Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Belmont Guesthouse 4 stars

4 Sixth Street, Arboretum, 9301 Bloemfontein, South Africa

#31 of 92 B&Bs and Inns in Bloemfontein

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 36 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 14

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.7
    Friendly staff, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    When speaking to other guests on the premises, not using Booking.com, I realized that weekend specials is not reflected on booking.com. Paid 50% more than the other guests

    Friendly staff, good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioner did not work. Pillows need cleaning.

    Good value for money. Very friendly staff. Arrived late and they were only to happy to assist, even though staff had knocked off already.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    Location, space and cleanliness
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    when i made a booking i specified i'm coming with a 2 year old but i was given a room upstairs with staircases just outside the door which was not safe for a toddler

    Location, space and cleanliness

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.9
    Manager very friendly and accomodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon, light fitting, room light, towelrail out of order in our first room.

    Manager very friendly and accomodating. Room clean and neat Comfortable bed!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.2
    A lovely home from home
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one hiccup: having a hot shower. It took a bit of time to realise that for obtaining hot water, the shower swivel tap "worked the wrong way around". That turned out that the tap had to be show to the right to obtain hot water. Because it took a long time for the hot water to reach the shower in any case at the beginning, I wasted lot of water trying to figure this out. Actually I ended up just having a "cold" shower as not to waste any more water. Could I also suggest the file of information in the room, includes instructions of route to the Bram Fisher Airport as well as a map of the nearby vicinity which will indicate locations of shopping areas and nice restaurants (A list of the latter topic would also be nice)

    The exceptional friendliness and willingness of the ladies at the reception of going the extra mile eg. in sorting out my problem with locking/unlocking of the door of the entrance to my room, arranging the facility for me to iron my jacket and printing out the Google instructions about the route to the airport.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    It was very clean and tidy and the garden is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very clean and tidy and the garden is beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep steps

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Ideal overnight stay in Bloemfontein.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quiet, peaceful, had clean white towels and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    5.0
    Requested to pay again for breakfast at the property even...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested to pay again for breakfast at the property even though we paid for bed and breakfast when booking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    10
    Quality Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool.

    Peter and Christo are fantastic and made our stay pleasurable. Will definitely go back.

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    10
    Airconditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioning

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    Value for money in Bloemfontein.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were extremely helpful and the location perfect. Easy to access. Clean and neat. Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    7.1
    The room was clean, a decent size and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner also owns the baywater lodge, and had transferred our booking from Belmont to Baywater, without ever advising us: we this spent a lot of time trying to get into Belmont without any answer; eventually the Baywater Lodge called to tell us we had been moved. This was a frustrating start to our stay. The air conditioner in our room was very weak, and given the 36 degrees Celsius temp outside, a necessity. The room only had a bath, no shower.

    The room was clean, a decent size and comfortable. Breakfast was simple, but good.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    7.0
    Clean
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Staff not friendly

    Clean

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 14

Guests also reviewed these properties: