Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Belmonte Guesthouse

Upper MIll Street, 7646 Paarl, South Africa

#15 of 29 B&Bs and Inns in Paarl

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 75 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ?

    The beds are super comfy and the personnel very friendly. The pool is sparkling clean and you have the most awesome views. It is wonderfully centrally located. The high elevation makes it a bit cooler in summer - great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the pool was salt bags inside the pool that i had to remove before swimming. Also inside the rooms was no soap. Ladies get infections easy when using that body wash soap so we had to go to the shop in the main road early morning for soap. Thr breakfast can be inproved as it is a very small variety. But further it was awesome and i really injoyed myself.

    It was very nice, the view as well as the pool area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing - can't fault the place

    Everything was perfect. Our host couldn't have done more for us and the setting, the views, the breakfast was all outstanding. Can't wait to go back for longer!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was extremely disappointed that a place so beautiful allow smoking on the premises. I found an ashtray on the balcony, indicating that smoking is allowed on the balcony, which of course is an extension of the room. PLEASE turn your stunning place into a fully-non-smoking place!! Breakfast hours on Saturday morning was quite short.

    The view was stunning, as was the fresh mountain air. The breakfast was great too. The rooms my family and I had, were big and comfy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real welcome except getting the key, no information etc. Although the water is safe to drink I would expect a guest house at this price to give two small bottles of water in the fridge. Breakfast is below par for the price and when compared to the quality of the bedroom fittings etc. The bedroom has top quality fittings but the quality of breakfast products was poor quality - could easily be improved be having fresh juice, good quality granola, some pastries etc. Some simple improvements could be made to breakfast to really add value.

    Lovely big double bed with crisp white sheets. Lovely balcony with fab view of Paarl. Wow factor to the room when you walk in. Bedroom smelt lovey due to a diffuser but the bathroom smelt strange.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Guest House un peu impersonnel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Partner loved the pool, the aircon and the view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent accommodation, the owner very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large clean room with fantastic views. Great advice on the region and eating out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Pool loungers need a bit of an update

    The room was perfect and incredibly comfortable. We were very happy, really peaceful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS PLACE IS WOW

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was fine

    Nice view, convenient location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Different options for breakfast.

    The venue was beautiful and well maintained. Friendly staff. Great food. Great comfort and view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was crazy about the atmosphere and cleanliness. Everything was perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location. Wish i had more time there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location and view of the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Swimming pool is not covered, not save for toddlers

    Big room, quiet area, beautiful view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    The place is good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    The rooms are specious enough. And clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hairdryer or milk in room for coffee.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small TV. More channels would be better

    Large comfortable room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have Replaced water. Milk and tea everyday.

    The friendly staff and rooms are exellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing At all

    The view from our room was spectecular

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave

    Amazing atmosphere, friendly staff and an amazing location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please make sure of directions.Google maps and booking.com take you to the wrong place

    Its new with a view

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No toilet paper in bathroom at our arrival and no milk for early morning coffee.

    Spacious room with very comfortable beds. Lovely shower and the view from our balcony was stunning!

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Did not have the little things that make a 4 star guest house, no milk or creamer in the room, no fridge in the room and no water in the room, just didn't make any effort and breakfast, very average - more 3 star than 4 star....

    The guest house has a nice setting and quite modern, lovely outlook over Paarl

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Didnt have a fridge in our room No milk with the tea and coffee supplied in the room Had no power on the Tuesday from 3pm to midnight, one of the hottest days in the Cape. Rooms were as hot as a pizza oven hence slept on the outside furniture at the pool deck, blown transformer, not Belmonte fault however feel a 4 star establishment should have a generator for power outages longer than 2 to 3 hours.

    Fantastic, friendly and helpful staff made it feel like home away from home. Upmarket, stylish, comfortable, relaxing environment hence one wanted to spend time sitting around the pool, enjoying the views and relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The milk bottle from previous day was not removed. Was hot day and the milk got sour. Although the fridge in the room was switched on, fresh milk for 2nd day had to be collected from main fridge downstairs

    The breakfast was very good. Room comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast staff was unprofessional and rude. We were told breakfast is served from 8-10 but at 9 they were not interested in serving us and made their displeasure known.

    View was amazing. Rooms are well located and spacious.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely disappointing! Could just as well celebrated our 28th wedding anniversary in our own romantic, luxurious bedroom at home. We’ve paid almost R2000 for a room which has been extremely scantily equipped with NO atmosphere what so ever, No bath and water of the shower was cold. When I’ve made the booking, I clearly mentioned that it was for a romantic weekend getaway for our 28th wedding anniversary. This has been our worst wedding anniversary ever! Other hotels and guest houses have gone out of their way in order to make previous anniversaries an unforgettable experience. We will never ever again make use of Belmonte Guesthouse. NO VALUE FOR MONEY AT ALL!!! We’ve expected much more luxury and attention to detail, of a four-star guesthouse- Belmonte Guesthouse does not even deserve a one single star !!! The breakfast was so boring that we've skipped the next breakfast and had breakfast at Mugg & Bean in the Mall.

    Beautiful view

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That I did not know earlier about this good value for money accomodation in the Cape."sic"

    The high quality & good finishes to this establishment. The friendly reseption & the "owner" runs the guest house.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wished we had a fridge in the room and it was hard to find at first!

    Very private location with lovely views over paarl. The rooms were huge with a lovely private balcony. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very nice view from the Guesthouse room, over Paarl, friendly owner and staff. Guesthouse right a the very end of the street steep ascent. Restaurant recommended worth going!

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea and coffee facilitates in the room and no fridge. Missing toiletries. Basic breakfast for a 4 star guesthouse. To far to the town and the restaurants.

    The view was very nice and the pool area.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    beautiful view over paarl with nice big rooms.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have been nice fo have our own fridge

    Good location for cycle race. Wonderful views!

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location difficult to find.

    Modern

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The glass doors need to be marked , as hubby walked into it.

    The view of paarl,was relaxing for us as we have a buzy lifestyle in Pmburg

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean, comfortable, beautiful view!! Will definitely stay there again!

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Spaciousness,pool,view

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner and her staff were exceptionally friendly which made our stay very comfortable and relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No admosphere, no music in dining room, toiletries not replaced daily, room not properly cleaned daily.

    The view was beautiful

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bar facility / honesty bar

    The views were excellent! And beautiful spacious room. Full bouquet of DStv - very impressive.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not much variety at breakfast, i.e. muffins etc

    Luxury accommodation

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was load shedding!

    Stunning views. Beautiful room.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Beautiful rooms, attention to detail, views and service. We will definitely return.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location and views over Paarl

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly staff who went the extra mile.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is fantastic. From our balcony / terras we had an impressive view on Paarl. Everything was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Just a suggestion. A class of wine or juice when booking in will put the cherry on top.

    Location, view, room, bed, bathroom i would come again.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower water pressure to low.

    The excellent view from our room. The prompt service when needed.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The lady owner was extremely helpful and friendly. Hope to stay there again some time.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very quiet, secluded location. Great views. Helpful manageress.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Fantastic location. Helpful and friendly staff. Luxury Room with great views. Good pool size. Friendly owner.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There must a sign from Bo Meul to show the location of Belmonte Estate.

    Room, food and staff members are very kind to guest.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was average, nothing fancy

    The view from the room, stunning.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Browse Belmonte Guesthouse traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: