Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bella Manga Country Escape

R340 in Uplands, 6600 Plettenberg Bay, South Africa

#6 of 24 hotels in Plettenberg Bay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 92 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    Wonderful peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rondavel
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chris and Jen were the perfect hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. Extremely enthusiastic and informative. Their property was fabulous with everything you need for a relaxing stay. Couldn't fault the place. My only regret was we didn't stay longer. Wish you both the very best of luck.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Amazing place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rondavel
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place to stay in, with an amazing and peaceful environment. Jenny and Ian are great, warm hosts and extremely helpful. The room was very clean and spacious. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Jenny and Chris are very nice people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Jenny and Chris are very nice people.. we felt immediately at home. They had lots of information about the environment. We booked the family rondavel and another rondavel and they were very cosy and clean. We ate two evenings with them and it was perfect! The swimming pool and the garden are beautiful!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Lovely, tranquil get away to find peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House with Forest View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My youngest son was a little bit scared of all the bees - it may be worthwhile informing guests of the beehives attached to the house. I would imagine if any of us were allergic we may not have been so happy to have them so close.

    Friendly welcome from the owner, self catering house had everything we needed, very welcoming space, neat and tidy. Awesome view of garden and trees nearby, very peaceful, enjoyed the sounds of birds chirping in the mornings and the crickets didn't keep us up at night. Very tranquil spot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Incredible hideaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House with Forest View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My husband, small child and I stayed at Bella Manga and it was absolutely incredible. BEAUTIFUL location in what felt like the middle of nowhere, and yet only 15 minutes drive to wherever we needed to be. We let them know we had a baby and they went out and purchased a high chair, which was waiting in our lodge when we arrived. Lovely family running the place with an exceptional breakfast. BBQs set up at each lodge that were such a nice treat. We absolutely plan to be back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    A welcoming and relaxing rural stay - we loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rondavel
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was a little cloudy - but it was being cleaned on the day we left

    We absolutely loved our stay here, it was beautiful, really relaxing and the owners really went out of their way to offer advice on where to go and what to see. The breakfast was lovely every morning - with home cooked bread, muffins as well as the traditional full English

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Jen and Chris were exceptional hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rondavel
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some noisy birds at night - but to be expected in the country!

    Jen and Chris were exceptional hosts. They couldn't do enough for us and made some fantastic recommendations. We had an open fire one night and all sat around chatting, and the other night they helped us set up a Braai. Highly recommend this spot if you want a quiet out the way (but easy to get to Plett) place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything about Bella Manga exceeded our expectations, from the staff, to the accommodation, the breakfast was outstanding as was the location. The owners were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and they were on hand at all times to answer any questions. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting South Africa. It's a tranquil oasis and the perfect retreat from the hustle and bustle of city life.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    More than perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful host family. Very nice room, clean, with a nice Surrounding. Great newyears barbecue. Perfect for kids. We loved that place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Great family location,large pool, games, open spaces to roam and play.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chris & Jenny were excellent hosts. Their attention to little details makes one feel right at home, my 4 yr old was very pleased with his Toy Story bed. Thanks for a great stay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    All in all a nice, relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rondavel
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would recommend brushing your teeth with bottled water, as the water looked a little brown (probably something a sensible person would do anyway!)

    Our room was lovely and large, and the bed was very comfy. Stay here if you want a different experience to your usual hotel - the mud huts were lots of fun! Chris and Jenny were absolutely great hosts and very friendly, and extremely accommodating to us. They cooked a Braii one evening and it was great getting to know them and the other guests staying that evening. They also had lots of information about activities nearby, and we would recommend a Kayaking trip up the nearby Keurbooms river.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.3
    Standard equipment like dish washer and internet are not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House with Forest View (6 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard equipment like dish washer and internet are not available. Also basic ingredients like olive oil and herbs for cooking would are missing would be helpful. Each visitor has to buy things which might not be needed for the whole stay. Could be improved in order to reduce waist.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rondavel
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely place to stay. Very comfortable bed in a beautiful rondavel. We loved the swimming pool area and the breakfast. We felt very welcome and will definitely come back. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Excellent. Clean, fresh, well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rondavel
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing we would have liked to have added was non slip mat in shower.

    Very clean & modern whilst having character of an older house. Friendly helpful hostess. Good breakfast. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Magnificent, special Farm
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Rondavel
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is  a magnificence farm.  The owners change 3 months before, now manage the farm a lovely femlly  Janny  and her children give all of us a lovely and kidney  welcome.  The rooms are cozy, warm and comfortable.  The breakfast fresh and delicious.  The place unique, in the morning my children go to feed  the cows,   They have tree to claim on,  Trampoline...  In the evening we light fire with popcorn, marshmallows and wain. It was fantastic and special. We stayed there for 2 nights  I wish we could stay longer. 

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    5.4
    Lovely setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought I had booked for a bandb which was not the case, as it was self catering. This probably explains why no beds were made, and no coffee or tea was available in my room. My mistake, but when I google for bandb options, I most likely expect those to appear

    It is a truly beautiful setting with lovely buildings and gardens

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    10
    Great place in Plettenberg Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Bella Manga Country House was a great location to stay in. Ray and Fiona, the hosts, gave us a warm welcome and were very friendly at all times. The place was very clean and quiet. We stayed in the honey moon suite including a king size bed and seperate bathroom with a nice bath tub. The breakfast was uncomplicated and tasty! You feel yourself very welcome and you can tell, that Ray and Fiona try to make your stay as pleasant as possible and help out wherever they can! We can absolutely recommend this beautiful place without any contstraint!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    2.5
    the setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The chalet/farm house was disgusting. There was left over juice bottles from previous guest. There was tomato sauce on the magazine and the coffee table from previous guest. in one bathroom there wasn't a shower head and in the other bathroom the shower door didn't work and there was black mould all over the shower. The main light in the main bedroom didn't work either. The freezer component of the fridge hadn't been defrosted in weeks. on arriving the owners dogs urinated all over our camp cot. This guest farm was apparently rated a four stars it should be rated one and it was not registered on the Tourism Grading Council.

    the setting

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    9.6
    Fiona and Ray offer b&b and self-catering rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rondavel
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Fiona and Ray offer b&b and self-catering rooms. We had a rondavel, a round African little house. Perfect. Crispy clean sheets, king size bed, good bathroom, coffee- and tea- making facilities. Wonderful breakfast with fresh products. We loved the dogs, birds (lots of beautiful weaver birds nests) and just to walk around their grounds. Ray and Fiona are lovely people, we liked their hospitality, humor and the music at breakfast. All of it made us very happy!Highly recommended!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    2.5
    Mouldy bedding. To be avoided!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Butter at breakfast had gone off and turned rancid. Bedding was covered in mould. Hosts had a very bad attitude and very unwelcoming.

    They had availability at short notice is the only positive I could give.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    4.5
    We renamed it Villa Mudguard. Shiny on the outside + full of Sh_t underneath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised as 4star but owner says they'dont do that any longer.'!!!! This is false advertising. So not a 4 or even a 2 star place. Unhelpful owners. Water muddy at times and at times no water.The response was....well you are out in the country. Bookings.com showed a rondavel on the booking site and we were given a room in the house. Please check that you make sure that what you advertise is up to date. The best part of the stay was leaving.

    Enjoyed the two dogs

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    5.4
    The quiet as the property is nestled in a forest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House with Forest View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner/manager not very friendly. No mention of dirt road to get to the place- just a mention that if we dont check in by 6pm they would be closed. No mention that the nearest shop wouod require travelling back on the dirt road and that supplies should be bought before getting to place..

    The quiet as the property is nestled in a forest. The cabin was spacious. No TV or electronics so allows for a good break from typical life.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.0
    still waiting for my refund
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rondavel
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didnt get my refynd yet

    still waiting for my refund

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Staff, location, space, swimming pool, great beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom House with Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A coffee press would have been amazing!

    Staff, location, space, swimming pool, great beds. Loved it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    Very nice people at a very nice location to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could not be darkened what means that we were up at the crack of dawn...

    The hosts were adorable! The location is superb.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Really good surprise !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rondavel
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The owners are caring and there's a lot of things to do in the area like MTB, hiking, etc... We enjoyed the whole thing !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    The property is close to all the attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rondavel
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is close to all the attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    9.2
    No room television
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room television

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    8.3
    Perfect relaxtion
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House with Forest View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    some of the kitchen items need to be replaced.

    The awesome sunrise and the beautiful plants and trees.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    10
    Perfectly peaceful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fan or air-conditioning would have helped as it was very hot.

    Very peaceful and beautiful setting. Perfect place to just unwind and relax.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    8.3
    Loved the country location, and being able to walk around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were no inclusions (e.g. of tea, coffee), except some dish wash liquid. We did book as self cater, but this is the first such place to have no extras.

    Loved the country location, and being able to walk around property.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    6.3
    Impressive gardens, wildlife etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Drive up to house was a track. Not suitable for "normal " cars. Furniture was dated and old. No point in providing a tv when channels are not watchable. Snow. Didn't live up to the standards of 4 star accomodation. Our accommodation needed a facelift to justify the star rating. Perhaps an idea to provide wifi.

    Impressive gardens, wildlife etc. Very suitable for families with kids. Sociable environment with a braai and camp fire. Pool was great. Hosts were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    4.2
    Very quiet and peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The pool was green. No way to light the gas stove was provided e.g. matches (only cost a few cents but will greatly improve the experience). The TV was about 20 years old and did not get reception properly. The unit really needed a fan for hot days. The advertising lumps the self-catering forest lodges with the B&B. The B&B seems to have a 4-star rating (and it looked very nice) but I would be very surprised if this was also true for the self-catering forest lodges.

    Very quiet and peaceful. Excellent stars at night.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    8.3
    The tranquility of the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    When it rains heavily, the condition of the gravel road could cause great concern for normal cars. Luckily, I have a four-wheel drive vehicle. They experienced a problem with their water supply, which affected us, but luckily they were able to sort it out.

    The tranquility of the area. There is enough open spaces for kids to play on the grass.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    7.9
    Beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Only negative was that a fire was built for you in the drum each day, obliging you to use their wood which was a lot more expensive than in town. I'd prefer them to leave a pile of wood so its an option fo you to use or not. I appreciate there been an option to buy if you needed.

    Beautiful surroundings. Lovely cottages.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    8.8
    cool dogs on working farm with nice pool, wide open grass...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    cool dogs on working farm with nice pool, wide open grass fields, nice rondawels and friendly owners. ace for stopover or more, and far enough from plett beach crowd :)

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    9.6
    We had a lovely stay at the Bella Manga Country House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had a lovely stay at the Bella Manga Country House. Lovely people, beautiful surroundings, well kept rooms with all the facilities you need, fabulous pool, great breakfast. Location was also very good - up in the hills away from the bustle of Plett for peaceful days but only a short drive away from the restaurants for a night out. Fiona and Ray couldn't do enough to help. Even going out of their way to re-unite one of our party with a lost phone! Can't wait to go back :-)

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    10
    There was nothing at all we didn't not enjoy about this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing!!!

    There was nothing at all we didn't not enjoy about this amazing place!! From the warm welcome from Fiona and Ray to the wonderful breakfast in the morning - everything was exceptional. We stayed in a Rondavel which was brilliant. The grounds were kept lovely. This has made out stay on the garden route just the best - we loved it and would return again tomorrow. Thanks Fiona and Ray the making our stay with you the best!!

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    10
    The traditional rondaval was comfortable and quirky.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The occasional mosquito but that's to be expected in South Africa (no malaria zone though so no need to panic)

    The traditional rondaval was comfortable and quirky. The hosts are friendly and welcoming and truly add to the stay. Breakfast was amazing - the best we had in our 3 week trip, all freshly cooked to order. Quiet and beautiful location, highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    10
    Couldn't recommend the place more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't recommend the place more! I arrived with my girlfriend late on a Sunday evening, my car having broken down - the owners welcomed us with open arms, handed me a cold beer, and gave us use of their car whilst mine was in the garage. Lovely people, lovely guesthouse, lovely dogs and lovely staff! Truly went above and beyond!

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    2.5
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Two rooms full charged before we get there, but only one give to us, the other one we paid resell to others! Threanten us when they drunk at night! The place is two far away,infrustructure there is poor also.

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    6.3
    nice Pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a lot of dust under the bed. wifi only near the pool to far away from the mainroad totally focussed on englisch breakfast

    nice Pool friendly helpfull host

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    10
    the way we were met,the friends that we made and most of all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing that we did not like, would be back any day.

    the way we were met,the friends that we made and most of all, we were right at home from the moment we arrived.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    3.3
    Room facility not 4 Star quality, we never got our request...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room facility not 4 Star quality, we never got our request as to bed, no TV, No fan or aircon, not adequate cupboard space. Will never go there again, staff not very friendly or accommodating!!!

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    8.8
    Location and ambiance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hospitality of the lady who runs the place. We were early for check in and she would not open the gate. She was only shouting that the rooms were not ready yet. Since Bella Manga is situated 20 min from the main road, and we drove all the way up there after a long journey, this was an unbelievable unfriendly welcome. Although she apoligized later for her behaviour, she stayed stressed and unfriendly at several moments the rest of our stay.

    Location and ambiance. Amazing garden and views.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    10
    It was great to meet Fiona and Ray and stay in their lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not mad keen on the bouncy road, but only because we had a hire car!

    It was great to meet Fiona and Ray and stay in their lovely home. We had the most wonderful " lavender room". The bed was so comfortable that we didnt want to move in the mornings, however, breakfast was worth getting up for. recommend it to anyone. x

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    5.8
    Nice property and pool area, large garden with nice English...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Service mentality not good enough: towels not changed once in a few days, owners dogs running around and leaving their poo in the garden, owners omnipresent the whole day and appear very busy and stressed, very bad unpaved road leading to the property

    Nice property and pool area, large garden with nice English lawn

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    9.6
    Everything was perfect!
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect! Just didnt know about the free wifi, as there was hardly any cellphone reception. Was a good experience all in all. Thanx for an enjoyable stay!

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    9.6
    Room and host were magnificent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room and host were magnificent.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    6.3
    Location, pool, dogs, huts
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast - bench style furniture, food was fine but not 4 star.

    Location, pool, dogs, huts

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent. The quietness out of the daily rush is food for the sole and recommend for anybody that just want to recharge their battries

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    10
    Good service and very helpfull owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good service and very helpfull owners. We had a perfect night at that place!

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: