Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel 5 stars

76 Orange Street, Gardens, 8001 Cape Town, South Africa

#19 of 152 hotels in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 187 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Loved the ambience and the grandeur .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On one occasion staff didn’t give much warning before entering room

    Loved the ambience and the grandeur . Lord Nelson restaurant food delicious . Staff very attentive .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding hotel property in a lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Don't like these new fangled air con controllers which you cannot control! While close to the busy Kloof street area, you need to beware of your surroundings - it is not safe to walk far at night.

    Outstanding hotel property in a lovely setting. Big hit for us was the Concierge desk, so helpful with recommendations on tours and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    A perfect bolt hole to escape a U.K. winter!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More popular restaurant. Appeared few people didn’t go, so we didn’t either.

    Gardens and pool are exceptional, the room was excellent, and the staff superb. Fantastic breakfast too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and beverage operation very poor and dining options very confusing. Service very mixed, some very pleasant staff but some very bad and rude. There are clearly some very demotivated staff and this and staff training desperately needs to be addressed but Is not going to be helped by the absence of any visible or effective management. Afternoon tea promoted as a wonderful experience but quality and presentation of pastries very poor. Ordered crudités and dips on the terrace and served with scrappy looking vegetables. Restaurant service was good but dining room looks like a temporary facility. Breakfast service was poor and breakfast room looked sad. I have never been to a hotel where sun beds are reserved by the pool. Area not regularly tidied up. Hotel is clearly living on past glories and needs a real shakeup. We have stayed at Belmont Le Manoir au Quat Saisons which is a wonderful hotel - a very different property and one which Belmont Mount Nelson management should take lessons from. I could add more and find no pleasure in writing these comments. We stayed in three other hotels in the Cape, all different, ranging from 3 star to 5 star all of which exceeded the service and standards provided by Mount Nelson.

    Room was spacious and very comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    3.8
    the garden is lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in 3 rooms in 24 hours. We had booked a deluxe room.Soon after arriving we reported that there was a smell coming from what seemed to be the air conditioning. It took until 9 pm before we were moved to a very inferior room. We had to keep chasing the reception desk and no one came to us to tell us they were looking for a room. We found the reception staff to be very casual and bordering on unprofessional.(until we complained) Having now slept a nightie the inferior room without a balcony, as previously booked, we were then given another room the next morning. I had to get up at 9am and after a flight from the UK i was exhausted from the previous night's waiting to be moved. As we were only there 2 nights, this meant that our stay being in 3 rooms in a 2 night period spoiled everything. The reception manager did give us 3 high tea was for free, but I was so unwell I had none of it so another waste. I would have expected one of our nights room fee to be refunded and still do.It is a shame as this hotel is of a calibre and history which demands the very highest professional standards. It has lovely facilities but the staff really let it down. We have also stayed at other 5 star hotels in the cape such as THE CAPE GRACE, and whilst the location of both hotels is good, the cape grace being in the waterfront, I would prefer the cape grace in future.

    the garden is lovely..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Glorious old world charm, excellently done
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Glorious old world charm, excellently done. Could have wanted no more for our overnight stay on Cape Town. Afternoon tea, better than the London Ritz hotel. Spacious, expertly furnished and comfortable rooms. And breakfast by the pool. What's not to like.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Very beautiful hotel in colonial style of days gone bye, lush grand and fragrant garden park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The setting is extra special, Old world British Colonial comfort and style , a true grand old lady hotel with all the charm, interior decoration and winter garden room. Breathtaking garden and pool area with glorious views of Table Mountain. Close to town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    This has got to be one of the top hotels in the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Chefs Table was fantastic and I also have a very upmarket restaurant so I know what I am talking about. I will go back If you really want to treat yourself go to The Mount Nelson

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.8
    Dream hotel-a pink paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff here are exceptionally attentive and efficient with big hearts and warm smiles and that extends across the board from room service to senior management. We had a a small problem that had an immediate response and was taken care of professionally and curtesly. The location is beautiful and our room in was beautifully appointed. Breakfasts are sumptuous. The pools and grounds are inviting and we enjoyed dinner in The Planet restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at gourmet restaurant was good but heavy. Not enough choice for lighter fare. In our view not at the level of the other amenities and services.

    Breakfast was outstanding.Pool area, lounges and room excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    6.7
    No where near as good as in its hey day; five star prices and rooms but let down by the food etc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Their signature restaurant "Planet" is a disgrace. Its out of date in terms of decor, menu and poor service. Went there for my partner's birthday dinner and they made no effort at all. Speaks volumes that this restaurant was almost empty even though the hotel was full, so I guess the rest of the guests decided to give it a miss also. Shame as the hotel deserves a top venue and a top chef to run it. This was more like an experience from Fawlty Towers. Even ordering in their Oasis bistro from their simple menu, at quiet times, the food takes 40M to arrive. I would sack the whole F & B team if I was running it

    Rooms were large and comfortable; nice hotel grounds and even a tennis court which is rare in Cape Town

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    The right mix of old and modern good things, memorable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the air con is too loud - but as in all hotels I would say.

    the hotel is absolutely enchanting. the staff is truly helpful but never obsequious. the pancakes are a must ! There is a pool for "adults only" which is great when you travel without children

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    The location was great for our stay and the rooms comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The concierge made errors in our bookings and service fell short. The restaurant was good only if you had the buffet but lunch service was the worst we have ever experienced. My kids had a junior suite but the bathroom was very small.

    The setting is beautiful and the pool area was lovely. The facility has a very functional gym.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    A short visit to get the holidays going wish we could have stayed longer. This hotel never disappoi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable... the adult only pool was tranquillity itself...we have stayed before and it felt like coming home to luxury . Easy access to bars and restaurants... perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    For a ‘once in a while’ this is the place to spoil yourself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a local, the prices are a bit steep.

    We had an excellent swim with good facilities. The garden is tranquil and lush. Breakfast was brilliant as they cater for everyone’s taste.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful hotel in a wonderful location, courteous and polite staff, all needs attended to.
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Making sure tea, coffee and sugar in the room are kept topped up.

    Bed super, room super, hotel overall super, housekeeping occasionally not quite so good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    - staff extremely friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - no milk provided in the room - bathroom beautiful but difficult to get into the shower - coffee service for breakfast rather slow - despite beautiful facilities both in the room as well as general area (bar, etc), charm slightly missing

    - staff extremely friendly - received upgrade to one of the lodges close to the adult pool - adult pool (far away from the pool for families) beautiful and large size - location just below the table mountain with beautiful view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel with free upgrade to holiday cottage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Misses out on some small details - despite asking everyday for a newspaper this only arrived on one of the days. Checkout process was very poor - multiple calls and knocking on the room prior to the specified check out time which made this process seemed rushed.

    Beautiful hotel with free upgrade to holiday cottage. Gardens and pool were excelled and nice to be able to wander around. Rooms were very well equipped and extremely comfortable. Also excellent on site gym and spa facilities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The concierge team really let us down, badly. Extremely poor communication between them resulted in us not going on our whale watching trip (our key reason for travelling to CT). Due to poor communication, they also called very early one morning and woke us up, totally unnecessarily. As well as this they weren’t able to get us into any restaurant we asked about and never once gave us feedback or a message. We had to keep asking. They weren’t able to make any recommendations either. It was quite disappointing but the main issue was the mess with the whale watching.

    Everything. This place is a dream. Simply everything. I will absolutely return.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    VERY COMFORTABLE. ROOMS WERE SPACIOUS
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE COFFEE

    Huge selection. The Bircher muesli was the best that I've eaten. Gluten free options available . Fresh whole and sliced fruit was available. Enjoyed the spinach and papaya juice and the custard filled croissant was delicious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.7
    Nice stay with plenty of nice walks on the doorstep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Concierge service was a bit iffy. There was a leaflet in our room telling us about a historic garden tour but when we tried to book it the concierge didn't know anything about it! Breakfast (which was good) tended to be a bit like a rat race!

    The hotel itself was lovely but as we had literally moved there from another 5* hotel it didn't compare too well such as offering a free newspaper and free bottled water morning and evening. But a lovely room overlooking the gardens which was bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.5
    Wish the winter specials were in summer :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given vouchers upon arrival for the spa which was wonderful. But far too late upon arrival as the Sp is fully booked in advance and no way of using voucher, so felt a bit scammed. Give with one hand and take with the other. When I went through to spa before check out, it was virtually empty and most treatment rooms open, so not sure why I couldn't get a booking? Upon receiving booking, it would have been great if we were emailed by the hotel to remind us that we could/should book in advance for complimentary spa.

    The valet was very welcoming but a bit confusing, as the hotel is under renovation in the entrance and they grabbed the keys and bags so fast, we had no idea what or where to find things. Tea was good. Breakfast amazing. Bedroom view overlooking pool lovely. Staff wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been great to have been notified of the renovations taking place at the hotel. We had a business meeting during morning tea and where asked to leave as they were about to serve afternoon tea even though the table wasn't booked and wasn't used after we moved to the bar area.

    Dinner was great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful old world hotel set in magnificent gardens. A wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Buffet breakfasts are the norm at most hotels and I personally find them a let down. I feel that while a section of then breakfast lends itself to buffet style- fruit, yoghurts, cereals etc. There should be 'hot' menu that guests order from and are made in the kitchen as opposed to to griddles next to the buffet. This way guests can enjoy more sophisticated breakfasts such as eggs benedict etc. This feels more 5 star than lining up at a buffet which feels like you are at boarding school!

    The staff were lovely and very good with my children, a baby aged 5 months and a little boy aged 8. The room was very spacious and well appointed and the bathroom was beautiful and one of the biggest of the many hotels we have stayed at. The High Tea was a highlight and is definitely recommended. The Mount Nelson is a old school, hotel grandeur at its best. Sadly hotels like these are few and far between!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.5
    If you like old world charm.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was warm and low end pressure. Not terrible but under the standard of most everything else at the establishment.

    95% was very good and nothing was bad. Wonderful for those who like staff catering to your every need.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.1
    Ok
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was refurbishment on the go - could not access usual elegant surrounding Bar and lounge or high tea rooms - rather close hotel than accept bookings when this is the case - most disappointing!!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Everything you need and more
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no negative experience.

    Mount Nelson is situated in the perfect spot to walk anywhere or use the public transport available. Peace and quiet and the spa at the hotel - a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    Charming Grande Dame of Hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We still rate the hotel a 10 even though not everything was "perfect". During high tea it is sometimes difficult to get the attention of the staff if you are just a "normal guest". The temperature control in the shower didn't work - it so happened that it was set just right: so, no problem.

    For us it was just "the place to stay" in Cape Town. We very much like these traditional luxury hotels. The room was spacious, beautiful spots to sit outside, exquisitely kept gardens. A very impressive breakfast buffet which we mostly admired but didn't indulge in. Service was mostly very attentive - especially after the second day or so.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Luxury in cape town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    arrived at hotel to be told that we had been up graded to a garden cottage. superb accommodation, own little garden and back patio, Hotel is very easy to drive to from cape town airport, 20 mins. Hotel is very comfortable, lovely staff, and the breakfast buffet is up there with the best, chef's doing eggs to your choice, chef cooking waffles as you like, chef cooking pancakes freshly for you, and every fresh fruit, yogurt cereal, bakery product you can wish for, plus hot and cold breakfast. Beautiful setting, excellent security.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    10
    The beautiful relaxing gardens within the property make it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Studio Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    The beautiful relaxing gardens within the property make it so much more than a hotel. You truly feel relaxed and on vacation . The politeness and friendliness of the staff is always welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    10
    A haven of tranquility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everything - there is an old adage - you get what you pay for in this world. Staff were wonderful & could not do enough for you. Old world charm, courteous staff. There is nothing better than having your breakfast on the terrace looking up ' table mountain. We had a problem with the previous hotel and they bent over backwards to sort it for us even though they did not have to. Especially, Hamid & Melissa

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    9.2
    Third stay, and will return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the Planet Bar before dinner was rather chaotic, and obtaining a menu to choose our meal over a relaxing drink first, proved rather tricky - but they got there in the end. Breakfast service also not entirely on the ball, but as it's mostly help yourself, it wasn't particularly an issue.

    Bedrooms, lounges, bar, restaurant, gardens, pools are all delightful, and give a true air of luxury. Superb evening meal in Planet Restaurant with attentive and thoughtful service, with the finishing touch of a wonderful pianist. Afternoon tea is also a "must". Very welcoming staff throughout lobby/entrance/reception/parking areas.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    10
    Gardens in the Gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Oysters exceptional; champagne for breakfast very special. A hidden gem of magnificent luxury. You have to see and taste it to believe it!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    8.8
    Afternoon Tea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The formidable painting depicting False Bay in the former restaurant has disappeared. Too bad. Restauration of the main building is taking place, hiding away beautiful corridors full of historical paintings and pictures referring to old times.

    Afternoon Tea. Rooms are very comfortable. Valet-service.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    5.8
    Dissapointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As frequent travelers the Mount Nelson used to be our favourite hotel and although I understand that renovations are a necessity, guests in winter time should have the same experience as summer guests. To name a few: doing measurements while we were having breakfast is poor planning. Poor TV image and most channels not available, apparently due to changing of decoders, we booked 6 months in advance. Rude staff at the concierge desk, we had to ask for luggage rack three times. Lifts not working. The General Manager not returning my call.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Great mid term break!!’ Relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Regular water in the bedroom , not only at night

    Bed extra comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    The food at the restaurant was below average
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at the restaurant was below average

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Super luxurious and comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super luxurious and comfortable hotel. Wonderful service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Too short !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The personal attention of the staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Staff not overly intrusive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff not overly intrusive. Liked the wildlife and gardens.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Perfect stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel outdid all our expectations. Fabulous staff, incredible grounds and buildings. Everything was thought of. We loved it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Old style elegance in the perfect location in Cape Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service in the bar was poor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing.

    Super location, with high quality accommodation, facilities and staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Magnifique
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was the best ever.....and have stayed in many TOP hotels around the world.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.5
    Kitchen staff need to improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfasts let it down

    cleanliness, views, gardens

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    you feel like a princess when you stay here!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is excellent here and planet restaurant was amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    6.7
    Lovely relaxing few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tired looking. Was expecting a higher quality for the price.

    Lovely building, pool and afternoon tea. Great setting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed our 5 day stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    A very well run hotel with all facilities and excellent staff. They don't know the word "no"

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place for family stay and/or Romantic stay. Works well for both.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed extra comfy, Service excellent throughout, Great location, Excellent Food, Amazing Tea

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.1
    A luxury treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom extremely snall

    Colonial luxury in a beautiful setting

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative which is what one expect of a 5 star hotel

    Constantly 5 star in every aspect

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel but far far too expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything well overpriced even on an international sense

    Tradition and service

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Excellent in everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast, garden, comfort

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Great food lovely ambience loved the history and wonderful old traditional hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    The front desk and concierge and porters were very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Fabulous! Outstanding! Utterly perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing

    Everything about this hotel is superb

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Wish had spent more time there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff Afternoon tea Breakfast Arrived 6 hours before check in time and given tea/coffee as room not ready then upgraded to save wait

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    The staff were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were amazing. Great hotel. Will highly recommend. We travelled with a 4-year-old and they made her stay extremely special.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay in the heart of Cape Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast menu could be a bit more interesting.

    Bed amazing and service superb!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Great staff that go above and beyond
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are the making of this hotel. Everyone is incredibly friendly, very helpful and truly genuine. I felt VERY welcomed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    great dame
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Long walk outside between accommodation and fascilities

    Amazing breakfast and excellent dinner at Planet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel. So peaceful but near some wonderful nightlife.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    7.9
    the atmosphere, bubbly on check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the coffee could have been stronger.

    the atmosphere, bubbly on check in.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.5
    A beautiful old hotel in lovely grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A really uncomfortable mattress that needs to be replaced or at least turned.

    Lovely gardens, large room ,

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.2
    The best location in Cape Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    It is a beautiful hotel and is extremely well run. The pool area is lovely with very comfortable sun loungers and glorious views of Table Mountain.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    10
    Service, food and attention for details.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eco awareness

    Service, food and attention for details.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    9.2
    Level of luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Level of luxury

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    10
    1 day of luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the valet parking,assistance with carrying shopping packages, friendly and helpful staff. Room and bathroom so luxurious with comfy, firm bed

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Wonderful stay at Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel Cape Town
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complains at all

    The breakfast was good . The beds were good . We enjoyed the stay , and will surely come back. The staffs were wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    9.6
    Lovely room, Royal breakfasts and superb staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room, Royal breakfasts and superb staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Fabulous hotel.. Excellent friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    Everything was excellent.. No complaints!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.6
    Famous old hotel in Cape Town for a luxurious stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast could have been better

    Friendly staff Old colonial feel Beautiful rooms Fast free wifi Huge bathroom with lots of amenities

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    7.5
    One of Cape Town's must places to stay at.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel under major renovations and we were not told when booking made

    Historical side of the establishment

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.6
    Almost everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Oddly, there was no clock in the room.

    Almost everything. The staff, the décor, the food, the grounds were all superb. The hotel was a shrine to the Union Castle steamship line, a previous owner, which I liked very much.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    10
    What a beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What a beautiful hotel!! Loved the high tea, loved the suite, loved the staff expecialy the manager Joey Michael for making our stay unforgettable🙏💍!!!

There are also 47 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: