Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Auberge Burgundy Guesthouse This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

16 Harbour Road, 7200 Hermanus, South Africa

#48 of 69 B&Bs and inns in Hermanus

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 480 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    9.4
    it was an experience to stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Suite with Sea View - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    absolutely nothing to complain about -- it was such a pleasure to stay there .

    the décor in the pent apartment and surroundings superb and of course the view .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    10
    As soon as we arrived we were met by Adam the concierge - so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As soon as we arrived we were met by Adam the concierge - so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Esme shortly came out to greet us with a smile and lovely welcome. Fantastic location - right in front of the restaurants there. All staff were friendly and said hello - they all seemed so happy and were so helpful if we had questions. We took my mother-in-law who they took extra care to look after. We have stayed here twice now and will defiantly go back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    10
    I enjoyed my stay. Esme, Christine very obliging, and the man who attends to the parking too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room - Poolside
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I couldnt get my phone to accept wifi in the room. My laptop was connected. Maybe my phone was the fault. hand basin taps take a good few turns to open the water flow.

    The central location in Hermanus lends to walking around town which is very pleasant. especially when alone. i could walk to the several good restaurants at night. Most times its an advantage staying centrally. This visit The Walker Bay Extreme sport event was held at the front on the promenade. The loudspeaker commentary early morning was not at all desirable. The event itself was amazing to watch. Guess one has to look out for that. I like the comforts of the room, the split en suite bathroom and walk-in dressing-room. showers are really marvelous. Nice coffee\tea making in room. Fridge well-stocked, and fresh milk. Beds are super comfy, good mattress and soft plump bedding. Lighting is good. I felt relaxed and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    7.5
    Great location; quirky guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was very short, which was not comfortable for my husband. Charge for still water seemed excessive. Hermanus noisy due to extreme sports event, but not the fault of the hotel.

    Great location in the centre of Hermanus. Quirky property. Lovely fire in the evening. Good breakfast at the restaurant opposite. Fabulous curry at The Fisherman's Cottage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    5.8
    Never booking again... we took a chance booking a different place .. harbour hotel is what we will d
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No access to internet. Whilst one knew there was no air con... there was no fan.. bedding had dirty marks on it and bathroom was not cleaned

    Close to everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    6.3
    Location good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Poolside
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The accommodation was very tired with several items broken. When mentioned to staff on leaving we were told that it was the end of the season and the issues raised would be dealt within the next few months.

    Location good. Size of accommodation good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    9.2
    Another pleasant stay in the centre of Hermanus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park is a little bit of a tight squeeze to get in, but one of the hotel staff was on hand to guide us in and help with the luggage, so we are not complaining too much about that.

    Right in the centre of town so very, very handy. The staff, as ever, were keen to help and at the right place at the right time. The complimentary sherry and port are a nice touch. Although the building is old, it is well maintained, and so it has a nice character to it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only complaint would be the beds: 2 single beds (even though they were pushed together) not great for a couple. Also the beds were not extra length, not comfortable if you're tall like me

    Excellent location right in the heart of town, close to a number of restaurants and bars. We were upgraded to a suite (Thanks!), was very spacious. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast is at the restaurant across the road which has a great selection and an outdoor terrace overlooking the beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    6.9
    Apart from the few issue, the location and staff was very good so we had a good stay nonetheless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the quality of the facilities not in accordance with a 4 star. Although we had an economy room, little things like the supply of shampoo/ conditioner/ coffee/tea etc. a little sub standard. We also found the lighting in the bathroom poor - a single very dim ceiling light. One towel also smelled very bad.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    9.2
    Really nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Poolside
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool could have been better but it is a space issue. Room is very nice and large and French style but could be a bit more upscale.

    Very good choice at the heart of Hermanus. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant but room for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room needs air conditioning or a ceiling fan at least. I won't be able to stay here in the summer without that. Parking lot is a challenge to get in and out of.

    Great room size. Very clean. Love the European feel of the place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    10
    Excellent position in Hermanus, can't wait to go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Ground Floor with Garden Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Needs a railing leading on the short staircase leading from reception to ground floor units for older people.

    Room, with excellent facilities, and our ground floor overlooked the lovely garden. An excellent breakfast was served in a local restaurant a couple of minutes walk away & the staff were most helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    3.0
    I WILL NOT BE BACK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE CHECK IN PROCESS WAS RUSHED - I FELT LIKE THE RECEPTIONIST JUST WANTED THE WHOLE THING TO BE DONE AND OVER. SHE DID NOT EVEN BOTHER TO WAIT FOR MY HUSBAND AND ALREADY WANTED TO SHOW ME THE ROOM.

    THE BED WAS EXTREMELY UNCOMFORTABLE AND HAD A HUGE DENT ON THE ONE SIDE, MY HUSBAND WOKE UP GRUMPY AND DID NOT SLEEP WELL AT ALL

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    8.3
    Look forward to our next visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Penthouse Suite with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    disappointed no wifi which was advertised as included! Also insufficient parking for the number of rooms on site ...which makes it very difficult given its location

    Location was excellent and staff extremely helpful - disappointed no wifi which was advertised as included and insufficient parking for the number of rooms on site ...which makes it very difficult given its location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    10
    Superb accommodation in a wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Penthouse Suite with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We stayed in Auberge in 2006 and it was excellent then and last week. Helpful friendly staff, well appointed comfortable rooms and reception area, we found the pool relaxing and the food excellent. A wonderful location,the view of the bay and mountains from the penthouse was stunning. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    7.5
    Probably wouldn’t book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Poolside
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Going across road for breakfast not ideal and not full selection on menu. Not enough parking in hotel grounds. Staff not very knowledgeable Internet was not working during our stay

    Good location for beach & restaurants. Nice pool area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    10
    Beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Suite with Sea View - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a suite with two rooms, very comfortable, nice design and great view. Auberge is located in the center of Hermanus with free parking on the premises. Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was served in the restaurant Burgundy right accross the street, we could chose from the à la carte menu. Food good but service a bit slow.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent stay in the heart of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was extremely tight

    Great location in the heart of the action yet relative peacefulness due to rooms facing onto internal courtyard made it an excellent choice for our two night stopover in Hermanus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    10
    Wonderful! Beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Poolside
    • Stayed 1 night

    Brilliant place! Incredible location, beautiful rooms and a real attention to detail. We had a fabulous time here and could not recommend it highly enough.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2018

    8.8
    Delicious breakfast included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slightly noisy and bed a little uncomfortable.

    Delicious breakfast included. Right in the hub of shops and restaurants. Beautiful accommodation and very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    7.5
    pleasant, but not WOW
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Ground Floor with Garden Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms are large but poorly furnished and finishes are dated bathroom needs a remodeling privacy of the row of garden rooms are really poor unless you are in the last room in the row, as everybody occupying these rooms walk past the french doors and ventilation windows.

    beautiful garden aspect to room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    10
    Fantastic guest house. Breakfast at The Burgandy fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Suite with Sea View - 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were some noisy guests round the pool which spoilt the tranquility a little bit. So went shopping instead!!

    Loved the location. Breakfast at one of the best restaurants in town, even better.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    10
    Amazing. Had an excellent experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Suite with Sea View - 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, everything was perfect.

    Was a very nice place, with an excellent location and view. The swimming pool is also a very nice addition. Breakfast at Burgundy is amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2018

    10
    Excellent property and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Poolside
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owners were really helpful with lots of advice about the area and even made the reservation for our restaurant that evening. The room was large and very comfortable with great views of the see as well as our own private stoop. A great location for visiting the lighthouse on the most Southern point of Africa.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2018

    10
    A will-be-back experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Poolside
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect!

    We liked EVERYTHING! The staff, the location, the room, loved the sparkling swimming pool, the yummy breakfast included at Burgundy Restaurant across the street. We'll be back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    10
    beautiful, charming and cosy auberge right in the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room - Ground Floor with Garden Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing !

    beautiful, charming and cosy auberge right in the centre of Herman's, few meters away from the cliffs. The garden, room and staff are all lovely. Breakfast so yummy at the Burgundy restaurant. Could not go anywhere else in Hermanus

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    10
    Fantastic - would definitely stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Poolside
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing we didn't like

    Similar to other comments we have seen everything was excellent and we also had a room by the poolside. The staff were attentive and excellent and the hotel is well located and close to all amenities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing and romantic.Very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View - First Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was full. The view towards the back of the property in the alley,needs clearing and decluttering.

    Great breakfast!Lovely and cool garden escapes.Short walk to all the shops,restaurants and the tidal pool.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    10
    The closest place to paradise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nothing to say.

    The place is so nicely decorated and classy that my wife wantet to stay there forever. Staff was very nice and the location is unbelievable. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    10
    Auberge Burgundy is a delightful, home-from-home guesthouse, ideally located close to the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A warm welcome made us feel immediately at home. And then - a surprise gift - although we had booked a room for three, the manager offered us an additional room at no extra cost. So kind! We loved the light airy rooms, the attention to detail and the vibrant artwork.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    10
    Excellent location and beautiful hotel. Will only stay here when in Hermanus again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Poolside
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool rooms should have a better curtain to keep privacy in the rooms from people sitting around the pool

    Breakfast and the peaceful swimming pool. The location was fantastic.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2017

    10
    What a stunning place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - the place was perfect!

    Beautiful guesthouse, lovely light and airy room, loved the colonial decor. Staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    10
    exactly as we wanted / expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Poolside
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Funny noise in next door toilet but they fixed that as soon as we told them about it

    all was perfect - been there many times before so knew what to expect

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    7.5
    Lovely stay and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No restaurant in the hotel, it was across the road. Room was outside of main building but across a courtyard. Not a problem though as concierge carried bags.

    Room was very comfortable, spacious, good shower and large bed. Also balcony.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    10
    Clean, great location, friendly and helpful staff - book it - don’t look anywhere else!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As soon as we arrived Adam the porter cane to assist us - he was friendly and helped us without being told what to do. Lovely chap. Esme on reception also was friendly and so helpful. We will defiantly go back - such friendly local staff with big smiles in their faces! Loved this little guest house.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    10
    A touch of Provence in Hermanus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Ground Floor with Garden Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    the place is a trip to Provence in itself. Lovely lovely guest house very well kept and very romantic. The room was very spacious and quiet. Staff helped us in everything from booking the whale watching for us to tips for resto etc. An absolute pearl in Hermanus, and with a character as well!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    7.1
    Will definitely stay there again,,, hope the lady receptionist is not on duty next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Ground Floor with Garden Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at the B&B on Saturday at 11am & our intention was to change our clothing for a theme birthday party that started at 12:00h. Understanding we flew in from Durban, the lady receptionist on duty was not accommodating & in fact rude... we asked for a room where we could change & she refused,,, offered the reception toilet as a place for me & the wife to change in. She was not co operative in any way...so we decided to change clothes at the Golf Club where they were totally understanding & accommodating. Next day the staff at reception were great.

    accommodation was good, breakfast was excellent, position very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast at the associated restaurant was definately great,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Ground Floor with Garden Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast at the associated restaurant was definately great, as was the view. We saw whales in the bay while having lunch there. They also booked us a whale watching boat ride for us. Everyone there was very welcoming & happy to assist.The setting is stunning, a real home from home but with a definate french villa feel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    8.8
    - We had a nice room at the pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Poolside
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    - We had a nice room at the pool area - Comfortable beda - Very good breakfast included across the street at Burgundy restaurant with delicious cappuchino's!! - Location perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    10
    Great location and what a win if you want to be part of the Whale Festival or center of the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the location, was there with Whale Festival , they did warn us about the noise , but we enjoyed been so close to the Festival. Once shutters were closed, you hardly heard the noise, we were room 15 , next to the lovely pool. Great breakfast next door at Burgundy. Staff were so helpful with suitcases , parking . Would recommend

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    9.6
    Overall we had a nice stay thankyou.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Ground Floor with Garden Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast served at the restaurant was served cold. Either the eggs and bacon were baked in advance and then assembled on the plate or they leave it standing somewhere before they serve it. Same with the tea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no proper heating for the room available which made it a bit cold.

    Nice hotel at a very central location. Good for whale watching and going out for dinner in the evening. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was served at a restaurant nearby and it was good. Meal could be chosen from the menu and one hot drink and one juice were included.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    8.3
    Only Real Plus is location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Poolside
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place starting to look tired, but it’s one of those hotels, due its prime location, and whale festival watching season, will always have guests irrespective of its condition. I like my room dark (personal choice) so as not to be woken up by the sun to be able to lie in, but even with its wooden shutters, it’s not dark enough to prevent the early light streaming in. They have this stupid ridiculous inflexible policy that no-one can check in before 2pm, even if the room is ready. They actually proud of that inconvenience. I know all hotels have a check in time policy. However, it's as if they feel you will score a few extra free hours if you check in earlier. Terrible TV channel selection.

    Comfy bed, nice shower pressure. Cannot fault location. Close to whale watching outlook strip and restaurants. Rooms nice and large.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, friendly & efficient service , very comfortable room with great sea views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not easy to read at night as the bedside lamps were a bit dim as were the reading lamps in the 'lounge section' of the bedroom. The counter unit supporting the basin in the bathroom needs coat of paint. No air-conditioner which could be an issue on hot summer nights.

    Excellent breakfast variety. From a lite 'Health Breakfast', to superbly cooked Eggs Benedict to the choice of having the Eggs served on ciabatta or on a large black mushroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2017

    8.3
    One of these good accommodations in Hermanus centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking may be a bit tough if you are arriving a bit late, but there are some other parking areas not far from the hotel.

    Probably the best location in Hermanus, everything is just steps away.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    10
    High recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Poolside
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    A friend recommended this Guesthouse, and we weren't disappointed. Location was great. The staff were friendly, and helpful. We had the poolside room we requested, and considering the size of the property the poolside area was more than adequate. The room, and pool too, were spotless. Would have no hesitation in recommending it ourselves.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2017

    6.3
    Good location, but mediocre otherwise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room needs a refurbish. Bathroom facilities very outdated. The shower door does not close properly. I'm now thinking of future guests and not myself: the TV screen is very small and I would say 90% of guests would like to lie on their bed to watch TV in stead of sitting on a couch close to the TV. As an events organiser, I travel extensively and really gives my honest opinion and positive comments, but this was definitely the worst breakfast choices we had. Breakfast is included in the accommodation rate. For the rate we pay at Auberge Burgundy, I would have expected more of a variety - at least a mini buffet. The breakfast was served at Burgundy Restaurant opposite the guesthouse and one is allowed to make one choice from the restaurant's breakfast menu. You do get a glass of fruit juice as well. The first 2 days the service was very poor and we were left on our own and had to call a waiter for assistance. Secondly, I don't know what the agreement is between the guesthouse and the restaurant, but looking at the prices of the breakfast items, not much is spend on breakfast. The 3rd morning I requested 2 slices of bread and cheese as the choices were not in my range.

    The bedding was comfortable. I like the idea of fresh milk supplied daily for coffee and tea. The flexible hours of serving breakfast is good - from 08h00-12h00 am.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    7.5
    A bit disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom needs updating as does whole property. Room was freezing and only one tiny heater to heat really huge room. NO way is this a 4 star place, more like 3 star

    Nice big room and lovely staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2017

    9.2
    We'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Patrons leaving at 5 am on a Sunday morning, and crunching over the stones.

    Relaxed atmosphere with attentive staff. The lounge with newspaper and port for relaxing after a delicious breakfast at Burgundy and being right in the centre of town,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2017

    9.2
    Beach community at its best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Poolside
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was super nice but it got the noise from the street. Swimming pool is not heated.

    The location is beautiful. Short walk to the harbour beach and lots of restaurants. The staff were lovely.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely old french-style building close to the Old Harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Attractive room in this lovely old french-style building. Tea/coffee making facilities provided as well as a fridge. Excellent breakfast served in adjacent restaurant. Very central location very close to old harbour.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Ground Floor with Garden Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air conditioning , no fan, no DSTV, breakfast voucher for nearby restaurant only one cup of coffee , rooms dated need upgrading , rusted plug cover in room, lighting dismal could not read in room nor from bedside lights. On arrival room musty and needed to be air out . Not 4 star establishment expected .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2017

    3.8
    Tired, in need of TLC. Go elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Penthouse Suite with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from shutters, and nightclub close by equalled disturbed sleep. Unfriendly welcome by management and reception staff. Exceptionally poor value for money. Poor swimming area, not enough space/chairs in relation to hotel rooms. Tired, and in ned of TLC.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2017

    9.6
    Great location, friendly staff and lovely garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room - Ground Floor with Garden Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only one choice of restaurant for breakfast, as would have liked choice of a buffet breakfast.

    Very well located in the centre of Hermanus. Great well equipped room and little garden, and very friendly staff and management. Good parking.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2017

    7.5
    Nice place but....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi was so slow it was unusable. 2 single beds pushed together made for an uncomfortable night's sleep.

    Location was great. Property is quaint and rustic.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2017

    9.6
    Great find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Ground Floor with Garden Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing we didn't like.

    This guesthouse was just perfect! Very welcoming, beautiful French styled property, secure parking. Very spacious bedroom and bathroom, maybe not overly luxurious, but extremely comfortable and a good powerful shower. Great location in Hermanus, walking distance to everything. Very good breakfast just literally across the road. We had a standard garden room, which was perfect, quiet and cool. Would definitely recommend ... and we're very fussy!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2017

    9.2
    Great location with a provincial setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Ground Floor with Garden Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    DSTV which was listed on the room facilities wasn't working. Everything else was great.

    Location. Location. Location. Lovely setting.... felt like we were in some provincial French town. Very secure.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2017

    10
    Ocean views from penthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Penthouse Suite with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Included breakfast was very good but slow service at restaurant across the street.

    Ocean views from penthouse. Very spacious. Helpful front desk. Clean! Bright decor.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2017

    9.2
    Very clean and neat room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some noise from road and passersby early in the morning but not serious.

    Very clean and neat room. Very good location. Nice view. Stayed in the "Middle" room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2016

    5.8
    Dissapointing 4star establishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room - Poolside
    • Stayed 4 nights

    TV not tuned in when i got there. minimal channels.Maintenanance done on shutters while i occupied room.Water drained very slowly from basins. Parking impossible. Breakfast across the Road in a public restuarant.

    location David , The handyman who fixed the shutters helped me by directing me in difficult parking every day. he also helped me with luggage.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2016

    7.5
    Looking out of the bedroom windows and seeing and smelling...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Looking out of the bedroom windows and seeing and smelling all the filthy dustbins of the restaurant across the road and then listening to the noise as it was cleaned up!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2016

    6.3
    Great location clean resort, front desk staff rude and useless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The way they handled the fact that I was not able to eat breakfast at the hotel due to the reason I was riding in a training camp and needed to get up in the morning early. They offered to make breakfast packs and on the second day told us they couldn't. They refunded us the money for breakfast, I went to buy breakfast and then they made the packs and they asked me to pay again. I think we should have been refunded all breakfasts as the packs were not even great. When I asked for the packs so I could give them to the guard as I had paid for them, they wouldn't alllow me to do this. I find this disgusting.

    The location was awesome

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2016

    7.5
    Always happy to stay at Auberge Burgundy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Ground Floor with Garden Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived hungry and had to rush to get ready for a wedding. It would be great to be able to order a toasted sandwich or something from over the road as part of the offering.

    Having been to Auberge Burgundy several times, we know what to expect. It's always comfortable, clean and the staff are friendly and inviting. Breakfast at the restaurant over the way is always lovely, and we enjoyed the pool on such a beautiful day.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2016

    9.6
    The upstairs, outdoor swimming pool was a first for me--...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room - Ground Floor with Garden Access
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The upstairs, outdoor swimming pool was a first for me-- really enjoyable. Breakfasts- in fact all meals taken at the Burgundy restaurant across the street- were doubly enjoyable. The quality of the food was excellent and the views of Hermanus Harbour were outstanding. The receptionists went out of their way to make every guest feel comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2016

    10
    A place that has helped create happy memories
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Auberge is situated right in the middle of town , the buildings are really pretty, the facility's good and the staff really friendly and available to give advise about surrounding areas and things to do. Little touches like fresh milk for tea in your rooms, all add to the experience. It is good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2016

    9.6
    Auberge with an amazing location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was to our satisfaction.

    Excellent location. Superb views of Walker Bay. Helpful and friendly staff. Clean and comfortable suites. Outstanding breakfasts at Burgundy. Merveilleux!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2016

    8.8
    Very good guesthouse near Walker Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Ground Floor with Garden Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We've stayed here before so we knew what to expect. Great location close to Walker Bay, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable and clean room, excellent breakfasts in the Burgundy restaurant next door, and plenty of very good restaurants in easy walking distance. Off street parking too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2016

    10
    Tranquil, friendly staff, clean & very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Ground Floor with Garden Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing...

    Your manager, not sure of her name, is absolutely amazing! She arranged our transport & was such a breath of fresh air. The outdoor area at my room is beautiful. Very tranquil

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2016

    7.5
    perfect location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast

    Breakfast is horrible compared to other breakfasts in SA. In this very populair village is the auberge a very good start-off point. Staff friendly! Location is perfect, restaurant across the street with similar name. Don't do it

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2016

    10
    Fantastic location, beautiful room and gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with Garden View - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing I didn't like

    I cannot fault this beautiful guest house! The location is fantastic, the room was big and bright, and the bed was really comfy. There was fresh milk in the fridge for tea and coffee. Loved it!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2016

    10
    A lovely place to stay in Hermanus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant doing breakfasts for you is catering to mass market, not the best. The rest of the Auberge being so good, it's a pity.

    Accommodation was extremely spacy and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2016

    8.8
    Room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Penthouse Suite with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Upgrade plugs in rooms to cater for recharging of cameras and smart phones. Although the restaurant has a good selection for breakfast, the orange juice is a great let down - flavored water of sorts!

    Perfect location, beautiful view across bay from balcony.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2016

    5.0
    Great location, but wouldn't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked four rooms and had two cars. There was no parking in hotel grounds and we parked outside in the street. One room faced the main road. Loud music from a party and drag racing in the streets meant that occupant had no sleep. We were expecting a "boutique hotel" breakfast experience, but breakfasts are sub contracted to a restaurant across the road. There were about sixty patrons and definately a four star breakfast experience.

    Centrally located. Rooms a nice size and clean, but not four star.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2016

    9.6
    Certainly must be one of best places to stay in Hermanus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Suite with Sea View - 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We had corner, top floor nearest the bay, so we watched whales in the bay...wonderful. Great location, everything is right there and walkable. Breakfast voucher for breakfast was fabulous, and continue to watch for whales, at adjacent restaurant. btw Fisherman's Cottage great dinner, we ate at small table near the bar, better than dining room, imo.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2016

    8.8
    Auberge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Ground Floor with Garden Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Double bed was two single beds pushed together so was quite uncomfortable. The doors are very low down so you have to bend over to open them.

    The location and the overall ambience were that of a small French town. I loved the plants and the overall decor of the place. Very well kept. Also, you get a free breakfast at the restaurant next door which was absolutely delicious. Great value for money, and nice spacious rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: