Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Barry Hall Apartments 4 stars

6 Irwinton Road, Fresnaye, 8005 Cape Town, South Africa

#88 of 387 Holiday rentals in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 53 apartment reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Barry Hall Apartments are situated close to all amenities. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We received a welcome greeting on our very late arrival and Rita, our host was always available for useful and helpful information of the area. We would definitely recommend Barry Hall Apartments to our friends travelling to Cape Town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    This was my second stay and I was sad to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Major construction underway adjacent to the property. It is noisy during normal construction hours but otherwise quiet. Barry Hall is so perfect that the noise wouldn't deter me from staying there.

    Perfect location. Spacious accommodation. Comfortable and homey.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.3
    We were upgraded to a very nice apartment with a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was a mixup regarding the length of our stay. I originally booked 6 nights and then added a day all via booking.com. Rita (the property owner) thought that we were staying 6 nights (although I wrote our departure date in her guest book when we checked in) which led to an uncomfortable situation on our last day. Rita says that Booking.com didn't update her of the change. However, she tried to be accommodating and we received a room for the last night although we lost a pan in the move.

    We were upgraded to a very nice apartment with a lovely garden for nearly our entire stay. The location was excellent - close to the seashore, restaurants, supermarket, stop #10 of the hop-on-hop-off tour bus, and many synagogues.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Wonderfully decorated apartment in the heart of Sea Point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wonderfully decorated apartment in the heart of Sea Point. Close to all amenities and with locked off street parking, perfect as a base to see the cape.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Very nice accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Completely out of the owners hands, but the building work being done next door impacted sleep on weekday mornings. They started at 7am which seemed a bit early and when the pneumatic drilling kicks off you'll do well to sleep through it. It's also not manned 24 hours so you need to be responsible for making sure the property is secured when entering and leaving. Sea Point itself has a couple of decent restaurants and is in a good location as it's between VA Waterfront and Camps Bay, but that aside there's not loads to do there.

    Big spacious rooms, nicely decorated. The kitchen contained pretty much everything you could need catering wise. Beds were fine and the living room was very comfortable. Small balcony to have a coffee in the morning. Decent bus service to travel to different areas. Some very good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.3
    I
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Wifi only worked in living room area Construction noise and dust restricted use of balcony and windows - From 7 am to 5 pm

    It is a very large, spacious apartment in a good location close to shops, bars , restaurants and mycity bus route in Seapoint. Mojo market is nearby and is good for eating and entertainment There are fabulous views of Lion's Head Mountain from kitchen and bedroom windows

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    We really enjoyed our time at Barry Hall and will go back. The owner is on top of the details.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction next door and the lack of ac in bedrooms. We had a fan in our bedroom but not in the other for our friend. Less hanging space more shelving in bedroom would be appreciated.

    The balcony, spaciousness, ac in living room , overall comfort and cleanliness. We also enjoyed spending time in the small courtyard at the side.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.7
    Great location but the Garden Cottage was below expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our negative points are only related to the Garden cottage that should be renovated in the near future, especially the bathroom (mould in the shower) and the ceiling (in the bedroom there seems to be termites under the wooden ceiling as you could find small crumbs on our bed and bedside table)

    Very flexible check-in and check-out, safe parking, very nice location in Sea Point with nice restaurants, perfect location to discover Cape Town

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    The accommodation was very comfortable and the person who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We could hear the guests talking and moving around in the room above.

    The accommodation was very comfortable and the person who welcomed us on our arrival was exceptionally helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    Great for family - ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights

    A messy, one-off situation where workers had to come to the flat for water works. An unnecessary disruption. Poor heating - not needed most of the time but when the weather's poor you are cold. Windows / blinds don't close properly.

    Good venue overall. Very practical if you have young kids. Nicely furnished.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't realize the cottage was so small. Have been to barryhall before and loved the space that the apartments offered.

    Great location. My kind of host - leaves you to your own devices😉

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Great location for Cape Town visiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The plot next to the property is being developed so there is construction noise and traffic starting early morning on weekdays

    Large airy apartment with direct access to the garden at the same level. Easy to get around Cape Town from this location via buses. Worked well as a base for visiting Cape Town for the first time

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.6
    Super
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It felt impersonal, no encounter with people in the place.

    Easy access and private room outside without any disturbance from other tenants and also safety. Wifi

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.2
    Centrally located, yet very quiet and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The tenants beneath us were noisy and their smoke penetrated into our apartment. Also, I was bitten by a bed bug on the 2nd last night.

    Beds were very comfortable. Apartment was nice and spacious and in a very quiet street. Very centrally located in Seapoint.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    9.2
    Loved our stay at Barry Hall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The water pressure in the shower was very poor which was such a pity as it's a lovely shower. There is a ceiling fan in the bedroom and an additional fan was made available to us for the living room which made a big difference. However, air conditioning in the flat would have made it even more comfortable.

    The bed was probably more comfortable than ours at home! Despite it being a 1 bedroom flat it was remarkably comfortable and well laid out. We'd gladly return for a longer stay next time.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My car had to park outside the yard.

    The kitchen had all that I needed. The interior is spacious and neat. The wi fi was a bonus. I like the privacy, peace and quiet.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful apartment in a great location
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A lovely converted apartment which still has old style incorporated into it. Seapoint is a great area for walks along the promenade and lots of cafes and restaurants close by.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    10
    Comfortable home from home near beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amenities a bit lacking (had to buy soap, tissues etc). Towel had seen better days :)

    Peaceful location near beach though minimal noise insulation between floors. Very well appointed nice furniture etc. Helpful owner got us organized for site seeing, much appreciated!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    6.3
    Prima prijs/kwaliteit, goede locatie, verder wel wat kritische noten
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noises. Doors, other guests etc and not because they were so loud. It is just the building. Friendliness of female owner upon arrival could be improved (we stood in front of a closed door with a little boy, called her. Instead of apologies she made it clear she send me an email that afternoon saying she needs 30 minutes notice. We were travelling and not have access to wifi all the time. Make sure your message is received (simpel call me). Not having an extra cot was solvable. Towards the end of our stay, we did appreciate the flexibility of letting us check out late.

    What a large apartment! We were like is this all for us?

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.5
    Location is fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaner pushing us out early because the next guest wanted an early check in!

    Location is fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    The beds were very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very comfortable. And the garden was very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Awesome stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge apartment, clean and super nice hosts.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Great apartment
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personality and style of the apartment was inviting and warm. Spacious. Great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    It was so relaxing and convenient to all our needs. I also appreciate the welcome by the owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    The response was very quick even though we missed our agreed time due to unforeseen circumstances at the airport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    8.8
    Lovely authentic hideaway. Perfect base for exploring Cape Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hob took a little while to heat up. No biggy!

    Great location and lovely to have the court yard to relax in in the evening.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    9.2
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Safe not working. Not really bad!

    Yes. And the vicinity to the sea and convenience from which to go to other amenities

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    8.8
    Rita the property owner was very helpful and accommodating.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The occasional power cut and stay in the darkness for hours.

    Rita the property owner was very helpful and accommodating.. She has facilitated our stay in Cape Town and made us feel at home while we were thousand miles away from home.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    8.3
    So much space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Had to call them to come and clean the couch that was full of dog hairs and the counters that were all full of dust.

    So much space. Comfortable beds. Really central and close to everything. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    10
    I thought the apartment was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I thought the apartment was great! Charming, spacious and clean. I was able to relax and feel at home. Will definitely stay again next time I'm in Cape Town!

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    9.6
    Stunning apartment, beautifully decorated and in a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stunning apartment, beautifully decorated and in a great location.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    9.2
    Very spacious and comfortable, like a home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Tell-tale signs of basic maintenance not happening!

    Very spacious and comfortable, like a home away from home.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    7.5
    Great location for Argus cycle tour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No aircons in bedrooms but fans were adequate

    Great location for Argus cycle tour. In close proximity to start and finish.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    10
    In a word, "Lovely".
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In a word, "Lovely". There really is NOTHING not to like.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A bit of noise when you stay downstairs close to the parking.

    Great location..close to shops and board walk

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    10
    Before we arrived emails with our questions were always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Before we arrived emails with our questions were always answered. The apartment was well organised and clean.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    10
    Great apartment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great apartment! Don't miss a barbecue at the backyard!!!

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    10
    - Size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Couldn't stay longer.....

    - Size - Cleanliness - Location

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: