.3
    ongoing rinnovation without any written notice on Booking.com
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small, construction in the upper level from 9am to 4pm which was extremely noisy. Telephone on the side table was dusty. Screw of the window was loosened.

    Eccellent view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in the middle of Capetown ideal for business or pleasure.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A great hotel in the heart of Capetown and close to the waterfront. Ideal for business or pleasure. Try the restaurant on the 19th floor its a bit pricey but the food is incredible some of the best in capetown. As you can expect from a Westin it is a luxury hotel, rooms are excellent well furnished and super comfy beds. The room was a bit warm and it was difficult to cool it down but it was very unseasonally warm weather for capetown so this may have had an effect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No wi-fi in the gym/pool/spa area. Very basic iron & board, not good, gave up.

    Excellent location, friendly staff, a good overall experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.4
    Average stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room and air con not working properly. Too much road noise from outside. Expensive compared to other 4 and 5 star hotels I have stayed at in Cape Town.

    Bathroom and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Friendly, efficient staff, great venue, awesome breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We chose the 'green' option (to save water by not washing the bedding and towels) for the room cleaning, expecting the room to be cleaned as usual and coffee etc to be re-stocked. Unfortunately, this needs to be arranged (per the very small print on the base of the door card) with reception. I don't understand how not re-stocking the room and making the bed etc will have any effect on the water efficiency and should be done regardless, at a 5 star hotel?

    The Staff, facilities, food and venue where all excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    it is great location for business visit
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing. however, they need to just looking for the near future to change some to keep their standards of cleanses

    it location is near to shopping mall that has different variety of restaurants cafe ...etc as well it is in the middle of the business center which gives it a proper place to stay for a business/working days

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    It is great from different aspect
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing all are excellent

    location is the best in Durban. it is just front of shopping mall restaurateur cafes..etc. the staff was helpful and friendly. the value of the room is great. the way of building the rooms is too generous which i really like it. the rooms was to wide and have all the facility that any one need. indeed next visit to Durban i will select it. by the way the shopping mall and the Durban people are too kind which is different what i read in Wikipedia about the city high criminals!!! restaurants around the hotel are great and you will not need a car to move to another area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Close to the Water Front place which is surrounded by the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing .

    Close to the Water Front place which is surrounded by the sea. Nice shopping mall too. The hotel is beautiful and modern. The room was big and comfortable. Excellent shuttle from the hotel to the Water front and back every half an hour from both places.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Very happy stay with the overall excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Club Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress in our room seems a bit old and was not very comfortable. The club floor lounge drinks hours could be improved with more varieties of canapes and drinks served especially wine and other alcoholic drinks.

    Location overall excellent service from all staff we met.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay if you are joining a cruise ship as the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Club Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great place to stay if you are joining a cruise ship as the check in is at the CTICC right next door. Shuttle to V&A Waterfront. Friendly and helpful staff. Good food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn't stay there if its not for the conference.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Way too expensive, hotel is using its proximity to exhibition centre, otherwise a normal hotel nothing special. Rooms crowded with limited space to walk. Online price was half of what I was offered as group rate (part of conference).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    4.6
    next to terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Club Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Every time you ask staff for something they promise it will be done. If it is not done and you call reception to follow up, if there is a different person at that work station they have no clue what you are asking about. There is no effective communication between their staff. In a 3 day stay I was affected in this way regarding: a bar fridge not working; request for blankets; a beverage that was gifted by the duty manager (to apologise for bad service) then charged at checkout.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Great views, friendly and helpful staff. Excellent facilities!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The iron in the room did not work, asked for replacement, it never came.

    The customer service was good. Friendly and helpful staff. The facilities were fantastic especially the spa and the stunning pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    2.5
    Never ever go back or recommend the hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough space to list everything! While I was there I even message Starwood’s to say they need to visit .

    Nothing ! Absolute trauma from start to finish . The hotel staff just don’t understand the meaning of customer service in a Westin Hotel . Was a disaster from waiting for 45 minutes for our luggage to waiting all day to get our room made up - and then only after a row with housekeeping . Compare this hotel to the Westin in Dubai could not be more opposite !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.8
    Frustrating if we have to request basic services
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of the room, on Saturday our room wasn’t cleaned at all, only the bed was made. On Sunday no house keeping service was offered to us until we called around 14:00 to request that our room be cleaned

    The staff at reception and dinning room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    Centrally situated, can improved logistics around the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable, I requested a room with double bed and got a single beds room. Refilling shower gel and other stuff can be improved.

    Was closer to the event

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    An exceptional experience near Cape Town's picturesque waterfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was surprised that the Westin didn't provide full DSTV as standard.

    The professional and helpful staff make the Westin an exceptional experience. I had a fractured ankle (I booked at the Westin to rest before traveling) and everyone went out of their way to make my stay comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel, great location, amazing views
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The thermostat seemed to be set to shut off AC in the middle of the night making the room uncomfortably warm. I never got a good night's sleep because of it. While the shuttle service to V&A was nice, the driver would depart early. A couple of minutes doesn't seem like a big deal, but it is when you're stuck waiting for 30 minutes for the next shuttle.

    Our view was amazing. The location was perfect given that it is conveniently located next to the conference center. The continuous shuttle service to the V&A Waterfront was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    I was expecting more since it was The Westin hotel , even for one night !
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have limited food choices on their in room dining, the room is without Aircon!

    The hotel has enough running water at the bathroom, since the city is in water crisis

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We assumed that placing the “green room” card on the door, they would not replace the towels. The result was the cleaner did not enter the room at all which was not the desired result. The green room card does not indicate that this was another name for “ do not disturb” In all the hotels I frequent, this is the only time I have experienced this. I eventually questioned the cleaner who confirmed that the card indicates that the room must not be serviced - very strange!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    6.3
    Poor service put a downer on the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Club Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We opted for the green room service option as we were only in the hotel a few days and especially with the city's water shortage at the moment. We understood this to just mean that we would reuse our linen, however our room was not serviced for days. We had to specifically asked one of the cleaners to do so. We opted for room service on new years day as a treat but it was a complete disaster! After a catalogue of errors the breakfast finally arrived after 2 hours, cold and stale and was missing key items. Needless to say we were not charged but the food was inedible and we had to specifically request additional compensation, by way of transport to the waterfront to get some decent food.

    The staff were generally polite and friendly. It was very convenient having the tour company based in reception. The additional touches for our honeymoon were appreciated. The food was great in both standard and club restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    The complimentary bubbly grape juice and chocolates were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a five star hotel I expect proper halaal food Reception charged me for one night parking but when I left the parking area there had been no need to pay!!!!

    The complimentary bubbly grape juice and chocolates were nice The view is awesome The check out time of 12h00.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel phone system and lack of water due to drought

    Location was great & easy stop for hotel shuttle / Hop on Hop Off Bus. Breakfast exceeded expectations. Holiday decorations nice touch. Hope the water drought lifts soon.....no water for tub and public sinks is not fun.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.2
    The views, the rooftop pool and spa, the central location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice if there had been a rooftop bar open to anyone, not just exec club

    The views, the rooftop pool and spa, the central location and the free shuttle to the waterfront

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast included in price and quite good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel runs a shuttle bus to the Waterfront area. As a result of heavy traffic, the bus timings have become unreliable and the identification of the busses needs to be improved. Sometimes they did not have the Westin logo and could be missed.

    Breakfast included in price and quite good. No problems with internet connection. Room clean and well kept. Level of security satisfactory.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    The whole hotel is just quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at breakfast talking at table behind me loudly so that I cant hear what my wife said.Particular 2vstaff members.Throwing cupboard drawers when closing.Overall not good Food brilliant.

    The whole hotel is just quality

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    The hotel is really good than I thought.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the hotel has the airport shuttle in the list when I was booking on your App, however, the hotel staff told me they do not has the airport shuttle when I was ready to leave the hotel. It is really not convenient for tourist transport between airport and hotel, indeed.

    The hotel is really good than I thought.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.1
    Okay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I booked using booking.com at a lower price, and I was charged a higher price for my stay. My booking was not confirmed despite obtaining the confirmation number from booking.com. The room given to me was very small and not on a good floor. After reaching the property tired with 10 hrs of flying, they did not give any special care or didn't even considered upgrading my room despite availability. The customer care did not exist even for an SPG member like me. I would like you to provide me with a complimentary service for my bad experience during the stay.

    Facilities like gym, breakfast, bath, reception, lounge were very good and I enjoyed my stay in the property. Location is very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    4.2
    Absolutely overpriced -- never again! At this price plenty others on offer!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Club Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room bar fridge broke and wasnt fixed since I got there. It was noisy and I couldnt sleep. Despite complaining to Ngiyabonga about it the management didnt even bother to apologise. I stayed in an executive floor room -- the hotel closed the executive floor which I paid EXTRA for in my rate - for a cocktail and private function. How can you offer extra services but not deliver them. It is unacceptable. This hotel was poor value and was jam packed with an oil and gas conference. It was awful. Long waiting times. Poor service in the bar. Cars parking in the front of the hotel created chaos. Will never stay here ever again.

    Location is great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Executive Club added bonus to great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Club Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the Executive Club...great breakfast with sensational views. This was the perfect place to stay in Cape Town. Very safe and close to the V&A waterfront - there’s even a free shuttle every half hour from the hotel. The staff at the Club were exceptional in their helpfulness and friendliness. Worth the few extra dollars to get this service. Can recommend this hotel and would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    A great stay - any time as it was value for money and a great customer experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have been even happier with my stay if I could have had a room higher than the second floor looking at the aircon units. But I was happy enough as I spent little time in room plus I got immediate access to my room

    Staff at breakfast were particularly welcoming and helpful and so were every staff I met.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    High quality hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect! Personnel was very helpful and knowledgable. My bags got delayed and they did everything to make my stay comfortable. Breakfast was plenty and delicious; the restaurant for lunch and dinner was very good. The room was big, with a nice view of the port. The location was perfect as my conference was just across the street, at the Cape Town Conference Center. Guess services were outstanding, they tracked my bags until they reached the hotel. The internet connection was strong, and the business center comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    A decent 4 star hotel, great location, excellent spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps a hot breakfast selection - fresh pancakes / waffles instead of the buffet ones which are soft and sad to eat. Also the coffee is bad. They use tap water which has a smell in the coffee. Didnt like that at all.

    The spa is the winner for me. The pool is just amazing - rim flow with an amazing view. The spa therapists have really been transformed since my last visit to the spa and currently they are excellent 10/10.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.5
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Club Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The efficiency of service was not up to standard, we weren’t able to get a bath plug even though other guests did get. There is no urgency in serving guests and solving problem. We expected to have our canapés and cocktails on the 19th floor with the view as was sold to us but instead we were told to go away as there was a private function up there. We were told we would be called when our room was ready and up until 7 that night we were not called. I brought my fiancé to spoil him for the weekend and there was just about nothing special about the weekend. Very disappointed actually

    The breakfast was amazing and the bed size and comfort was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    A good place too stay in Cape Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have more variety.

    When we arrieved at the front desk my wife were crying because of news about the death of our little cat at home. The frontdesk wore very kind and sent us some wine and cookies, also she gave a huge hug on her. That was very especial.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    I will be back (if just for the view)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The reception staff were not very friendly or helpful at first. The staff serving eggs etc. at breakfast behind the counter were not helpful at all - difficult to get a fried egg or omelets.

    Westin is perfectly situated close to the highway, the waterfront and central Cape Town. The views from the rooms are stunning - Cape Town Harbour, Table Mountain and the City Bowl.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    We really enjoyed our stay
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1 The Property is located near Cape Town International Convention Centre, where we attended an Event on Saturday evening, 2 There was variety of food in the morning for breakfast. We enjoyed the breakfast because there was something for vegetarians as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    5.8
    Repeat. No. Delete!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Club Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet had a strong urine smell and the cleanliness of the room left much to be desired even after I decided to pour body wash in it to get the smell away. Curtains -velcro doesn't work well. Shower - mouldy Coffee/Tea station was not cleaned or restocked on Saturday - I found the empty tea bag wrappers there when I came to my room in the evening My credit card was charged twice in error due to a connection fault. When I reported it, the waitress seemed to take offence and rang my room and insisted on addressing the issue directly with me even though it was clear to her when she delivered my food that I was about to turn in. I informed her that I've spoken to her manager and to my bank and that the issue could be dealt with on Monday, and still she was persistent in trying to explain an issue that I genuinely believed resulted from a technical glitch - not pleasant when you are tired! I was placed in a room that had inter-leading family rooms - 2 doors. I am not sure why that was necessary. Also, the stature in the passage outside my room has not been cleaned/dusted for a while.

    19th floor executive club canape hour was a great way to stave off hunger before dinner. Breakfast on the 19th floor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.6
    Best location when attending a Fair in the ICC
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the price of the room

    I had a very competent, friendly and helpful receptionist attending to a problem of printing a form for me, although the Business centre was already closed. So well done!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Amazing property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Club Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Executive members club lounge was amazing! Complimentary canapes and drinks at sunset. The breakfast included sushi and champagne, and the eggs Benedict was the best ever! The views were amazing, from our room and also the restaurant on the 19th floor and the swimming pool's view it was so beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.8
    Excellent help from all the staff esp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Club Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little bit dusty

    Excellent help from all the staff esp.Patricia at breakfast - my daughter had the flu and Patricia very kindly made her a lemon and ginger tea

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    9.0
    Westin good but has challenges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Club Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very sick and did not order breakfast to room the night before as planned to go to breakfasts . Was sick and asked for simple egg and juice to be brought to room and would not comply unless I paid for it.

    Access to 19 th floor . SPG member

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Great stay - friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was nice - but it was disappointing to see that there was not really fresh fruit at breakfast - we live in the Western Cape - we have fresh fruit like apples, pears etc. all around us, but there was mostly canned fruit at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    The peaceful nature and view from the dinner, pool and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The peaceful nature and view from the dinner, pool and jacuzzi area. Made you want to stay longer. Will be coming againext and staying in Executive suites.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    9.6
    A good choice of hotel with easy access to the Waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plenty of helpful and courteous staff. Hotel provided a free shuttle bus into the Waterfront. Excellent choices for breakfast. All the facilities you require. Room was excellent and bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    Extraordinary
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Club Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The facilities were in impeccable condition. It is clear that the Westin is a well run institution whom not only cares about its valued customers but also about its employees. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a great place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel with a poor commercial attitude.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As a resident paying a significant premium to stay next to the CTICC, I didn't expect to be charged to make use of the lounge and restaurant facilities. I understand doing this for non-residents but it is simply unacceptable for residents. This is opportunistic to say the least and left a terrible taste in my mouth.

    Well appointed room with a beautiful view. Excellent location for a conference at the CTICC.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    7.5
    Good, but lacking the little extra to be a high class hotell. Poor management & handling of problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Club Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our fridge broke down, hence no cold beverage. We complained about this 3 times before they finally installed an old fridge which was very noisy

    Excellent breakfast. The spa was great. Great location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    10
    Wowed at the Westin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very slow service in the Executive Lounge and food was inconsistent.

    Staff was amazing and service was always excellent. Everyone friendly and eager to help.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.8
    I needed two rooms on short notice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Westin was my 2nd choice. I like the Cullinan better, but everything was very smooth.

    I needed two rooms on short notice. I tried booking with the Westin direct and they offered no rooms, so I booked with Booking.com--everything went seamlessly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    10
    Fab Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had a brilliant stay here, rooms comfortable, service was great and the breakfast included was awesome. The complementary shuttle to the V&A Waterfront was super handy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    10
    Luxury in Capetown!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was kind of small and in a confined space.

    The spa was wonderful and the infinity pool and jacuzzi were luxurious. The complimentary breakfast at On19 was outstanding and the dinner was excellent, as well. The room was also everything that I could have wanted for my vacation. It was also easy to arrange tours.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    9.2
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good location. There was a shuttle every 30 mins to the waterfront which was a great advantage. The staff at the reception were helpful. & the breakfast was great with many options.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    7.5
    Westin-CAPE TOWN
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness.

    Receptionist Laness was totally awesome. Polite friendly.very jhelpful. Goes out of her way to assist in getting room type. Walk across street to convention center.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.8
    Breakfast on the 19th floor is divine.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff do not take ownership. When I booked, the lady at sales just wanted to transfer my call (after several minutes of taking down details) because she doesn't deal with visitors that also attend conferences. When she could give me absolutely no reason why it is of any benefit to me to be transferred and start the process again, she confirmed that there are no available rooms for my dates. Then we ended the call and I got an excellent rate and lots of availability via booking.com My friends and I had similar experiences at the restaurant (not on the 19th floor though - they were EXCELLENT). The lady that brought the menus can't take the order, etc. Very frustrating. Another thing to note is the clacking sound in the room. I'm not sure if it has anything to do with the amount of glass and potential movements due to temperature variations, but it sounded as if something was slamming into the glass on a regular basis (like every 20 - 30 minutes) through the night. The first time I thought a bird just died, and rushed to the window, but there was nothing. Not great for sleeping.

    Breakfast on the 19th floor is divine. The view from the gym is fantastic. Everything on the 19th floor is fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    8.3
    The fresh juices were wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge, wonderful, buffet but all I wanted was some oatmeal/ porridge with a banana and that seemed very complicated.

    The fresh juices were wonderful. And so was the Happy Hour with tapas and a glass on wine.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    9.2
    Still a great hotel, but the service falls short of the WOW factor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the standard was not the same as I'm accustomed to when I've travelled as a business client. I've chosen this venue to host at least 100 business clients in May earlier this year, but won't do so again if the service levels are inconsistent towards leisure travellers. A great 5-star experience is when the service is personalised or individualised even at the height of a busy season. I was somewhat underwhelmed.

    Good balance between business facilities and family friendly amenities. The shuttle service to the V&A Waterfront is very efficient.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.6
    Heavenly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a not so nice discussion with a couple of the staff that could have been handled better for such a hotel

    The facilities were great the bed heavenly. The food was tasty and so many healthy choices

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    Great downtown 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Club Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have an outdoor lounge area, especially one that had sun loungers

    Wonderful hotel in a great location. Room size nice and the bathrooms large and well laid out.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    6.7
    Are standards at Westin for local visitors different for international visitors?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Club Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    I am regular visitor for business and leisure. Just very disappointed on this occasion. Service was very poor. Did not attend to our requests. It seems staff are more interested in foreign visitors than local visitors. Breakfast is slow - took more than 15 minutes for our tea, ordered as we sat down, to be brought to the table. Fridge to store medication. In tool not working. Took over 24 hours for another fridge to be brought into the room and placed in the corner of the room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.2
    Comfy bed, great breakfast, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Club Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pick-up from the Airport did not work so well this time around. I had to wait 10 minutes for the driver after calling the reservation desk. I did not even get an apology. I then wanted to check in, but all that was available at 14:40 was a corner room which is significantly smaller than other rooms and has a much smaller bathroom as well. In the end, I got a normal room at 16:00. After that, the stay was very lovely.

    The breakfast in the Executive Lounge is just perfect: great view, great food, excellent service Bed is very comfortable, nice bathroom, good gym, good location (especially with the free shuttle to the Waterfront)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If one had to find criticism at all, I would say that there are not enough plugs in the room, especially not near a mirror.

    The breakfast was truly excellent. The shuttle service to the Waterfront is very handy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    One of Cape Town's best hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel shuttle service to the Waterfront needs to be beefed up at certain times when a lot of guests wish to avail of the service, especially early evening

    The cleanliness, the ambiance & the breakfast buffett.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    8.8
    Overall a fantastic experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I requested early check in and late check out prior to my stay and neither of my requests were fulfilled. This is understandable as the hotel may be too busy to accommodate such requests however, the outcomes of my requests were not communicated to me. When i contacted reception to find out about this, the lady who i spoke to was quite dismissive and unhelpful.

    The breakfast experience was fantastic and the facilities of the hotel were immaculate as expected. The member of staff who checked us in (his name was Mac) was extremely helpful on check in and throughout our 6 night stay at The Westin. He also addressed us by name throughout the whole stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.8
    Definately on top of there game again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff are not happy people at all at this hotel.asking for a bottle of water was met with rudeness

    From my last stay at this hotel it has definately picked up on guest complains and attended to them. Apart from a few grumpy staff everything was amazing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.3
    It is pleasant and enjoyable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is good.

    The amenities and the breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel. Great people. Amazing quality all around.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They put me on 2nd floor - Obscured view.

    Great hotel for a business traveler in Central Cape Town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Good location, clean and comfortable beds, clean bath,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, clean and comfortable beds, clean bath, cheerful and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Memorable return to a favourite spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Club Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Communication re payment by card/cash on arrival not clear.

    The beds and the view are amazing!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Couldn't fault it. Will definitely stay here again
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Top class hotel. Professional, friendly staff. Clean, comfortable, close to everything. highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Wish we could have stayed a few days more
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    can't fault anything

    Liked the swimming area wish I had more time for the spa my friends loved the smoking area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Breathtaking &Splendid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Club Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ambience...decor and service was immaculate....THE view was brilliant..location excellent...

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: