Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Asara Wine Estate & Hotel 5 stars

Polkadraai Road, 7599 Stellenbosch, South Africa

#7 of 37 hotels in Stellenbosch

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 790 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    2.9
    Bad experience, and they just didn't care
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    . We had some issue with the laundry, we thought it's different price and eventually they charge us for 250 dollar( the price for one night!!) !! We were shocked!!!! And no matter how much we tried to explain this miss understanding, the manger kept saying that we are wrong and charge us for an unbelievable price !!! We couldn't believe, as a couple that travel all over the world,,we never saw this kind of persistent behavior. We felt that they robbed a young couple ;( It's so sad that a five star hotel don't care at all from his guests.. and they only want to earn more and more money . We had very bad experience. Not recommend at all.

    The view

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Just everything.
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Anyone with complaints, send them to me I will tell them where to get off. Nothing to dislike

    Just everything. From staff to my lovely comfortable bed after our long beautiful wedding day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Definetely a very good option to stay at the region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We lost our winw tasting in the property, but was our fault. Maybe if they had a wine tasting longer for who is staying at the property would be nice.

    Value for the money. I received a complimentary upgrade and the property was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    It is my second visit in 2 months at Asara and it wont be the last.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that my stay was so short!

    The staff are very approachable and keen to assist at all times. There is always someone on hand to make sure you are comfortable and you have everything you need to enjoy your stay. The staff are very knowledgeable of their specific duties and are always keen to advise. Very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    4.6
    Saddened by the body lotion episode. Read above.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Firstly for a five star hotel and such a huge area it is sad that there is no gymn. In Stellenbosch there is not much to do as it is. Secondly, of all the 5 star hotels I have stayed in I have never been charged R200 for a body lotion. I have always thought it is guest property. Much to my surprise, I was sent an email after I had left that the housekeeper realized that I had taken a body lotion and money was deducted from credit card without discussion.

    The view was nice. Linen was clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely, comfortable, romantic stay.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water situation led to restrictions however out of the hotels control, a bath would be nice option at those prices. That being said, circumstances dictate which were totally understandable.

    We were upgraded to a higher level room, Staff service was excellent!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    4.2
    Beware the bad service if something goes wrong
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad experience with the spa treatment and how we were treated afterwards. It became so uncomfortable with the management and staff lack of sympathetic response that my wife became very upset and we had to leave the hotel without staying the night and enjoying any of the facilities we had paid for. An apology or offer of trying to make it better from the management would have been fine. It was my wife's birthday. We had travelled a long way for the weekend stay and I wanted her to have a nice time. The hotel's handling of it, left my wife distraught and in tears.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Purchased the accommodation as a gift to my niece on her 1st...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Purchased the accommodation as a gift to my niece on her 1st year anniversary. The staff and hotel went out of their way to make it special . They can’t stop raving about the amazing service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Stunning Views, Huge Rooms, Excellent Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The views from Asara were stunning, the rooms were huge, service was good, and breakfast was excellent. We had a good meal in the restaurant for dinner and wished we hadn't been too tired to sample the gin! The cocktail menu was endless! The price of Asara is a steal for Americans, and we would recommend this hotel to everyone.It was so quiet and peaceful. Breakfast on the veranda overlooked a lovely lake, vineyards, and the mountains.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    We received a warm welcome upon our arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We received a warm welcome upon our arrival. We enjoyed our stay. Next time we will definitely stay more than one night to enjoy all Asara has to offer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We only spent one night at Asara during our holidays in Capetown. The hotel has a fantastic landscape and offers a great and relaxed wine tasting. The room was big, clean and really nice, as were all the employees. The dinner was one of the best we had in Capetown! We hope to come back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Spectacular views, peaceful and elegant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    everything was wonderful - spectacular views, wonderful breakfasts, peace and quiet, luxurious rooms. We had our adult children and their partners with us and we had the most fantastic 4 days in these beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Views are magnificent, wine is exceptional, room delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Avalon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not as warm as I would like, but very professional. Additional charges applied on bathroom items we wanted to take with us, but wasn’t disclosed or marked (like other items in room) which made for an unnecessarily awkward time at checkout.

    Views are magnificent, wine is exceptional, room delightful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The interior of the hotelroom was really steriel. Even the bathroom. It was clean and complete, but without any ambience. The fridge was empty. They can fill it up for you, but then you have to pay it, even you don't use it. Not a good way of hospitality.

    Nice area. Nice people. Pretty swimming pool. Great massages! Nice view with breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    This was an absolute five-star treat from arrival to departure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The casual dining restaurant (Sansibar) is a bit overpriced and the menu quite limited.

    The staff were super amazing and they upgraded our room to a beautiful main suite (we were on honeymoon) and we were welcomed with a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine in our room. The breakfast at Raphael's is out of this world and the views amazing. Great attention to detail and our room was always kept clean when we were out. Dinner at the Mise en Place restaurant is definitely recommended and the service and food exceptional for the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    We love everything about this property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn’t recommend the sansibar at night. No atmosphere and and very average food.

    We love everything about this property! Its beautiful! The Vineyard is beautiful! The rooms are super comfortable and beautifully appointed and the staff could not be more helpful and attentive. Breakfast is delicious!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Totally wonderful, peaceful and better than our wildest expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!

    Beautiful setting, really helpful and friendly staff who went the extra mile to make our stay truly memorable . Very kindly upgraded room (50th wedding anniversary trip) and added many extras. Will definitely be returning ! Thanks to you all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    A beautiful spot with outstanding service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I expected the food at the Sansibar Restaurant to be of a much higher standard and it was very disappointing, although the staff were very good. Rooms need a bit of maintenance.

    Service, friendliness and location really make this hotel. Breakfast excellent. It was my husbands birthday and they really made him feel special.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Excellent from the start. Very thankful for the honeymoon upgrade. Room itself very comfortable with stunning views. Breakfast superb variety and quality. Both restaurants delicious food served. Only slight negative was no room/space (even communal) available with showers without paying extra (would be good to get showered prior to heading to the airport)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    beautiful location, very nice place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gourmet restaurant staff went in discussion on complaint about the meat.

    Azara is a very beautiful wine estate, great view over the winery, comfortable rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    The staff were great with friendly smiles and greetings,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When people in the next room came back late at night and had a shower, we were woken up with the noise of the pipes and shower.

    The staff were great with friendly smiles and greetings, they were always ready to help with anything. The grounds were beautiful with rolling green lawns, iceberg roses and small dams with ducks and so were the rooms beautiful, comfortable and clean. The restaurant food was delicious with great service, the breakfast buffet was also fantastic the spread was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Stunning views over de winery, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    when I had comment on the meat (was medium cooked, not rare as ordered) the gourmet restaurant manager (or so) went in discussion.

    Stunning views over de winery, great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little dissatisfied in the mis place restaurant which was a change from last time . Food was good but thought it lacked atmosphere. Also didn’t like the fact the sommelier didn’t give us a wine list but insisted on picking our wine .

    We had bern before and loved it. We enjoyed this stay just as much . Rooms beautiful and staff attentive

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold and not inviting when we arrived.Breakfast was like warm when served. Breakfast could have wider variety but view is stunning.Second day a special breakfast for my daughter's birthday made up.

    Brilliant setting. Great variety of experiences if you want to spend lots of time at hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Amazing!!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we arrived, we were welcomed by friendly staff. Our executive suites were very comfortable and had amazing views of the mountains and towards the Bay. We enjoyed a number of delightful gins mixed by Thierry. Can't wait to visit again and try the wine tasting as well!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful setting, clean rooms, friendly staff but disappointed with in room dining options
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can practically here everything in your Neighbour's room, talking, loo flushing etc. Was disappointed with room service menu since we'd eaten at bistro previous night room service menu very similar and duty manager at Bistro not prepared to assist and make toasted sandwiches for kids who went to bed hungry. Could only order that at 22:00. All other five star establishments we've stayed at before always willing to assist.

    Very clean rooms, tastefully decorated. Stunning views of vineyards and mountains. Decadent deli on property

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Sublime
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Staff were amazing unobtrusive and yet attentive. The location is absolutely beautiful and views from the suite stunning! The Avolon suite is sumptuous and luxurious. Do the Sansibar gin tasting, great quality and beautiful presentation. Mise en Place food was divine and the wine pairing spot on. Breakfast was delicious, the best eggs Benedict I have had in a long while. The grounds are beautifully maintained.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I can't think of anything....

    Breakfast is amazing, the staff is very attentive and the property is just gorgeous! The beds are super comfy, having the Sansibar on location is very convenient and it always has an amazing vibe. I would definitely come back here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    6.7
    5* property, 3* reservations process
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reservations management. I picked this venue as the bedrooms for my groom. Sadly had a few reservation issues and had to involve the general manager twice to resolve. Once reservation issues were resolved everything else was perfect. Check-in: little disorganised. My groom was charged for a single occupancy room when he was sharing as was the guest he was sharing with even though this guest told check-in he was supposed to be sharing. I had to spend an hr here re-confirming the rooms we had booked the day before my wedding. To all Brides, you know what this meant. We made a few changes and were communicating through and outside of booking.com so this probably caused the error, but you expect a 5* to be able to deal with this.

    Service: fantastic (apart from reservation issues) Bedroom: really nice! Pristine Food: delicious View: stunning I find all properties booked through booking.com give you their b-rate service and tired rooms (except Asara). Having used booking.com a lot because they do get the lowest rates, you get what you pay for-something always goes wrong! We did get a great rate for this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing but improvements needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service at Mis En Place restaurant despite being half full. Food quality not at a high enough standard. The bar closes very early so it’s not possible to have a drink after dinner.

    Selection of gins. Very clean rooms and facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Incredible place, will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zanzibar food was not great. And the manager not fair or understanding about a pizza we had to send back.

    The staff were incredibly lovely helpful and kind. The hotel is gorgeous. Everyone is superb. Really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Peaceful location with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    It is the most perfect location for a quick city escape! It is very peaceful and the staff really add to the experience, was amazing to be welcomed on the 2nd night for dinner by our names.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.3
    The views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not cleaning the room when cash is inside and not telling clients about it Restaurant not available in the evening fir the whole 4 days we were there

    The views

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic accommodation but sadly hotel has zero atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fine dining restaurant has zero atmosphere and excessively expensive. The Breakfast dining room was 100% more pleasant to be in and the breakfast was exceptional.

    The accommodation was excellent although the bed was a tad hard. Duvet on the bed is excessive for summer and was removed from the cover by me each day as far to warm in summer even with zircon to sleep under duvet - they might consider supply a light blanket instead.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asara is an amazing place and well worth a stay. It is set in beautiful surroundings, the staff are first class and the food is fantastic. We did the wine tasting and the sommeliers were very knowledgeable. Would definitely visit again! Best wine estate I have been too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic view over the vineyards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feature Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff very nice and supportive however the staff in check in ( reception ) not so personal and involved in us as guests. Breakfast good but lacking fresh juices in the morning. Our chairs on the balcony was broken.

    Fantastic view over the vineyards. Excellent restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    Amazing hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was 100 percent perfect until we went to sansibar for dinner, the staff forgot about us and left us waiting for 45 mins so we went to find a table ourselves and there were 3 available! The food was very much average to be honest. For a 5 star establishment we did expect more. There were also children running around the restaurant. We decided in the end to go back to our room and enjoy the rest of the evening there...this place is fantastic and the service most of the time was amazing but the sansibar restaurant staff/food may need some work

    The scenery, the wine, the pool, the staff, the amenities....this hotel had everything!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Beyond my expectations. I’ve been to Kruger 2 but loved hearing munching in the night & seeing Nyala
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I’ve only had time for one game drive which meant we only saw half of the Park

    The love shown from the moment we arrived. The excellent food selection & amazing breakfast. No complaints & I am really picky.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Signature Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel does not cater for children. No children menu or food available for children. Everything spicy and if you ask for anything simple they can’t assist. The hotel restaurant Mise and place is always booked and never accommodates hotel guests so forces hotel guests to have dinner outside the hotel... Heidi restaurant manager absolutely obnoxious and rude!

    Beautiful location and setting

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.6
    Great place to unwind, but feels like the establishment is managed under military rules...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little strick on the way of managing things. Exemple : late check-out ... almost impossible, If you did not book at the restaurant and ask, even for a table late, not possible because only 1 service, the other restaurant gives a last call for drinks at 10pm... and if you smoke ... be careful ... you're being watched and you are only allowed to smoke on 2 benches located near the reception area, like when you're at work. Managers a little too present in my opinion, it gives a feeling like the staff is constantly under surveillance. Could be more discreet.

    Location, wine, and general feeling of the place. The staff is very friendly !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location but overpriced & have stayed in better places in Stellenbosch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for what it was - unfortunately the Generator needed repairing in the middle of the night (we were advised on arrival this would be between 12-4am) which meant the AC stopped working and continually beeped. The staff in the gin bar were very rude and unable to split the bill between three rooms on their system. I spoke to the hotel manager next day who apologised and enabled us to have a later checkout

    Staff on arrival very welcoming and stunning setting

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    A very pleasant stay in this beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lunch menu is limited if you don't want pizza and the food mediocre, our side salad was a few leaves, some raw onion and a few slices of tomato - not good enough and not value for money.

    The staff were generally excellent (though service at lunch was very slow), everyone smiled and nothing was too much trouble. When one small thing did go wrong it was fixed immediately and without question. Breakfast is superb.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic, warm, lovely folk and employees, absolute stunning experienc with stunning mountain views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Carillon Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was perfect

    We booked a suite [Carrilon] and when even the security staff know your name, that shows incredible staff training and dedication, excellent management, and the staff are always happy, a sure sign of work fulfillment. I have stayed at a number of 5 star establishments world wide and this compares with any of them.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    Lovely quiet and relaxing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service at the pool wasn't great, not sure if it's trying to be a big hitter but we had to go looking whenever we needed anything. There's also no tables beside the chairs - again not sure if this is on purpose. We stayed over new years, and were required to attend a 'gala dinner', which was a little disappointing for the price. It was an enjoyable evening, but we felt it could have been a little better. We ran out of toilet paper in our room - and we refused a turn down service one evening as we were in the room, I would have expected there to be some extras somewhere around.

    The property is really lovely, and we really enjoyed our stay in the hotel. It's well maintained and the staff are all very nice, friendly, approachable. We took some walks around the vines, just to stretch our legs which was very nice. The pool was one of the nicest we experienced in our stay around Cape Town - slightly bigger than the rest of the ponds :)... Garden was immaculately maintained.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Wonderfull view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurante is a Little bit tasteless. This restaurante ask for memorable flavours.

    Wonderfull view Lovely balcony to send the Sunset tasting some wine. And... Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    A lovely way to finish our holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very expensive compared to other options in South Africa

    Breakfast is excellent. Our room was upgraded to a larger one which was lovely. It is peaceful and quiet for sleeping.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    5.4
    Functional but don't expect any luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a wedding in a marquee on the grass below our hotel room that went on to 1am. The music and bass kept us awake.

    Great view from the breakfast dining room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. I must say it was an excellent overnight stay for a moms recharge breakaway. We felt like royalty from the time we arrived. Will definately be back. The service and surrounds were amazing. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay in Stellenbosch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food promised more than it could deliver.

    Great ambiance! Wine tasting was great. Food in fine dining restaurant was disappointing, but wine was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Stunning hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The staff were amazing! The room was a very high standard - very comfortable bed, large spotless bathroom and huge balcony overlooking the vineyards. The breakfasts were amazing. Very secure - felt very safe! The hotel is a short drive to Stellenbosch town centre. You can walk around the vineyards at your own leisure, so relaxing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was set off from main building, through a courtyard and on 2nd level, which was fine except that bell service never came to pick up bags when requested so it was quite a haul to get to car. Manager nicely compensated us with a free wine tasting, so I credit them for trying. And I would still recommend this place and I would stay here again. Property was not near any town, so you do need car or uber to get around.

    Views were gorgeous! Nice room, and buffet breakfast was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not appreciate that when coming back from breakfast on our checkout date we were locked out of our room because it was after 11am and then being called every 5 minutes to vacate our room.

    Beautiful location with great outlook.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    Breathtaking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The views were breathtaking and breakfast was fantatsic. Great Gin and Wine tasting. Very convenient to take an uber around if you want to continue drinking and not driving.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was cool so I didn’t get the chance to enjoy my G&T in the terrace 😊

    The Gin Bar was wonderful. It inspired me to try different Gins, tonics and herb mixes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful setting, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The setting is stunning, vineyards with mountains in distance. Staff were excellent, particularly Thierry in the Gin Bar - knows his stuff ! Mia provided us with an excellent tour of grounds and cellar. Will definitely return

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    3.3
    The lovely pastoral views of the vineyards.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a group of 8 adults ( 4 couples) traveling together celebrating anniversaries and engagement . I was in charge of reserving the 4 rooms. 2 rooms were in a category higher than the other and a very uncomfortable situation arose when our friends were given a complementary upgrade on arrival to join the other 2 couples in a different area of the hotel leaving us alone in a different building. My husband and I explained that we felt very awkward that we had not been offered the same courtesy of a complementary upgrade and now felt isolated from our group. We enquired about availability of rooms in the same building as our friends and agreed to pay for the upgrade and moved rooms . It was late at night when we moved rooms and a few personal items were left behind in the 'old room' including my phone harder and purse with some cash and credit cards. This was realized a day later and I enquired at the front desk if I / they could check the safety deposit box and the beside table drawers for these items. I was advised by a very young lady that housekeeping dept have their room check procedures in cleaning rooms and if indeed I had left the items in the room they would have been discovered already and front desk would have been notified . Imagine my relief and displeasure to be contacted 5 days after checking out of Asara whilst in Cape Town, to be told my wallet and phone charge had been found and I could come and collect . I chartered a round trip Uber Taxi at the cost of US$120 to drive from Cape town to Asara to collect these items. Our group travels annually on trips together and I am the organizer . This was very clear as I had been in constant contact with reservations Dept of Asara prior to arrival and through them booking daily trips to visit wineries and providing details to complete the booking process.

    The lovely pastoral views of the vineyards.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor in the wine tasting room

    The friendly services and helpfull staff is welcoming in todays world. From the word go we were welcomed with friendly smiles and warm greetings. The buildings and gardens are excellent maintianed and pretty. The rooms and buildings are world class evertything you expect from and 4 and half star hotel. The Gin bar was a highlight offering a wide range gins from all over the world, the decor in the Gin bar to die for . The ladies at the wine tasting are friendly and welcoming, the wine good. The only negative was the wine tasting room although clean and neat it lacked atmosphere and a decor theme. One get the impression that the wine tasting room was added on as an afterthought. Overall it was a fantastic expereince and I will recomend Azara to friends.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Tranquil setting, location is great and staff operate at an international level.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just perfect

    Friendliness of staff from ground floor to management was at international standards. Attention to detail from staff at hotel and restuarant, excellent. Amazing views and tranquil setting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Good overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because we were in higher block of rooms ,very noisy off the main freeway ,take lower rooms ,presume less noise.

    Beautiful setting ,breakfast excellent ,our room in block up 2flights of stairs ,but there are many ground floor suites and rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in the vineyards with a chance of doing some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel in the vineyards with a chance of doing some wine tasting within the premises. Great views but undoubtably the best part was the Sansibar staff! Great location if you have a car.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Overall my stay at Asara was very enjoyable and I would definitely stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room bar prices were extremely exorbitant as the mark-up was more than 100%. The pastries were not always freshly baked, which was a real pity. The room cover for room services is a thumbs down.

    The cleanliness of the accommodation and the friendliness of the staff. The views were beautiful and the surroundings peaceful and noise-free. Definitely a five star hotel with the service delivery. It rained on one day and the security came out to the car as I pulled in to offer me an umbrella. Any used items in the self-service tea and coffee area in the room were replaced immediately - not something I've seen often, even at some 'five star' hotels.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Gutted that we didn't stay for longer, when we come again this will be our base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave!

    We have travelled all over the world, & we would have to say that this was the most luxurious room we've ever stayed in. Location was fantastic for a nice break, staff & service were amazing also.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    An absolute treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one restaurant to have dinner and not a great menu selection

    Bed was comfy but it was a real freezing night and when we got into our room they had put the underfloor heating on - was really so warm and comfortable! Breakfast was absolutely delicious and an incredible spread!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful Estate in magnificent setting, which compliments the excellent wines
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the price list of ZAR 450 on a simple linen laundry bag rather insulting. If you do not wish the guests to take them, simply state that do not insult them or indeed seek to extort them by charging ZAR 450, which I would note is 3 times the cost of a bottle of their very good wine?????????? Despite the hotel being almost empty (as this was the middle of winter) we were denied a late check out, which seems rather odd and mean spirited.

    The Accommodation was very spacious and well appointed The Resort is set in a spectacular landscape The development is very well conceived and well executed. The staff well very friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Lovely Winelands experiences
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NA

    Asara has a beautiful setting in the vineyards. The hotel is in close proximity to Stellenbosch and the surrounding wine farms but also has wine tasting and an on site deli and restaurant if you need it. WE loved the setting and the views from our room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Asara is more spectacular the second time around than ever before.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted to extend our stay one more day. Even though there was availability we had asked for a lower price which unfortunately could not be honored. But other than that it's beautiful and we will be back.

    This was the second time my mother and I stayed at the Asara Estate. We had a spectacular view of the vineyards with the mountains in the background. The breakfast was absolutely perfect with everything available. I would highly recommend Asara to anyone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Top hotel for our honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi speed was poor and few TV Channels.

    First of all the staff kindness was top. Great restaurants and cocktails. The Estate was marvelous. Great for a Honeymoon Trip, the best is that they offered us a room upgrade. The Best

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.6
    Great resort hotel in wine regional of Stellenbosch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only thing was property was a bit isolated so you need to take cars which the the hotel charges a lot for. But we discovered the area has lots of Uber drivers which solves that.

    Right in the middle of a vineyard in the heart of the Stellenbosch wine region. Great food, restaurants, and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.8
    Asara Delight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff forgot to clean coffe pot twice, and after a romantic turn down with rose petals, when we got to our room the next afternoon the petals was still lying on the floor

    We had a very big spacious room, very quiet, nice bathroom

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Fantastic surprise hotel, not in our schedule but perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cons None that I can think of

    We booked here after a disappointing stay at Le Bonheur guest house Cape town had us leaving early Pros Location Wine tasting Views are stunning Restaurant is incredible Michelin Star-esq Grounds Walks Room was huge, with a huge bathroom upstairs (double jacuzzi tub) and a shower big enough for 4 people Breakfast was lovely and with the views over the lake, special

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    5.4
    Pathetic staff. Stunning property. Don't go if you have kids and self respect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the reception and restaurant are extremely rude, mean and uncooperative. Place is not friendly for small children. After my departure from the hotel, I was over charged wrongfully. Without my consent the hotel made an additional charge on my credit card. The soap and shampoo that is provided in the room for daily complementary usage - were charged to my card because I used them IN FULL. The reception manager is saying that had I left the stuff partially left in the tubes / bottles, then they wouldn't have charged me. This is shocking as this is not even a policy. And this was charged to me after I had already checked out and even left Cape Town. Terrible. Terrible. Terrible staff.

    The property is very well made. Great views and cocktails.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Extraordinary Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the excellent service from the moment we arrived until we left, the wonderful scenery of the property, the huge, clean pool, the self-made ice cream and bread, their fabulous food in general and of course, their extraordinary wines. We came with our 3 kids and it is for sure a family friendly place. Will definitely stay there again...hopefully soon. :-)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    Great Overnight Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Really loved the setting. Spent the night when we visited our favourite restaurant Rust en Vrede. Breakfast was great on the deck, with fantastic views over the Valley.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful stay that ended up being ruined by checkout staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff was not friendly at all. We called in some items to be ironed, but they took long to arrive to collect the clothing items and much longer for the two golf shirts to be ironed! Took more than half an hour!! To add insult to injury, I was booked for treatments on the last day of our stay. Whilst the reception staff knew that I was busy with treatments, they were literally driving us out of the room and out of the hotel. The girl working at the reception called the room several times and demanded that we vacate lest we be charged with 50% of the amount due for the room. She further called the therapist, whilst she was busy with my treatments to ask her how far she was with finishing up with me. I thought this was EXCEPTIONALLY RUDE! This ruined the entire experience from the weekend stay.

    The location of the property is just breathtaking. Having a meal overlooking the vineyards was just gorgeous! We took an early morning walk in the vineyards and it was just so serene.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    Asara, one of the greatest hotels I ever stayed at!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We simply loved everything!!

    Asara is a fantastic hotel!! Very few times I have seem such a complete offer: beautiful property, superb room & bathroom, very nice & educated staff, excellent food, a never seem before Gin Bar (270+ types of gin), great wine, stunning view!! Asara, you have it all!!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Asara Wine Estate & Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: