Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Avenues Guesthouse 3 stars

23, 21st Avenue, 6500 Mossel Bay, South Africa

#11 of 43 B&Bs and Inns in Mossel Bay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 102 B&B reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2018

    10
    Splendid guesthouse in quiet area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly welcome by Meike en Martin in this beautifully situated guesthouse in a quiet area. After a beautiful walk along the coast you reach the restaurants in the city center. A free shuttle is available for the return. The rooms have small terraces suitable for a lovely sunbath. Very extensive breakfast in a beautiful breakfast room. The property has a closed parking.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.5
    Bedding issue let this venue down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding very poor - double bed more like a large single and these days all accommodations offer modern larger sized beds and to be given two single duvets to use as well is unacceptable! Was told I should have booked the queen size but it actually says double bed in all rooms? If there is one thing a B&B needs to get right is the bedding and linen so needs to be addressed!

    Excellent welcome Very attentive host

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Perfect in every single way possible*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We cant fault anything!!!

    The service was exceptional. From the moment my wife and I entered the property, we felt welcomed. Almost like our home away from home haha. The buffet breakfast was the kind fit for royalty. Really enjoyed trying a "new type of tea". Meike and her husband hospitality is second to none. The extra info the provided us regarding things to do, restaurants info. Etc. Was so helpful. It made our stay so much easier. My wife and I have already planned our next holiday🤗We would most definitely recommend The Avenue Guesthouse to our friends, family and colleagues. Looking foward to taking a dive in your beautiful pool in the summer!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Host was very friendly, room was comfortable and breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    Host was very friendly, room was comfortable and breakfast was great. There is secure parking which is ideal if self driving. The guest house is not too close to town so driving is ideal otherwise there is a free shuttle bus from select restaurants in town. On recommendation from Mika, we walked the coastal walk, the path accessible close to the guest house, into town and got the shuttle bus from the restaurant after dinner. Was a bonus to see a tiny turtle in the garden at the guest house!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    All round very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shortage of cupboard space in main bedroom, but this was avaiable in attached second family bedroom.

    Really helpful hosts. Beautiful breakfast. Nice pool area for relaxation. Free transport to and from selected restaurants was an unexpected bonus for our evening out!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    A good and comfortable, friendly address.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had a great stay. Our room was comfortabele and very clean with a Nice spacious shower. The hosts were very friendly and served a good breakfast. A good swimmingpool with extra towels to go with it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    nice quiet stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had a great stay here, owners made u feel at home, nice pool area and off street parking, outside of mossel bay so nice and quiet, easy to get cabs into town, we done a shark cage dive local and it was amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Perfect stay in all respects.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!

    Excellent and friendly hosts who made us very welcome in the lavender room. Noting the lack of a wardrobe they made one available immediately. A beautiful house with a sparkling clean swimming pool. Mieke and Martin run an exemplentary guest house, highly recommended with tasty breakfast and coffee. Menus available for all the local restaurants. Excellent command of English as well as German language. The most professional run place out of the ten we stayed in during our six weeks visit to Cape Town & the garden route.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    I would score Avenues 11 out of 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Itching to dislike at all

    All aspects for an overnight stay were there . A most welcoming host who had thought of just about everything including shuttle service to and from local restaurants A really exceptional experience

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it is impertinent to request paying guests to tip the room service maid. Are they not paying these people enough?

    The owners were very helpful , facilities were good as was the breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable but lacked chairs to sit on. The shower in the bathroom was a little difficult to use for my wife but otherwise fine.we

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    Restful and welcoming seaside stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our hosts were welcoming, friendly and ready to assist if we needed anything. Our room was clean and had everything we needed. Loved the quiet location of the guesthouse and its easy access to a coastal hike. The breakfast was also very yummy!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.2
    Will surely stay again, nice area and no noise at all. Excellent hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps a wardrobe in our bedroom to hang clothes for a long stay. The other room we had did have one.

    The owners are very friendly and helpful, clean facility with an excellent breakfast. Will stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Perfect stay, in Mossel Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hosts are the best! Everything is soooo good organized. All the rooms you enter are spotless. Just an perfect stay! We had to miss breakfast because of a shark cage diving trip, so the hosts made us a lunch box instead of breakfast which was awesome. Swimming pool is nice for a short swim. The self made brochure tells you everything you need to know in mossel Bay (whether you stay one day or a week), and more!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    A lovely place to stay with very good, helpful hosts.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved the different decor in all the rooms and the house. Very friendly and helpful hosts. A great booklet on what to do in the area. Super easy directions to find the place. A truly amazing choice of teas to go with good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2018

    10
    Comfy room, great breakfast, friendly hosts
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy room, great breakfast, friendly hosts

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    neat and tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    neat and tidy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Lovely hospitable owners
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to have had foreign tv news lovely hosp

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    The hosts were very kind and the breakfast was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hosts were very kind and the breakfast was really nice. Great selection of teas :D Danke schön!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very friendly hosts. Good Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice room and breakfast Great location in the center of the town (5min by car to the sea)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Nice appartment with terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice appartment with terrace

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice room; comfortable German style bed; excellent hosts.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic Stay in Mossel Bay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent accommodation, clean, dedicated parking, fantastic breakfast. Hosts were excellent too with town info and touring info.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.5
    Blackouts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blackouts

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    The hosts were marvelous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts were marvelous! Highly recommend!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owners are so kind and friendly. They help you with everything! Very good stay, would definitely come back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.2
    Lovely comfotable house with very hospitable hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Meike is lovely - very friendly and helpful. Comfortable beds and lovely big showers. Lovely pool and terrace. Easy walk to harbour

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Luxurious property for a guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location, house and rooms were stunning,breakfast on veranda. Difficult to beat.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Highly recomended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hospitality, lovely room, good locarion

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    Had a blast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best scrambled eggs I've ever had! On top of that the hosts were amiable and the service terrific. Thank you.

    Stayed in July 2017

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30