Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Belvidere Manor 4 stars

169 Duthie Drive, Belvidere Estate, Belvidere, 6570 Knysna, South Africa

#45 of 79 B&Bs and Inns in Knysna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 48 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed a comfortable stay with excellent breakfasts and staff that were always friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lagoon Deluxe
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The availability of a boat trip from the nearby jetty as indicated in the booklet in the cottage(was not on website) would be good to have available again or some kayaks.

    Staff were very friendly and made every effort to assist with any requests. Jeffrey in particular is an asset to Belvidere Manor with his wonderful positive nature and warm friendliness always making you feel that nothing is to much effort. The cottage was comfortable and clean. The gardens were well maintained. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.8
    Food mediocre. Waited almost an hour for a second course and had to go to the kitchen to ask.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Classic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Bel Vedere! We expected four star hotel with quaint cottages overlooking the beautiful Knysna Lagoon and got a tired three bedroom self catering cottage looking onto another cottage.

    What we saw in Booking.com and what we got was a different place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Extremely picturesque place near the lake!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lagoon Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely picturesque place near the lake! We were n the way from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town & stayed for 1 night, however I would love to stay longer at this place. We had a big single house with 2 bedrooms, very nice quite area with individual parking place and friendly staff. Great personnel at breakfast service & fast in-room service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lagoon Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor communication between management and guests and not upfront about billing. We had originally booked what we thought were 2 rooms for ourselves and kids (but turned out to be 2 bungalows with 2 bedrooms in each). One of them was canceled on the evening we checked in when we realized this, and we were assured that we would not be charged for the second. We were therefore surprised to find out only on checking out that we were now paying even more than Booking.com had quoted for the original 2 bungalows! With the explanation being given only then that we had been charged per person..which didn't make any sense to us at all and smacked of dishonesty. Definitely the first and last time we shall book or recommend the establishment.

    Beautiful scenery. Clean rooms and polite staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    6.3
    price very high for value and service offered to us as a family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Classic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the pub food. R145.00 for lamb stew , no more than half a cup of overcooked dry meat,and 3 cups rice. no interaction whatsoever by management during the entire stay. in fact never met. good breakfast, but Family does not eat pork,only hot meat pork sausage and bacon, have to request for something in beef. no coffee in room , after day 1.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.6
    Real small house with 2 bedrooms/ 2 bathrooms/...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lagoon Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    À Little bit outside the city

    Real small house with 2 bedrooms/ 2 bathrooms/ kitchen.... Nice estate with beautifull view and interesting surroundings Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.6
    A lovely relaxing 2 night break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Deluxe
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi did not work in the cottage which was frustrating. You had to go to the pub or in to the main house. The breakfast was a little bit hit and miss. The porridge was cold but the staff happily heated it up. There was a lack of crockery and cutlery but again if you asked the staff happily sorted it.

    The setting was fantastic. The cottage we had was huge and so pretty. The grounds were well cared for. The staff were great and very helpful. The on site pub was cosy and cooked some great food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Deluxe
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful week.....everything was up to or beyond expectations. No complaints!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Enchanted city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Classic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The strange looks from patrons

    The farm house style, friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    The owners and the staff are very kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners and the staff are very kind. Good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Tranquil
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.2
    Great break in Knysna at a beautiful venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lagoon Deluxe
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linen Food took too long

    Fantastic staff Beautiful setting Good food

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    Belvidere a slice of paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lagoon Deluxe
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Could'nt fault it.

    Everything 10/10

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    Had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Classic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pots and pans in unit 28 very bad quality specially for a gas burner!

    Food and beds were excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    really enjoyed our stay and will visit again. Thank-you
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Deluxe
    • Stayed 6 nights

    lovely atmosphere, great food, friendly staff, comfy home, good view-- a perfect get-away

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Bfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    9.6
    We enjoyed the ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed the ambience. We liked the spacious accommodation and the location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay in Knysna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lagoon Deluxe
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Connecting to the WiFi was difficult.

    Wonderful, friendly staff. Beautiful grounds. Great breakfasts.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    The staff made us feel so welcome and at home!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.2
    Lovely cottage with beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lagoon Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very well neat & clean cottage, much more than we expected. Friendly staff & good breakfast with lovely view on the lagoon

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.8
    Duvets on bed too hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lagoon Deluxe
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duvets on bed too hot. Suggest a light blanket as an extra.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    9.6
    The hotel is located at a short distance from the city which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel is located at a short distance from the city which would ensure no distracting noises and provide a comfortable relaxing atmosphere. After a long drive that was the best we could wait for. The territory is large and taken care off. We were there with my girlfriends and enjoyed staying in this hotel for a couple of nights.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    We loved the location and the care from the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the location and the care from the staff. There was a water issue with our unti just before we left and Mike upgraded us to a bigger unit to complete our ablutions. We will be back next year!

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    9.2
    Nice ambiance and helpful and pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice ambiance and helpful and pleasant staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    10
    We were surprised at the good quality of the accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were surprised at the good quality of the accommodation. We would recommend the place to others.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything!

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    9.6
    Peaceful and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Peaceful and quiet. Delightful accommodation. Beautiful views and magnificent gardens.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    10
    Damp wood for fire
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Damp wood for fire

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    10
    Friendly and helpful staff, location very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Access to wi fi very eractic

    Friendly and helpful staff, location very good

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: