Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Balmoral Hotel 4 stars

125 Marine Parade, Beach Road, 4001 Durban, South Africa

#37 of 54 hotels in Durban

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1188 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful, cozy and comfy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The security could have been a bit friendly. The minute I entered the hotel at night he just asked me the room number, didn't even greet me. I understand he was probably doing his job??? but he made me feel like i did something wrong

    The room was very clean and comfy and had everything I needed i.e. the iron and iron board, air con, kettle, hair dryer etc. The reception staff were also very friendly and accommodating of my needs

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    What a weekend i had 😂😘😋😉🙏
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The safety & the communication from the hotel staff... I've enjoyed my self & i will recommend the hotel to my family & friends

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed the stay especially the nice king size bed!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wooden floors under the carpets should be removed. It makes the floors uneven...

    We loved the helpful and friendly staff. We were welcomed with an lovely ice cold apple juice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    Just average but it was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our booking ddnt include breakfast which was not stated when i booked. The smell of the carpet was awful. The Tv was not working.

    The location and security

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    4.6
    Not coming back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not properly clean, linen looks dull and old.....and there were no towels in the room. Everytime he to request towels and they were sent late....

    It's closer to beach and all the city attraction.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    I loved the staff.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    I loved the staff. Very helpful and courteous. All my problems were resolved in no time. They also know their roles in the tourism sector on how to treat guests.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.7
    well the stay was great and i would go back for another holiday there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i didn't like the set up of the way we were to use the kettle and fridge. i think it's best if you could have a double plug for the use of that facility.

    the bed was comfy enough for me.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.1
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from outside in my room. It was cold at night...wind piercing through the Windows Hated being cold...the worst that can happen to me

    The conviniece of the location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.0
    It was comfortable for the price. Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathrooms where not up to my standards. When u have 2 people sharing a room you might need to put extras like airfreshner, swabs and bathroom cleaner to clean the tub so that u can bath comfortably one after the other and you can use the toilet comfortably knowing u can spray airfreshner after using it.

    Free wifi and when I asked to be changed to a room with a twin bed it was done promptly at no extra cost. The staff was pleasant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Lovely place with honest staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels are old, they need to invest in new ones

    The staff was very friendly. One attendant by name of Sibonelo proved that honest still exists, I forgot my purse in a car with over R1000, he knocked at my door to hand in my purse with everything intact. I recommend balmoral

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Durban beachfront is no longer tourist friendly. Reserved off-street parking means go find your own. Breakfast over priced. Hotel policy requires that everything is paid for immediately, and cannot be charged to your room. Makes you feel like a criminal.

    Decent dinner Chef.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    i would definitely recommend balmoral to people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    having to pay for breakfast..wish u could include it in the booking cause its quiet pricey and most hotels offer breakfast to guests

    the sea view..excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.4
    Great location, poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived, no one helped us with our bags, they just stared at us. During the 4 nights we stayed there the staff never greeted us when we crossed paths. Also, we ordered room service (a slice of cake and apple juice) and it took about an hour to get our food ( after following up twice).

    The location was great because it was close to the beach. The breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    2.5
    Worst 4 star motel south of the equator
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy towels in the bathroom, and blood stains on the bed, it was obviously not cleaned after the previous guests left. Curtains were filthy and the rail broken so the curtain could not close. Housekeeping came to change the torn linen on one bed, after I requested same, and thereafter I saw the blood stains on my bed, they had 3 different duvet covers of which oy one was propperly cleaned, and that was used. I requested a quite room and was located right next to noisy children, the reception was requested 3 times to assist with the noisy guests to no avail. The night manager refunded the second night that i pre booked, I reauested a refund for the night we endured as I was the only guest that could take a shower and dried myself with a hand towel as it was the only one not stained or filthy.

    Nothing. I requested a refund.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    My experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    People parking cars and making noise in front of the hotel around midnight

    The bed was comfy the room was clean and smelling fresh and the sheets were crisp clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.3
    Proximity to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thick carpets in the rooms. Not sure how often they do a deep clean. Had to take antihistamines to make it through the night.

    Proximity to the beach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.7
    Durban Beachfront
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constant Noise from the merry makers at the fun fair on the Beachfront could not be blocked out We had scaffolding and painters in front of our window blocking our view of the ocean

    Proximity to our Surf contest at New Pier. Parking Good size room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    We had a pleasant stay, it is one of the most peaceful hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to pay for my breakfast and my partner got it for free. I blame it on booking.com and me. Only 1 guest was expected I dnt know what happened😏

    Location, facilities, sanitation, food (halal)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    My stay was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you're in shower the water flows out and the shower doesn't have door, so I don't know maybe it was only my room 128

    The bed was clean and their pillows were comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Awesome location. Good clean rooms .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Group of girls??.A pleasant and comfortable hanging out on the side walk through the early hours of the morning ..making a lot of noise ..was disturbing.

    The breakfast chef was very pleasant and made our scrambled eggs with onion and chilli exactly as we requested. Had lamb sausages for people who don't eat pork or beef.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Always willing to assist and the stuff is professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking offsite posed a risk of damage. I sustained a scratch as my car was taken offsite and no idea who scratched.

    Always willing to assist and the stuff is professional.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    It was not superb but ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV had no signal for two nights, I was not impressed. The bed had two mattresses put together with a sheet and the guy who checked me in was not friendly or welcoming.

    The location and the friendly receptionist who checked me out

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Super fun
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the stuff were not very welcoming or helpful during breakfast.

    Breakfast was on point and the room was very comfy and clean. Reception attended to my need ASAP. Overall perfect venue for my husband's birthdaycation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    However, i'm not sure if outside food is allowed or not into the rooms because even though there was a notice that it wasnt allowed, people brought their own food.

    Everything was 100% ....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyable stay, hotel is not without its foibles but left with an overall favourable impression
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Evening buffet very limited - not worth ordering Breakfast buffet sufficient but limited This is an old property and has old property issues (creaky floorboards, temperamental plumbing) Some will see as part of the charm, some as annoying inconveniences. If you think you are in the latter category then best to book elsewhere

    A quiet drink or snack on the terrace watching the world go by was a very pleasant experience Helpful restaurant staff Location was convenient for me

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.4
    Bad experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a desk in the room but no study lamp to use to work on my computer. I was made to pay for a dinner when I checked out when I had already paid for the dinner the night before. The waiter had insisted that I had to pay for the dinner as nothing from the restaurant was to be charged to the room. on checking out I was forced to pay for it again. I asked for coffee and the waiter tried to serve me instant coffee . I refused it and he gave a nasty attitude.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    stay for your money, breakfast from heaven
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing with time they just need to change the furniture as it is good but old

    excellent location and clean rooms and their breakfast is from heaven big up to the chef

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    Durban is amazing however hotel needs an upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had two single beds even though I requested a double bed, the room service was poor and the food offered by the restaurant not up to standard. No extra blanket and there was a lot of noise throughout the night. Parking is horrible, runs out almost daily

    Staff friendliness and location is amazing. I loved the breakfast options.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and hope to return!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were friendly and professional; Great breakfast; Perfect location next to the beach; Easy access to public transport and a walking distance to town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no complementary water bottles in the room. Poor wifi network in rooms.

    For a 4 star hotel I expected the hotel to provide complementary water bottle especially during the period of water cuts. The wifi-network is very poor in the rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    wonderfull experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    none

    Both rooms, reception and breakfast area were spacious and clean. Let’s not forget about the breakfast and dinner, it was great. All staff members were friendly and helpful throughout the stay not forgetting their smiles. They definitely turned our anniversary an unforgettable memory. That is the best experience I had. We look forward to visit again and not forget to refer others so they can experience a wonderful life.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    awesome and we will visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There can be more parking available but the patron at the gate (unfortunately i dont remember his name) was excellent Very friendly and efficient

    I love the easy access to the hotel I did not have any trouble with finding the hotel The parking was convienient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    not sure if I would stay again and was very uncomfortable because mostly of the no food sign.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The lift is too small and slow to respond to calling 2. The bathroom has no ventilation and only two towels and no towel to stand on after bath of shower. 3. Rooms are too small for the price and the bed remains 2 single beds put together 4. The worst part is forcing people to buy from the hotel not considering that other people are on a budget. this makes travellers very uncomfortable and reconsider using the facility. 5. The hotel is also not family friendly

    Its clean and the linen is very clean and its quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    My stay was good overall...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The remote provided wasn't the default remote for the flat screen Tv and worse it had ran out of batteries, i did report this but got no help. Had to use my laptop for movies.

    Breakfast was amazing....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    Not my first choice next time.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A very old interior and facilities. The room had no proper shower. Only bathtub with a shower. My mother could not enter and use it. The TV did not have the expected, normal, channels. Just a couple of local.

    The staff was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door keeper at Main Door, they treat/ look at you like an insect that’s coming to bother them

    Reception- the guy that offers drinks at check in stage

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.3
    No longer a good bet for Indaba.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is not safe , especially the day that Indaba ended - there were ugly scenes outside the hotel and the staff did nothing to notify the police. The breakfast was not great Wi-fi non functional , I could not do any work despite reporting the situation to the front desk.

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    A super hotel with a good breakfast and friendly staff right opposite the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Parking facilities were extremely limited

    I was pleasantly surprised to find that the food was all halaal and being Muslim this was a big plus for me. It should be mentioned on the hotel profile as it is a very important aspect for most people.Also the bathroom was very well equipped with shampoos and shower gels. Staff were super helpful and friendly too and the breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.7
    Staff were poilite and sympathetic but toothless to assist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mangement on duty were toothless to fix some complaints and seemed uncaring even disdainful - Room was not ready on arrival - no towels or water jug in room - Room was not yet made up well after 13H00 on next day - There was no meaningful internet connection for 4 days & no IT technician was available to alter this. Internet speed download was 0.24Mbps and upload 0.08Mbps - essentially unuseable for work purposes never mind leisure purposes. - Parking was advertised but was not available at the hotel. It had been arranged off site - The Shower was the in the bath type. A button needed to be pressed on the mixer to activate shower. When taps were turned off the water still flowed in a meaningful stream; malfunction the whole 4 day stay - Sadly the morning after a beef curry meal for evening dinner I developed "Gippo-guts" A very real shame - I put it down to very poor uncaring un-involved management ( just my opinion)

    Staff were poilite and sympathetic but toothless to assist with our complaints and issues.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money in a prime location. I couldn't be happier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A certain gentleman by the name of Mongezi went above and beyond his duty to assist friends of ours who were travelling with us. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    good stay, for the short time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there were baby cockroaches in the bathroom. very very bad. didn't like that at all. I didn't see big ones so that helped. the breakfast did not have a variety. but what I did eat was good chicken nuggets were cold and hard

    It was a good , stay.. staff were very helpful beds were clean and comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    WELL DONE BALMORAL*****
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think for kind of service I received the parking must be attended to. My total discomfort although it was in control was having to park away from the Hotel. This matters for the kind of service received. I had to go all the way down to fetch stuff that I have forgot. Please receive it as constructive

    I was treated exceptionally well especially by staff Noma and Hlengiwe. The security's Sanele Danie and Siyanda were at service. Well done guys.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Well done Balmoral
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The valet service was excellent. I did not expect a valet service. The portet also took my bags to my room whilst I was checking in. The check in service wad very smooth. We were even offered beverages when we checked in. All in all The Balmoral is an excellent hotel. I would definately stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.8
    Average stay
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the lock on the door didnt work,waited 15 mins for a fix outside the door with my bags.sink was chipped,bathroom tap loose n faulty. Breakfast was average the chef didnt understand what i am satig to him. There was no parking. The tv channels didnt work backwards to change channels

    The room was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Had a gr8t tym there😍😍😍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I lost my selfie stick n i reported to them but did not pay any attention at all

    It a very nice place to be at. But they do not pay attention when u report that u have lost something that u left in room. But as for the place it very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel a few steps from the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's not much parking at the hotel I ended up parking in the street

    Great hotel just a walk from the beach. It is located centrally and within reach of all amenities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Had a bad experience last time we were there, but this time was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No smoking rooms any more. Would have had breakfast if the Hotel had proper bacon.

    Ronny the waiter is wonderful and the main reason for our stay, he is justperfect! Please take good care of him! We have known him for 15 years and keep on coming because of him.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    4.2
    Awsome location felt very safe and secure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bath/shower not ideal for older couples

    The Breakfast was great and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I think the baths can be replaced with just a shower as it is quite uncomfortable to step over a high batch to shower. Overall the rooms was very comfy and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    The food (breakfast & dinner) was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV set had few channels available.

    The food (breakfast & dinner) was delicious. The cleaning staff, chef, waiters and waitresses were very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    4.2
    Very Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly room and towels,cockroaches in room,aircon noisy.no parking on premises as per web, definitely not 4 star.won't be staying there again!!!very disappointing.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    What a wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor in our room was not level it felt as if one would fall through 1st floor. Why I didn't understand was a charge for a tray when we requested dinner for room service. Minor things like extra cup and no spoon were not provided in the room on our last night. One last thing may you monitor room cleaning times. As it was a bit awkward after breakfast when they were still cleaning the room and we had left it not in a proper state.

    The staff was wonderful and helpful from check in, security to breakfast.The place was always kept clean. The place is Halal which is great, so my daughter was catered for especially breakfast since she's allergic to pork. May I suggest that drinking glasses are provided in the rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    2.9
    worst hotel we ever booked
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The elevator didn't work. Had to walk up 3 flights of stairs. Towels were not clean and smelly. very old and outdated rooms for the price. No parking

    Nothing,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    The staff were extremely friendly and the shuttle service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were 3 people and booked a family room but there were only towels for 2 of us. The same applies to the beverages - there were only 2 cups and 2 coffee servings. The room we occupied for the first two nights of our stay was stunning but when we returned for another night's stay after our cruise, we were booked in a very drab room that really requires a face lift!

    The staff were extremely friendly and the shuttle service convenient. The rooms are spacious and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    Great breakfast, quick check in/out process, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall quite outdated. Expected to have 1 double bed and instead got a room with two singles merged together.

    Great breakfast, quick check in/out process, location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    3.3
    Horrible experience
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift doesn't work and we were not informed by the staff. I asked for a baby cot which I waited hours for and they finally brought it to the room they put it under the air conditioning. I asked for our rooms to be changed because I couldn't have the cot under the air conditioning and I waited hours and nothing was done I had to remind them. I would never stay at this hotel again.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television channels please upgrade DStv package.

    Every thing food and cleanniness;staff was excellent except television no channel enthusing,it was like ordinary SABC not DStv.i end up not watching;lastly security around your place it's questionable as it's not safe thugs loitering around look to that as it will affect your business.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    It was okay, because I didn't spend much time at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning on time and replacement of things like shower gels and bath towels. Also the TV screen looked horible and there were channels that we couldn't even see

    Great location right next to the beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that they don't allow visitors after 10pm is a problem. I was charged R250 each for my two visitors which I paid and I don't think that was fair. I strongly recommend that they should seek the authorisation from their guests and not charge them especially if visitors are not sleeping over

    The atmosphere was good and the staff was very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    I would recommend my friends to book with you definitely and when i come again I will book there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't even remember what I didn't like. I suppose when expectations are met one would not attend to the "don't like"

    The service from the staff is fabulous as I beleive in having friendly people who would make me feel comfortable when I'm away from home. The bed is comfortable and the food was delicious. Thank You.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.9
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every time you needed to call the reception, housekeeping or any other service I either had to call more than once or walk to the reception. Every single time... it was just so annoying. The hotel is on the beach front and the public hanging out in front of the establishment should be controlled. Parking in front of the hotel should be reserved to hotel clients and not the public.

    The property is located on the beachfront which makes it easy to move around. The hotel offers value for money. Will definitely received it to others

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.4
    Expected more the the price and a boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Bath/shower is outdated. The aircon was not effective which was required in Durban. Furniture is really old and in some instances disintegrating.

    They provided parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    I did enjoy my stay in your facility except that parking problem which was serious inconvenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking space of our vehicle as guest was totally unfair and unacceptable we have to leave our keys at reception. My vehicle was driven updown that was not correct it shows poor planning to arrange parking for guest. We were not told in time that you have limited parking. It's unfair that my car it was parking outside directly to the sun and rain and be driven without my permission allocate others parking space.

    The hospitality was okay. Staff is friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    My stay at The Balmoral
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom air con had a certain smell as if it was tobacco smell. The food taste great even though the chef on Sunday wasn't friendly..

    The staff was very helpful in terms of assistance. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The security was ok even though the car was at another location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is a problem as there are few parking lots and cars would parked somewhere else.

    Croissants were delicious. The bed was comfortable as well. I have enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.9
    My stay was okay, but it could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered coffee with hot milk for breakfast, but both of it was warm and worse part the lady that was helping us seemed to be not interested in what she was doing so I didn't want to bother her any further. Please improve the breakfast service.

    Breakfast was okay.Service at reception was great, keep it up.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.7
    The other staff members - House Keeping and Receptionst were a lot helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    However the room was very cluttered for a double/ twin beds and I was given a non-sea facing room, when I tried to change it the checking in staff was very rude and not friendly to any suggestions.

    Bedding and all was OK, room was clean at all times. The staff at reception and Housekeeping were very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    3.8
    We would never stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is poor. There were no towels in the room - we had to wait for them to be delivered, in the end gave up waiting and went out anyway. WiFi was basically non-existent, you couldn't keep a connection for more than a few seconds - useless. The room is dusty and hasn't been cleaned properly. Room maintenance is poor. Furniture is old and looks it. Area is bad for family visitors with prostitutes on the pavement outside the hotel.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.3
    This well located hotel is like a remnant from the Victorian...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately the breakfasts are quite expensive at R150 pp and not really and option for any person with a normal appetite.

    This well located hotel is like a remnant from the Victorian era. An old Victorian Lady with beautiful furniture, comfy beds and friendly staff. The location and security is perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    It WS fantastic I wil come back agai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much wish u could put more channels on TV...n plz mount it ..its nt safe I will fall some day

    Breakfast mhmmmmmmm....the place extremely clean..the kitchen staff very on top of their game

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    The service was very good and the staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They must just put 2 shower caps especially when they know it's two people who will be in a room.

    The service was very good and the staff was very helpful. The rooms were also nice and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    4.2
    My stay there was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the club nextdoor. The manager at the front desk being rude to staff while customers are checking in. The carpet in the rooms it smells of moisture. The house keeping staff walking around without shoes.

    The fact that is at the beachfront

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.3
    The stay was generally reasonable for what was required on this trip.
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Out dated small bathroom, needs renovation. Lots of ants when food is left open. Lots of noise in corridor at night by other guests. Lifts are too small. Parking is limited. No breakfast offered as part of package when booked.

    Bed was comfortable, views were great. Hospitality good. Excellent location for what was required. Room size very good. Enjoyed the air-condition.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    Our stay at the Balmoral was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The streets behind the hotell, just 2 blocks away were in a horrific state. The city of Durban would be well advised to clear up the criminal elements in that area, maybe even send the police to patroll the area at least once!!!!! It would be a shame if this area eventually spreads up to the hotel!

    Our stay at the Balmoral was very nice. Closeness to the beach and the atmosphere of the old colonial style hotel (I think it´s Durbans oldest hotel?) was very nice. The restaurant was very good and the staff were lovely. We often landed up sitting on the beautiful patio and just admired the surrounding atmosphere. We all upgraded our rooms and it was well worth it! The Balmoral and Durbans beach have not lost its charm!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.5
    Overall a good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room (Non Sea Facing)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are ants all over even in the bed. In Sunday evening I asked for sugar to make coffee in the morning as I was leaving extremely early on Monday morning and the lady at reception had only sweetener and said she will send someone to the room with it, and never did. I wound up having to order at the restaurant and it was the most terrible cup of coffee I have ever had. Perhaps bigger cups will make it less strong.

    The bed was comfortable. The cleaning staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.9
    It is a nice hotel on a beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The address was wrong on booking.com, therefore we couldn't find it. Breakfast was to expensive.

    The place, the atmosphere, sitting outside, daymenu.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: