Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Avalon Guest House 4 stars

16 Sherwood Crescent, 4126 Amanzimtoti, South Africa

#7 of 10 B&Bs and Inns in Amanzimtoti

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 43 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Paid WiFi

    5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    a happy visitor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nigel was is a very good host. Bonginkosi and I felt welcomed and I was so happy he even organised me fresh fruit salad after learning that I cant eat eggs or milk. thank you for that Nigel see you next time. wishing you all the best for you and your daughter.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Great!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Had no time to walk about the neighbourhood due to conference venue being in Durban central but neighbourhood looks great. Owner very friendly and warm. The atmosphere is very homely. Will recommend the venue to anyone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.8
    They could not provide breakfast packs as we were going to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They could not provide breakfast packs as we were going to leave very early, which was sad because the money paid included breakfast. With other B & B's or hotels they prepare breakfast packs especially for such a big event like comrades marathon, they know runners leave early and that we were not the only runners accommodated there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.2
    It was a fantastic two days stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1.It would be better to have free Wi-Fi as most Guest Houses. 2. More TV channels such as sports, News (channels 403, 401 or 402).

    We enjoyed the quietness, staff friendliness, Cleanliness, and the well looked after property.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.2
    Very comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Margarine for breakfast. No butter. Very small bathrooms but ok for our needs. Change the room perfume. Coconut is not to everyone's taste.

    Very comfortable room. Very friendly proprietor.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Quiet, safe and excellent views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Quiet, safe and excellent views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from town my expectations

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nigel is a exceptional host .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Safe and clean
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe and clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    It was great place to be at, Nigel was so kind, rooms clean, staff excellent
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was kinda dirty

    Breakfast was delicious, served with love, the hospitality was priceless

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.7
    service was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Batteries for the remote and the room smelt damp

    service was great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    The Host was very friendly and the food excellent and it was...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Host was very friendly and the food excellent and it was in a good location for where we needed to be

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.5
    The shower head was too small and made showering a bit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower head was too small and made showering a bit uncomfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.5
    Place very clean and breakfast very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room .

    Place very clean and breakfast very good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The comfort, availability of everything

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    8.3
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast~greater variety

    Room and bed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    10
    It was the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    People were nice and friendly. The sea not full as in Durban.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a great stay away in a comfortable environment. The Guest House is centrally located and within easy reach of facilities.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    10
    loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing loved everything

    It is very clean, comfortable and peaceful. Nigel is very friendly and hospitable. We loved it. Thank you Avalon Guest House!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.6
    AWESOME
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no comment

    Peaceful, Quiet. Clean rooms, comfy. Nigel was an awesome host.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    8.3
    My expectations were met
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Relaxed and quite are

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    It was quiet and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    It was quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    7.9
    Nigel was welcoming and always helpful, breakfasts were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No mini bar fridge for small items such as cool drinks and milk, snacks provided were well past their expiry date.

    Nigel was welcoming and always helpful, breakfasts were fantastic! Great views from the residence.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    7.9
    On comfort to the room - home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On comfort to the room - home away from home. Accommodated out late night arrival. Not truly a solo traveller travelled with my sister - both of us Mature!!

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    10
    Avalon I give them a 10/10 I have never felt so welcom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I like all what I seen and experianst

    Avalon I give them a 10/10 I have never felt so welcom and home at any other place they treated us like family my daughter was learnd a lot from shereen she taught her mozuik they took her every were they took their daughter we had car trouble shereen and nigel they took use were we neede to go they staff fantastic friendly helpfull so I whould give a tumbs up for anyone to stay their our holiday for 2017 is book for next year as well

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    10
    Wow, what a fantastic time, my son and i had there, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing to complain about, everything was just perfect.

    Wow, what a fantastic time, my son and i had there, the owners are out of this world, to make sure everything is clean and tidy,and went an extra mile to ensure our comfort. The breakfast is out of this world, i would recommend Avalon to all. Thank you Avalon you guys are just the best, treated us like family, nothing was too much trouble for them, always friendly and helpful, the rooms are super clean. 5 star treatment from the owners, they shall see us again for sure.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    3.3
    There was absolutely nothing about the place that we liked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The experience was completely bad, and we were upset about it as we felt that we had been hoodwinked in respect of the four star rating. The entrance is a health hazard, with steep stairs and a sign that says that if you die, they are not responsible. The decor was shocking, the room was a cage ( in fact, the entire area has tried to maximize space in a way that leaves a visitor feeling extremely cramped). There was no fridge, the shower area is a little cubicle, I could go on and on. Added to that is the fact that you are given a little form where have to decide by the afternoon before what you will eat for breakfast and what time you will eat ( the owner says that he needs to take stuff out of the fridge the night before). Finally, to add insult to injury, when we checked out early and were haggling about how much to pay, the owner had the nerve to, in the midst of his anger, turn around and say 'you people always want to have it your way'... Meaning us black people of course!! Lucky for him, I was not in a fighting mood that day, so I decided to let that racist statement be water off a duck's back. We are now in another b&b which is also a four star and is superb. I repeat the fact that I have absolutely no idea as to how and why avalon guest house received four star grading!!!!!!!

    There was absolutely nothing about the place that we liked. We had checked in for two nights but ended up leaving after one day, even though we had paid the full price. We honestly have no idea as to how and why the place has been given a four star rating😥😥😩

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    9.0
    The reception of us there was very warm and made us feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Toilet/wash basin area cramped. Only one person can use it at a time. The big sliding door doesn't give privacy without having the blinds closed.

    The reception of us there was very warm and made us feel very at home and not as visitors. Excellent breakfast services. A/C facilities in the room is a big plus.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    7.5
    The owners Nigel and Shireen are absolutely fantastic,...
    • Couple

    We dident like that we had to leave, as we were having a great time.

    The owners Nigel and Shireen are absolutely fantastic, extremelly welcoming, and everything they do for you, is done with a smile, a lovely genuine couple. The breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    7.5
    clean and well presented facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    steep driveway. got used to it though

    clean and well presented facilities. friendly welcome. good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    9.6
    Friendly
    • Couple

    Friendly

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    Wonderful place with a nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Wonderful place with a nice view. The garden is amazing. Breakfasts are delicious. Owners are very welcoming and nice.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.6
    Great decor and friendly.
    • Couple

    Great decor and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    10
    Everything, even the cat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything, even the cat

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    7.9
    Friendly, helpful staff, good breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly, helpful staff, good breakfasts. Overall a very comfortable stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    10
    met nice people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    met nice people

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: